User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 616 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 616

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2015
    10
    A Visceral and brilliant screen exploration of a dark and threatening character. I loved this movie and still enjoy watching it time after time. The music is fantastic, the characters believable and the pacing of the story gripping to the end.
  2. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    Love this movie awesome affects Urban is a great actor for dred. Dred fans should love and appreciate this movie I hope they make another dred movie.
  3. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    "As for you Ma Ma.....JUDGEMENT TIIIME" --- WOW, just wow, what a ride, love it!! Dredd's lines are so insanely awesome, this film is an instant classic. Story is interesting keeps you at the edge of your seat, visuals are very well done and gritty, and sound effects/music is absolutetly amazing (the Bluray 7.1 soundtrack is reference/demo quality). Urban completely knocked his"As for you Ma Ma.....JUDGEMENT TIIIME" --- WOW, just wow, what a ride, love it!! Dredd's lines are so insanely awesome, this film is an instant classic. Story is interesting keeps you at the edge of your seat, visuals are very well done and gritty, and sound effects/music is absolutetly amazing (the Bluray 7.1 soundtrack is reference/demo quality). Urban completely knocked his character out of the park, and Thirlby is amazing - fantastic chemistry between the two. Film has a feel like Carpenter's classic Escape From New York. Props to the director and film crew for creating this amazing film. Highly recommended. Hope there'll be a sequel, it's an absolute must. 9/10 Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2015
    8
    DREDD (2012) is fun and nothing but bloody gutsy stylish well-shot fun. The film takes off and never really lets you go. It shies away from the much hated shaky cam that often ruins and pollutes good action movies, and instead boldly puts the action into your face.
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    10
    This was easily one of my favorite movies for 2012. I'm very familar with the Judge Dredd comic book and character. This movie nails the spirit of the character perfectly. Karl Urban's performance was excellent and I love how we never see him fully without the helmet, just like in the comics.

    The story is really intense and I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. The 3D
    This was easily one of my favorite movies for 2012. I'm very familar with the Judge Dredd comic book and character. This movie nails the spirit of the character perfectly. Karl Urban's performance was excellent and I love how we never see him fully without the helmet, just like in the comics.

    The story is really intense and I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. The 3D special effects are well done and impressive. I just can't say enough good things about this movie. It's easily one of the best and most accurate of all the comic book hero films.
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    5
    Dredd stands out amongst it's other film adaptations as the least worst, an achievement equal to standing out as the least frequent public mastabator. The film is simple but enjoyable, abandoning any attempt at an engaging or involving plot for a buffet of somewhat connected action sequences. Dialogue is completely superfluous and only helps the movie spell out what basic task Dredd isDredd stands out amongst it's other film adaptations as the least worst, an achievement equal to standing out as the least frequent public mastabator. The film is simple but enjoyable, abandoning any attempt at an engaging or involving plot for a buffet of somewhat connected action sequences. Dialogue is completely superfluous and only helps the movie spell out what basic task Dredd is turn into an action scene next.

    Characters are about videogame tier, you got Dredd who was told to scowl constantly to be more like the comic but instead looked **** stupid in real life, then you got attractive blonde rookie who's supposed to be a sympathetic female lead that acts like a normal human to contrast all the **** up junkie fodder for Dredd to murder and lastly you got the antagonist mama who just says stuff to characters that dont matter and then dies. So you got two characters that **** matter and one that could be replaced by post it note with "Kill Dredd, ps: not all at once"

    Enjoyable for dumb action but lacking in soul and wit
    Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2015
    9
    Critics totally got it wrong for Dredd. With Stallone's awful portrayal of Judge Dredd before, there was reason to be worried about another Dredd film. Luckily, it turned out one of the best action films of the year. Brutally violent in the best ways possible, with awesome action pumping all the way through the film. The slo-mo drugs adds an ace colourful effect to scenes. Karl Urban nailsCritics totally got it wrong for Dredd. With Stallone's awful portrayal of Judge Dredd before, there was reason to be worried about another Dredd film. Luckily, it turned out one of the best action films of the year. Brutally violent in the best ways possible, with awesome action pumping all the way through the film. The slo-mo drugs adds an ace colourful effect to scenes. Karl Urban nails his role as Dredd with helmet staying on all through the film, being dry and using deadpan humour excellently. Such an underrated movie. So easy to watch with friends over and over again. Dredd 2 pleaaaaeesee soon! Expand
  8. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    After two and half years I finally saw Dredd the other night and I was right to want to see it, Karl Urban is a complete badass as Judge Dredd and Olivia Thirlby is just great as Anderson. The action is a true example of how action scenes should be done, brilliantly choreographed and when slow motion shots occur, they are breathtaking, things like blood hitting a wall look stunning at aAfter two and half years I finally saw Dredd the other night and I was right to want to see it, Karl Urban is a complete badass as Judge Dredd and Olivia Thirlby is just great as Anderson. The action is a true example of how action scenes should be done, brilliantly choreographed and when slow motion shots occur, they are breathtaking, things like blood hitting a wall look stunning at a tiny fraction of it's normal speed and glass flying look like diamonds. I can't say enough how happy I am after seeing this movie and it is probably one of the last good r rated movies that isn't dumbed down for kids to see which makes me disappointed in the industry now. Hopes of a sequel are all but impossible but if there ever is, I will be the first in line for the this art movie. Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised by Dredd's ability to keep my attention throughout the entire film. A fun popcorn flick, Dredd presents a tense dystopian future with plenty of action at a decent and steady pace. Karl Urban is unable to bring the magic and depth of his performance in Star Trek to Dredd, However I hold the writing at fault and not the acting. On the whole, an entertaining actionI was pleasantly surprised by Dredd's ability to keep my attention throughout the entire film. A fun popcorn flick, Dredd presents a tense dystopian future with plenty of action at a decent and steady pace. Karl Urban is unable to bring the magic and depth of his performance in Star Trek to Dredd, However I hold the writing at fault and not the acting. On the whole, an entertaining action experience. Expand
  10. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable action film. Karl Urban is fantastic as Dredd...perfectly cast. The supporting cast is also excellent; I especially enjoyed Lena Headey's performance as the Villainous Ma-Ma. Hope there is a sequel to this eventually.
  11. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    This movie has some good action and good special effects but I didn't care for Karl Urban playing Judge Dredd. It would've been nice to see a more well known actor playing this hero. I liked the effects that they showed for people that were on drugs. Dredd 2 is likely a possibility.
  12. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised with this movie. I was expecting a remake of the light hearted and silly Judge Dredd movie from 1995 but Dredd is nothing like that. It's a well made action/sci-fi film with an excellent cast, creative use of special effects and a more serious approach to the story without making it boring or cheesy. It's a great action movie, an instant fav for me.
  13. Oct 11, 2014
    5
    Great action movie. Not to see if violence and gore isn't your thing. However, the lack of scenario at all and some incoherences makes it a bit funny. Not to see in France for the voices are terrible.
  14. Oct 7, 2014
    5
    Having seen the Stallone Judge Dredd, I was curious to see what Karl Urban could do with it. And, well THANK YOU, KARL URBAN. Dredd has been resurrected and is far better than before. Everything about his character that is important and relevant to the task at hand is addressed, no need to dig too deep, just watch him tear it up. It's a action dream for sure. However, I think it didHaving seen the Stallone Judge Dredd, I was curious to see what Karl Urban could do with it. And, well THANK YOU, KARL URBAN. Dredd has been resurrected and is far better than before. Everything about his character that is important and relevant to the task at hand is addressed, no need to dig too deep, just watch him tear it up. It's a action dream for sure. However, I think it did overstep some boundaries at least with the gore and graphic scenes what seemed just overboard and plain unnecessary for a movie meant simply to entertain, what didn't tank this movie is that it didn't revel in that. Hard-nosed and brutal justice against criminals is the name of the game. Of which it delivers. With this portrayal, I think Judge Dredd has become a new favorite comic hero of mine. The rating is low due to the bloodiness that steps too far out and the feel of a sequel setup due to a very simple plot and small scale. But hey, i like it. Definitely not without its charm. Adult? Strong stomach? Action addict? Worth a watch. Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    Chemistry between Dredd and rookie is great to see on screen and acting is great in general. I like how this movie is action packed and heavy use of conventional effects are great for me! Kinda reminds me of old days of action movies with arnold and stallone tho Karl Urban was actually believable in his role. I justify giving this movie 10 because of the genre it represents that has almostChemistry between Dredd and rookie is great to see on screen and acting is great in general. I like how this movie is action packed and heavy use of conventional effects are great for me! Kinda reminds me of old days of action movies with arnold and stallone tho Karl Urban was actually believable in his role. I justify giving this movie 10 because of the genre it represents that has almost died off in the reasent years. The plot is simple maybe too simple for some people but the movie is not about that its about the rookies and dredds onscreen chemistry and great action scenes. Truly amazing movie that sadly didnt do too well at the box office probably bacause of the bad advertising Expand
  16. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    A nice simple action movie. Very stylish,easy to follow story,good effects. It does however have incredibly over the top violence so not one for the faint of heart.
  17. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    Loved it. This film was exactly what I was looking for without even knowing it. The directors use of visuals did an amazing job of adding a sense of intimacy to the action with awesome slow motion shots and incredible detail. The narrative of the story is simple enough to play a side role to the action, although their imagination of the near future isn't too incredibly far fetched... AndLoved it. This film was exactly what I was looking for without even knowing it. The directors use of visuals did an amazing job of adding a sense of intimacy to the action with awesome slow motion shots and incredible detail. The narrative of the story is simple enough to play a side role to the action, although their imagination of the near future isn't too incredibly far fetched... And there is plenty of action. If your a fan of SciFi or even action classics, check this one out. Expand
  18. Jun 24, 2014
    4
    Hardly worth mentioning. Glorification of gunwounds, drugs and rape for the torture-porn crowd.
    While watching the movie I was bored enough to discover that it takes its premise from the movie "The Raid" which is also ultra-violent but in a much more artistic manner.
    I did not recognize this Dredd at all, he was saddistic, psychotic and Judge Anderson was completely miscast, she seemed
    Hardly worth mentioning. Glorification of gunwounds, drugs and rape for the torture-porn crowd.
    While watching the movie I was bored enough to discover that it takes its premise from the movie "The Raid" which is also ultra-violent but in a much more artistic manner.

    I did not recognize this Dredd at all, he was saddistic, psychotic and Judge Anderson was completely miscast, she seemed insecure and out-of-place in the violent world of Judge Dredd. Speaking of which, what happened to the world of Dredd? Where was Megacity One? Why did the future resemble our present time? Why are there so many Volkswagens?

    I do not recall the comics all that well and probably haven't read all of them but I know them well enough to feel this movie wasn't Judge Dredd. Should have just made it an American version of The Raid and leave the franchising out of it.
    Expand
  19. May 27, 2014
    7
    Big fan of the comic, but this film was underwhelming. It all seemed very small scale, and the whole thing could easily have been set in the present day. Anderson was underused and the graphic violence was too gratuitous at times. I actually think I prefer the Stallone version; at least there's a lot more of the comic in that film.
  20. May 12, 2014
    8
    Dredd is a gritty action packed thrill ride with plenty of blood, gun fights, and dark humor for you to forget all about the 1995 Judge Dredd movie staring Sylvester Stallone. After giving this movie another watch it makes me wish that the new RoboCop movie had turned out more like this then maybe it could have been worth the watch. The setting of warn down, crime filled mega citiesDredd is a gritty action packed thrill ride with plenty of blood, gun fights, and dark humor for you to forget all about the 1995 Judge Dredd movie staring Sylvester Stallone. After giving this movie another watch it makes me wish that the new RoboCop movie had turned out more like this then maybe it could have been worth the watch. The setting of warn down, crime filled mega cities stretching across states gives you more of a sense of how bad things are in the future. The story follows two Judge's responding to a triple murder in a heavily crime populated area soon they find themselves fighting to stay alive against the local gang MA-MA and there leader Ma-Ma (Lena Headey) as they fight there way up 200 flights of stairs. Karl Urban as Judge Dredd was perfect i couldn't have ask for a better Judge Dredd, i have always been a fan of Karl Urban he can be a total badass like he is in this film but he can also be funny like he is in star trek. The humor in this is for sure dark but funny but nonetheless i chuckled a couple times because of Urban's dialog. The action scenes are totally awesome the movie starts out with a car chase and it doesn't let down from there with tons of shoot outs causing loads of bloody deaths. The drug in the movie that the MA-MA gang is making causes people to perceive time super slow so it looks like everything is in Slow-Mo when they take it and for that aspect alone you have to give credit to the moive for at least giving you a reason on why its being shown rather then just having it as a gimmick like in most movies nowadays. Even though i had only seen a couple of movies that Olivia Thirlby has been in i didn't really know who she was but she surprised me with holding her own that i ended up liking her a lot i figured her role would have only slowed down the film but i was wrong. The only problem i have with her is that she was able to read peoples minds and they never really get into how she was able to do it. The plot is simple but it doesn't take away with how awesome the movie is as a action movie this is the best i have watched in some years.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 Blu ray makes the slow-mo scenes looks AMAZING! I really hope they make a second movie because if any remake deserves it i would say its this film.
    Expand
  21. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    This movie is amazing, I thought the reviews were underrated for this movie. Everything about this is epic and exhilarating and you'll want to stay till the very end but I would not recommend this movie to kids because of the violence, bad words, drug references and rape references.
  22. Apr 1, 2014
    7
    Fantastic enjoyable and refreshing effort to bring the character to the screen once again. Great action, great sense of character and place. My only qualm is with the underwhelming scale of events chosen in the movie. In 2000AD megacity one was an overpopulated disgusting reflection of a commercially bound society and often shows this as a joke. Am guessing this stems from limits in budgetFantastic enjoyable and refreshing effort to bring the character to the screen once again. Great action, great sense of character and place. My only qualm is with the underwhelming scale of events chosen in the movie. In 2000AD megacity one was an overpopulated disgusting reflection of a commercially bound society and often shows this as a joke. Am guessing this stems from limits in budget for production and if it weren't for that slightly too small scale of mega city events portrayed I would say is 10/10 for getting that character on screen in a way that feels right. Expand
  23. Mar 30, 2014
    6
    Apparently a fair amount of people liked this movie and I really wanted to like it myself. Something was missing for me though. It's a pretty derivative movie, bleak future, ultra violent, drugs, gangs etc.... and an anti hero. Done right this can make for a great movie, done wrong can make for well .... this. Just another Hollywood over the top high on action, low on story time waster.Apparently a fair amount of people liked this movie and I really wanted to like it myself. Something was missing for me though. It's a pretty derivative movie, bleak future, ultra violent, drugs, gangs etc.... and an anti hero. Done right this can make for a great movie, done wrong can make for well .... this. Just another Hollywood over the top high on action, low on story time waster. I wouldn't say it's bad but it's just not that good. Expand
  24. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Man, what a thrill ride. Urban was perfect as Dredd. Like an idiot and lot of other people, I missed out on Dredd in the cinema. Apparently the 3D was mind blowing. And thank God this wasn't watered down to a child-friendly PG-rated joke. Like most adults, I'm not interesting in seeing kids movies. I'm praying for a sequel and a re-release of the original. Hopefully the massive DVD/Blu-rayMan, what a thrill ride. Urban was perfect as Dredd. Like an idiot and lot of other people, I missed out on Dredd in the cinema. Apparently the 3D was mind blowing. And thank God this wasn't watered down to a child-friendly PG-rated joke. Like most adults, I'm not interesting in seeing kids movies. I'm praying for a sequel and a re-release of the original. Hopefully the massive DVD/Blu-ray sales will get it over the line. Expand
  25. Mar 4, 2014
    7
    This movie is great. I can't explain it another way. Karl Urban is the perfect Judge Dredd, (and by the way... He doesn't take off the mask, Sylvester Stallone). This movie has its flaws, such as some poor writing, but it is fun, action-packed, violent, and straight up awesome. If you are even remotely a fan of the comics, see this. SEE THIS
  26. EMG
    Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This film was the Dredd film fans were waiting for, a faithful adaptation of the Dredd world portrayed within the comics. The pacing, acting, effects and music were all spot on when creating the right atmosphere for this film to work not to mention Urban as Dredd was fantastic. 10/10 from a Dredd fan. 10/10 for not removing his helmet this time!
  27. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    This is the first film that I have ever refused to watch; I would not continue to watch it after renting it from Blockbuster. I did not like this movie for it's romantization of: Drug Use, Rape and Gore. Humanity has to have a line somewhere and this film crossed that line.
  28. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Dredd is the type of film which should be widely publicized and enjoyed by comic fans, action fans, and sci-fi fans, but gets overshadowed by inferior films such as Thor and Captain America and Man of Steel. It is way better by far than most of the big name super hero films - the story is tighter, the action is tougher - it is just plain good.
  29. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    What is a very will done movie that does have so much charm, energy and brilliant acting does come off as a bit slow, i mean, the setting is amazing, the camera work is top notch and the plot is very thrilling yet the dull, slow passing is very off putting to me.

    Dredd: 8/10
  30. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    This movie is underrated, for sure. You seriously couldn't ask for a better performances form Karl Urban and Olivia Thirlby after watching this movie, because they did their best, and so did director Pete Travis.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    78
    Absolutely, 100% kickass. Now would someone please get busy on the "Tank Girl" do-over, please?
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Sep 22, 2012
    70
    Dredd 3-D places you firmly in an unreal, dreamlike world and rouses you with its unexpected grace and its rhythms and its movement. The plot ceases to matter after a certain point: This is a great big beautiful music video, and there's nothing really wrong with that.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Sep 21, 2012
    75
    This, finally, is the Dredd movie comic book readers have been anticipating.