Drinking Buddies

Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 3, 2013
    60
    It's an intriguing and distinctive story, soberly told.
  2. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Aug 20, 2013
    60
    The best thing you can say about the movie is that you couldn’t accuse it of being a sellout — nor would you think it was a Joe Swanberg movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Aug 24, 2013
    55
    If Drinking Buddies is meant to be his ticket into mainstream comedy, it feels mumblecore-ishly vague and rambling in its construction, like "Hannah Takes the Stairs" without the raffish charm.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 22, 2013
    50
    The skillful quartet at the center of Drinking Buddies reveals the weaknesses in the material.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jul 26, 2013
    50
    It deserves credit for avoiding the conventions of romantic comedies and defying audience expectations, but only to a degree. Instead of hitting the expected notes and beats, Drinking Buddies instead ambles sideways. It’s headed nowhere in particular, but at least the voyage is pleasant.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Oct 28, 2013
    40
    Flat as day-old beer.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Apr 23, 2013
    40
    Relative to the major brands, the intimate, handcrafted approach should yield more flavor. Instead, Drinking Buddies offers mostly froth.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    1
    If your looking to absolutely waste and destroy 90 minutes of ur life please I urge u to watch "drinking buddies."

    This 2013 movie has
    If your looking to absolutely waste and destroy 90 minutes of ur life please I urge u to watch "drinking buddies."

    This 2013 movie has absolutely no point to it. It was not a comedy at all and at no point did it peak my interest for even a minute. And I now feel like a worthless loser and lesser IQ than before I watched it.

    It made me feel like a 4 year old watching Winnie the Pooh. It was terrible acting, no script at all, the plot I assume was to make u feel a raw day to day life of co workers and friends/ not sure if this is sexual tension or I really like that person/ many minutes at a time of terrible silence.

    I do feel bad for Olivia Wilde and jake Johnson because they did give it a shot and its a shame it was THIS BAD!

    The director spoiler alert: Who happens to be the writer!) should speak to his financial advisor and if he doesn't owe the mob money he should retire immediately.

    I sincerely apologize to my wife for putting her that painful hour and a half of our otherwise beautiful life.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    1
    I chose to watch this movie as other reviews described it as "very funny", and "a refreshing change of pace" However, I found it outrightI chose to watch this movie as other reviews described it as "very funny", and "a refreshing change of pace" However, I found it outright terrible. It started out well enough, and for the first half, it seemed like at any point, the plot might pick up, and go somewhere. However, that was not the case. It slowly ambled along, and by the end, you didn't feel like anything had happened. Also, it is important to note that there was nothing I found remotely funny, except perhaps the fact that a movie this bad was even bade in the first place.

    I must admit, it was a change of pace, though not what you'd expect. Most movies these days are actually interesting, using suspense, action, or humor, along with other elements to keep the audience interested. However, this one had none. Really, you could skip great portions of the movie, and not miss anything. The only reason I kept watching it was because I was expecting the plot to get more interesting, but it really never did.

    Please, don't waste 1 1/2 hours of your life on this wretched movie. It isn't funny, there are no cool action scenes, there is no suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat, and there isn't even a happy ending. It leaves you with a strange, empty feeling. The characters weren't even that likeable!
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2016
    0
    I have never hated a film so much that it actually angered me. What an unbelievable waste of time and talent. Everything about this film isI have never hated a film so much that it actually angered me. What an unbelievable waste of time and talent. Everything about this film is trite, useless and just plain stupid. 4 white people (who have zero personality and no likable traits whatsoever) who work at a brewery (wow, such great escapism...) get drunk a lot (seriously how many friggin glasses of beer did they have to guzzle to get through filming this crap?) hook up, cheat on each other and eventually just swap spouses in the end. How life changing. It's a typical story line we've definitely seen before and they did nothing to make it seem unique or worthy of any intelligent viewer's attention. "But there are so many positive reviews! Why is that?" I'll tell you why: Olivia Wilde nude (Yeah, big whoop. She has no body whatsoever) The biggest problem I have with this film is that critics called it a Comedy. Really? Show me which part made you laugh because I didn't even count 1 attempt to be funny in the entire film. I'm not even joking. This was the most un-comedic comedy film I have ever seen and I thought Dumb and Dumber 2 was hilarious. If your idea of 'comedy' is a really dull and depressing love triangle with zero jokes, then yeah this is pretty side-splitting. In all seriousness, F*** all the people involved in making this sh**. The title alone is probably the most un-intriguing, underwhelming title in the history of film, but I gave it a chance because I liked the cast. The only drinking this movie made me want to do is drinking myself to death. Full Review »