User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 243
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Redlight
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    I really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent her last years living in poverty before she died of coronary thrombosis. also before the supremes achieved mega stardom, she was raped at knifepoint by aI really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent her last years living in poverty before she died of coronary thrombosis. also before the supremes achieved mega stardom, she was raped at knifepoint by a friend of her brother's. Tragic. Apparently, Diana Ross (who Deena Jones (Beyonce) obviously represents) offered her help financially but I don't know if there's anything concrete to suggest that being true. Expand
  2. SteveA
    Jan 3, 2007
    7
    I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great performance, but I thought her character was unpleasant (she just seemed like a bully to me). Everyone else in the movie did well, also. I'm hoping this I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great performance, but I thought her character was unpleasant (she just seemed like a bully to me). Everyone else in the movie did well, also. I'm hoping this isn't Beyonce's Evita. Despite crappy acting in the past, she shows a lot of growth and potential in this movie. Expand
  3. DeeR.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Loved it, loved it, loved it. trying to find dress or pattern for dress Jennifer wore when performing "I am Changing". Where?
  4. BK.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Best movie I've seen in awhile... strong performances across the board, particularly by Hudson. If it didn't fall into the Musical category, it would be a real contender for Best Picture.
  5. ToeS
    Jan 4, 2007
    8
    The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie Foxx's character stripped the soul from R&B to make it Pat Boone marketable. The movie would suffer if a post-Effie Dreamettes or post-sellout The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie Foxx's character stripped the soul from R&B to make it Pat Boone marketable. The movie would suffer if a post-Effie Dreamettes or post-sellout Earley sounded awesome. A risky move, but I appreciate the committment. Expand
  6. DevynS.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    I saw the Original Broadway Production back in the early eighties, and I never got the chills I did from Miss Hudson's Performance. Bravo Miss Hudson! Your Our Dreamgirl and your performance and voice have made you a Star! Kudos to Murphy, Knowles, and of course Mr. Foxx.
  7. AngelaH
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Best movie I have seen for a long time. Fanastic performance by Jennifer Hudson.
  8. TonyT.
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Loved the movie and the music. Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson are worth the price of admission.
  9. VeraR.
    Mar 10, 2007
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyed it! I love musicals, I love music, I love singing ... therefore I enjoyed the movie. The cast was great. Eddie Murphy was great in his role, cannot believe it is Jennifer Hudson's first acting role. I enjoyed the story line.
  10. DagnyD.
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Murphy, Beyonce, Rose, all deserved best supporting actor noms. Hudson deserved Best Actress nomination but would have lost to Helen Mirren, so I'm Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Murphy, Beyonce, Rose, all deserved best supporting actor noms. Hudson deserved Best Actress nomination but would have lost to Helen Mirren, so I'm thriled for her well deserved Best Supporting Actress Oscar. "Dream Girls" now ties with my all-time favorite musical, "Chicago". My vote is actually a 9.8, for almost a masterpiece, but definitely a classic. Expand
  11. AmyO.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    The movie could not have been better. I feel in love with it like I never have with a movie. It is a insperational, moving, life changing masterpiece so say the least. The sigh you will hear across the country in the next few weeks is the sound of a gratified audience: a great movie musical has been made at last. I will see it again and again. 5 stars. I also reccomend the soundtrack.
  12. ED
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    WOW!! The music on this movie is amazing!! Jennifer Hudson takes the rug right out from under Beyonce. SHE IS AMAZING! i have never seen an audience give a standing O DURING the movie!
  13. ChrisP.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Saw the preview last night of Dreamgirls in Charlotte, NC. First off I have to say that it is a great interpretation of the stage play. I thought that the script had really fleshed out the show and brought to life ideas that were only briefly touched upon. All of the characters were much more believable on screen, and the added songs really fit in with the rest of the score. The greatest Saw the preview last night of Dreamgirls in Charlotte, NC. First off I have to say that it is a great interpretation of the stage play. I thought that the script had really fleshed out the show and brought to life ideas that were only briefly touched upon. All of the characters were much more believable on screen, and the added songs really fit in with the rest of the score. The greatest triumph of this movie has to be Jennifer Hudson as Effie. She is truly a star. After she sang, And Im Telling You, the whole audience burst into applause. It was truly magical. I turned to the friend who went with me and said...she definitely will be nominated if not win the Oscar!!! Expand
  14. MattR.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Absolutely miraculous entertainment. One of the best movie musicals in recent memory, "Dreamgirls" sends viewers on a fabulous roadtrip through the ups and downs of fame. Hudson is nothing less than spectacular.
  15. RobinT.
    Jan 28, 2007
    7
    Very good musical. Needs about 15 minutes edited out.
  16. HarryP.
    Jan 9, 2007
    8
    Uneven. When it's good, it's brilliant, but, it sags, largely because of the changes made to the original Broadway production. It could use a 20 minute cut. Oh yes, I thought Hudson's squallathon is surpassed by her renditon of "I'm Changing".
  17. MichelB.
    Feb 11, 2007
    9
    One of the best singing movies. Jennifer Hudson, what a singer. I would like to highlight Eddy' Murphy's role, amazing. Should be seen on a wide screen - home theatre. Bravo - more - more!
  18. MarkBayer
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" approach to Academy Award promotions and campaigning. While it's comforting (if ultimately self-defeating) to believe that modern-day equivalents of It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" approach to Academy Award promotions and campaigning. While it's comforting (if ultimately self-defeating) to believe that modern-day equivalents of The Alamo, Cleopatra, Doctor Doolittle and The Towering Inferno no longer stand a chance in the top race, the truth in this case remains that occasionally the publicity machine turns out to be right, that the Academy's adolescent nose-thumbing in favor of movies with lower-key stealth campaigns resulted this year in honoring such unworthy contenders as the admittedly well-made but seemingly endless globe-trotting depress-o-thon and the likable but wildly overrated National Lampoon's Vacation clone, and that, except for United 93, Dreamgirls IS the best film of 2006. In fact, it's the best American nonanimated musical movie since Cabaret. (Not that there's been much real competition: Rent was clunky, The Producers clunkier, Moulin Rouge! plain obnoxious, Grease accurately labeled by Pauline Kael as a "klutzburger", and Chicago...well, more about that later.) Writer-director Bill Condon, adapting Tom Eyen's and Henry Krieger's Broadway hit roman a clef dealing with the rise of pop/ R&B girl group The Dreams (based of course on You-Know-Who and The You-Know-Whats, despite all the denials) brings the same incredible roller-coaster pacing and propulsion that made his 2005 film biography of Dr. Alfred C. Kinsey so powerful (OK, maybe this has a couple of montages too many, but why complain about too much of a good thing?) giving this movie not only an epic feel but also making it one of the fastest two-hours-plus I've ever spent in a theater. Jamie Foxx, as The Dreams' boundlessly unscrupulous manager, proves to be such an effectively despicable movie slimeball that I genuinely fear that his performance here will effectively limit some of his future choices of roles; Anika Noni Rose provides delightful comic relief as the "third" member; Beyonce Knowles as the cagily-promoted lead singer not only proves that she really CAN act (which The Pink Panther and Austin Powers in Goldmember certainly didn't) but her courage in allowing herself to be described in a certain way at a key moment is, in light of her ongoing musical success, remarkably admirable. Oscar DID get the movie's two acting nods right: Eddie Murphy, as the record label's brilliant but mercurial and immature male star, displays depths of talent and versatility that all the Norbits and Pluto Nashes in the world can't erase. And Jennifer Hudson, as The dreams' rightful lead singer, who's unjustly shunted aside for (to put it crudely but frankly) being too fat and singing too Black, is a force of nature whose power isn't at all limited to her breathtaking, already legendary rendition of "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going"; the hugely emotional and demonstrative response she received from the mostly White patrons at my showing indicates that this is a performance whose richness cuts across all racial barriers. Dreamgirls' abrupt, mid-movie shift from being an "organic; movie musical (in which the characters only sing in situations that would realistically call for it) to a traditional one (in which they burst into song at any given moment) has been the source of much criticism but to me is one of its greatest strengths: after the Condon-written Chicago's gambit of hedging its bets by placing all the musical numbers "inside Roxie's head" it's a joy to watch a musical that proudly and fearlessly admits it IS one. And while it's fun to identify all the real-life musical references (James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Donna Summer and even Jim Morrison among many others are catalogued) Dreamgirls also provides the sobering reminder of a truth that we pop culture fans so often forget: thar every successful record, movie, TV show or other endeavor is the result of somebody getting hurt or excluded. 2006 has seen a lot of mainstream advocacy filmmaking, but most of it has consisted in my case of preaching to the choir: I don't drive a car or buy jewelry so An Inconvenient Truth and Blood Diamond caused me to change very little of my behavior because I was already doing what they wanted. But Dreamgirls, because of its power and passion (and in particular that of Murphy's and Hudson's work) has gotten me to make one very significant change: since seeing it I've been listening to my Motown anthologies a little bit less and my Stax compilations quite a bit more. Expand
  19. PaulD.
    Feb 24, 2007
    7
    The music was neither remarkable nor authentic; the characters were poorly developed; the direction and writing was somehow sloppy. The casting and acting was good.
  20. Jeannie
    Feb 4, 2007
    7
    An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was Fantasia's forte, not Jennifer's. And her character, Effie, should have been allowed some softness and vulnerablitiy rather than a surfeit of An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was Fantasia's forte, not Jennifer's. And her character, Effie, should have been allowed some softness and vulnerablitiy rather than a surfeit of puzzling touchiness and anger. We want to love Effie, empathize with her. Fascinating operatic-like segment when Effie is replaced in the trio--each character sings their lines in the American idiom rather than Italian, etc. Wow. "Tour de force" comes to mind. Eddie Murphy's slimy character is made memorable by his shocking downfall, an unexpected collapse of a life. Expand
  21. StephanieW.
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When one mind is opened you cannot help not to give credits to all of those in the finalization of this excellent movie. One thing that I want put out is In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When one mind is opened you cannot help not to give credits to all of those in the finalization of this excellent movie. One thing that I want put out is the work of Fatima Robinson. In spite of the tremendous challenge that she has faced in this business her personal challenges have been a catalyst in how if your "Dream" and stay focus, you can still overcome life's tragedies. After all, saying goodbye a close friend on a shoot and next finding out that she has perished in a airplane crash is no words to describe. Fatima is a trojan. The chorography, particulary, "Steppin' To The Bad Side", et al., capped the success of the movie. It has been such an inspiration to me that I had to learn how to use my computer to make sure that my words were set out. The hard work, the focus, the love of the business makes me love Debbie Allen and her work in this field, along with Michael Bennett and the other choreographers that have been overlooked. Fatima Robinson certainly deserves more attention for her fine work from past to present. "Get At Me, Girl". I'm crusading for the choreographers, since everybody loves dancing. Let's do something about this overlook category. Expand
  22. JoseO.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    It has its flaws, yes but it still compelling and well acted. Hudson is very good.
  23. ElizabethM.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    My favorite movie it made me cry but it was worth it and is the best.
  24. BilB
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    Its a very entertaining, feel good movie that is well done. At about the one hour mark it starts to lag, but dear God can Jennifer Hudson sing! She belted out her solo number "I'm Not Going" that brought the house down. Overall, an 8.
  25. AndrewR.
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    An instant classic. Better than the original Broadway Show. Osacar Noms. galore and a sure best supporting win for Jennifer Hudson. Loved it!!!
  26. SashaB.C.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    This film carries a supurb grace and beauty to it like no other film of 2006. Sure to be a box office hit and a winner of at least one oscar for Jennifer Hudson, this film carries you into a world of music through the eyes of some of the most intresting characters. Side preformaces from Danny Glover, Kieth Robinson and )of course the now nationally famous american-idol loser) Jennifer This film carries a supurb grace and beauty to it like no other film of 2006. Sure to be a box office hit and a winner of at least one oscar for Jennifer Hudson, this film carries you into a world of music through the eyes of some of the most intresting characters. Side preformaces from Danny Glover, Kieth Robinson and )of course the now nationally famous american-idol loser) Jennifer Hudson, who delivers one of the greatest musical prefomances in the history of film. The movie is beyond moving and entertaining, it is truely a pitch-perfect masterpiece with so much soul and story to go with it. Skip Babel, forget the Queen, the number one movie of 2006 is by far the one and only Dreamgirls. Expand
  27. Jennifer
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Make sure you go see this movie. Great from beginning to end. Jennifer Hudson is outstanding. Beyonce solo moment is amazing and Eddie Murphy has not looked so good since he performed as Randy Watson with the Sexual Chocolate band on Coming to America. Eddie Murphy looks like he has been performing on stage for years. The movie hold you in from the entire time. This is the first time in a Make sure you go see this movie. Great from beginning to end. Jennifer Hudson is outstanding. Beyonce solo moment is amazing and Eddie Murphy has not looked so good since he performed as Randy Watson with the Sexual Chocolate band on Coming to America. Eddie Murphy looks like he has been performing on stage for years. The movie hold you in from the entire time. This is the first time in a while that I have left a movie and felt it was money well spent. I do not want to speak too much about it. Just take my word for it and go see it! Expand
  28. DantaW.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Best musical in years.
  29. NieceyG.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    This was an outstanding movie, Jennifer Hudson shine (can you believe she was voted off American Idol)? When she sung I am telling you, it brought tears to my eyes the theatre went wild. Beyonce was great pretty as usual, when she did her solo I have never seen her do it with so much passion. Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy did there thing. This movie was truly worth the money.
  30. MightyMick
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the movie again the next day and as I found myself still singing the songs the following day, I rushed to a store last night for the soundtrack which my This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the movie again the next day and as I found myself still singing the songs the following day, I rushed to a store last night for the soundtrack which my husband and I have already listened to multiple times. All of this since the movie opened this week! I cannot tell you how moved I was. Don't let racial stereotyping dissaude you from missing the movie event of the year. If you do, you will miss something great! MM Expand
  31. BrianF
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    If you like movie musicals, you'll love it. If you don't, it probably won't convert you. That said, Jennifer Hudson's performance is absolutely a must-see.
  32. CraigM.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    It is absolutely amazing, a transcendental experience.
  33. CynthiaF.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy were exceptional in Dreamgirls! Beyonce was really good; Keith Robinson was excellent; Jamie Foxx was really great! The entire movie was nicely done; I have seen the movie twice already and purchased the soundtrack. I plan on seeing the movie one more time, which is very unusual for me...the movie is just that outstanding!! I rate it 10 Stars!!
  34. LisaM.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie. i watched it at an early press screening and it was so much fun. The music, costumes and the wonderful Jennifer Hudson made for a fun night. If you see you any movie this year make sure you see Dreamgirls.
  35. BrinaK.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  36. BenZ.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    I saw this at one of the many press screenings a few weeks ago. It was really spectacular and the more I think about the more I enjoyed it. I did think the character development was a little lacking (especially concerning Fox and Beyonce), but the entire cast was terrific. It's hard not to consider this one of the best films of the year.
  37. MatthewC.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Jennifer Hudson--Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I have seen this movie and only this movie four times in eight days at the theater and I'm sixty-one years old. Bill Condon is a top-notch director and screenwriter.
  38. YolandaP.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    For there to be two new actress in this movie, one would never be able to tell. All of the cast did a wonderful job, but Beyonce and Jennifer were outstanding for them not to have all of the acting years and ability as the others. Bravo, Bravo
  39. RandallRomsdahl
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This is a magnificent movie music, African American opera with amazing music, and fine acting.
  40. FloR
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    The main reason I gave it an 8 is because of the awesome performance by Jenifer Hudson & Eddie Murphy. Without her presence this film would have been a flop.
  41. Sam
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Despite the rather dull middle-section, the movie flows on at a steady pace and Ms. Hudson's performance requires a standing ovation, much like what happened at most of the movie theaters across the country.
  42. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing, excellent movie musical with Beyonce, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx and ex-american idol Jennifer Hudson. Strong and deeply touching performance, cool soundtrack. The movie definetely should have got an oscar (Jennifer Hudson got only the best supporting actress).
  43. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. I felt this movie. The singing was speakin volumes.
  44. TonyB.
    Jun 26, 2007
    7
    An only mediocre stage musical has been turned into a considerably better film.
  45. TylerW.
    Dec 13, 2006
    7
    Jennifer Hudson is mesmerizing and deserves all the critical praise being heaped on her. Probably the most memorable first role from an actress since Keisha Castle-Hughes in Whale Rider. Beyonce was also suprisingly good. I have never been a fan of hers - but she does better than solid work. It pains me to say though that the movie itself wasn't really that great and I probably Jennifer Hudson is mesmerizing and deserves all the critical praise being heaped on her. Probably the most memorable first role from an actress since Keisha Castle-Hughes in Whale Rider. Beyonce was also suprisingly good. I have never been a fan of hers - but she does better than solid work. It pains me to say though that the movie itself wasn't really that great and I probably wouldn't recommend it were it not for the performances of Hudson and Beyonce. The script is weak and the dialogue hackneyed in spots. A huge portion of the supporting cast seemed a bit overwhelmed at times by the scale of the film. See the film for the performances but don't expect anything revolutionary. Expand
  46. RonB.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    The best musical in the last few decades. Only Purple Rain really comes close. More effective example of the medium than 'Chicago.'
  47. TimC.
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Preformaces given by Jennifer Hudson will stick with you for years to come. She implants a sweet microchip of soul in your brain that takes you on a ride full of mezmerizing talent. Her ability to impress you with her voice is equal to her oscar-gauneteeing future in acting. She has a grace to her beauty and soul and everything she delievers in the years best musical is outstanding. Her Preformaces given by Jennifer Hudson will stick with you for years to come. She implants a sweet microchip of soul in your brain that takes you on a ride full of mezmerizing talent. Her ability to impress you with her voice is equal to her oscar-gauneteeing future in acting. She has a grace to her beauty and soul and everything she delievers in the years best musical is outstanding. Her character, Effie, is the films most intresting character and the movie would be a B-Movie without her. Instead it is a gem and masterpiece. A 77 on Metacritic only consitutes a racist rip-off C+ instead of a A or 92 that is well disserved. The movie is everything you want, more than you can expect, and eveything you can dream! Beyonce is suprisingly sensational in her vocal and acting and Eddie Murphey is better than you would expect in what should be a oscar nominated role. Jamie Foxx delievers a fun yet somewhat dissapointing preformace to follow his RAY phenom. The movie as a whole rocks. It is just short of perfect. Expand
  48. Thom
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    I loved this film...Jennifer Hudson and Beyonce CAN sign. The story is true to the musical and will keep you entralled. The costumes and sets are beautiful. I cannot wait to see this again.
  49. ShawnL.
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    Hudson was great. To Franklin C. - you must have been Barry Gordy in another life, complaining about Hudson's weight, stretch marks, blah, blah, blah. Missed the point entirely. Anyway, the audience was clapping at each of Hudson's performances - I haven't seen that kind of response since the opening concert scene of "Purple Rain". They stayed through the credits and Hudson was great. To Franklin C. - you must have been Barry Gordy in another life, complaining about Hudson's weight, stretch marks, blah, blah, blah. Missed the point entirely. Anyway, the audience was clapping at each of Hudson's performances - I haven't seen that kind of response since the opening concert scene of "Purple Rain". They stayed through the credits and clapped again when she came up. Fox's role was thin, as well as Beyonce's, beyond her solo performance which met with polite applause. But the *fact* that the audience clapped in a movie theater - a musical no less - proves the film, though not perfect, did move the audience in a way I haven't seen in a generation! We loved it. And we're only in our 30's! Expand
  50. KellyN.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    The musical score in this movie has outshone any other movie in recent years. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves recognition for her role and Eddie Murphy has tapped into the inner talent we all knew he had!
  51. J.G.
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    Everyone except for Jamie Fox stepped up their game for this movie. Yes even Beyonce. Forget her attempts before to being a good character actress which she failed miserably. This movie she takes her time and stretches the emotions for our viewing pleasure. Though, Beyonce got top billing in this movie. Jennifer Hudson is the movie without her we would have screenshots and a video or two. Everyone except for Jamie Fox stepped up their game for this movie. Yes even Beyonce. Forget her attempts before to being a good character actress which she failed miserably. This movie she takes her time and stretches the emotions for our viewing pleasure. Though, Beyonce got top billing in this movie. Jennifer Hudson is the movie without her we would have screenshots and a video or two. Jennifer's acting debut leaves you with your chin on the floor and a tissue in your hand. Many wonderful singers have tried but no one absolutely no one has been able to match Jennifer Holiday's original recording "I'm not going" with the same passion and pain until this movie. Jennifer Hudson hit every note with the emotion this is her last breath and you will hear her. Bravo. Bravo. She deserves every complement, praise and high five. Expand
  52. ChrisF
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Amazing cast, amazing voals, amazing sets, jennifer hudson amazing...well worth the $10 ticket! GO SEE DREAMGIRLS!
  53. LauraQ.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    The performers, the sets, the costumes, the times - all brought back to life for me the days of Motown in its glory, and in its pain. As a white girl growing up 5 miles from the epicenter of the burning city during the '67 riots, I experienced all of the pleasure of Motown Records, and very little of the pain that inspired that violent revolutionary time. It is gratifying to see the The performers, the sets, the costumes, the times - all brought back to life for me the days of Motown in its glory, and in its pain. As a white girl growing up 5 miles from the epicenter of the burning city during the '67 riots, I experienced all of the pleasure of Motown Records, and very little of the pain that inspired that violent revolutionary time. It is gratifying to see the actors in this movie given all of the juicy roles and the showcase for their tremendous talents. Jennifer Hudson was all heart and kept the story real, even in all of its Hollywood production. Haven't enjoyed a movie this much in a long time. Expand
  54. YvetteT.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Anyone who does not agree that Dreamgirls is an excellent movie is not a true movie buff. They probably sit home and watch bootleg movies. Jennifer Hudson is fantastic as Effie, and the all star cast gets their props for their part in creating such a great movie from the actors to the director, producers and all involved. Excellent. Siimply excellent.
  55. JamieC
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    I was prepared not to like it. I was prepared for it to be mediocre. But honestly, I was mesmerized. Jennifer Hudson is that good. Her voice pierces your soul. and while it's Jennifer's move, proper acknowlegement must be given to Eddie and yes, even Jamie. I think she's a great entertainer, but Beyonce is no actress. Everyone should see dreamgirls.
  56. PaulL.
    Dec 31, 2006
    7
    Surprisingly, it was better than I thought it would be, but also left a bit to be desired. I thought the pacing was off. In the second half of the film, it was almost every moment was going to break out into song. Was this suppose to be a musical about the emergence of Motown? Or just about these girls? Or was it a spoof/satire of Motown/music industry? Wasn't sure. Nevertheless, it Surprisingly, it was better than I thought it would be, but also left a bit to be desired. I thought the pacing was off. In the second half of the film, it was almost every moment was going to break out into song. Was this suppose to be a musical about the emergence of Motown? Or just about these girls? Or was it a spoof/satire of Motown/music industry? Wasn't sure. Nevertheless, it is entertaining and my foot was keeping pace with the beat of the music. But one note, in particular: If you pay close attention, the so-called musicians in the film don't know how to hold their instruments. That's rather embarrassing for a so-called musical being hailed by critics as one of the best musicals of the year. Expand
  57. BlakeM.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    I have NEVER been to a movie where everyone clapped so much! It was so much fun and a great movie. It's remarkable to watch a star being born in front of your eyes (Jennifer Hudson). MUST SEE!!
  58. BrinaK.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  59. ChadS.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    In the end credits, after Jennifer Hudson is given her well-deserved props (her big number will make even straight men cry), Eddie Murphy should be specifically cited with the title "Re-introducing", because his performance as a David Ruffin-type is equally show-stopping. Crappy movie ("The Haunted Mansion"); really crappy movies("Daddy Day Care"); dubious women ("It's a man, Eddie; In the end credits, after Jennifer Hudson is given her well-deserved props (her big number will make even straight men cry), Eddie Murphy should be specifically cited with the title "Re-introducing", because his performance as a David Ruffin-type is equally show-stopping. Crappy movie ("The Haunted Mansion"); really crappy movies("Daddy Day Care"); dubious women ("It's a man, Eddie; it's a man!"), it never happened. "Dreamgirls" is a watershed moment for African-American cinema, and the best studio film of 2006. If you know your rock-and-roll history, it's all there; the Pat Boonization of rhythm-and-blues, the payola, and most insightful of all, the film perfectly captures how black artists tried to reach white America. My only bone to pick with this exemplary musical is that the artist Beyonce Knowles portrays probably wouldn't give a damn about stonewalling a friend's comeback. Expand
  60. JossalynnM.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    This movie was phenomenal! I enjoyed every actor's performance, however, I thought Jennifer Hudson's performance was stellar. I am impressed with her acting as well as her powerhouse singing and look forward to seeing more of her on the big screen.
  61. MecheleC.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    A lot of people are putting Beyonce down just because Jennifer Hudson blew her out the waters. She did a great job just like everyone else in the movie did a terrific job. Every single person in the movie pulled it all together doing the best that they could do to make this movie THE BEST MOVIE IN 2006.
  62. MicheleC.
    Jan 26, 2007
    8
    The movie was uneven in many spots and the ending contrived, but I enjoyed the movie for the most part. Jennifer Hudson's voice and Beyonce Knowles' beauty alone make this a must see film.
  63. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    Based on the Broadway musical that loosely tells the story of the Supremes, this fast-paced, glitzy, Hollywood production features wonderful performances by Beyonce Knowles, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx, Danny Glover, and newcomer Jennifer Hudson.
  64. AbbyM.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    This move was the best I ever saw ! All of the actors and actresses were great! I don't know how people could not like this movie.
  65. BrutusO.
    Mar 11, 2007
    7
    A film that was way too constrained by its theatrical origins. Unlike just about everyone else, I thought the music was sort of OK (not brilliant, but acceptable Motown pastiche) and that Jennifer Hudson overacted and oversang a bit. I got well and truly sick of the Aretha affectations when Jennifer got dumped from the group, that's for sure. In fact, I ended up with a lot of A film that was way too constrained by its theatrical origins. Unlike just about everyone else, I thought the music was sort of OK (not brilliant, but acceptable Motown pastiche) and that Jennifer Hudson overacted and oversang a bit. I got well and truly sick of the Aretha affectations when Jennifer got dumped from the group, that's for sure. In fact, I ended up with a lot of sympathy for the others kicking her out. She was a pain, even if she could belt out a few blues and gospel tones - especially in the early numbers. We also learn that Jamie Foxx can't sing, and to compound the error he sort of missed the point in his role as well, which was somewhat disappointing. Eddie Murphy was good though. Overall the film ran out of steam at just about the same stage that Motown did in real life (mid 70's). And the Diana Ross character came out of it somewhat more sympathetically than any of us might ever have expected. But that's showbiz - and Motown was all about showbiz, rather than soul. Expand
  66. BenB.
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    Caught this movie the other day. Honestly, I didn't expect much after seeing the trailers but I was pretty surprised by the actual product. While it does follow the typical Ray, Walk the Line plotline of aspiring musicians working their way up to the top and the hardships and tragedies they had to face, it does some things differently. First, this is more of a musical than the other Caught this movie the other day. Honestly, I didn't expect much after seeing the trailers but I was pretty surprised by the actual product. While it does follow the typical Ray, Walk the Line plotline of aspiring musicians working their way up to the top and the hardships and tragedies they had to face, it does some things differently. First, this is more of a musical than the other two films mentioned were. Not only do the characters sing and dance on stage but the also sing and dance by themselves. Think of this as Chicago meets Ray. The music is amazing. Eddie Murphy comes back to life and steals a lot of the show but not as much as American Idol "loser" Jennifer Hudson. Wow, Simon is a freakin' douche when he let her go and her proof is in this movie. She steals every song away that she is in and Beyonce can't hold a candle to her. In fact, Beyonce isn't in the movie as much as Jennifer and should not have received top billing. But regardless. This is a good film for the holidays and has some great music as well. Expand
  67. HolaJ.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    It captures the excitement of the show I saw 20 years ago and then ups it by 10. Great cast, great direction, and great choices by Condon.
  68. BrinaK.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  69. BrinaK.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  70. OraneC.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Great movie. Two memorable performance: Hudson's showstopper, and Beyonce's "Listen."
  71. JwuandahouseL
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    This is movie is unbelievable! It is enthralling, exciting, sad, fun, enchanting, and any other word revolving around these ones. DreamGirls is without a doubt the best movie I have ever sat through. It was definitely worth the money. Jennifer Hudson provides a phenomenal performance that leaves the crowd in tears. Beyonce and Anika Noni Rose play amazing characters who turn on Jennifer This is movie is unbelievable! It is enthralling, exciting, sad, fun, enchanting, and any other word revolving around these ones. DreamGirls is without a doubt the best movie I have ever sat through. It was definitely worth the money. Jennifer Hudson provides a phenomenal performance that leaves the crowd in tears. Beyonce and Anika Noni Rose play amazing characters who turn on Jennifer Hudson. Jamie Foxx is an amazing actor in this movie, and I never knew Eddie Murphy had such an amazing voice! It reminds me of Jesse L. Martin playing Collins in the hit musical/movie Rent, after seeing him play as Detective Greene in Law and Order. This is a crowd pleasing movie, providing absolutely top rate music, drama and conflicts that will leave you asking what will happen next. Deserves twenty million stars! Absolutely fantastic film for all ages! Collapse
  72. BillyS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Dreamgirls is a big razzle-dazzle Broadway Musical that comes to the screen with a mega-million dollar budget and a roster of A-list stars, but lets get right to the point- this is Jennifer Hudson's movie from the second she opens her mouth and walks away with the whole thing. It is the most electrifying musical screen debut since Barbra Streisand belted out "I'm the Greatest Dreamgirls is a big razzle-dazzle Broadway Musical that comes to the screen with a mega-million dollar budget and a roster of A-list stars, but lets get right to the point- this is Jennifer Hudson's movie from the second she opens her mouth and walks away with the whole thing. It is the most electrifying musical screen debut since Barbra Streisand belted out "I'm the Greatest Star" in Funny Girl and we knew she was! When Hudson sings "And I'm telling you I'm not going" we know right away that she is here to stay and she will be going to the podium of the Kodak Theatre to accept a most deserved Oscar for Best Supporting Actress in February. And I wouldn't be suprized if she is joined by Eddie Murphy, who gives a carreer defining performance as James "Thunder" Early. Dreamgirls is a near perfect movie musical with two, absolutely perfect, history making-standing ovation performances!! BRAVO to all! Expand
  73. TroyM.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    The movie was GREAT on all counts including the stellar performance of Jennifer Hudson
  74. phylliss.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    Jennifer Hudson deserve all praise and more, Eddie Murphy is great. They are the best of the best. The rest are back-up for them.
  75. SoniaF
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This movie is absoulutely terrific, I'm not really a movie going fan, but I will be back in the theatre to see this movie second time. Jennifer Hudson deserves to win the best supporting actress award for this part. She is amazing, go see the movie. And Eddie Murphy amazing, great perfomance a wonderful movie.
  76. BryanC.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Best movie musical since Moulin Rouge! It's technically not as polished as Chicago, but it's ten notches higher on entertainment value and pure fabulousness! Jennifer Hudson sizzles in a stand-ovation performance. I don't remember the last time I was at the movies and saw people actually applauding mid-movie! It was nuts! I knew this girl wasn't done when she got Best movie musical since Moulin Rouge! It's technically not as polished as Chicago, but it's ten notches higher on entertainment value and pure fabulousness! Jennifer Hudson sizzles in a stand-ovation performance. I don't remember the last time I was at the movies and saw people actually applauding mid-movie! It was nuts! I knew this girl wasn't done when she got eliminated on American Idol. Eddie Murphy was also fantastic in probably his best performance of his career. And to the person who said a "77" score is a "racist C+", stop throwing the race card out at everything. "77" is considered a very good Meta Critic score. It's more equivalent to a B+ or A- if you're talking grades, if you consider the fact that there are only a few movies that get higher than 90. Expand
  77. JudyT.
    Dec 29, 2006
    8
    Jennifer Hudson is great. You go girl.
  78. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    this is an amazing musical. yes it has its problems, but it has its amazingness. Jennifer Hudson's performance is the best out of the lot. she sang her best and acted pretty well. eddie murphy did well, a unique and different role for him, to me jamie foxx and beyonce were the least satisfactory in the film. he could have really been the guy u want to punch, but he wasnt, beyonce was. herthis is an amazing musical. yes it has its problems, but it has its amazingness. Jennifer Hudson's performance is the best out of the lot. she sang her best and acted pretty well. eddie murphy did well, a unique and different role for him, to me jamie foxx and beyonce were the least satisfactory in the film. he could have really been the guy u want to punch, but he wasnt, beyonce was. her want to have the spotlight shone when she sang listen, it was her try at trying to take the spotlight from jennifer. you can't beyonce, she out sand and acted you, deal with it. great musical, good movie. Expand
  79. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    It takes substantial blood, sweat and tears to turn a successful Broadway musical into a successful Hollywood masterpiece. Dreamgirls is one of the lucky ones - you can thank Bill Condon, Beyoncé Knowles and Jennifer Hudson for starters.
  80. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    This was a dazzling movie. I was seriously impressed with all the music and acting....that includes Beyonce. It was quite a spectacle and was very stylishly and artistically done.
  81. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    Superb soundtrack! Amazing vocals! Great acting! Inspiring story! I am really impressed and would difenitely watch it again! 8/10 is my final score!!!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 88
    This baby dazzles like nothing else anywhere.
  2. If there is a disappointment, it is this: The anticipation may have exceeded the realization. It's a damn good commercial movie, but it is not the film that will revive the musical or win over the world.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    90
    Finally. After "The Phantom of the Opera," "Rent" and "The Producers" botched the transfer from stage to screen, Dreamgirls gets it right. Bill Condon's adaptation of the 1981 show about a Motown trio's climb to crossover stardom pulls off the fundamental double-act those three musical pics all missed: It stays true to the source material while standing on its own as a fully reimagined movie.