Lionsgate | Release Date: September 21, 2012
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1059 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
961
Mixed:
74
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ShetlandVikingMar 24, 2016
Cinematography is very well done, Karl Urban is faithful to the character, I'm surprised I haven't seen more of Olivia Thirlby after this movie. Great use of a lower budget. The only criticisms I can think of is there's a lot of creepingCinematography is very well done, Karl Urban is faithful to the character, I'm surprised I haven't seen more of Olivia Thirlby after this movie. Great use of a lower budget. The only criticisms I can think of is there's a lot of creeping around corridors with handguns and the fact that there isn't a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jblack0928Jan 9, 2013
This is one of thosd but they suit the tone of the film perfectly. Karl urban is perfect as the menacing Judge Dredd he keeps a calm cool attitude throughout but never slinks over to superhuman capability, which is a nice change of pace. IfThis is one of thosd but they suit the tone of the film perfectly. Karl urban is perfect as the menacing Judge Dredd he keeps a calm cool attitude throughout but never slinks over to superhuman capability, which is a nice change of pace. If at any point people started flipping around and whatnot the movie would have lost a ton of appeal. Now the violence is heavily on display but is never overbearingly dwelled on. For instance a man gets his hand blown off and it does show it but there are no unnecessary close ups or anything of the ilk. The only two real complaints come in the form of 0 character development ( which isn't needed in this kind of film, but still a problem) and the lack of a heart pounding finally that you really hope for in a movie like this. But overall this is a must see for any action movie fan. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AnnatarYoungDec 2, 2015
Easily one of the greatest comic book films ever made, especially considering this film's meager budget. It was dark, it was gritty, it was complex enough to keep you interested but focused enough to not throw you off and get too distractedEasily one of the greatest comic book films ever made, especially considering this film's meager budget. It was dark, it was gritty, it was complex enough to keep you interested but focused enough to not throw you off and get too distracted with itself.

It was a very wise move on the part of Director Pete Travis to focus the attention of this film in one location rather than across the entirety of Megacity 1.

Mama (Lena Headey) felt so true to the spirit of Judge Dredd as a gang-leader in the 2000AD universe that I could've sworn she was taken directly from the comic books.

Karl Urban made a fantastic Judge Dredd, with a straight, autonomous, and unemotional by-the-book keeper of the law which, again, felt so faithful to the original comics.

The shooting of the 'slow-mo' scenes were again so fantastically done and so entrancingly beautiful and cinematic that they really did paint the picture of the effects of this drug in this world.

All in all, I would HIGHLY recommend this immensely underrated film to fans of the 2000AD comics, as well as fans of sci-fi action and comic book films in general.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonnieZJul 2, 2014
A nice simple action movie. Very stylish,easy to follow story,good effects. It does however have incredibly over the top violence so not one for the faint of heart.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
slipperyJun 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Forget for a second that the title character is the famous comic book character Judge Dredd. Ignore the low budget use of modern scenes and sets and vehicles. Ignore the ludicrous attempt to sci-fi up Dredd's motorcycle. All that is over in the first couple of minutes.

This plays out like an episode from a series a series I would LOVE to watch. A bad-ass veteran cop teams up with a psychic to investigate a routine homicide during what is essentially the rookie's final assessment test. Following a tip, they bust into the drug den of a local gang suspected of playing a role in the homicide. The gang then shuts down the building and tries to hunt the cops.

The good:
Good action. Good suspense. Good pacing. Some good surprises.

The bad:
At a critical moment, the psychic seems to forget she that her best weapon is her ability to get into people's minds. She could have defused a bad situation right there. OR, it could have been the plan all along to get her inside the gang's main defences without a fight, WHEREUPON she could unleash her mind control powers for some seriously interesting scenes NOT based on gunplay, AND we could avoid the whole damsel in distress routine.

Likewise, a certain perp was kept by the officers AFTER he had given them the information they wanted and AFTER (therefore) he'd outlived his usefulness to them. As one of the cops said earlier: he became a liability and they shouldn't have brought him along beyond that point.

I think the movie needed a stronger reason why this new drug is so much worse that other drugs. Sure, it's neat and all, but I don't get a real sense of peril out of knowing that this new drug is on the street when all it seems to do is alter one's perception.

Follow up that perception with homicidal psychosis, and then I'd be worried. Have the withdrawal be so bad that people go crazy trying to get money for their next hit, and then I'd be concerned. As it is, not so much.

That said: I'd have loved to see this become a TV series. I think it would be awesome to see this kind of drama every week.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grenouilleMay 13, 2015
A bit surprised by the low critic score for this. Some of the most visually striking scenes I've seen in a while, combined with some smart scifi and great characters. This is basically what a modern take on Robocop should be. While there isA bit surprised by the low critic score for this. Some of the most visually striking scenes I've seen in a while, combined with some smart scifi and great characters. This is basically what a modern take on Robocop should be. While there is quite a bit of gruesome violence, the use of violence smartly feeds into its dark humor and the general post-apocalyptic setting of Mega City One. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
krnologyFeb 5, 2013
I had a lot of fun watching Dredd. I honestly didn't expect to like the movie as much as I did. The scenes were interesting, the comic book feel was present, the mood and the music fit well, and the action made my eyes open wide severalI had a lot of fun watching Dredd. I honestly didn't expect to like the movie as much as I did. The scenes were interesting, the comic book feel was present, the mood and the music fit well, and the action made my eyes open wide several times. The Female co-star also did a great job and succeeded in making me care what happened to her. Overall, the movie has a unique personality all its own that I'm sure many of you will enjoy. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SylaxSYNJun 23, 2013
The movie's story is very simplistic in nature. However, it's an action flick with the sole purpose of showcasing the pure dominance of Dredd and Judges. Karl Urban was a perfect casting choice for Dredd, a far better portrayal than that ofThe movie's story is very simplistic in nature. However, it's an action flick with the sole purpose of showcasing the pure dominance of Dredd and Judges. Karl Urban was a perfect casting choice for Dredd, a far better portrayal than that of Stalone in the 1995 movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DarkWolf1991Sep 2, 2013
It's a action great film if you just want to get away from the word for a few hours, Anyone who felt disappointed with the Stallone's Dredd then you'll enjoy this without a doubt.

However I'm glad that I rented it rather then paying full
It's a action great film if you just want to get away from the word for a few hours, Anyone who felt disappointed with the Stallone's Dredd then you'll enjoy this without a doubt.

However I'm glad that I rented it rather then paying full adult price to see it when it came out at the cinema
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EramerisNov 18, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with this movie. I was expecting a remake of the light hearted and silly Judge Dredd movie from 1995 but Dredd is nothing like that. It's a well made action/sci-fi film with an excellent cast, creative use ofI was pleasantly surprised with this movie. I was expecting a remake of the light hearted and silly Judge Dredd movie from 1995 but Dredd is nothing like that. It's a well made action/sci-fi film with an excellent cast, creative use of special effects and a more serious approach to the story without making it boring or cheesy. It's a great action movie, an instant fav for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BMFOct 4, 2012
Gather some of your strong stomached buddys and go see this movie it will not dissapoint. The action in this movie is allmost non stop and extremly graphic, Dredd definitely earns its R rating and has some of the most realistic and brutalGather some of your strong stomached buddys and go see this movie it will not dissapoint. The action in this movie is allmost non stop and extremly graphic, Dredd definitely earns its R rating and has some of the most realistic and brutal violence of any film I have watched. Dredd himself is like an extremly angry Batman who has said **** it" to his no killing rule and decided to clean up the city with gunfire. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
SandrickOct 18, 2012
The most fun that I have had watching an action movie in the theater since T2. A tightly paced thrill ride that combines great characters with great acting. The world is also very well conceived and I cannot wait for the inevitable sequel toThe most fun that I have had watching an action movie in the theater since T2. A tightly paced thrill ride that combines great characters with great acting. The world is also very well conceived and I cannot wait for the inevitable sequel to take us back there again. I feel legitimately sorry for those people that are not seeing this film because they are basing their opinion of it off of the Stallone version that came out decades ago. For me, this was the biggest cinematic surprise of the year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ScepticNov 6, 2012
Now that's what I call a proper Judge Dredd film and I've never felt so fanboish in my life!There were precisely 4 things wrong with it though.1-Not futuristic enough.2-The Mega-City looked more like LA than NY as the Mega Blocks were far tooNow that's what I call a proper Judge Dredd film and I've never felt so fanboish in my life!There were precisely 4 things wrong with it though.1-Not futuristic enough.2-The Mega-City looked more like LA than NY as the Mega Blocks were far too spaced.3-The Lawmasters were laughable.4-Most importantly,Dredd passed Anderson.That would never happen...A re-evaluation by Dredd himself(sequel) would be an outside chance at best.Those minor/major gripes aside,I loved it.NOW DO BAD COMPANY and ROGUE TROOPER! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
sYsDec 31, 2012
Very well done movie in overall. Enjoyed it - though i think it had too much 'slow mo' in it. Such movies are needed to revive the sci/fi genre and honestly think - it's about time the Dredd gets the spotlight. One of the 2012 movies that iVery well done movie in overall. Enjoyed it - though i think it had too much 'slow mo' in it. Such movies are needed to revive the sci/fi genre and honestly think - it's about time the Dredd gets the spotlight. One of the 2012 movies that i didn't regret watching in cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BoombastixOct 27, 2012
I assumed that this movie would be better than Stallone's effort and I had hoped it would be as good as the comic. But I didn't expect it to be actually better! This movie simply blew me away. Whatever they paid Karl Urban, it wasn't enoughI assumed that this movie would be better than Stallone's effort and I had hoped it would be as good as the comic. But I didn't expect it to be actually better! This movie simply blew me away. Whatever they paid Karl Urban, it wasn't enough as he IS Dredd. The setting and action was spot on and the movie shot to my number 1 all time favorite before it was even over. Awesome. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
snakeoilJan 28, 2013
This is definitely destined to be a cult classic. The film is gritty yet beautiful. In HD it is outstanding. Worth the buy and definitely the rent. I loved it for what it was ... FUN.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
MrInkySep 26, 2012
I know why the reason I was the only one at the show last night.. This movie should have never been made. I saw Judge Dredd, with Sly Stallone and like it.. DO NOT Waste your money on this one..
4 of 68 users found this helpful464
All this user's reviews
10
RickboyOct 4, 2012
I absolutly loved this movie. Reminds me of the 80's action movies I used to love, robocop, terminator, predator, diehard. You cannot go wrong with seeing this movie. I took my girl friend to see it and she even liked it. Dredd is not aI absolutly loved this movie. Reminds me of the 80's action movies I used to love, robocop, terminator, predator, diehard. You cannot go wrong with seeing this movie. I took my girl friend to see it and she even liked it. Dredd is not a familiar comic book character in America, but honestly its one of my favorite comicbook to movie adaptions alongside the likes of Avengers and Batman. It has humour but its pretty dark, lots of violence and blood. Karl Urban nailed the character and the writing was very true to the comic book. It respected the characters and story. Dredd in the comics never ever took of his helmet and if he did, you dont see his face. This is actually very important to the Dredd character and the fact that Karl Urban never takes of his helmet in the movie gives the character more depth. Even the actress who played Judge Anderson was good for the role. The pacing was awsome, keeping my attention the whole time. I loved this movie and its sad it didnt do too well at the box office simply because its not based on a Marvel or DC supehero. I would love a sequel to be made. Im dying for the blu-Ray to come out. And this review is coming from someone who isnt familiar with the character. I never really followed the comics. But the movie in itself is good enough to make me a fan of the character. And its a movie Id proudly have alongside my avengers and Dark knight Blu-Ray collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rocksteadyeddieApr 6, 2013
If like me you are old enough to remember the old 2000AD comics that gave birth to Judge Dredd then you'll absolutely love this film.
I think the only problem for this film is Stallone's very poor effort though I understand it has some
If like me you are old enough to remember the old 2000AD comics that gave birth to Judge Dredd then you'll absolutely love this film.
I think the only problem for this film is Stallone's very poor effort though I understand it has some weirdly cullt status was nothing about the Dredd charater. This film does get Dredd spot on. Dredd is not a super hero he is just a man with an extrodinary attitude and it's his conflited morality
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BatfanDec 7, 2013
Dredd is action packed. It is full of gore. It kept me on the edge of my seat. This is non stop action. Disturbing at times but that just adds to the dark and sinister tone of the movie. Dredd is the best movie of 2012.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
bcollins39302Aug 30, 2013
This Dredd movie had very good special effects in comparison to the 1995 Judge Dredd movie, but used them very obnoxiously. Practically half of the movie was slow motion, and in scenes where it was totally unnecessary. I had to stop myselfThis Dredd movie had very good special effects in comparison to the 1995 Judge Dredd movie, but used them very obnoxiously. Practically half of the movie was slow motion, and in scenes where it was totally unnecessary. I had to stop myself from fast forwarding through the annoying slow mo scenes of people blowing smoke.

The plot was more believable than the plot in the 1995 version, but it was ridiculously simple.
Right before I watched Dredd I watched Event Horizon, and it had negative reviews by critics for having ridiculous volumes of blood spilling everywhere, this movie had the same sort of unbelievable gore.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
xRAIDER34xApr 16, 2015
Love this movie awesome affects Urban is a great actor for dred. Dred fans should love and appreciate this movie I hope they make another dred movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
evergreenOldboySep 23, 2012
This is the most fun I have had at the movies in AGES. I had lost faith in movies after Prometheus, and against all odds Dredd gave me hope again. It isn't necessarily anything groundbreaking, but it is one heck of a great feel good movie.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
Dare2BlinkDec 28, 2012
I did not see this movie expecting much but it was definitely a pleasant surprise. Very entertaining movie that seriously does not disappoint. Good cast, good enough storyline and best of all good action and charated development. The wholeI did not see this movie expecting much but it was definitely a pleasant surprise. Very entertaining movie that seriously does not disappoint. Good cast, good enough storyline and best of all good action and charated development. The whole atmosphere of a ruined metropolis of the future is nailed perfectly and I can't think of any major flaws with the movie. I don't know what these critics are smoking (maybe slow mo) but this movie is a must see for anyone that is interested in the dredd universe of anyone that just enjoys a good action movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
IOMDutchJul 6, 2013
Sometimes situations happen and you are required to either step up or step out.

Dredd is that primaeval part of the human condition that only knows how to step up... and blow a big freakin' hole in the problem. The story, on the
Sometimes situations happen and you are required to either step up or step out.

Dredd is that primaeval part of the human condition that only knows how to step up... and blow a big freakin' hole in the problem.

The story, on the surface, is a simple one but it took me until the following day to really realise 'Damn...that WAS a really great film'. The reason is because Dredd is so stripped down compared to todays CGI laden, $200mil blockbusters it caught me off guard. Films like this don't really get made anymore. The filmakers have taken what they had to work with and have done no more or less than they should. I would challenge anyone to pause the film anytime and not appreciate that any frame of this film could have been pulled from the pages of a 2000AD prog, such is the calibre of the cinematography. Dredd is a near perfect example of solid SFX together with great story telling without the painful spoon-feeding that happens far to often in modern cinema. It's an education in good film-making.

The character of Judge Dredd is refreshingly straightforward. The slight hint of a backstory presented to the audience when the character of Anderson is introduced is quite simply genius.

In todays society, people too often look for extra recognition for their endeavours. The 'Look at me, look at me' syndrome. Dredd, however, after overcoming a brilliantly deadly situation; his report to the Chief Judge is simple: "Drug bust...Perps were, uncooperative" A good lesson in the lost art of understatement.

!!!The Man in the Mask!!! Even Peter Weller got a good chunk of full face time in Robocop but with Dredd the studios needed an actor who was prepared to (quite rightly) cover the majority of their face for 100% of the film. Step up Karl Urban. The man was born to play this role. Dredd is not a muscle bound superhuman, just a bad ass with a badge. No voice, dialogue or down turned mouth has been so effective since Clint Eastwoods' 'Man with no name' from the Sergio Leone trilogy.

A sequel would be a lovely thought (Please bring back the same main actors) but with box office takings poor the chances are slim. Who knows though? This film stands up on it's own and a bigger budget sequel might be a poison chalice to what is a truly remarkable accomplishment.

DREDD is AWESOME
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
siedemOct 20, 2012
In a world where only a thin line separates right from injustice and there is no time and resources to maintain order in the gentle way. The person responsible for this movie must have been raised in such world to express it the way he did.In a world where only a thin line separates right from injustice and there is no time and resources to maintain order in the gentle way. The person responsible for this movie must have been raised in such world to express it the way he did. It was a movie in which simply every single second catched my whole attention. I felt like as if I could have watched it for 4 hours and wouldn't get bored. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
thekylekurtzSep 24, 2012
A surprise in every way imaginable. From sporting a world akin to Blade Runner's grungy vision of the future to a main character able to somehow back up his impossible frown with how awesome he is, this movie will blow you away if you give itA surprise in every way imaginable. From sporting a world akin to Blade Runner's grungy vision of the future to a main character able to somehow back up his impossible frown with how awesome he is, this movie will blow you away if you give it the chance to. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CLUTCHMay 1, 2013
This was a Judge Dredd film done right. The Stallone movie was an insult to the comics, this one actually managed to capture the spirit of the comics and the characters well. I really enjoyed it, and would love to see another one made.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ZeyeballZOct 3, 2012
Whether you love Dredd or loathe it is going to depend I think on how much of a fan you are of one-dimensional asskickers in general and Judge Dredd in particular. Me? I'm a long time fan of the Judge ever since Prog 2 of 2000AD back in theWhether you love Dredd or loathe it is going to depend I think on how much of a fan you are of one-dimensional asskickers in general and Judge Dredd in particular. Me? I'm a long time fan of the Judge ever since Prog 2 of 2000AD back in the seventies!! I loved the hell out of this movie and rate Karl Urban's Dredd as the best characterisation of any comic book character ever to make it to a non-animated movie. He didn't just nail the character he managed to blow away any memories of the Stallone fiasco with a number 4 cartridge and set the universe to rights.
The ultra graphic violence didn't really add much to the story although it did ensure that the intention of the movie was never going to be one of catering to the tweenage market.
Comparing this movie to The Raid: Redemption is stupid and there is no way that either movie was a rip-off of the other. Sometimes movies just seem to arrive at the same time with similar ideas and these movies are very different animals. I loved The Raid and would rate it as a better action flick btw, but Dredd does what it needs to do and does it extremely well. For the general perpulation I would give this about a 7 out of 10 but for me and my fellow Dredd-hedds, I cannot give this anything less than 10/10.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
darkcolaDec 31, 2012
I have had the displeasure of living through bad adaptations since the late 70's. I have almost never seen a comics adaptation that was worth watching on the silver screen because good characters die there along with a bevy of bad uselessI have had the displeasure of living through bad adaptations since the late 70's. I have almost never seen a comics adaptation that was worth watching on the silver screen because good characters die there along with a bevy of bad useless cameos and the attempt to take 20-60 years worth of story arcs and put them in three acts in under 2 hours- usually including an origin story.

However, the dream of- simply take the established comic character and make the movie one adventure in the life of said character- has come to fruition in this movie. The acting is superb and unsettling with the askance visage of the villain. Dredd is played to his comic book perfection, or perhaps I would say some better than the stereotype version of himself he had become in later issues/graphic novels. Anderson is played in a very different way than her comic book counterpart and it isn't as a sex bomb psychic, but a fragile-seeming fractured innocent whose strength becomes clearly displayed in climactic ferocity towards the film's end.

The movie is full of violence, seemingly random and punishing. However, I dare say it decries violence completely. It truly shows in this apocalyptic setting how the innocent are in the crossfire and do suffer, and exhibits a painful helplessness of the civilians trapped in mega-tower societies. There are enough sub plots and subtle character dynamics/interactions that make this a joy to watch a few times over- plot and character development through subtle glances, grimaces, or psychic flashes. If that is not enough, then the visuals- some of the most colorful and pleasantly shocking slo-motion sequences I've encountered in either movie form or video game form.

Long story short- it is true to the comic, it is visually stunning- giving a very realistic presentation of the environment of megacity one after an apocalypse, provides admirable uncompromising heroes and detestable villains and a fun and entertaining dynamic between the insufferable Dredd and his new rookie.

Please- go see and support this movie, hopefully they'll do another one, or at least take another comic and do it --- Justice.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
mrgeebabyMay 6, 2013
I was not expecting to enjoy this film so much!
I watched the Sly Stallone "I am the LWLARW!!" version back in the day, and i liked it as a kid. However watching it as an adult i could see why my parents hated it!
This new movie was
I was not expecting to enjoy this film so much!
I watched the Sly Stallone "I am the LWLARW!!" version back in the day, and i liked it as a kid. However watching it as an adult i could see why my parents hated it!

This new movie was great! I had been waiting for some decent Sci-Fi to come out. The genre has been seriously suffering lately with great Hollywood science fiction films being few and far between!

I recommend Dredd for those who enjoy classic Sci-Fi and Action.

Worth a watch! (Extra point for not casting Rob Schneider as a stapler!)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nickyblazeJun 24, 2014
Loved it. This film was exactly what I was looking for without even knowing it. The directors use of visuals did an amazing job of adding a sense of intimacy to the action with awesome slow motion shots and incredible detail. The narrative ofLoved it. This film was exactly what I was looking for without even knowing it. The directors use of visuals did an amazing job of adding a sense of intimacy to the action with awesome slow motion shots and incredible detail. The narrative of the story is simple enough to play a side role to the action, although their imagination of the near future isn't too incredibly far fetched... And there is plenty of action. If your a fan of SciFi or even action classics, check this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jebu911Sep 18, 2014
Chemistry between Dredd and rookie is great to see on screen and acting is great in general. I like how this movie is action packed and heavy use of conventional effects are great for me! Kinda reminds me of old days of action movies withChemistry between Dredd and rookie is great to see on screen and acting is great in general. I like how this movie is action packed and heavy use of conventional effects are great for me! Kinda reminds me of old days of action movies with arnold and stallone tho Karl Urban was actually believable in his role. I justify giving this movie 10 because of the genre it represents that has almost died off in the reasent years. The plot is simple maybe too simple for some people but the movie is not about that its about the rookies and dredds onscreen chemistry and great action scenes. Truly amazing movie that sadly didnt do too well at the box office probably bacause of the bad advertising Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
stryker8631Jan 2, 2014
I love this movie, and it gets a solid 8. the script shoulda contained more character development for Dredd and seemed a little to rigid, in progression. but Karl urban knows how to play the action hero well, and really makes this movie go. II love this movie, and it gets a solid 8. the script shoulda contained more character development for Dredd and seemed a little to rigid, in progression. but Karl urban knows how to play the action hero well, and really makes this movie go. I loved the action from start to finish, it just seemed to be missing a few story elements that would of made this movie a 10 instead of an 8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SeyfiaOct 11, 2014
Great action movie. Not to see if violence and gore isn't your thing. However, the lack of scenario at all and some incoherences makes it a bit funny. Not to see in France for the voices are terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FatalityHDApr 26, 2014
This movie is amazing, I thought the reviews were underrated for this movie. Everything about this is epic and exhilarating and you'll want to stay till the very end but I would not recommend this movie to kids because of the violence, badThis movie is amazing, I thought the reviews were underrated for this movie. Everything about this is epic and exhilarating and you'll want to stay till the very end but I would not recommend this movie to kids because of the violence, bad words, drug references and rape references. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
DumbCriticDec 9, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised by Dredd's ability to keep my attention throughout the entire film. A fun popcorn flick, Dredd presents a tense dystopian future with plenty of action at a decent and steady pace. Karl Urban is unable to bring theI was pleasantly surprised by Dredd's ability to keep my attention throughout the entire film. A fun popcorn flick, Dredd presents a tense dystopian future with plenty of action at a decent and steady pace. Karl Urban is unable to bring the magic and depth of his performance in Star Trek to Dredd, However I hold the writing at fault and not the acting. On the whole, an entertaining action experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HyperboreaOct 5, 2012
Absolute masterpiece. I really don't know how it got only 55% or something. By far best and most original superhero movie that came out this year and yes, I watched them all. And you should see it in cinema, because in this one 3D actuallyAbsolute masterpiece. I really don't know how it got only 55% or something. By far best and most original superhero movie that came out this year and yes, I watched them all. And you should see it in cinema, because in this one 3D actually makes sense. Strong recommendation and pure example of a movie that critic just didn't get. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
GrimxiiApr 6, 2013
Great fast paced action movie that really delivers the special effects and creativeness. One of the best soundtracks for a movie I've ever heard. Strong recommendation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AramisgSep 23, 2012
Awesome. If you like Judge Dredd comics or just like fun violent action movies (this one feels like a throw back to movies like Running Man or something) check it out. Notice that most of the good critic reviews came from more respectable reviewers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
rafaelhsouzaSep 24, 2012
The best action movie of 2012 period. Karl Urban is perfect as Dredd. Extremely violent and fun as hell, this a must watch for everyone who likes a Bada** movie.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
elfelixgOct 2, 2012
I am a scifi fan. I love good action, good stories, and most of the the visual appeal in scifi movies. Movies that get your mind free of this world's bindings and brings something new to the table. Dredd 3D is its own movie in that you areI am a scifi fan. I love good action, good stories, and most of the the visual appeal in scifi movies. Movies that get your mind free of this world's bindings and brings something new to the table. Dredd 3D is its own movie in that you are thrust into the world of Mega City, be only a small part of the city, but still you get a glimpse of how massive it is. This Dredd movie could have been better written, offered more in depth into the world, instead they dealt with what budget they had to work with. Amazing that $50 million in producing a movie doesn't get you a lot lot more but still I appreciate the fact that it was done at all. Science fiction and fantasy movies are extremely difficult to make so I back them with votes with dollars. Dredd is not a bad movie, it does feel a bit lacking in depth, but it was well done. Wish it did much better in theaters because the world of Dredd could explore a lot more than it already has. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BroofistSep 22, 2012
Very straightforward, yet full of substance if you are ok with ultra violence,the story isn't about saving the world or becoming a god among men for once, just surviving each day in the gritty meat grinder of Dredd's world. That's theVery straightforward, yet full of substance if you are ok with ultra violence,the story isn't about saving the world or becoming a god among men for once, just surviving each day in the gritty meat grinder of Dredd's world. That's the "nonexistent" setting or backstory for this film that naysayers are clamoring for. Instead, you get pure action and solid acting in a very consistently gritty and otherworldly place. This is a perfectly made, powerful action movie with a great setting and a good edge. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
zpocSep 29, 2012
spiritual successor to a sadly underrated action movie, punisher: war zone. cross that movie with robocop and you have a pretty good idea of what dredd is about - grim, darkly funny, gruesomly over the top violence, and some beautifulspiritual successor to a sadly underrated action movie, punisher: war zone. cross that movie with robocop and you have a pretty good idea of what dredd is about - grim, darkly funny, gruesomly over the top violence, and some beautiful cinematography. the 3D was great too (i could have practically watched an hour and a half of the psychedelic slow motion scenes). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kryptoOct 3, 2012
Dont let the poor box office fool you, Dredd is everything a comic book movie should be. This will be a cult classic! The violence is over the top but succeeds at never becoming comical. Karl Urbans performance is top notch. You can tell theyDont let the poor box office fool you, Dredd is everything a comic book movie should be. This will be a cult classic! The violence is over the top but succeeds at never becoming comical. Karl Urbans performance is top notch. You can tell they did their homework! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Ryanosaur2000Jan 1, 2013
After the debacle that was Stallone's incarnation of Judge Dredd, I came into this one expecting another shoddy effort. Thankfully I was pleasantly surprised. As a fan of 2000AD and Judge Dredd growing up I was pleased that this movieAfter the debacle that was Stallone's incarnation of Judge Dredd, I came into this one expecting another shoddy effort. Thankfully I was pleasantly surprised. As a fan of 2000AD and Judge Dredd growing up I was pleased that this movie (somewhat) managed to capture the grittiness of the dystopia that is Mega City One (something that the Stallone effort did not even attempt). I am not a fan of Karl Urban, but his portrayal of Dredd was palatable due in large part to him never removing his helmet and the terseness of the script. By no means a masterpiece, but as far as action movies go these days Dredd is an inoffensive and visually pleasing way to spend 90 mins. As usual, be very sceptical of those handing out 10's and 0's in their reviews. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
MathewDorrellSep 30, 2012
From the gruff introductory monologue, Dredd sets up the pieces for a thrill ride that rarely lets up for the next 90 minutes. The soundtrack blares and screeches, the electronic inspired mix matching and accentuating every inspired shot thatFrom the gruff introductory monologue, Dredd sets up the pieces for a thrill ride that rarely lets up for the next 90 minutes. The soundtrack blares and screeches, the electronic inspired mix matching and accentuating every inspired shot that fuels this adrenalin pumped action film like a shotgun blast.

Alex Garland, an established writer with an intense background with Danny Boyle, penned the script for this comic based adaptation, and in each bass filled speech and **** one liner, he perfectly captures the essence of one of the most brutal Judges, the titular Dredd. His character plays one of many
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Duncan95Apr 9, 2013
Finally everyone's favourite scowling future lawman gets the movie he deserves. Karl Urban and his impressive chin give an awesome introduction to the character. The decision to make the movie an 18 was also awesome despite the reduction ofFinally everyone's favourite scowling future lawman gets the movie he deserves. Karl Urban and his impressive chin give an awesome introduction to the character. The decision to make the movie an 18 was also awesome despite the reduction of market it resulted in, it allowed the brutality of Dredd and his world to be properly portrayed. And on top of all of this it looked amazing! I just wish more than about 4 people went to go and see it Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
SketchyReviewsJun 5, 2013
I'm trying something a bit different to the other reviewers out there: a pithy review a doodle! I've got a few up so far, including one of the unfairly overlooked 'Dredd'. Check it out:I'm trying something a bit different to the other reviewers out there: a pithy review a doodle! I've got a few up so far, including one of the unfairly overlooked 'Dredd'. Check it out:

http://sketchy-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/overlooked-gem-of-week-d redd-2012.html

Thoughts/ruminations/random (ideally uncouth) comments, are very welcome.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RandomRussianAug 25, 2013
Somehow lots of really great and original action films get underrated, and this one is not the exception. You see, if it would had been directed by Cameron or Nolan, it would have been praised by critics.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cidgrad01Oct 10, 2013
This was, hands-down, one of the best action flicks I’ve seen in years. I was going to avoid it simply because the ‘90s version with Stallone was so awful, but a friend clued me in and I’m glad I listened to them. The new Dredd is excellentThis was, hands-down, one of the best action flicks I’ve seen in years. I was going to avoid it simply because the ‘90s version with Stallone was so awful, but a friend clued me in and I’m glad I listened to them. The new Dredd is excellent and not comparable at all to the old one.

The only knock against it is that it feels more like a pilot series episode than a proper movie. Not because it’s bad, but because it only explores a very small slice of the world of Judge Dredd and leaves you wanting more. It would be great if a network like Showtime or HBO picked this up for a regular series or if there will at least be a sequel made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MaxNormalAug 30, 2013
Great film; it doesn't mess about. The plot is simple but well told and the production is really tight. In particular I loved the music score, I might actually buy the audio CD which I've never done for a film before. I saw Dredd in 3D and itGreat film; it doesn't mess about. The plot is simple but well told and the production is really tight. In particular I loved the music score, I might actually buy the audio CD which I've never done for a film before. I saw Dredd in 3D and it worked really well.

I doubt a sequel will happen but it would be amazing to see more of MegaCity1.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
AbnugglerSep 7, 2013
I loved this movie, I thought it was exceptionally done and I absolutely recommend it; It reminds me of movies like Sin City and 300: movies that didn't compromise what made their source material great to make turn them into a HollywoodI loved this movie, I thought it was exceptionally done and I absolutely recommend it; It reminds me of movies like Sin City and 300: movies that didn't compromise what made their source material great to make turn them into a Hollywood blockbuster, I only wish that Dredd would have gotten the same love as the aforementioned movies; because a bigger budget would have only made this movie even better.

Keep in mind it is an "R" rated action movie, so it's more of a Guy Flick; where most women will think it´s too violent (and I only say this because I can see that women are not quite Dredd's target audience, that being said I do know quite a bit of girls who really liked this movie), and its definitely not a kid friendly movie.

The 3D part of the film is nothing exceptional for the most part but there are some scenes where it really pays off (the scenes with the slo-mo drug effect come to mind)

The plot is not over the top like it is with most Comic Book Movies, so don't be expecting a movie like any of the Marvel Movies or most CMBs; instead it has a very simplistic feel to it (don't get me wrong this is why it is so good), its a straight shoot em up film in it's core. You don't need to know anything about the Comic Book to enjoy the movie and if you do you'll only enjoy it more, I also liked how even when they introduce you to the characters it's not really a beginning story.

I saw the Stallone Judge Dredd movie back in the 90's and thought it was a classic Comic Book movie turned Hollywood. Two essential parts of the character of Dredd are his personality and his uniform and I always thought that by removing the helmet for most of the movie and changing the personality of Dredd they completely changed the Character, that together with softening the tone of the movie to an almost PG 13 kind of movie, and giving Dredd a comedic patsy sidekick in the form of Rob Schneider, were the reasons why Stallone's Judge Dredd was so awful. None of these things are present in Dredd (2012), this movie on the other hand is quite dark and crude which is very much the way Comic Book is.

I also thought Karl Urban's performance was right on, it fit the character perfectly and I appreciated the commitment he put to the role by sticking to what makes Dredd so great, and not demanding to have face time in the movie. Judge Anderson was also done amazingly, both in in the writing and the portrayal of the character played by Olivia Thirlby (I absolutely loved her!)
The only downside of this movie was the villain, although the Ma-Ma character was ok and fit well into the Dredd Universe, I still would have liked a better villain, one that played opposite of Dredd, instead Ma-Ma is just a common thug turned drug lord which is nothing next to Dredd.

If you are not afraid of a bit of violence and blood on screen and are looking for a great movie to watch be sure to see Dredd.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rich_plMay 2, 2015
A Visceral and brilliant screen exploration of a dark and threatening character. I loved this movie and still enjoy watching it time after time. The music is fantastic, the characters believable and the pacing of the story gripping to the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TaalenNov 15, 2012
The movie's poor reception in North America is a real surprise, considering the movie is significantly above average where action movies are concerned. I knew practically nothing about Judge Dredd and had no expectations when I went to seeThe movie's poor reception in North America is a real surprise, considering the movie is significantly above average where action movies are concerned. I knew practically nothing about Judge Dredd and had no expectations when I went to see the movie and I walked out having seen one of the best movies I've seen in the last couple of years. Highly recommended if you don't shy away from a little more than average red on the screen, whether or not you're familiar with the franchise.

Quite possibly the best comic book to film adaptation made to date.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
nanowerxJan 18, 2013
Wow, this one took me by surprise. In fact, had multiple friends not told me to see it, I would have avoided it completely, as the original (Judge Dredd) was quite a crap fest. This is exactly what an action movie should be...gritty, violent,Wow, this one took me by surprise. In fact, had multiple friends not told me to see it, I would have avoided it completely, as the original (Judge Dredd) was quite a crap fest. This is exactly what an action movie should be...gritty, violent, intriguing, and scant on backstory. Too many action films take up too much time trying to give me a history lesson on the protagonist when all I want is some mindless action and violence. The movie delivers such in droves. It was very tasteful, but full of realistic violence that really draws you in. Very rare is it that a sequel can exceed the original by a long shot, but this movie does it and does it well. I cannot believe that the metacritic score is so low, this is a 10/10 all day long! Goes to show that critics never quite "get it." If you like action films, then you will be doing yourself a disservice by passing up Dredd, the most unexpected his of 2012. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BurningDesireMar 24, 2013
Fantastic movies. watch it tell others and enjoy. just like a good comic a slice of the life of dredd not the whole history jammed down your throat. a must watch
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
PhilTTSep 22, 2012
Metacritic, I have to say, is a terrible review site for movies and games. The only part of this site I trust is the overal score given by users.

Besides from constantly choosing critics who give truly crap games great scores, it is
Metacritic, I have to say, is a terrible review site for movies and games. The only part of this site I trust is the overal score given by users.

Besides from constantly choosing critics who give truly crap games great scores, it is terribily flawed when it comes to movie reviews, Dredd, which was made in South Africa, is a an example of this. Just prior to release in the United States, metacritic had 6 (6!) reviews of Dredd while rottentomatoes.com had more than 50 with a 90% approval rating. WTF? Why so behind in the sample base and those reviews on tr STILL haven't been included after its US release!

Now, since it's release in the US, many American reviewers haven't the first clue what Dredd is about, the comic book history or that it is a satire on the political climate in both the UK and the US and the consumer-obsessed and often violent culture of the US, particularly in the 70s through 90s. This movie is an absolute hit in the United Kingdom and Canada. Yet, many American reviewers don't get the satire (see above) or they feel offended about Dredd's premise being set in a futuristic US - and its bleak outlook of the society and culture - and the movie's message about violence and US society. Either way, metacritic sucks balls and many American reviewers are thin-skinned, ignorant nationalists who buy into any soppy jingoistic American-made fluff pieces to get them through their pre-packaged, cotton-balled little worlds. My two cents.
Expand
22 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
10
phantajistoOct 20, 2012
This film is awesome in every way apart from the advertising budget, which couldn't stretch as far as buying off critics and led to fairly poor box office figures.

Buy it when it comes out on DVD/BluRay!! I want another Dredd film just
This film is awesome in every way apart from the advertising budget, which couldn't stretch as far as buying off critics and led to fairly poor box office figures.

Buy it when it comes out on DVD/BluRay!! I want another Dredd film just like this one!
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
keefbakerSep 22, 2012
The critics giving this a bad review either decided they weren't paid enough to give it a good one or have an allergy to extreme badassery. This is the most accurate portrayal of Judge Dredd we could have hoped for. And as for "no humour".The critics giving this a bad review either decided they weren't paid enough to give it a good one or have an allergy to extreme badassery. This is the most accurate portrayal of Judge Dredd we could have hoped for. And as for "no humour". There humour but it requires a strong stomach. Much like... you know... the comic did. Expand
50 of 53 users found this helpful503
All this user's reviews
9
HunterZolomonOct 17, 2012
Dredd is an exceptional film and very true to its origins. The satire is there, the black humor, the brutality. The economy of it all and the simplicity of the story only plays to its strengths. The final slo-mo scene is sublime, almostDredd is an exceptional film and very true to its origins. The satire is there, the black humor, the brutality. The economy of it all and the simplicity of the story only plays to its strengths. The final slo-mo scene is sublime, almost surreal and a beautiful ending to the film. And the score, just amazing. You immediately forget about expensive CGI since they nail the essence and atmosphere of Dredd and MC-1 so well. But most of all the three leads are impressive. Urban, Thirlby and Headey are perfect in their respective roles. It's a brutal, yet hugely entertaining action film with a distinctly old school feel. 9/10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cdrwrecordersDec 25, 2012
this movie was made with respect and love to original material. sweet little details. good main characters. it just deserved larger budget.
megaton of fun
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
thewastedyouthOct 12, 2012
This is the dredd film you've been waiting for. It will not disappoint and it's close to the source material. If you're looking for a bad ass action hero and want some entertainment, then this is it.

You don't really care for much of the
This is the dredd film you've been waiting for. It will not disappoint and it's close to the source material. If you're looking for a bad ass action hero and want some entertainment, then this is it.

You don't really care for much of the characters except for the villain (MaMa) and hero (dredd). Dredd is the focus point and he is a bad ass. The director did a great job on the city and you really feel like it is a corrupt and decadent city where law enforcement officers can judge, jury and execute criminals on the spot.

As I watched the film I was being surprised again and again. They really outdid themselves and it's a large improvement over the 1995 film with stallone. The plot is there, it fits in perfect and you won't question the plot or the motives of what each character does in the film. It is somewhat simple. I think this has a better plot than The Expendables 2 so if you were thinking it might be the same, then the plot is a bit better than that.

The acting is average. It's good but there's nothing worth noting or exciting nor is there any acting that is bad. It's just okay and the only acting you need to care for is Dredd and Karl Urban nailed his performance as Judge Dredd.

The film has a good pace and the action length was on the spot. I never felt bored while the action was going on or I didn't stop caring after a while when the action becomes too long. But this film was perfect in the action.

The 3D affects were surprisingly good for once with the slow motion affects and this is coming from someone who is not fond of 3D. If you are a comic book fan of Judge Dredd and want to see a good judge dredd movie then, this is it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Fritzler87Oct 9, 2012
I think it's a fun movie, with a lot of action and blood.
And that is what i was promised by the trailer.
Performances are good, specially the girl from Juno.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
medical_domJan 10, 2013
Firstly would like to say, feel the plot is heavily borrowed from 'the raid:redemption' with an approach on an encamped tower block full of 'badies', however this Dredd film more so than the Stallone version is darker and closer to theFirstly would like to say, feel the plot is heavily borrowed from 'the raid:redemption' with an approach on an encamped tower block full of 'badies', however this Dredd film more so than the Stallone version is darker and closer to the original material and better for it.
I liked the characters and the eye candy effects throughout the film.
Pleasantly suprised that I enjoyed it as much.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
r00botSep 22, 2012
As a life long fan and Dredd purest, I can happily report that this is a Film that lives up to the source material. There are a few short comings due to a relatively small budget. But the essence of the comics is on screen and the money hasAs a life long fan and Dredd purest, I can happily report that this is a Film that lives up to the source material. There are a few short comings due to a relatively small budget. But the essence of the comics is on screen and the money has been put on screen in all the right places. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
1
NurseJimSep 23, 2012
The title of the movie should have been "Dreadful." Fortunately, the theater we saw it in was first class. I am so sorry I wasted the money on this flick.
3 of 43 users found this helpful340
All this user's reviews
7
ChuckwheelSep 23, 2012
This was a near perfect adaptation of the comic books. As a lifelong fan I absolutely loved it. Please don't compare it to the terrible Stallone version, this was the real Dredd. It was very hardcore and earns it r-rating, but beneath theThis was a near perfect adaptation of the comic books. As a lifelong fan I absolutely loved it. Please don't compare it to the terrible Stallone version, this was the real Dredd. It was very hardcore and earns it r-rating, but beneath the relatively simple premise, there is a LOT going on. It is stuffed full of easter-eggs for us fans. Definitely worth multiple viewings. Do yourself a favor and go see it. Best superhero movie of the summer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
American_EmpireSep 23, 2012
Excellent visuals and acting can't save this plodding film. No story other than "Shoot bad guys", hard to get behind a film that asks us to cheer for a corrupt police state. If you like gory shoot-em-ups or are a fan of the original comics,Excellent visuals and acting can't save this plodding film. No story other than "Shoot bad guys", hard to get behind a film that asks us to cheer for a corrupt police state. If you like gory shoot-em-ups or are a fan of the original comics, see this film. Otherwise, if you don't see it, you're not missing anything. Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
10
SpenderJGantSep 24, 2012
This is an incredible film, totally engaging and always interesting. Don't let the violence put you off, it's handled really well without being gratuitous; in fact it's becomes quite beautiful. There's some political subtext and implicitThis is an incredible film, totally engaging and always interesting. Don't let the violence put you off, it's handled really well without being gratuitous; in fact it's becomes quite beautiful. There's some political subtext and implicit satire if you interested in reading into that stuff but other than that it's also completely engaging on just a surface level too. It's econimical with its plot but the characters of Dredd and Anderson are the real focus. It really is a small character study in what it means to embody the role of Judge, Jury & Executioner hiding inside the body of a smart but gripping action film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLuv2Sep 25, 2012
Go see Dredd! This is a fun, fun movie with a great John Carpenter-type soundtrack. Don't let the critic reviews keep you away from seeing a straight-up thrill ride of an action movie. This is the most fun I've had at the movies in a long,Go see Dredd! This is a fun, fun movie with a great John Carpenter-type soundtrack. Don't let the critic reviews keep you away from seeing a straight-up thrill ride of an action movie. This is the most fun I've had at the movies in a long, long time! I have never read the comics but this movie makes me want to. I loved this movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
nicktgriffinSep 30, 2012
Simply the best sci-fi/action movie we´ve had in over a decade! The design of mega-city one is spectacular, detailed down to the smallest pieces. I am really hoping the generic advertising, and low box-office don´t kill theSimply the best sci-fi/action movie we´ve had in over a decade! The design of mega-city one is spectacular, detailed down to the smallest pieces. I am really hoping the generic advertising, and low box-office don´t kill the chances for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
boncuk560Oct 5, 2012
Suprisingly good movie. Good storyline and decent acting. Go see it if you ever read Judge Dredd or if you enjoy action sci-fy flicks. I especially liked the fact that it was believeable. The designer drug was very smartly done.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mario_chan15Oct 13, 2012
The movie was very faithful to the comics. The producers managed to make a movie terse, claustrophobic and balanced action level furthermore, intelligently, Anderson did assume to be the link between the film and the audience. The 3D isThe movie was very faithful to the comics. The producers managed to make a movie terse, claustrophobic and balanced action level furthermore, intelligently, Anderson did assume to be the link between the film and the audience. The 3D is perfect. It is mandatory for the fans.
Still on the story - it does not pretend to be a blockbuster, but that was precisely why it was good - just a day's work, a mission of Dredd ... but still, as in the comics, the story takes place 120 years from now, but there are many similarities to what we find today, chaotic cities, rising crime, corruption and even the issue of slums was addressed - with the difference that the Mega City One of slums grow vertically, now spread across our hills.
Urban as Dredd was perfect, and Ma-Ma had an incredible performance. We know that the universe is immense judges, I hope there is a sequel soon.
This is the movie, if you're looking for a faithful adaptation of the comic book, or a movie that runs only slightly super-human standards that the industry has been taking great.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Davel33123Oct 29, 2012
I went into this movie thinking it wasnt gonna be any good due to all the bad reviews it was getting. I came out of it thinking thats one of the best movies ive seen all year. It flows great, the atmosphere was spot on and the characters wereI went into this movie thinking it wasnt gonna be any good due to all the bad reviews it was getting. I came out of it thinking thats one of the best movies ive seen all year. It flows great, the atmosphere was spot on and the characters were suberb. The story is simple but that works in the movies favour. common people get behind these fllms that dont try and cater for a wide audience and stick to what it should be. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
drunkenmuseNov 1, 2012
If you can stomach a strong focus on violence and borderline gore porn, Dredd is a great and solid action movie. Although some changes has been made from the comic, the movie still holds up for both fans and non fans.

In the movie however,
If you can stomach a strong focus on violence and borderline gore porn, Dredd is a great and solid action movie. Although some changes has been made from the comic, the movie still holds up for both fans and non fans.

In the movie however, Mega City One is not depicted as crazy and culturally corrupt as in the comics - which might make the judges seem unjustified to those unfamiliar with the IP, having them question their almost fascist demeanor.

That said, aside from a couple of weird script moments (all movies has them) it's still a great action movie and pretty accurate depiction of Dredd and the changes/choices that has been made to characters such as Anderson works great.

Now repeat after me; "Stallone Dredd? Never heard of it.."
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
glypheyeSep 2, 2013
Violent and gorgeous. A pure, euphoric art-action movie. Someone made a comparison to Drive....and I thought Dredd was better than Drive. Far less pretentious. This movie isn't for everyone, obviously. If you are a gun-control spoutingViolent and gorgeous. A pure, euphoric art-action movie. Someone made a comparison to Drive....and I thought Dredd was better than Drive. Far less pretentious. This movie isn't for everyone, obviously. If you are a gun-control spouting hippy...or a bearded, chin-scratching, professorial sociologist...or anyone else who carries sentiments along these lines...i.e. if you are a Nancy, then you will not like this film. It was not made for you, so don't bother seeing it...or reviewing it. For the rest of us who can appreciate this genre without succumbing to the desire to become violent ourselves....bon appetite! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LekriNov 18, 2012
Easily one of the best movies this year. Skyfall bored me to dead, I never dreamed for such a movie based on a comic. Even my girlfriend found it good, hearing that from her is like unimagined if you think about how much blood is in thisEasily one of the best movies this year. Skyfall bored me to dead, I never dreamed for such a movie based on a comic. Even my girlfriend found it good, hearing that from her is like unimagined if you think about how much blood is in this movie.
Highly recommend it !

P.S. I really do not understand why such low score from so called "critics". Maybe they mistook it for the old move Judge Dredd with Sly....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Gee2kNov 20, 2012
A good genre Movie and the first Movie after Avatar which has enjoyable 3D. Its like "The Raid" but with more different content. Really nice Scenes & Pictures and a good cyfy soundtrack. Sometimes to much gore but overall a good movie whoA good genre Movie and the first Movie after Avatar which has enjoyable 3D. Its like "The Raid" but with more different content. Really nice Scenes & Pictures and a good cyfy soundtrack. Sometimes to much gore but overall a good movie who dares something compared to others these days. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mobius_PCJan 23, 2013
Awesome movie, captures everything that I expect a dredd movie to have in it, I just hope that they make another movie with the 18 cert in it, way better than the Comedy that was released all those years ago with stalone in it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
nidzaJan 1, 2013
I loved it,the action was plenty-some the acting was descent and the plot was ok,all in all a watchable movie as long as you prepare yourself for what it seemed a never ending sequence of cgi content.

I would put this movie above
I loved it,the action was plenty-some the acting was descent and the plot was ok,all in all a watchable movie as long as you prepare yourself for what it seemed a never ending sequence of cgi content.

I would put this movie above transformers but below Ironman which I'm not sure if it's a good thing.

Limited expectations make this a good movie to watch,once.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Bongo_cliveMay 10, 2013
Cracking film, kept the entertainment up throughout its running time, and stayed as faithful as it could to the books with what I assume is a smallish budget.

Well worth a watch if you want a meaty action film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Curtis2011Jun 14, 2013
This was a great movie. Anyone who likes action movies should love this. It has some of the same feel as the original Die Hard did. This is basically everything that a Judge Dredd movie should be.

If you like action movies, you owe it to
This was a great movie. Anyone who likes action movies should love this. It has some of the same feel as the original Die Hard did. This is basically everything that a Judge Dredd movie should be.

If you like action movies, you owe it to yourself to at least see this one once. I already consider it an instant classic and I definitely see it as something that will get a cult following as more people find out about it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
robij70Dec 31, 2012
My expectations were low but this was a largely succesful attempt at capturing the spirit and tone of the original comic with Karl Urban proving to be the perfect Dredd, giving his performance the requisite amount of cynicism with theMy expectations were low but this was a largely succesful attempt at capturing the spirit and tone of the original comic with Karl Urban proving to be the perfect Dredd, giving his performance the requisite amount of cynicism with the occasional glimpse of humanity. Not usually a fan of action movies but i was gripped by this...the stylish cinematography especially evident during the slo-mo scenes that that have a dream-like quality and really suck you in. Dark, unsentimental, with no attempt to pander to Hollywood tastes, i just hope there's a sequel despite the relatively disappointing box office showing. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
ThePoliticoidJan 5, 2013
Along with many 2000AD lovers, I
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonnAveryJan 17, 2013
Wow what a great movie...and this was unexpected after i saw Stallone's Dredd. Urban absolutely nailed how Dredd is portrayed in the comics..He never takes his helmet off..and he's a complete hard ass. Even if your not a Dredd fan or neverWow what a great movie...and this was unexpected after i saw Stallone's Dredd. Urban absolutely nailed how Dredd is portrayed in the comics..He never takes his helmet off..and he's a complete hard ass. Even if your not a Dredd fan or never have read the comics, go see this movie! One of the best action flicks ive seen in a while! My only regret was not going to the theaters and watching it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThanegJan 30, 2013
"Oh god, here we go again with the superheroes, I wonder if I manage to sit through the entire movie". Were my initial thoughts. Boy was I wrong, best movie of 2012.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
WednesdaeMar 20, 2013
Solid, very solid.

I come into action films like these expecting to enjoy most of the 'show', but often find there are a few scenes where it feels counter intuitive (characters doing stupid things or not making obvious choices) or lines of
Solid, very solid.

I come into action films like these expecting to enjoy most of the 'show', but often find there are a few scenes where it feels counter intuitive (characters doing stupid things or not making obvious choices) or lines of dialogue that just don't fit and can irk you out of the immersion. You want to root for the main character until they do something dumb, right? Dredd didn't do this for me and that's a victory unto itself. The production was excellent, everything looked and felt right, nuff said. I think 3D is rubbish, but I'm sure for those that like it the SLO-MO scenes will dazzle them and only add to the experience.

I like a few would have liked a little more expansion on the main characters, but considering the very mysterious vibe around the two leads I think it probably would have detracted from the films atmosphere/direction. But, I think they've lined up a strong union between the main characters that would really lend to expanding on their backgrounds/working relationship for a future sequel.

I'm not really comfortable commenting on the comic to film adaptation element as it's been over a decade since I've read any of the 2000AD comics. But, I think any fan with reasonable expectations (Knows how the film industry works/sucks) will be happily surprised.

Bring on a sequel!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AmacfaJan 28, 2013
I never write reviews, I just read all the user reviews (not the critics) to make my decision on whether I should watch a movie or not. I am really glad I decided to see Dredd, this is one of the coolest movies I have seen in the past fiveI never write reviews, I just read all the user reviews (not the critics) to make my decision on whether I should watch a movie or not. I am really glad I decided to see Dredd, this is one of the coolest movies I have seen in the past five years, I did not expect the movie to be as gripping as it was. Awesome action, perfect amount of 'badass', great gore, and a very beautiful movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ShaxFeb 24, 2015
This was easily one of my favorite movies for 2012. I'm very familar with the Judge Dredd comic book and character. This movie nails the spirit of the character perfectly. Karl Urban's performance was excellent and I love how we never see himThis was easily one of my favorite movies for 2012. I'm very familar with the Judge Dredd comic book and character. This movie nails the spirit of the character perfectly. Karl Urban's performance was excellent and I love how we never see him fully without the helmet, just like in the comics.

The story is really intense and I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. The 3D special effects are well done and impressive. I just can't say enough good things about this movie. It's easily one of the best and most accurate of all the comic book hero films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Guesswork00May 5, 2013
I was shocked to see how low rated this movie was. It is one of my favorite films of all time. Well directed, well written, well acted, with good chemistry between the leads, and a scary villain. This is an excellent film all around, aI was shocked to see how low rated this movie was. It is one of my favorite films of all time. Well directed, well written, well acted, with good chemistry between the leads, and a scary villain. This is an excellent film all around, a good war story, and it rings true throughout. Highly recommended. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
sexydadeeJun 13, 2013
Acting was good, Urban portrayed Dredd well and Olivia was a natural with her Anderson character. What gets on my nerves is the low budget props. The cars were 80's, the mega city was like a normal 20th century metropolis and doesnt evenActing was good, Urban portrayed Dredd well and Olivia was a natural with her Anderson character. What gets on my nerves is the low budget props. The cars were 80's, the mega city was like a normal 20th century metropolis and doesnt even look like America. And the plot came from a recycle bin. Dredd is like a "futuristic" (in quotes because like I mentioned before, props are dredd-full) version of The Raid (2011). Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
PriceyPantsAug 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. so after hearing people say that this movie cant compare to Stallone's judge dredd i had to write this review. People who say judge dredd is better than dredd 3D are idiots they reckon that it is more like the comic books and that is total in Stallone's judge dredd they tried to add Rico dredd into the movie but he wasn't a cyborg like in the comics and he was on a prison on earth and then they tried to add the angel gang but made them cannibals. in dredd 3D they had Anderson who had her psychic ability's like in the comics it had the gore from the comics and he left his helmet on for the whole movie which is like the true judge dredd so all you idiots out there that like the Stallone version of judge dredd go and yourselves because that movie all over true dredd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
itkirkAug 31, 2013
This movie is fantastic and don't understand all the hate it gets from reviewers. I was pleasantly surprised on how much I liked it because all the bad rap the first "judge Dredd" got, even though I haven't seen it. The story is actuallyThis movie is fantastic and don't understand all the hate it gets from reviewers. I was pleasantly surprised on how much I liked it because all the bad rap the first "judge Dredd" got, even though I haven't seen it. The story is actually very simple, which is a good thing in this case, and is not convoluted at all. It has one location in the story, again which is a good thing. I thought Karl Urban was great as Dredd and seemed to play a seasoned badass that showed his skills well. Some people think it's hard to cramn a multilayered story into an hour and a half, or even 2 hour, movie. This took a single layered story and spread it out to an hour and a half but filled it with entertainment with hardly a dull moment. Again this is a great film that should not be missed by action movie fans or fans of the comic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
joedeltaAug 26, 2016
This gritty, dystopian satire is visually delightful, well paced, and surprisingly thought-provoking. Lena Headey is terrifying and awesome. Karl Urban keeps Dredd's utter humorlousness from being dull, and Olivia Thirlby humanizes the judges.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EMGFeb 25, 2014
This film was the Dredd film fans were waiting for, a faithful adaptation of the Dredd world portrayed within the comics. The pacing, acting, effects and music were all spot on when creating the right atmosphere for this film to work not toThis film was the Dredd film fans were waiting for, a faithful adaptation of the Dredd world portrayed within the comics. The pacing, acting, effects and music were all spot on when creating the right atmosphere for this film to work not to mention Urban as Dredd was fantastic. 10/10 from a Dredd fan. 10/10 for not removing his helmet this time! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Wesleypipes77Mar 30, 2014
Apparently a fair amount of people liked this movie and I really wanted to like it myself. Something was missing for me though. It's a pretty derivative movie, bleak future, ultra violent, drugs, gangs etc.... and an anti hero. Done rightApparently a fair amount of people liked this movie and I really wanted to like it myself. Something was missing for me though. It's a pretty derivative movie, bleak future, ultra violent, drugs, gangs etc.... and an anti hero. Done right this can make for a great movie, done wrong can make for well .... this. Just another Hollywood over the top high on action, low on story time waster. I wouldn't say it's bad but it's just not that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
amontilladoOct 9, 2015
Forget the Stallone adaptation; forget that this is actually an adaptation of a comic book; if you're in for badassery and want a film enjoyable both for group or self, this fits the bill.

It's efficient in the story telling and character
Forget the Stallone adaptation; forget that this is actually an adaptation of a comic book; if you're in for badassery and want a film enjoyable both for group or self, this fits the bill.

It's efficient in the story telling and character development, not go overthetop or dwelling in elements, but understanding just how much it needs to give so that we the audience care about the characters and the plot. Hypnotic imagery shows up, surprising considering the source material and what you would expect otherwise. Cinematographic excellence is the single most surprising element in this movie, with a director who not understands storytelling, but how to visually display the story that is haunting, chilling, and entrancing.

Get some friends, get some beer, and sit back and prepare your mind to be esploded.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Firewing2Jan 1, 2017
Finally, a movie worthy of the source material. A brutal non-stop action flick that starts fast and keeps going. It develops a simple and effective plot and doesn't shy away from brutal violence without feeling gratuitous.

Karl Urban gets
Finally, a movie worthy of the source material. A brutal non-stop action flick that starts fast and keeps going. It develops a simple and effective plot and doesn't shy away from brutal violence without feeling gratuitous.

Karl Urban gets a lot of mileage out of a gravely voice and never seeing the bottom half of his face, as it should be.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews