DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 15, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 256 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
174
Mixed:
44
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
thefishslapFeb 20, 2015
Too many rich black people for me to understand what was going on.....................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MikeC.Jan 22, 2007
Why the critics like this movie is beyond me... Went with my wife and daughter, we all wanted to leave about 1 hour into the movie. This 2 hour movie seems more like 5 hours. Music sounds like they are singing the same song, over & over & over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NadieFeb 11, 2007
It started as a drama and ended as a musical. It started with one leading actress and ended with Beyonce. Looks like they change the director in the middle of the shooting. Some of the songs are really too long!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ConnieG.May 9, 2007
Bad acting and bad music. Would have been a little better if they used the real songs done by the Supremes. Should have left the idea of a musical on broadway. I thought I was going to be watching a movie. Don't waste your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FranklinC.Dec 25, 2006
Simply not entertaining. The production value is high, but the entertainment value is low. The pacing was slow. The plot was undeveloped. Hudson is a great singer (but often oversings) and gives a good performance, as does Eddie Murphy, but Simply not entertaining. The production value is high, but the entertainment value is low. The pacing was slow. The plot was undeveloped. Hudson is a great singer (but often oversings) and gives a good performance, as does Eddie Murphy, but the director plays camera tricks to play down her weight. She looks horrible in sleeveless dresses (you can see strechmarks on her arms), and you won't find many close ups of her arms, and in most shots where her arms are raised, the shot is wide and the shot slightly out of focus. The movie lacks a central theme and and simply isn't very entertaining. By an hour and a half, I was looking at my watch wishing the singing would stop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HoraceDec 25, 2006
If I want to see Jennifer Hudson sing I can attend her concert or watch it on video. As for the rest of this film there's very little to even come close to the Broadway show. Overhyped to the rafters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeonardP.Jan 11, 2007
A badly conceived film musical by a truly un-talented director. Bad costumes, bad art direction, bad songs. The only reason to see this is for Eddie Murphy and Jennifer Hudson who do their best .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
2roadsJan 10, 2007
The actors did the best they could with what they had to work with. . . but all in all it was desperately missing the Weinstein brothers' touch of excellence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeCJan 20, 2007
Excruciating. The songs are so terribly cheezy making the movie an utter cringe-fest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JB.Mar 14, 2007
Great job Jennifer Hudson--bad script. I thought I would get my life back at the end of the Billy Holiday song. but noooooo like 8 more songs after that with "shaft music". Alot of the lights and props and computer graphics looked to be from Great job Jennifer Hudson--bad script. I thought I would get my life back at the end of the Billy Holiday song. but noooooo like 8 more songs after that with "shaft music". Alot of the lights and props and computer graphics looked to be from 2000 also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinG.Apr 15, 2007
A black movie made for a white audience. Souless, corny, bad songs while lip singing. People who gave this a 10 have absolutely no taste. I lasted one hour because I plugged my ears most of the time. This was pure torture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DougIDec 25, 2006
Dreary, Dreary. I would advise anyone considering seeing this movie, to listen to the soundtack first. The music and lyrics are abysmal. Even Hudson, who has a great voice becomes overbearing in her delivery. The acting has a stage delivery, Dreary, Dreary. I would advise anyone considering seeing this movie, to listen to the soundtack first. The music and lyrics are abysmal. Even Hudson, who has a great voice becomes overbearing in her delivery. The acting has a stage delivery, rather then a more subtle movie appropriate style. The story is cliche and you don't really care about the characters. This all combined leads to my final comment. The best scene in the movie is the last one - when you realize 130 minutes has at last ticked by. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobC.Dec 26, 2006
The only good thing I can say about this movie is the costumes were good...other than that I want my 2 hrs of my life back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
keithb.Dec 28, 2006
At the risk of sounding racist, the music is so white it's laughable. It's a disgrace to Motown and everything they accomplished which you can still heard today all over the radio. Each and every song is so bland as to be instantly At the risk of sounding racist, the music is so white it's laughable. It's a disgrace to Motown and everything they accomplished which you can still heard today all over the radio. Each and every song is so bland as to be instantly forgettable. The lyrics are so simple I thought I was watching a high school production. It's also a blatant ripoff of the lives of the Supremes and Berry Gordy. Appalling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
chriswichJan 13, 2007
Screamgirls is more like it. Could this film have been any more grating? Am I the only one who thought this was a complete disaster? The editing, lip-synching, score, and acting (except for Eddie Murphy, who was fabulous) were so so sub-par Screamgirls is more like it. Could this film have been any more grating? Am I the only one who thought this was a complete disaster? The editing, lip-synching, score, and acting (except for Eddie Murphy, who was fabulous) were so so sub-par as to be amateurish. The vocal chops were there, alright, but Beyonce is Beyonce is Beyonce, and Jennifer Hudson's diaphragm-crushing, foghorn shrieking nearly made my brain hemhorrage. I'm sorry, but this is not "acting". And since when is Jamie Foxx a boring actor? The songs were interchangeable and sounded like a white-washed broadway mock-up of Motown, the real-life drama of the Supremes was sugar-coated, and the darn thing JUST WOULDN'T END!! Has the world gone silly?? This thing is a train wreck! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KerryD.Jan 16, 2007
As a lover of soul and R&B for 40 years, this movie was a souless, pointless, gutless cliche from start to finish. How is it possible to have a musical without ONE GOOD SONG? I was ashamed for every actor in this piece of dreck. Save your As a lover of soul and R&B for 40 years, this movie was a souless, pointless, gutless cliche from start to finish. How is it possible to have a musical without ONE GOOD SONG? I was ashamed for every actor in this piece of dreck. Save your money and go out and buy Smokey Robinson and the Miracles greatest hits Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
myselfandIOct 24, 2007
The worst biopic I've ever seen. Actually, I only liked the costumes. They said it tries to tell the Supremes' story!!!! I don't think so. The music is NOT motown sound at all, it's Beyonce's sound instead; and there The worst biopic I've ever seen. Actually, I only liked the costumes. They said it tries to tell the Supremes' story!!!! I don't think so. The music is NOT motown sound at all, it's Beyonce's sound instead; and there are too many stupid songs which are good and with good voices. But it is not motown, and people who really like 60's and soul music know that. Was it really so expensive to pay Motown for royalties? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FedUpDec 24, 2006
One is for Jennifer Hudson. As for the rest of this overhyped turkey it should be on the Thanksgving dinner table. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrookeC.Dec 27, 2006
An absolute nightmare. Amateurish, bad acting and cliches abound in this bore-fest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful