Drive Angry 3D

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 142
  2. Negative: 34 out of 142
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2011
    6
    Not a terrible action flick per say but it does have it problems/annoyances. Im not usually a nit pick kind of guy. I enjoy a movie for what it is, a movie that entertains. This does entertain me, decent action parts, decent chase scenes. Nicolas Cage is a hit or miss actor. And OMG is Amber Heard so hot..hot dayyum. Worth a watch if you like somewhat decent killer/action flicks...worthNot a terrible action flick per say but it does have it problems/annoyances. Im not usually a nit pick kind of guy. I enjoy a movie for what it is, a movie that entertains. This does entertain me, decent action parts, decent chase scenes. Nicolas Cage is a hit or miss actor. And OMG is Amber Heard so hot..hot dayyum. Worth a watch if you like somewhat decent killer/action flicks...worth the bag of popcorn I ate over it. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    6
    If you saw the poster of the movie and thought of a movie with abundant action and car chases, well, your wrong. "Drive Angry 3D" is a revenge exploitation (Not sure of that) film about....revenge. It's excessive with blood and gore as well as hell. The story goes up the hill with inane 3D effects as well as the arrogant dialogue, but you'll like it thanks to the sexy Amber Heard and aIf you saw the poster of the movie and thought of a movie with abundant action and car chases, well, your wrong. "Drive Angry 3D" is a revenge exploitation (Not sure of that) film about....revenge. It's excessive with blood and gore as well as hell. The story goes up the hill with inane 3D effects as well as the arrogant dialogue, but you'll like it thanks to the sexy Amber Heard and a cool ass Nicholas Cage (Ya know, Nicholas Cage could actually continue his career with acting in B-grade movies like these) . Overall I would advise you to rent it, but watch it with pure fun. R) 5.5 Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    4
    I called it "Silly flick with $$$D",... oops I mean 3D. Amber Heard is hot and The Accountant looks good. Cool 3D but have the problem wit the brightness.
  4. May 25, 2011
    6
    There is one good reason to watch this movie, and that is Bill Fichtner's incredibly entertaining star performance as a marshal from hell. Amber Heard is not bad either, as a very spunky side-kick to Cage's fugitive. A fairly predictable movie, heavy on the gratuitous violence. Nicolas Cage, the ostensible star, look puffy and washed out, delivering a typically sleepy performance,There is one good reason to watch this movie, and that is Bill Fichtner's incredibly entertaining star performance as a marshal from hell. Amber Heard is not bad either, as a very spunky side-kick to Cage's fugitive. A fairly predictable movie, heavy on the gratuitous violence. Nicolas Cage, the ostensible star, look puffy and washed out, delivering a typically sleepy performance, punctuated by a few incongruous moments of gaiety. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    The movie smells like "Grindhouse", but "Drive Angry 3D" has level of unpredictable humor, cleaner violence (if you compare this to Tarantino's or Rodriguez's), and crazy story line that, believe me or not, does a better job than "Grindhouse"
  6. Feb 25, 2011
    5
    It's an over the top Action movie, with bits of Comedy. I actually think I would've enjoyed the film a bit more if Nic Cage wasn't in it. I mean this guy could be considered one of the best damn actors in the biz if he didn't accept roles like this. Not that this is a bad role to take on, but it's a bad one for Cage. He needs to stick to Drama's damn it. This would've been a better roleIt's an over the top Action movie, with bits of Comedy. I actually think I would've enjoyed the film a bit more if Nic Cage wasn't in it. I mean this guy could be considered one of the best damn actors in the biz if he didn't accept roles like this. Not that this is a bad role to take on, but it's a bad one for Cage. He needs to stick to Drama's damn it. This would've been a better role for Jason Statham type of Actor not fricken Nic Cage. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    its a simple film with alot of action which harkens back to the 70s driving acting flicks . its low on plot with simple one dimentional charicters . its alot like shoot em up which i kinda expected but not as good . the budget was low and some of the effects arnt up to snuff with what you would expect theese days . but if you take it for what it is just a fun action flick you can find someits a simple film with alot of action which harkens back to the 70s driving acting flicks . its low on plot with simple one dimentional charicters . its alot like shoot em up which i kinda expected but not as good . the budget was low and some of the effects arnt up to snuff with what you would expect theese days . but if you take it for what it is just a fun action flick you can find some enjoyment out of it . Expand
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    the film starts very well and until the first half, goes forward very good. but suddenly metaphysics and guardians of hell and supernatural phenomenon enter the movie. this thing have nothing to do with a parody. a parody must not take itself serious and want to say big things; like the first half of this movie.
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    4
    Drive Angry is a total mess of a movie. It's saved from complete embarrassment by a few scatter-shot laughs and a sense of the film truly embracing it's own crappiness. Drive Angry knows that it's bad and manages to squeeze a few drops of quality out of that recognition. Still nowhere near good, though.
  10. May 21, 2011
    4
    This movie seemed ridiculous, which is what made me want to watch it in the first place. This movie is funny because of Nic Cage, considering he's a horrible actor, which is why this movie just fails in the end.
  11. May 1, 2013
    5
    A B-movie that has some fun moments, but not enough to recommend this film. Nicholas Cage does a good job at camping it up but a sub par script haunts this movie
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 3, 2011
    50
    "Drive Trashy" would be a more accurate title for the first 45 minutes of this gore-spurting, sex-flaunting romp. And that's the good part.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 3, 2011
    30
    "When you race with the devil, you'd better be fast as hell." (And you, angry driver, are not that fast.)
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 28, 2011
    75
    The appeal of Drive Angry is much the same as that of "Piranha": a willingness to revel in absurdity to the degree where the exhilaration is infectious.