User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 241
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Redlight
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    I really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent her last years living in poverty before she died of coronary thrombosis. also before the supremes achieved mega stardom, she was raped at knifepoint by aI really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent her last years living in poverty before she died of coronary thrombosis. also before the supremes achieved mega stardom, she was raped at knifepoint by a friend of her brother's. Tragic. Apparently, Diana Ross (who Deena Jones (Beyonce) obviously represents) offered her help financially but I don't know if there's anything concrete to suggest that being true. Expand
  2. ChipL.
    Jan 17, 2007
    5
    Watered down and middle of the road, with only Jennifer Hudson showing any true connection with the audience.
  3. SteveA
    Jan 3, 2007
    7
    I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great performance, but I thought her character was unpleasant (she just seemed like a bully to me). Everyone else in the movie did well, also. I'm hoping this I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great performance, but I thought her character was unpleasant (she just seemed like a bully to me). Everyone else in the movie did well, also. I'm hoping this isn't Beyonce's Evita. Despite crappy acting in the past, she shows a lot of growth and potential in this movie. Collapse
  4. KerryD.
    Jan 16, 2007
    0
    As a lover of soul and R&B for 40 years, this movie was a souless, pointless, gutless cliche from start to finish. How is it possible to have a musical without ONE GOOD SONG? I was ashamed for every actor in this piece of dreck. Save your money and go out and buy Smokey Robinson and the Miracles greatest hits
  5. DeeR.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Loved it, loved it, loved it. trying to find dress or pattern for dress Jennifer wore when performing "I am Changing". Where?
  6. Nadie
    Feb 11, 2007
    3
    It started as a drama and ended as a musical. It started with one leading actress and ended with Beyonce. Looks like they change the director in the middle of the shooting. Some of the songs are really too long!
  7. TonyLC
    Mar 4, 2007
    5
    This movie was disappointing. The original music was poor. Why not spend money and use Supremes songs? I dislike the conversations that were done in song. Hudson was the biggest disappointment. Her singing was actually screaming. Very unpleasant.
  8. BK.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Best movie I've seen in awhile... strong performances across the board, particularly by Hudson. If it didn't fall into the Musical category, it would be a real contender for Best Picture.
  9. ToeS
    Jan 4, 2007
    8
    The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie Foxx's character stripped the soul from R&B to make it Pat Boone marketable. The movie would suffer if a post-Effie Dreamettes or post-sellout The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie Foxx's character stripped the soul from R&B to make it Pat Boone marketable. The movie would suffer if a post-Effie Dreamettes or post-sellout Earley sounded awesome. A risky move, but I appreciate the committment. Expand
  10. DevynS.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    I saw the Original Broadway Production back in the early eighties, and I never got the chills I did from Miss Hudson's Performance. Bravo Miss Hudson! Your Our Dreamgirl and your performance and voice have made you a Star! Kudos to Murphy, Knowles, and of course Mr. Foxx.
  11. AngelaH
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Best movie I have seen for a long time. Fanastic performance by Jennifer Hudson.
  12. TonyT.
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Loved the movie and the music. Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson are worth the price of admission.
  13. VeraR.
    Mar 10, 2007
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyed it! I love musicals, I love music, I love singing ... therefore I enjoyed the movie. The cast was great. Eddie Murphy was great in his role, cannot believe it is Jennifer Hudson's first acting role. I enjoyed the story line.
  14. DagnyD.
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Murphy, Beyonce, Rose, all deserved best supporting actor noms. Hudson deserved Best Actress nomination but would have lost to Helen Mirren, so I'm Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Murphy, Beyonce, Rose, all deserved best supporting actor noms. Hudson deserved Best Actress nomination but would have lost to Helen Mirren, so I'm thriled for her well deserved Best Supporting Actress Oscar. "Dream Girls" now ties with my all-time favorite musical, "Chicago". My vote is actually a 9.8, for almost a masterpiece, but definitely a classic. Expand
  15. AmyO.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    The movie could not have been better. I feel in love with it like I never have with a movie. It is a insperational, moving, life changing masterpiece so say the least. The sigh you will hear across the country in the next few weeks is the sound of a gratified audience: a great movie musical has been made at last. I will see it again and again. 5 stars. I also reccomend the soundtrack.
  16. ED
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    WOW!! The music on this movie is amazing!! Jennifer Hudson takes the rug right out from under Beyonce. SHE IS AMAZING! i have never seen an audience give a standing O DURING the movie!
  17. Spongeee
    Dec 30, 2006
    5
    Average film. Lots of info to tell but reallly never tells anything. Good songs, Hudson is strong, but overall, could have been better.
  18. ChrisP.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Saw the preview last night of Dreamgirls in Charlotte, NC. First off I have to say that it is a great interpretation of the stage play. I thought that the script had really fleshed out the show and brought to life ideas that were only briefly touched upon. All of the characters were much more believable on screen, and the added songs really fit in with the rest of the score. The greatest Saw the preview last night of Dreamgirls in Charlotte, NC. First off I have to say that it is a great interpretation of the stage play. I thought that the script had really fleshed out the show and brought to life ideas that were only briefly touched upon. All of the characters were much more believable on screen, and the added songs really fit in with the rest of the score. The greatest triumph of this movie has to be Jennifer Hudson as Effie. She is truly a star. After she sang, And Im Telling You, the whole audience burst into applause. It was truly magical. I turned to the friend who went with me and said...she definitely will be nominated if not win the Oscar!!! Expand
  19. MelissaM.
    Jan 13, 2007
    4
    I can't believe the hype. I thought the movie was slow and boring! Without Jennifer Hudson it would only have lasted a week in the thearter. I was watching my watch to see how much longer I had to suffer through the film.
  20. MattR.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Absolutely miraculous entertainment. One of the best movie musicals in recent memory, "Dreamgirls" sends viewers on a fabulous roadtrip through the ups and downs of fame. Hudson is nothing less than spectacular.
  21. MikeC.
    Jan 22, 2007
    1
    Why the critics like this movie is beyond me... Went with my wife and daughter, we all wanted to leave about 1 hour into the movie. This 2 hour movie seems more like 5 hours. Music sounds like they are singing the same song, over & over & over.
  22. RobinT.
    Jan 28, 2007
    7
    Very good musical. Needs about 15 minutes edited out.
  23. AquaBabe
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    Honestly..I went into this movie expecting to be swept off my feet, but that didn't happen. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves all the acclaim she's been getting and even more. The movie came alive with soul when she was on stage. Eddie Murphy was awesome. Jamie Foxx's lackluster performance definitely did not match Ray. Then the almighty Beyonce. Damnnnn the girl should Honestly..I went into this movie expecting to be swept off my feet, but that didn't happen. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves all the acclaim she's been getting and even more. The movie came alive with soul when she was on stage. Eddie Murphy was awesome. Jamie Foxx's lackluster performance definitely did not match Ray. Then the almighty Beyonce. Damnnnn the girl should stick to singing, and by that I mean singing off screen. Her performance was painful...she was acting while trying to act. Jennifer Hudson definitely has stage presence...love love her now. Expand
  24. DonaldR.
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Jennifer Hudson has made her mark. Great. Eddie Murphy was terrific. Greater still. Beyonce Knowles channelled Diana Ross. Ho hum. The others did well and served their roles accordingly. But the film as a whole, despite being handsomely produced and attended, was bloated, full of wind and repitition, and the characters never really came to life. Some of it dazzled but after awhile all the Jennifer Hudson has made her mark. Great. Eddie Murphy was terrific. Greater still. Beyonce Knowles channelled Diana Ross. Ho hum. The others did well and served their roles accordingly. But the film as a whole, despite being handsomely produced and attended, was bloated, full of wind and repitition, and the characters never really came to life. Some of it dazzled but after awhile all the glizt proved to be boring. By the time Loretta Devine started singing, I wanted to scream at the screen "ENOUGH ALREADY...JUST LET THIS FILM END!" Really tedious. The stage version was quick, fast, riveting and after what Condon did with CHICAGO I expected more. A lot more. I was very disappointed. Expand
  25. HarryP.
    Jan 9, 2007
    8
    Uneven. When it's good, it's brilliant, but, it sags, largely because of the changes made to the original Broadway production. It could use a 20 minute cut. Oh yes, I thought Hudson's squallathon is surpassed by her renditon of "I'm Changing".
  26. MichelB.
    Feb 11, 2007
    9
    One of the best singing movies. Jennifer Hudson, what a singer. I would like to highlight Eddy' Murphy's role, amazing. Should be seen on a wide screen - home theatre. Bravo - more - more!
  27. MarkBayer
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" approach to Academy Award promotions and campaigning. While it's comforting (if ultimately self-defeating) to believe that modern-day equivalents of It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" approach to Academy Award promotions and campaigning. While it's comforting (if ultimately self-defeating) to believe that modern-day equivalents of The Alamo, Cleopatra, Doctor Doolittle and The Towering Inferno no longer stand a chance in the top race, the truth in this case remains that occasionally the publicity machine turns out to be right, that the Academy's adolescent nose-thumbing in favor of movies with lower-key stealth campaigns resulted this year in honoring such unworthy contenders as the admittedly well-made but seemingly endless globe-trotting depress-o-thon and the likable but wildly overrated National Lampoon's Vacation clone, and that, except for United 93, Dreamgirls IS the best film of 2006. In fact, it's the best American nonanimated musical movie since Cabaret. (Not that there's been much real competition: Rent was clunky, The Producers clunkier, Moulin Rouge! plain obnoxious, Grease accurately labeled by Pauline Kael as a "klutzburger", and Chicago...well, more about that later.) Writer-director Bill Condon, adapting Tom Eyen's and Henry Krieger's Broadway hit roman a clef dealing with the rise of pop/ R&B girl group The Dreams (based of course on You-Know-Who and The You-Know-Whats, despite all the denials) brings the same incredible roller-coaster pacing and propulsion that made his 2005 film biography of Dr. Alfred C. Kinsey so powerful (OK, maybe this has a couple of montages too many, but why complain about too much of a good thing?) giving this movie not only an epic feel but also making it one of the fastest two-hours-plus I've ever spent in a theater. Jamie Foxx, as The Dreams' boundlessly unscrupulous manager, proves to be such an effectively despicable movie slimeball that I genuinely fear that his performance here will effectively limit some of his future choices of roles; Anika Noni Rose provides delightful comic relief as the "third" member; Beyonce Knowles as the cagily-promoted lead singer not only proves that she really CAN act (which The Pink Panther and Austin Powers in Goldmember certainly didn't) but her courage in allowing herself to be described in a certain way at a key moment is, in light of her ongoing musical success, remarkably admirable. Oscar DID get the movie's two acting nods right: Eddie Murphy, as the record label's brilliant but mercurial and immature male star, displays depths of talent and versatility that all the Norbits and Pluto Nashes in the world can't erase. And Jennifer Hudson, as The dreams' rightful lead singer, who's unjustly shunted aside for (to put it crudely but frankly) being too fat and singing too Black, is a force of nature whose power isn't at all limited to her breathtaking, already legendary rendition of "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going"; the hugely emotional and demonstrative response she received from the mostly White patrons at my showing indicates that this is a performance whose richness cuts across all racial barriers. Dreamgirls' abrupt, mid-movie shift from being an "organic; movie musical (in which the characters only sing in situations that would realistically call for it) to a traditional one (in which they burst into song at any given moment) has been the source of much criticism but to me is one of its greatest strengths: after the Condon-written Chicago's gambit of hedging its bets by placing all the musical numbers "inside Roxie's head" it's a joy to watch a musical that proudly and fearlessly admits it IS one. And while it's fun to identify all the real-life musical references (James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Donna Summer and even Jim Morrison among many others are catalogued) Dreamgirls also provides the sobering reminder of a truth that we pop culture fans so often forget: thar every successful record, movie, TV show or other endeavor is the result of somebody getting hurt or excluded. 2006 has seen a lot of mainstream advocacy filmmaking, but most of it has consisted in my case of preaching to the choir: I don't drive a car or buy jewelry so An Inconvenient Truth and Blood Diamond caused me to change very little of my behavior because I was already doing what they wanted. But Dreamgirls, because of its power and passion (and in particular that of Murphy's and Hudson's work) has gotten me to make one very significant change: since seeing it I've been listening to my Motown anthologies a little bit less and my Stax compilations quite a bit more. Expand
  28. PaulD.
    Feb 24, 2007
    7
    The music was neither remarkable nor authentic; the characters were poorly developed; the direction and writing was somehow sloppy. The casting and acting was good.
  29. Jeannie
    Feb 4, 2007
    7
    An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was Fantasia's forte, not Jennifer's. And her character, Effie, should have been allowed some softness and vulnerablitiy rather than a surfeit of An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was Fantasia's forte, not Jennifer's. And her character, Effie, should have been allowed some softness and vulnerablitiy rather than a surfeit of puzzling touchiness and anger. We want to love Effie, empathize with her. Fascinating operatic-like segment when Effie is replaced in the trio--each character sings their lines in the American idiom rather than Italian, etc. Wow. "Tour de force" comes to mind. Eddie Murphy's slimy character is made memorable by his shocking downfall, an unexpected collapse of a life. Expand
  30. StephanieW.
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When one mind is opened you cannot help not to give credits to all of those in the finalization of this excellent movie. One thing that I want put out is In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When one mind is opened you cannot help not to give credits to all of those in the finalization of this excellent movie. One thing that I want put out is the work of Fatima Robinson. In spite of the tremendous challenge that she has faced in this business her personal challenges have been a catalyst in how if your "Dream" and stay focus, you can still overcome life's tragedies. After all, saying goodbye a close friend on a shoot and next finding out that she has perished in a airplane crash is no words to describe. Fatima is a trojan. The chorography, particulary, "Steppin' To The Bad Side", et al., capped the success of the movie. It has been such an inspiration to me that I had to learn how to use my computer to make sure that my words were set out. The hard work, the focus, the love of the business makes me love Debbie Allen and her work in this field, along with Michael Bennett and the other choreographers that have been overlooked. Fatima Robinson certainly deserves more attention for her fine work from past to present. "Get At Me, Girl". I'm crusading for the choreographers, since everybody loves dancing. Let's do something about this overlook category. Expand
  31. JoseO.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    It has its flaws, yes but it still compelling and well acted. Hudson is very good.
  32. ConnieG.
    May 9, 2007
    0
    Bad acting and bad music. Would have been a little better if they used the real songs done by the Supremes. Should have left the idea of a musical on broadway. I thought I was going to be watching a movie. Don't waste your time.
  33. ElizabethM.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    My favorite movie it made me cry but it was worth it and is the best.
  34. ScottY.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    The film just does not live up to the hype. They've been calling this the film to beat at the Oscars and that just might be its downfall come February. Hudson is fantastic, however the music just didn't "sing".
  35. BilB
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    Its a very entertaining, feel good movie that is well done. At about the one hour mark it starts to lag, but dear God can Jennifer Hudson sing! She belted out her solo number "I'm Not Going" that brought the house down. Overall, an 8.
  36. AndrewR.
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    An instant classic. Better than the original Broadway Show. Osacar Noms. galore and a sure best supporting win for Jennifer Hudson. Loved it!!!
  37. SashaB.C.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    This film carries a supurb grace and beauty to it like no other film of 2006. Sure to be a box office hit and a winner of at least one oscar for Jennifer Hudson, this film carries you into a world of music through the eyes of some of the most intresting characters. Side preformaces from Danny Glover, Kieth Robinson and )of course the now nationally famous american-idol loser) Jennifer This film carries a supurb grace and beauty to it like no other film of 2006. Sure to be a box office hit and a winner of at least one oscar for Jennifer Hudson, this film carries you into a world of music through the eyes of some of the most intresting characters. Side preformaces from Danny Glover, Kieth Robinson and )of course the now nationally famous american-idol loser) Jennifer Hudson, who delivers one of the greatest musical prefomances in the history of film. The movie is beyond moving and entertaining, it is truely a pitch-perfect masterpiece with so much soul and story to go with it. Skip Babel, forget the Queen, the number one movie of 2006 is by far the one and only Dreamgirls. Expand
  38. FranklinC.
    Dec 25, 2006
    3
    Simply not entertaining. The production value is high, but the entertainment value is low. The pacing was slow. The plot was undeveloped. Hudson is a great singer (but often oversings) and gives a good performance, as does Eddie Murphy, but the director plays camera tricks to play down her weight. She looks horrible in sleeveless dresses (you can see strechmarks on her arms), and you Simply not entertaining. The production value is high, but the entertainment value is low. The pacing was slow. The plot was undeveloped. Hudson is a great singer (but often oversings) and gives a good performance, as does Eddie Murphy, but the director plays camera tricks to play down her weight. She looks horrible in sleeveless dresses (you can see strechmarks on her arms), and you won't find many close ups of her arms, and in most shots where her arms are raised, the shot is wide and the shot slightly out of focus. The movie lacks a central theme and and simply isn't very entertaining. By an hour and a half, I was looking at my watch wishing the singing would stop. Expand
  39. Horace
    Dec 25, 2006
    2
    If I want to see Jennifer Hudson sing I can attend her concert or watch it on video. As for the rest of this film there's very little to even come close to the Broadway show. Overhyped to the rafters.
  40. Jennifer
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Make sure you go see this movie. Great from beginning to end. Jennifer Hudson is outstanding. Beyonce solo moment is amazing and Eddie Murphy has not looked so good since he performed as Randy Watson with the Sexual Chocolate band on Coming to America. Eddie Murphy looks like he has been performing on stage for years. The movie hold you in from the entire time. This is the first time in a Make sure you go see this movie. Great from beginning to end. Jennifer Hudson is outstanding. Beyonce solo moment is amazing and Eddie Murphy has not looked so good since he performed as Randy Watson with the Sexual Chocolate band on Coming to America. Eddie Murphy looks like he has been performing on stage for years. The movie hold you in from the entire time. This is the first time in a while that I have left a movie and felt it was money well spent. I do not want to speak too much about it. Just take my word for it and go see it! Expand
  41. DantaW.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Best musical in years.
  42. NieceyG.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    This was an outstanding movie, Jennifer Hudson shine (can you believe she was voted off American Idol)? When she sung I am telling you, it brought tears to my eyes the theatre went wild. Beyonce was great pretty as usual, when she did her solo I have never seen her do it with so much passion. Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy did there thing. This movie was truly worth the money.
  43. MightyMick
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the movie again the next day and as I found myself still singing the songs the following day, I rushed to a store last night for the soundtrack which my This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the movie again the next day and as I found myself still singing the songs the following day, I rushed to a store last night for the soundtrack which my husband and I have already listened to multiple times. All of this since the movie opened this week! I cannot tell you how moved I was. Don't let racial stereotyping dissaude you from missing the movie event of the year. If you do, you will miss something great! MM Expand
  44. BrianF
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    If you like movie musicals, you'll love it. If you don't, it probably won't convert you. That said, Jennifer Hudson's performance is absolutely a must-see.
  45. CraigM.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    It is absolutely amazing, a transcendental experience.
  46. CynthiaF.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy were exceptional in Dreamgirls! Beyonce was really good; Keith Robinson was excellent; Jamie Foxx was really great! The entire movie was nicely done; I have seen the movie twice already and purchased the soundtrack. I plan on seeing the movie one more time, which is very unusual for me...the movie is just that outstanding!! I rate it 10 Stars!!
  47. LisaM.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie. i watched it at an early press screening and it was so much fun. The music, costumes and the wonderful Jennifer Hudson made for a fun night. If you see you any movie this year make sure you see Dreamgirls.
  48. MollyH.
    Dec 5, 2006
    5
    Saw this at an early screening too and was mildly entertained, except when Jennifer Hudson was on screen---she was fantastic & easily steals the show. Our theater broke out in laughter (unintended) everytime Jaime Fox or the other dude started singing---they were terrible. Or, I should say the transition into singing was terrible. Also, it ran very long when I saw it (esp at the end) Saw this at an early screening too and was mildly entertained, except when Jennifer Hudson was on screen---she was fantastic & easily steals the show. Our theater broke out in laughter (unintended) everytime Jaime Fox or the other dude started singing---they were terrible. Or, I should say the transition into singing was terrible. Also, it ran very long when I saw it (esp at the end) though I'd bet it's been edited down a bit since (and hopefully they cut the guy songs out entirely). Beyonce (as diana ross) was completely upstaged by Jennifer Hudson--both as actors and as the parts were written. I agree with Brian in that Jaime Fox's barrie gordy role was also quite thin. Kudos to Jennifer Hudson---even with this uneven production, she really shines through. The overhype with Jaime Fox and Beyonce is going to be a bit of a disappointment to many. Expand
  49. BrinaK.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  50. BenZ.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    I saw this at one of the many press screenings a few weeks ago. It was really spectacular and the more I think about the more I enjoyed it. I did think the character development was a little lacking (especially concerning Fox and Beyonce), but the entire cast was terrific. It's hard not to consider this one of the best films of the year.
  51. LeonardP.
    Jan 11, 2007
    2
    A badly conceived film musical by a truly un-talented director. Bad costumes, bad art direction, bad songs. The only reason to see this is for Eddie Murphy and Jennifer Hudson who do their best .
  52. Enrique
    Jan 12, 2007
    4
    Good performances and the movie has its moments, but becomes quite tedious after awhile. A real disappointment.
  53. 2roads
    Jan 10, 2007
    3
    The actors did the best they could with what they had to work with. . . but all in all it was desperately missing the Weinstein brothers' touch of excellence.
  54. KathleenO.
    Jan 15, 2007
    4
    I saw the cast on Oprah and it was not made clear to me that this was a musical. I don't like musicals and the movie was ruined for me when they sang when I really, really believed the words should have been said.
  55. MikeC
    Jan 20, 2007
    3
    Excruciating. The songs are so terribly cheezy making the movie an utter cringe-fest.
  56. MatthewC.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Jennifer Hudson--Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I have seen this movie and only this movie four times in eight days at the theater and I'm sixty-one years old. Bill Condon is a top-notch director and screenwriter.
  57. KimC.
    Jan 24, 2007
    5
    Too much pre-hype. Major let down. Hudson is great and deserves all the attention she is receiving. When she isn't on screen the film becomes long and boring.
  58. RyanF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    5
    It was way to long! The scenes where Hudson was belting here lungs out were too long, the love scenes were too long!! Long long long long long!!!!
  59. AngelydaCECE
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    I was so excited to finally be able to see the film today. I went to see it with an open mind even when I was doubtful with Beyonce in the cast. Beyonce has definitely improved with her acting, BUT and that is a big BUT..she still has a long long way to go. I just can't see her as the Diana Ross-like character..I kept seeing Beyonce and not Deena. Great actors can make you forget who I was so excited to finally be able to see the film today. I went to see it with an open mind even when I was doubtful with Beyonce in the cast. Beyonce has definitely improved with her acting, BUT and that is a big BUT..she still has a long long way to go. I just can't see her as the Diana Ross-like character..I kept seeing Beyonce and not Deena. Great actors can make you forget who they really are like Eddie Murphy, I forgot he was Eddie Murphy!! When she sings, it was Beyonce not the character Deena, who was supposed to have weak vocals that catered to white audiences but Beyonce was oversinging in some of the songs especially Listen. If it wasn't for Jennifer Hudson's I'm telling You I'm Not Going and One Night Only, I would've rated lower. Bad casting for Deena and Curtis character, not that Jamie was bad, it wasn't the right role for him. Everyone else was superb. And Jennifer Hudson is the lead character, not Beyonce, so why are they promoting the movie like she is lead????? Jennifer Hudson is supposed to be first on the flyers. I have to be honest, don't want to be mean, but Beyonce killed the movie for me, although I give her props for being able to give the spotlight to someone else for a change. Deena character was annoying in that the movie portrayed her as being so so nice with NO flaws and last time I checked, Divas aren't this nice. Lastly, Deena and the rest abandoned Effie, but when Deena and Effie finally met each other again after so many years, Effie was so so quick to forgive Deena. The director should've made this scene between the two a really dramatic one, but it didn't turn out that way. Expand
  60. YolandaP.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    For there to be two new actress in this movie, one would never be able to tell. All of the cast did a wonderful job, but Beyonce and Jennifer were outstanding for them not to have all of the acting years and ability as the others. Bravo, Bravo
  61. RandallRomsdahl
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This is a magnificent movie music, African American opera with amazing music, and fine acting.
  62. scotts
    Jan 7, 2007
    4
    Stunningly mediocre.
  63. FloR
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    The main reason I gave it an 8 is because of the awesome performance by Jenifer Hudson & Eddie Murphy. Without her presence this film would have been a flop.
  64. JB.
    Mar 14, 2007
    2
    Great job Jennifer Hudson--bad script. I thought I would get my life back at the end of the Billy Holiday song. but noooooo like 8 more songs after that with "shaft music". Alot of the lights and props and computer graphics looked to be from 2000 also.
  65. Sam
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Despite the rather dull middle-section, the movie flows on at a steady pace and Ms. Hudson's performance requires a standing ovation, much like what happened at most of the movie theaters across the country.
  66. KevinG.
    Apr 15, 2007
    1
    A black movie made for a white audience. Souless, corny, bad songs while lip singing. People who gave this a 10 have absolutely no taste. I lasted one hour because I plugged my ears most of the time. This was pure torture.
  67. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing, excellent movie musical with Beyonce, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx and ex-american idol Jennifer Hudson. Strong and deeply touching performance, cool soundtrack. The movie definetely should have got an oscar (Jennifer Hudson got only the best supporting actress).
  68. WilliamW.
    May 27, 2007
    4
    The music and acting were good but the plot, script writing was terrible. I feel like I just wasted two hours of my life.
  69. LenR.
    May 5, 2007
    6
    Great performances with otherwise mundane music.
  70. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. I felt this movie. The singing was speakin volumes.
  71. TonyB.
    Jun 26, 2007
    7
    An only mediocre stage musical has been turned into a considerably better film.
  72. TylerW.
    Dec 13, 2006
    7
    Jennifer Hudson is mesmerizing and deserves all the critical praise being heaped on her. Probably the most memorable first role from an actress since Keisha Castle-Hughes in Whale Rider. Beyonce was also suprisingly good. I have never been a fan of hers - but she does better than solid work. It pains me to say though that the movie itself wasn't really that great and I probably Jennifer Hudson is mesmerizing and deserves all the critical praise being heaped on her. Probably the most memorable first role from an actress since Keisha Castle-Hughes in Whale Rider. Beyonce was also suprisingly good. I have never been a fan of hers - but she does better than solid work. It pains me to say though that the movie itself wasn't really that great and I probably wouldn't recommend it were it not for the performances of Hudson and Beyonce. The script is weak and the dialogue hackneyed in spots. A huge portion of the supporting cast seemed a bit overwhelmed at times by the scale of the film. See the film for the performances but don't expect anything revolutionary. Expand
  73. MichaelG.
    Dec 15, 2006
    6
    Nice, but AO Scott is right, the music ain't Motown and there's no fix for that. But judged on its own terms, it's pretty entertaining for a while, then starts to lose steam. Not the best of the year, but top twenty.
  74. JanJ
    Dec 22, 2006
    4
    Ugh - what a waste of time. Imagine your favourite R&B / soul / whatever processed for Broadway, then re-processed for Hollywood, mimicking the original stuff but of course never delivering it. If that wasn't irritating enough, every bit of dialogue is an opportunity for another round of overstrained singing, in the mode of Andrew Lloyd Weber productions. Avoid.
  75. RonB.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    The best musical in the last few decades. Only Purple Rain really comes close. More effective example of the medium than 'Chicago.'
  76. TimC.
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Preformaces given by Jennifer Hudson will stick with you for years to come. She implants a sweet microchip of soul in your brain that takes you on a ride full of mezmerizing talent. Her ability to impress you with her voice is equal to her oscar-gauneteeing future in acting. She has a grace to her beauty and soul and everything she delievers in the years best musical is outstanding. Her Preformaces given by Jennifer Hudson will stick with you for years to come. She implants a sweet microchip of soul in your brain that takes you on a ride full of mezmerizing talent. Her ability to impress you with her voice is equal to her oscar-gauneteeing future in acting. She has a grace to her beauty and soul and everything she delievers in the years best musical is outstanding. Her character, Effie, is the films most intresting character and the movie would be a B-Movie without her. Instead it is a gem and masterpiece. A 77 on Metacritic only consitutes a racist rip-off C+ instead of a A or 92 that is well disserved. The movie is everything you want, more than you can expect, and eveything you can dream! Beyonce is suprisingly sensational in her vocal and acting and Eddie Murphey is better than you would expect in what should be a oscar nominated role. Jamie Foxx delievers a fun yet somewhat dissapointing preformace to follow his RAY phenom. The movie as a whole rocks. It is just short of perfect. Expand
  77. DougI
    Dec 25, 2006
    1
    Dreary, Dreary. I would advise anyone considering seeing this movie, to listen to the soundtack first. The music and lyrics are abysmal. Even Hudson, who has a great voice becomes overbearing in her delivery. The acting has a stage delivery, rather then a more subtle movie appropriate style. The story is cliche and you don't really care about the characters. This all combined leads Dreary, Dreary. I would advise anyone considering seeing this movie, to listen to the soundtack first. The music and lyrics are abysmal. Even Hudson, who has a great voice becomes overbearing in her delivery. The acting has a stage delivery, rather then a more subtle movie appropriate style. The story is cliche and you don't really care about the characters. This all combined leads to my final comment. The best scene in the movie is the last one - when you realize 130 minutes has at last ticked by. Avoid. Expand
  78. Thom
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    I loved this film...Jennifer Hudson and Beyonce CAN sign. The story is true to the musical and will keep you entralled. The costumes and sets are beautiful. I cannot wait to see this again.
  79. BobC.
    Dec 26, 2006
    1
    The only good thing I can say about this movie is the costumes were good...other than that I want my 2 hrs of my life back.
  80. ShawnL.
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    Hudson was great. To Franklin C. - you must have been Barry Gordy in another life, complaining about Hudson's weight, stretch marks, blah, blah, blah. Missed the point entirely. Anyway, the audience was clapping at each of Hudson's performances - I haven't seen that kind of response since the opening concert scene of "Purple Rain". They stayed through the credits and Hudson was great. To Franklin C. - you must have been Barry Gordy in another life, complaining about Hudson's weight, stretch marks, blah, blah, blah. Missed the point entirely. Anyway, the audience was clapping at each of Hudson's performances - I haven't seen that kind of response since the opening concert scene of "Purple Rain". They stayed through the credits and clapped again when she came up. Fox's role was thin, as well as Beyonce's, beyond her solo performance which met with polite applause. But the *fact* that the audience clapped in a movie theater - a musical no less - proves the film, though not perfect, did move the audience in a way I haven't seen in a generation! We loved it. And we're only in our 30's! Expand
  81. KellyN.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    The musical score in this movie has outshone any other movie in recent years. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves recognition for her role and Eddie Murphy has tapped into the inner talent we all knew he had!
  82. keithb.
    Dec 28, 2006
    1
    At the risk of sounding racist, the music is so white it's laughable. It's a disgrace to Motown and everything they accomplished which you can still heard today all over the radio. Each and every song is so bland as to be instantly forgettable. The lyrics are so simple I thought I was watching a high school production. It's also a blatant ripoff of the lives of the Supremes At the risk of sounding racist, the music is so white it's laughable. It's a disgrace to Motown and everything they accomplished which you can still heard today all over the radio. Each and every song is so bland as to be instantly forgettable. The lyrics are so simple I thought I was watching a high school production. It's also a blatant ripoff of the lives of the Supremes and Berry Gordy. Appalling. Expand
  83. J.G.
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    Everyone except for Jamie Fox stepped up their game for this movie. Yes even Beyonce. Forget her attempts before to being a good character actress which she failed miserably. This movie she takes her time and stretches the emotions for our viewing pleasure. Though, Beyonce got top billing in this movie. Jennifer Hudson is the movie without her we would have screenshots and a video or two. Everyone except for Jamie Fox stepped up their game for this movie. Yes even Beyonce. Forget her attempts before to being a good character actress which she failed miserably. This movie she takes her time and stretches the emotions for our viewing pleasure. Though, Beyonce got top billing in this movie. Jennifer Hudson is the movie without her we would have screenshots and a video or two. Jennifer's acting debut leaves you with your chin on the floor and a tissue in your hand. Many wonderful singers have tried but no one absolutely no one has been able to match Jennifer Holiday's original recording "I'm not going" with the same passion and pain until this movie. Jennifer Hudson hit every note with the emotion this is her last breath and you will hear her. Bravo. Bravo. She deserves every complement, praise and high five. Expand
  84. ChrisF
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Amazing cast, amazing voals, amazing sets, jennifer hudson amazing...well worth the $10 ticket! GO SEE DREAMGIRLS!
  85. LauraQ.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    The performers, the sets, the costumes, the times - all brought back to life for me the days of Motown in its glory, and in its pain. As a white girl growing up 5 miles from the epicenter of the burning city during the '67 riots, I experienced all of the pleasure of Motown Records, and very little of the pain that inspired that violent revolutionary time. It is gratifying to see the The performers, the sets, the costumes, the times - all brought back to life for me the days of Motown in its glory, and in its pain. As a white girl growing up 5 miles from the epicenter of the burning city during the '67 riots, I experienced all of the pleasure of Motown Records, and very little of the pain that inspired that violent revolutionary time. It is gratifying to see the actors in this movie given all of the juicy roles and the showcase for their tremendous talents. Jennifer Hudson was all heart and kept the story real, even in all of its Hollywood production. Haven't enjoyed a movie this much in a long time. Expand
  86. YvetteT.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Anyone who does not agree that Dreamgirls is an excellent movie is not a true movie buff. They probably sit home and watch bootleg movies. Jennifer Hudson is fantastic as Effie, and the all star cast gets their props for their part in creating such a great movie from the actors to the director, producers and all involved. Excellent. Siimply excellent.
  87. JamieC
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    I was prepared not to like it. I was prepared for it to be mediocre. But honestly, I was mesmerized. Jennifer Hudson is that good. Her voice pierces your soul. and while it's Jennifer's move, proper acknowlegement must be given to Eddie and yes, even Jamie. I think she's a great entertainer, but Beyonce is no actress. Everyone should see dreamgirls.
  88. JimG
    Dec 31, 2006
    6
    Very enjoyable film. Hudson's vocal performances are great, but her acting has been way overrated. And in here singing performance, her gestures seem forced and incongruous as she goes to dramatic too early. The orchestrations here unfortunately are overproduced, presumably to make the soundtrack sound unified, but it would have been nice to hear orchestrations appropriate to Very enjoyable film. Hudson's vocal performances are great, but her acting has been way overrated. And in here singing performance, her gestures seem forced and incongruous as she goes to dramatic too early. The orchestrations here unfortunately are overproduced, presumably to make the soundtrack sound unified, but it would have been nice to hear orchestrations appropriate to respective venues (how about the detroit theater sound in the detroit theater, rather than a full blast overproduced broadway sound). Expand
  89. PaulL.
    Dec 31, 2006
    7
    Surprisingly, it was better than I thought it would be, but also left a bit to be desired. I thought the pacing was off. In the second half of the film, it was almost every moment was going to break out into song. Was this suppose to be a musical about the emergence of Motown? Or just about these girls? Or was it a spoof/satire of Motown/music industry? Wasn't sure. Nevertheless, it Surprisingly, it was better than I thought it would be, but also left a bit to be desired. I thought the pacing was off. In the second half of the film, it was almost every moment was going to break out into song. Was this suppose to be a musical about the emergence of Motown? Or just about these girls? Or was it a spoof/satire of Motown/music industry? Wasn't sure. Nevertheless, it is entertaining and my foot was keeping pace with the beat of the music. But one note, in particular: If you pay close attention, the so-called musicians in the film don't know how to hold their instruments. That's rather embarrassing for a so-called musical being hailed by critics as one of the best musicals of the year. Expand
  90. BrianO.
    Dec 3, 2006
    6
    It's generally good (especially Jennifer Hudson), but people generally give the film more credit than it's due. The transition from stage songs to "sung dialogue" is awkward; Beyonce & Jamie Foxx are underwritten, and it seems to peak in the middle and loses some umph toward the end.
  91. BlakeM.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    I have NEVER been to a movie where everyone clapped so much! It was so much fun and a great movie. It's remarkable to watch a star being born in front of your eyes (Jennifer Hudson). MUST SEE!!
  92. BrinaK.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  93. chriswich
    Jan 13, 2007
    2
    Screamgirls is more like it. Could this film have been any more grating? Am I the only one who thought this was a complete disaster? The editing, lip-synching, score, and acting (except for Eddie Murphy, who was fabulous) were so so sub-par as to be amateurish. The vocal chops were there, alright, but Beyonce is Beyonce is Beyonce, and Jennifer Hudson's diaphragm-crushing, foghorn Screamgirls is more like it. Could this film have been any more grating? Am I the only one who thought this was a complete disaster? The editing, lip-synching, score, and acting (except for Eddie Murphy, who was fabulous) were so so sub-par as to be amateurish. The vocal chops were there, alright, but Beyonce is Beyonce is Beyonce, and Jennifer Hudson's diaphragm-crushing, foghorn shrieking nearly made my brain hemhorrage. I'm sorry, but this is not "acting". And since when is Jamie Foxx a boring actor? The songs were interchangeable and sounded like a white-washed broadway mock-up of Motown, the real-life drama of the Supremes was sugar-coated, and the darn thing JUST WOULDN'T END!! Has the world gone silly?? This thing is a train wreck! Expand
  94. ChadS.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    In the end credits, after Jennifer Hudson is given her well-deserved props (her big number will make even straight men cry), Eddie Murphy should be specifically cited with the title "Re-introducing", because his performance as a David Ruffin-type is equally show-stopping. Crappy movie ("The Haunted Mansion"); really crappy movies("Daddy Day Care"); dubious women ("It's a man, Eddie; In the end credits, after Jennifer Hudson is given her well-deserved props (her big number will make even straight men cry), Eddie Murphy should be specifically cited with the title "Re-introducing", because his performance as a David Ruffin-type is equally show-stopping. Crappy movie ("The Haunted Mansion"); really crappy movies("Daddy Day Care"); dubious women ("It's a man, Eddie; it's a man!"), it never happened. "Dreamgirls" is a watershed moment for African-American cinema, and the best studio film of 2006. If you know your rock-and-roll history, it's all there; the Pat Boonization of rhythm-and-blues, the payola, and most insightful of all, the film perfectly captures how black artists tried to reach white America. My only bone to pick with this exemplary musical is that the artist Beyonce Knowles portrays probably wouldn't give a damn about stonewalling a friend's comeback. Expand
  95. NancyH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    6
    The razzle dazzle is all in the trailers, and the movie doesnt do that great a job with filling it in between. Jennifer Hudson is impressive for a new comer but sometimes she hesitates her 'divaness' and it seems like she falls out of character. Jaime Fox is terrible. Eddie Murphy is the real winner hear and well deserved Golden Globe honor. One thing that was jarring was a The razzle dazzle is all in the trailers, and the movie doesnt do that great a job with filling it in between. Jennifer Hudson is impressive for a new comer but sometimes she hesitates her 'divaness' and it seems like she falls out of character. Jaime Fox is terrible. Eddie Murphy is the real winner hear and well deserved Golden Globe honor. One thing that was jarring was a third into the movie, the individual actors break into song (up until then we heard the songs from stage performance settings), weird. Expand
  96. JossalynnM.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    This movie was phenomenal! I enjoyed every actor's performance, however, I thought Jennifer Hudson's performance was stellar. I am impressed with her acting as well as her powerhouse singing and look forward to seeing more of her on the big screen.
  97. MecheleC.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    A lot of people are putting Beyonce down just because Jennifer Hudson blew her out the waters. She did a great job just like everyone else in the movie did a terrific job. Every single person in the movie pulled it all together doing the best that they could do to make this movie THE BEST MOVIE IN 2006.
  98. myselfandI
    Oct 24, 2007
    2
    The worst biopic I've ever seen. Actually, I only liked the costumes. They said it tries to tell the Supremes' story!!!! I don't think so. The music is NOT motown sound at all, it's Beyonce's sound instead; and there are too many stupid songs which are good and with good voices. But it is not motown, and people who really like 60's and soul music know that. The worst biopic I've ever seen. Actually, I only liked the costumes. They said it tries to tell the Supremes' story!!!! I don't think so. The music is NOT motown sound at all, it's Beyonce's sound instead; and there are too many stupid songs which are good and with good voices. But it is not motown, and people who really like 60's and soul music know that. Was it really so expensive to pay Motown for royalties? Expand
  99. MicheleC.
    Jan 26, 2007
    8
    The movie was uneven in many spots and the ending contrived, but I enjoyed the movie for the most part. Jennifer Hudson's voice and Beyonce Knowles' beauty alone make this a must see film.
  100. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    Based on the Broadway musical that loosely tells the story of the Supremes, this fast-paced, glitzy, Hollywood production features wonderful performances by Beyonce Knowles, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx, Danny Glover, and newcomer Jennifer Hudson.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 88
    This baby dazzles like nothing else anywhere.
  2. If there is a disappointment, it is this: The anticipation may have exceeded the realization. It's a damn good commercial movie, but it is not the film that will revive the musical or win over the world.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    90
    Finally. After "The Phantom of the Opera," "Rent" and "The Producers" botched the transfer from stage to screen, Dreamgirls gets it right. Bill Condon's adaptation of the 1981 show about a Motown trio's climb to crossover stardom pulls off the fundamental double-act those three musical pics all missed: It stays true to the source material while standing on its own as a fully reimagined movie.