User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This movie is freaking awesome, it is so funny, the best movie i have seen in a while!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Drillbit is so funny in this movie. I hope they make a sequel
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    A hilarious movie that deals with the internal struggles of the high school losers (like myself). Owen Wilson is hilarious and so are the kids. a lot of the films funniest moments happen when the four of them are on the screen together. If your looking for a hilarious movie look no further. You will laugh.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    I simply don't understand the bad reviews this movie has revieved. In my opinion, it is mostly laughs in the film. The combination of a fat kid, a geeky, skinny kid and a wimpy midget really made this movie destined for hilarity, which it achieved to some extent. The three make it easy for bullies to pick on them, enter Owen Wilson. Wilson plays his part really well and juggles trying toI simply don't understand the bad reviews this movie has revieved. In my opinion, it is mostly laughs in the film. The combination of a fat kid, a geeky, skinny kid and a wimpy midget really made this movie destined for hilarity, which it achieved to some extent. The three make it easy for bullies to pick on them, enter Owen Wilson. Wilson plays his part really well and juggles trying to keep his identity hidden and protecting the kids to perfection. A good movie, but could have been destined to something a whole lot funnier. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2011
    4
    This is full of cheesy dialogue, bad performances (even from the usually funny Owen Wilson) and comes together for an overall unoriginal and weak comedy
  5. May 25, 2012
    8
    It is very funny and Owen Wilson is great here. While the story isn't quite top notch, there are a lot of exciting moments.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    If you're like me, diluted Apatow is still better than no Apatow at all.
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    The film's lead is entertaining and likable, but the film overall seems too artificial to be taken seriously.
  8. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    Drillbit Taylor is funny and it's good acted. Owen Wilson's character is pretty funny because he's really awkward and he can be really funny. For the kids who plays in the movies are pretty good actors
  9. Mar 26, 2015
    9
    8.7/10................................................................................................................................................
  10. Nov 22, 2014
    7
    Drillbit Taylor is a comedy movie that aims for teenagers as a target audience. Its hard not to like any of Owen Wilson characters, he just seems to be loveable regardless what he plays. I got a kick out of the young kids he was "protecting" and it was just a consistently good movie all around. The formula may have been done before but it satisfies me. You can not help but hate the villainDrillbit Taylor is a comedy movie that aims for teenagers as a target audience. Its hard not to like any of Owen Wilson characters, he just seems to be loveable regardless what he plays. I got a kick out of the young kids he was "protecting" and it was just a consistently good movie all around. The formula may have been done before but it satisfies me. You can not help but hate the villain in this film, the longer you go along the more he will piss you off. I recommend Drillbit Taylor to any high school student. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. A failing-grade comedy about the wishful triumph of high school dorks over high school bullies.
  2. Rare is the star vehicle that is as poorly matched to its star as Drillbit Taylor, which casts Owen Wilson as a homeless Army deserter and con man, able to fool people into believing he's both a substitute teacher and a master of hand-to-hand combat.
  3. 30
    Much to my dismay this is not an unauthorized sequel to Abel Ferrara's 1979 East Village art-world freakout "Driller Killer." This is instead a dispiritingly mediocre tweener comedy from some very talented people who appear to be experiencing a delayed sophomore slump.