Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Drinking Buddies, Joe Swanberg’s nimble, knowing and altogether excellent new film, refuses to dance to the usual tune.
  2. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Aug 20, 2013
    100
    With dexterity and care, Swanberg illuminates our muddled perceptions of our own relationships. He fixates on the minutiae of hanging out, the stuff of little loves and lies, the feints and thrusts we make in sorting matters of head and heart.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 23, 2013
    91
    Swanberg once again shows a capacity for capturing small moments that exist outside the direction of the plot. At the same time, the effective fragments of "Drinking Buddies" take his oeuvre in a new direction by accumulating into a reworking big picture.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 29, 2013
    88
    It's a meandering film that prompts the viewer to anticipate characters' actions. Fortunately, they don't take predictable paths.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 22, 2013
    88
    Writer-director-editor Swanberg should actually get first billing, as it’s his touch that makes Drinking Buddies something special.
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 21, 2013
    83
    The actors all blend terrifically, making this the film equivalent of great hang time.
  7. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Apr 23, 2013
    82
    In a film about how hard it is to know what you want, and then to express it, Swanberg gets to the heart of the matters of the heart with disarming doses of both charm and wisdom.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    1
    If your looking to absolutely waste and destroy 90 minutes of ur life please I urge u to watch "drinking buddies."

    This 2013 movie has
    absolutely no point to it. It was not a comedy at all and at no point did it peak my interest for even a minute. And I now feel like a worthless loser and lesser IQ than before I watched it.

    It made me feel like a 4 year old watching Winnie the Pooh. It was terrible acting, no script at all, the plot I assume was to make u feel a raw day to day life of co workers and friends/ not sure if this is sexual tension or I really like that person/ many minutes at a time of terrible silence.

    I do feel bad for Olivia Wilde and jake Johnson because they did give it a shot and its a shame it was THIS BAD!

    The director spoiler alert: Who happens to be the writer!) should speak to his financial advisor and if he doesn't owe the mob money he should retire immediately.

    I sincerely apologize to my wife for putting her that painful hour and a half of our otherwise beautiful life.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    1
    I chose to watch this movie as other reviews described it as "very funny", and "a refreshing change of pace" However, I found it outright terrible. It started out well enough, and for the first half, it seemed like at any point, the plot might pick up, and go somewhere. However, that was not the case. It slowly ambled along, and by the end, you didn't feel like anything had happened. Also, it is important to note that there was nothing I found remotely funny, except perhaps the fact that a movie this bad was even bade in the first place.

    I must admit, it was a change of pace, though not what you'd expect. Most movies these days are actually interesting, using suspense, action, or humor, along with other elements to keep the audience interested. However, this one had none. Really, you could skip great portions of the movie, and not miss anything. The only reason I kept watching it was because I was expecting the plot to get more interesting, but it really never did.

    Please, don't waste 1 1/2 hours of your life on this wretched movie. It isn't funny, there are no cool action scenes, there is no suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat, and there isn't even a happy ending. It leaves you with a strange, empty feeling. The characters weren't even that likeable!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    THIS WAS THE BIGEST WASTE OF MY TIME IN MY WHOLE ENTIRE LIFE. AND I DO PROCRASTINATE LIKE A LOT!!! I WANTED TO SERIOUSLY SLIT MY WRISTS. I CONTINUED WATCHING ONLY YO SEE IF MAYBE THIS MOVIE COULD POSSIBLY NOT TURN OUT AS BAD AS I THOUGHT IT WAS.
    I WANTED TO DIE
    I WANTED TO FALL INTO A DEEP COMA AND NEVER WAKE UP
    THE WORST TORTURE THEY SHOULD PRACTICE IN GUANTANAMO IS FORCE PEOPLE TO WATCH THIS MOVIE 24/7.
    LOVE THE ACTORS.
    HATE HATE HATE THE MOVIE
    I HAVE NEEEEVER HATED SOMETHING SO MUCH AND I HAVE BEEN RECENTLY CHEATED ON SO YOU KNOW THERES A LOT OF HATE FOR OTHER STUFF GOING AROUND HERE SO YOU KNOW.. IT IS QUITE SOMETHING FOR ME TO SAY THIS IS THE THING IN MY LIFE I HAVE HATED THE MOST EVER AND EVER AND EVER.
    I WILL HAVE NIGHTMARES OVER THIS MOVIE
    ALWAYS AND FOREVER
    I HATED IT
    IT WAS SO
    SO
    SO
    SI
    SO
    SO
    SO
    SO
    SOOOOOO BORIIIINNNNNGGGGGGGGGG
    BLLAAAAAAA
    Full Review »