DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 15, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 260 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
177
Mixed:
45
Negative:
38
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RedlightJun 5, 2007
I really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent herI really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent her last years living in poverty before she died of coronary thrombosis. also before the supremes achieved mega stardom, she was raped at knifepoint by a friend of her brother's. Tragic. Apparently, Diana Ross (who Deena Jones (Beyonce) obviously represents) offered her help financially but I don't know if there's anything concrete to suggest that being true. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SteveAJan 3, 2007
I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great performance, but I thought her character was unpleasant (she just seemed like a bully to me). Everyone else in the movie did well, also. I'm hoping this isn't Beyonce's Evita. Despite crappy acting in the past, she shows a lot of growth and potential in this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DeeR.Sep 8, 2007
Loved it, loved it, loved it. trying to find dress or pattern for dress Jennifer wore when performing "I am Changing". Where?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BK.Jan 2, 2007
Best movie I've seen in awhile... strong performances across the board, particularly by Hudson. If it didn't fall into the Musical category, it would be a real contender for Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToeSJan 4, 2007
The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie Foxx's character stripped the soul from R&B to make it Pat Boone marketable. The movie would suffer if a post-Effie Dreamettes or post-sellout Earley sounded awesome. A risky move, but I appreciate the committment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevynS.Jan 9, 2007
I saw the Original Broadway Production back in the early eighties, and I never got the chills I did from Miss Hudson's Performance. Bravo Miss Hudson! Your Our Dreamgirl and your performance and voice have made you a Star! Kudos to I saw the Original Broadway Production back in the early eighties, and I never got the chills I did from Miss Hudson's Performance. Bravo Miss Hudson! Your Our Dreamgirl and your performance and voice have made you a Star! Kudos to Murphy, Knowles, and of course Mr. Foxx. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaHFeb 4, 2007
Best movie I have seen for a long time. Fanastic performance by Jennifer Hudson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.Feb 7, 2007
Loved the movie and the music. Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson are worth the price of admission.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VeraR.Mar 10, 2007
Thoroughly enjoyed it! I love musicals, I love music, I love singing ... therefore I enjoyed the movie. The cast was great. Eddie Murphy was great in his role, cannot believe it is Jennifer Hudson's first acting role. I enjoyed the story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DagnyD.Mar 8, 2007
Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Murphy, Beyonce, Rose, all deserved best supporting actor noms. Hudson deserved Best Actress nomination but would have lost to Helen Mirren, so I'm thriled for her well deserved Best Supporting Actress Oscar. "Dream Girls" now ties with my all-time favorite musical, "Chicago". My vote is actually a 9.8, for almost a masterpiece, but definitely a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyO.Dec 22, 2006
The movie could not have been better. I feel in love with it like I never have with a movie. It is a insperational, moving, life changing masterpiece so say the least. The sigh you will hear across the country in the next few weeks is the The movie could not have been better. I feel in love with it like I never have with a movie. It is a insperational, moving, life changing masterpiece so say the least. The sigh you will hear across the country in the next few weeks is the sound of a gratified audience: a great movie musical has been made at last. I will see it again and again. 5 stars. I also reccomend the soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EDDec 29, 2006
WOW!! The music on this movie is amazing!! Jennifer Hudson takes the rug right out from under Beyonce. SHE IS AMAZING! i have never seen an audience give a standing O DURING the movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Dec 5, 2006
Saw the preview last night of Dreamgirls in Charlotte, NC. First off I have to say that it is a great interpretation of the stage play. I thought that the script had really fleshed out the show and brought to life ideas that were only Saw the preview last night of Dreamgirls in Charlotte, NC. First off I have to say that it is a great interpretation of the stage play. I thought that the script had really fleshed out the show and brought to life ideas that were only briefly touched upon. All of the characters were much more believable on screen, and the added songs really fit in with the rest of the score. The greatest triumph of this movie has to be Jennifer Hudson as Effie. She is truly a star. After she sang, And Im Telling You, the whole audience burst into applause. It was truly magical. I turned to the friend who went with me and said...she definitely will be nominated if not win the Oscar!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Jan 15, 2007
Absolutely miraculous entertainment. One of the best movie musicals in recent memory, "Dreamgirls" sends viewers on a fabulous roadtrip through the ups and downs of fame. Hudson is nothing less than spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobinT.Jan 28, 2007
Very good musical. Needs about 15 minutes edited out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarryP.Jan 9, 2007
Uneven. When it's good, it's brilliant, but, it sags, largely because of the changes made to the original Broadway production. It could use a 20 minute cut. Oh yes, I thought Hudson's squallathon is surpassed by her renditon Uneven. When it's good, it's brilliant, but, it sags, largely because of the changes made to the original Broadway production. It could use a 20 minute cut. Oh yes, I thought Hudson's squallathon is surpassed by her renditon of "I'm Changing". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelB.Feb 11, 2007
One of the best singing movies. Jennifer Hudson, what a singer. I would like to highlight Eddy' Murphy's role, amazing. Should be seen on a wide screen - home theatre. Bravo - more - more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkBayerFeb 15, 2007
It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" approach to Academy Award promotions and campaigning. While it's comforting (if ultimately self-defeating) to believe that modern-day equivalents of The Alamo, Cleopatra, Doctor Doolittle and The Towering Inferno no longer stand a chance in the top race, the truth in this case remains that occasionally the publicity machine turns out to be right, that the Academy's adolescent nose-thumbing in favor of movies with lower-key stealth campaigns resulted this year in honoring such unworthy contenders as the admittedly well-made but seemingly endless globe-trotting depress-o-thon and the likable but wildly overrated National Lampoon's Vacation clone, and that, except for United 93, Dreamgirls IS the best film of 2006. In fact, it's the best American nonanimated musical movie since Cabaret. (Not that there's been much real competition: Rent was clunky, The Producers clunkier, Moulin Rouge! plain obnoxious, Grease accurately labeled by Pauline Kael as a "klutzburger", and Chicago...well, more about that later.) Writer-director Bill Condon, adapting Tom Eyen's and Henry Krieger's Broadway hit roman a clef dealing with the rise of pop/ R&B girl group The Dreams (based of course on You-Know-Who and The You-Know-Whats, despite all the denials) brings the same incredible roller-coaster pacing and propulsion that made his 2005 film biography of Dr. Alfred C. Kinsey so powerful (OK, maybe this has a couple of montages too many, but why complain about too much of a good thing?) giving this movie not only an epic feel but also making it one of the fastest two-hours-plus I've ever spent in a theater. Jamie Foxx, as The Dreams' boundlessly unscrupulous manager, proves to be such an effectively despicable movie slimeball that I genuinely fear that his performance here will effectively limit some of his future choices of roles; Anika Noni Rose provides delightful comic relief as the "third" member; Beyonce Knowles as the cagily-promoted lead singer not only proves that she really CAN act (which The Pink Panther and Austin Powers in Goldmember certainly didn't) but her courage in allowing herself to be described in a certain way at a key moment is, in light of her ongoing musical success, remarkably admirable. Oscar DID get the movie's two acting nods right: Eddie Murphy, as the record label's brilliant but mercurial and immature male star, displays depths of talent and versatility that all the Norbits and Pluto Nashes in the world can't erase. And Jennifer Hudson, as The dreams' rightful lead singer, who's unjustly shunted aside for (to put it crudely but frankly) being too fat and singing too Black, is a force of nature whose power isn't at all limited to her breathtaking, already legendary rendition of "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going"; the hugely emotional and demonstrative response she received from the mostly White patrons at my showing indicates that this is a performance whose richness cuts across all racial barriers. Dreamgirls' abrupt, mid-movie shift from being an "organic; movie musical (in which the characters only sing in situations that would realistically call for it) to a traditional one (in which they burst into song at any given moment) has been the source of much criticism but to me is one of its greatest strengths: after the Condon-written Chicago's gambit of hedging its bets by placing all the musical numbers "inside Roxie's head" it's a joy to watch a musical that proudly and fearlessly admits it IS one. And while it's fun to identify all the real-life musical references (James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Donna Summer and even Jim Morrison among many others are catalogued) Dreamgirls also provides the sobering reminder of a truth that we pop culture fans so often forget: thar every successful record, movie, TV show or other endeavor is the result of somebody getting hurt or excluded. 2006 has seen a lot of mainstream advocacy filmmaking, but most of it has consisted in my case of preaching to the choir: I don't drive a car or buy jewelry so An Inconvenient Truth and Blood Diamond caused me to change very little of my behavior because I was already doing what they wanted. But Dreamgirls, because of its power and passion (and in particular that of Murphy's and Hudson's work) has gotten me to make one very significant change: since seeing it I've been listening to my Motown anthologies a little bit less and my Stax compilations quite a bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulD.Feb 24, 2007
The music was neither remarkable nor authentic; the characters were poorly developed; the direction and writing was somehow sloppy. The casting and acting was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeannieFeb 4, 2007
An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was Fantasia's forte, not Jennifer's. And her character, Effie, should have been allowed some softness and vulnerablitiy rather than a surfeit of puzzling touchiness and anger. We want to love Effie, empathize with her. Fascinating operatic-like segment when Effie is replaced in the trio--each character sings their lines in the American idiom rather than Italian, etc. Wow. "Tour de force" comes to mind. Eddie Murphy's slimy character is made memorable by his shocking downfall, an unexpected collapse of a life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieW.Feb 8, 2007
In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When one mind is opened you cannot help not to give credits to all of those in the finalization of this excellent movie. One thing that I want put out is the work of Fatima Robinson. In spite of the tremendous challenge that she has faced in this business her personal challenges have been a catalyst in how if your "Dream" and stay focus, you can still overcome life's tragedies. After all, saying goodbye a close friend on a shoot and next finding out that she has perished in a airplane crash is no words to describe. Fatima is a trojan. The chorography, particulary, "Steppin' To The Bad Side", et al., capped the success of the movie. It has been such an inspiration to me that I had to learn how to use my computer to make sure that my words were set out. The hard work, the focus, the love of the business makes me love Debbie Allen and her work in this field, along with Michael Bennett and the other choreographers that have been overlooked. Fatima Robinson certainly deserves more attention for her fine work from past to present. "Get At Me, Girl". I'm crusading for the choreographers, since everybody loves dancing. Let's do something about this overlook category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoseO.Feb 9, 2007
It has its flaws, yes but it still compelling and well acted. Hudson is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethM.Aug 19, 2007
My favorite movie it made me cry but it was worth it and is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilBDec 17, 2006
Its a very entertaining, feel good movie that is well done. At about the one hour mark it starts to lag, but dear God can Jennifer Hudson sing! She belted out her solo number "I'm Not Going" that brought the house down. Overall, an 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Dec 20, 2006
An instant classic. Better than the original Broadway Show. Osacar Noms. galore and a sure best supporting win for Jennifer Hudson. Loved it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SashaB.C.Dec 22, 2006
This film carries a supurb grace and beauty to it like no other film of 2006. Sure to be a box office hit and a winner of at least one oscar for Jennifer Hudson, this film carries you into a world of music through the eyes of some of the This film carries a supurb grace and beauty to it like no other film of 2006. Sure to be a box office hit and a winner of at least one oscar for Jennifer Hudson, this film carries you into a world of music through the eyes of some of the most intresting characters. Side preformaces from Danny Glover, Kieth Robinson and )of course the now nationally famous american-idol loser) Jennifer Hudson, who delivers one of the greatest musical prefomances in the history of film. The movie is beyond moving and entertaining, it is truely a pitch-perfect masterpiece with so much soul and story to go with it. Skip Babel, forget the Queen, the number one movie of 2006 is by far the one and only Dreamgirls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferDec 26, 2006
Make sure you go see this movie. Great from beginning to end. Jennifer Hudson is outstanding. Beyonce solo moment is amazing and Eddie Murphy has not looked so good since he performed as Randy Watson with the Sexual Chocolate band on Coming Make sure you go see this movie. Great from beginning to end. Jennifer Hudson is outstanding. Beyonce solo moment is amazing and Eddie Murphy has not looked so good since he performed as Randy Watson with the Sexual Chocolate band on Coming to America. Eddie Murphy looks like he has been performing on stage for years. The movie hold you in from the entire time. This is the first time in a while that I have left a movie and felt it was money well spent. I do not want to speak too much about it. Just take my word for it and go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DantaW.Dec 26, 2006
Best musical in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NieceyG.Dec 27, 2006
This was an outstanding movie, Jennifer Hudson shine (can you believe she was voted off American Idol)? When she sung I am telling you, it brought tears to my eyes the theatre went wild. Beyonce was great pretty as usual, when she did her This was an outstanding movie, Jennifer Hudson shine (can you believe she was voted off American Idol)? When she sung I am telling you, it brought tears to my eyes the theatre went wild. Beyonce was great pretty as usual, when she did her solo I have never seen her do it with so much passion. Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy did there thing. This movie was truly worth the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MightyMickDec 28, 2006
This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the movie again the next day and as I found myself still singing the songs the following day, I rushed to a store last night for the soundtrack which my husband and I have already listened to multiple times. All of this since the movie opened this week! I cannot tell you how moved I was. Don't let racial stereotyping dissaude you from missing the movie event of the year. If you do, you will miss something great! MM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful