FilmDistrict | Release Date: September 16, 2011
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1414 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,189
Mixed:
114
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PollosHermanosDec 21, 2011
Easily one of the best films of 2011. The opening 5 minutes of Drive are simply extraordinary: zero music and virtually no dialogue, just the Driver outrunning the cops after a burglary. If you aren't instantly drawn in by the opening chaseEasily one of the best films of 2011. The opening 5 minutes of Drive are simply extraordinary: zero music and virtually no dialogue, just the Driver outrunning the cops after a burglary. If you aren't instantly drawn in by the opening chase sequence, your favorite movie is most likely Transformers and you do not deserve to see the greatness this film beholds. This raw and realistic film is falsely advertised by its trailers; they make it seem like a hardcore action flick, but it turns out to be an intensely character driven story with very minimal, but effective, dialogue that progresses the story at a continuously entertaining pace. The cinematography is some of the best I've seen in years: it seems effortlessly smooth and endlessly creative. The plot is simple, but Refn's execution is, in part, what makes the film ultimately stand out. Another crucial part to what makes this film so enticing is its ruthless depiction of violence. I KNOW that some (actually, a lot of) people are turned away, or dislike, Drive solely because of its graphic violence. These people are dumb; IT'S A MOVIE (not real). The violence is as realistic as it gets, without being over-exaggerated to the point of blood spraying 10 feet into the air in all directions when someone gets stabbed. There ARE some very graphic scenes, but I feel that it's a reflection of the characters (especially Albert Brook's and Ryan Gosling's characters). Most of the film is actually absent of action/violence, in which i was pleasantly surprised by. It's probably a 75/25 split. Overall, if you have any appreciation of good film, you definitely need to see this film. It's amazing and should win a handful of Oscars. Expand
17 of 20 users found this helpful173
All this user's reviews
10
j30Sep 20, 2011
You're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. Thank God it wasn't a Hugh Jackman Fast and the Furious film, as it was planned before Ryan Gosling got theYou're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. Thank God it wasn't a Hugh Jackman Fast and the Furious film, as it was planned before Ryan Gosling got the lead. In addition he personally chose director Nicolas Winding Refn.. However, more users would have liked it if Michael Bay directed and Hugh Jackman staring. Expand
32 of 45 users found this helpful3213
All this user's reviews
10
BlueMoonSep 17, 2011
Drive is like nothing I've ever seen before. Rarely will a movie saturate its first 45 minutes or so with a gentle love story and then escalate so quickly into the horrific, grizzly, B-Movie violence that is Drive. This is what makes it suchDrive is like nothing I've ever seen before. Rarely will a movie saturate its first 45 minutes or so with a gentle love story and then escalate so quickly into the horrific, grizzly, B-Movie violence that is Drive. This is what makes it such a powerful film. Its formulaic use of silence and violence makes it work and makes it work well. Go see it but keep in mind, it is not for the faint of heart mainstream audiences. Expand
21 of 32 users found this helpful2111
All this user's reviews
1
memphisfeastSep 19, 2011
After seeing this movie, I was first a little taken aback to discover how popular it was among the critics. I then realized why- they were attracted to its very obvious qualities of artsy-ness. It is as "TomProCritic" says. They responded toAfter seeing this movie, I was first a little taken aback to discover how popular it was among the critics. I then realized why- they were attracted to its very obvious qualities of artsy-ness. It is as "TomProCritic" says. They responded to its artsy qualities- a few: long pauses for no reason, hesitation, unique camera angels, the use of techno and modern music, a kid who is not very childish...etc. The movie was dull. If you don't respond to hollow artsy crap, it falls flat. I only give it credit for having some truly terrific actors. Expand
26 of 62 users found this helpful2636
All this user's reviews
1
TomProCriticSep 19, 2011
This film resembles a classic case of "Bait Art" common in contemporary filmmaking, especially among young directors. They lure in film critics who are overwhelmed by a wide range of intense hollywood cinema and give them somethingThis film resembles a classic case of "Bait Art" common in contemporary filmmaking, especially among young directors. They lure in film critics who are overwhelmed by a wide range of intense hollywood cinema and give them something digestible- a slow moving, short scripted, uneventful film- market it as artsy and put in some artsy music and artsy shots to complete the picture. Drive, for the rest of us, is nothing more than a ridiculously forgettable movie with some great actors. The film is painfully slow, painfully cliche and above all overdramatic in delivery. It never feels real. Made for the elitist critics, not for people like us. Expand
28 of 71 users found this helpful2843
All this user's reviews
0
thebigscreenSep 19, 2011
"listen2themovie" and "memphisfeast" have it right. The artsy-ness of this movie tries to distract you from how lifeless the plot is but instead make things worse. It really is one of the worst cases imaginable of critics bait.
18 of 48 users found this helpful1830
All this user's reviews
2
NatT96Apr 16, 2016
Extremely over-hyped and disappointing as well. I do not understand why i find this moving so boring. It definitely has good actors but the plot really put me to sleep. I remember going to see this movie and people started leaving it mid wayExtremely over-hyped and disappointing as well. I do not understand why i find this moving so boring. It definitely has good actors but the plot really put me to sleep. I remember going to see this movie and people started leaving it mid way through. I sat through it only to be amused by the ending of the film. I understand the audience its targeted at, but its artistic silent vibe was not working for me. Most people I did show it to also got very disinterested in it as well. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
llamayarmybarApr 23, 2016
Good christ. I recall watching this film with a buddy of mine and reaching the credits only for both of us to look over at eachother with our mouths open wide in shock. "What the heck was that? That was terrible." My friend said loudly.Good christ. I recall watching this film with a buddy of mine and reaching the credits only for both of us to look over at eachother with our mouths open wide in shock. "What the heck was that? That was terrible." My friend said loudly. He was totally outraged at how bizzarely boring the whole film had been and I was utterly blown away by the fact that it was obvious someone had found a short story at some point before the first script was written and had tried to adapt it to a screenplay without realizing it was a total DOA mess. The characters are dull, lifeless. Ryan Goslings performance is lukewarm at best. The soundtrack wasn't even memorable outside of one decent credit roller song at the end. Though the action scenes are shot well, the rest of the film outside of those scenes just falls flat in terms of emotional conveyance. The romance between the two main characters is unbelievable and creepy. All of their scenes together are terribly awkward as well. The main antagonists end up just being some old italian mob guys who just happen to be involved. The plot is as shallow as they come and no elements seem to exist in "Drive" that would or could ever place it beyond or above completely mediocre. Could've been made by a college film student with a smaller budget. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawFeb 20, 2012
This high-acclaimed black noir of our era has accumulated "best-of-the-yearâ
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
b0mbardiniNov 15, 2013
Overrated, too slow, predictable, tries too hard, and even the acting was poor. There was nothing good except for the first scene. Terrible movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
itsthatguy1989May 19, 2012
I found this movie to be highly overrated. It is decent to begin with and makes you wonder who the main protagonist is, but it slowly turns into a bland, boring, and way too long movie. The main problem I had was that the main characterI found this movie to be highly overrated. It is decent to begin with and makes you wonder who the main protagonist is, but it slowly turns into a bland, boring, and way too long movie. The main problem I had was that the main character doesn't speak. You can't build a connection with him. There was also an excessive use of blood. I love action movies with blood, but this is way overboard. The only reason people watched it was because all girls go crazy over Ryan Gosling. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
FullmetalMay 29, 2012
I tried to give this movie a chance. I like films that do something different. The first five minutes were great. Then, the rest of the movie happened. The main character was so unrealistic when it came to human interaction it was painful toI tried to give this movie a chance. I like films that do something different. The first five minutes were great. Then, the rest of the movie happened. The main character was so unrealistic when it came to human interaction it was painful to watch. It was like he was mentally handicapped or stunted, and that is to put it lightly. I am glad that I didn't pay to see this film in theaters. The action was so-so, but I was just glad it was only 100 minutes. I found myself almost asleep thirty minutes in. How this movie got critical acclaim is beyond me, and I am a movie guy who likes quirky films. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
KaiWyvernNov 26, 2012
Artistically, the film is impressive. However, I wouldn't recommend watching it with friends as a casual movie night thing. It's more of a film to be appreciated for its cinematography rather than its plot.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
pixelgrowerJun 8, 2013
A very bad cowboys movie with a script at best uninteresting a beautiful cinematography and a horrible soundtrack. Just realized this movie looks in fact like a celebrity of our decade nice looking, nothing to say, bad taste.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
CountvontrollioDec 13, 2014
boring, tepid fatuousness. Gosling is seriously psycho, in this unneccessarily violent film, that ultimately drives no one any where except around the bend. And then a lame love interest end act that is formulaic and redundant and made meboring, tepid fatuousness. Gosling is seriously psycho, in this unneccessarily violent film, that ultimately drives no one any where except around the bend. And then a lame love interest end act that is formulaic and redundant and made me think what the hell movie the critics were salivating over, because this surely wasn;t it. Terrible Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
GangialfFeb 15, 2015
If intended as a piece of art could be even appreciated, but the idea that in almost 100 minutes of movie people barely talk is at least insane.
Great actors but no plot whatsoever and a director that believes to be Stanley Kubrick.
This
If intended as a piece of art could be even appreciated, but the idea that in almost 100 minutes of movie people barely talk is at least insane.
Great actors but no plot whatsoever and a director that believes to be Stanley Kubrick.
This movie is painfully slow, but it would like to be an action movie as well; the style with which it has been edited is simply mental: splatter, slow motion, panoramas, a 50 minutes sunset scene, few seconds of action mixed all together creating the impression of an everlasting hiccup.
Why?Why?Why would you create something like this? Classic movie that the critic will generally enjoy even if it does not say anything and it is completely self-indulging.
Full Metal Jacket is a masterpiece, this is just pretentious crap.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
blondowlDec 20, 2011
Drive is a fairly sophisticated and barren piece of movie-art. The violence and crime progressively gets rather disturbing at the end but it is always appropriate and done in thoughtful style; the silent and laid-back main character (Driver)Drive is a fairly sophisticated and barren piece of movie-art. The violence and crime progressively gets rather disturbing at the end but it is always appropriate and done in thoughtful style; the silent and laid-back main character (Driver) adds further authenticity which results in an even mood throughout the entire film and leaves you thinking that the Michael Bay or Gore Vorbiski type of movie should probably be worried as Drive might be a replacement for this; further installments will let us know. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
pinattarDec 29, 2011
i really enjoyed this film. the acting was great, cinematography was beautiful, music was great, great direction. the only problem that i had was the writing, i felt that the second half of the movie was lacking something, it just feeli really enjoyed this film. the acting was great, cinematography was beautiful, music was great, great direction. the only problem that i had was the writing, i felt that the second half of the movie was lacking something, it just feel complete. that being said, its still a really great movie. i didnt mind the lack of dialogue i think it just help set the mood/tone/atmosphere of the film, or the violence (again helped the mood). this movie isnt for everyone, i think if you liked "The American" with Clooney you might like this the pacing was the same and it too had little dialogue. and if you dont mind the more "realistic" violence (similar to "Eastern Promises" and "A History of Violence") than you should be fine. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
3
FrannieLWDec 4, 2012
Hyper stylized can be done well with real purpose. Unfortunately, in regards to Drive, it can be done so wrong that it becomes laughable. I was unconvinced by the characters motives and feelings and honestly didn't care about any of them. TheHyper stylized can be done well with real purpose. Unfortunately, in regards to Drive, it can be done so wrong that it becomes laughable. I was unconvinced by the characters motives and feelings and honestly didn't care about any of them. The plot had a good structure, but was really blown to bits by the director's ego. The cinematography was wonderful though so at least it had something going for it. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
danajs24Sep 4, 2012
This movie was really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, boring. Stupid 150 characters.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
Tss5078May 9, 2016
I was really excited when I saw the preview for this film, an action thriller with a terrific cast is right up my ally, unfortunately, the three minutes of action in the trailer, showed the only decent action in the entire film. Ryan GoslingI was really excited when I saw the preview for this film, an action thriller with a terrific cast is right up my ally, unfortunately, the three minutes of action in the trailer, showed the only decent action in the entire film. Ryan Gosling plays a Hollywood stunt man, who moonlights as a getaway driver, in a story that is both eerily similar to and nothing like The Transporter. The driver in this film is just as picky and OCD as Jason Statham's character in the Transporter, but that's where the similarities end. After a nice opening, this film quickly turns into some noir love story, that really focuses more on the conflicted driver, than on anything else, making this one boring film. How can a film company be allowed to put out an action fueled trailer for a film like this, which is anything but exciting. The clever advertising devils got me again, but facts are facts, and no trailer or good looking star can hide the fact that this movie was terrible. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
pinkscreenFeb 20, 2012
Tarantino's fan ? Watch this movie you're going to love it. Actors are brilliant. Maybe one of the best part for Ryan Gosling. For me, the best movie of 2011.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MechaYakuzaSep 16, 2011
I have been a champion of Nicholas Winding Refn's films for a few years, and DRIVE is his best film yet and my new personal favorite film. The film is brutally intimate and subtly beautiful. Gosling's soft spoken almost silent protagonistI have been a champion of Nicholas Winding Refn's films for a few years, and DRIVE is his best film yet and my new personal favorite film. The film is brutally intimate and subtly beautiful. Gosling's soft spoken almost silent protagonist reminded me of Robert de Niro in Taxi Driver. The amazing synth soundtrack, the long shots of characters faces as the director forces you to feel their emotions, to the amazing use of horrific violence that you a sense of real desperation, DRIVE is a perfect film. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
thegirlispoisonSep 17, 2011
Settle noir, intense violence, and a thrilling yet mysterious story. Though slow at first, the movie picks up right in the middle, and hardly lets up from there on. However, even the slow parts held my attention. It's unfortunate that thisSettle noir, intense violence, and a thrilling yet mysterious story. Though slow at first, the movie picks up right in the middle, and hardly lets up from there on. However, even the slow parts held my attention. It's unfortunate that this film probably will not get the credit it deserves as one of the best films of the year. Amazing performances from the entire cast, and it's a must see for the cult film followers. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
9
BenardenSep 22, 2011
The first 5 minutes of "Drive" is Worth the price of admission ( 6 bucks, if your askin' ) stylish photography, tense, terse with several brilliant scenes within; but the " Art House Gore" in lieu of a more solid script mars the effort. RatedThe first 5 minutes of "Drive" is Worth the price of admission ( 6 bucks, if your askin' ) stylish photography, tense, terse with several brilliant scenes within; but the " Art House Gore" in lieu of a more solid script mars the effort. Rated "R" ( Nudity, language, unsafe driving practices ) "X" for Violence;- - and never, EVER pose a threat to this young mans Girlfriend. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
KICKERMAN360Jan 3, 2012
The director has made the duologue, or lack thereof, work throughout the movie. The camera work is well done. The action scenes aren't too over the top which makes things even better. The only thing I'm a little irked about is, nothing aboutThe director has made the duologue, or lack thereof, work throughout the movie. The camera work is well done. The action scenes aren't too over the top which makes things even better. The only thing I'm a little irked about is, nothing about how the driver knew all his tricks is revealed. But forgiving that minor detail, the movie is very thrilling and will keep you in your seat until the very end, guaranteed (You'll know what I mean if you watch the closing scenes). Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
filmfanaticSep 16, 2011
Unbelievable. I can't remember the last time a movie made me want to stand up and cheer when it was over. Heck, I wanted to stand up and cheer after the first five minutes. Everything here is top notch: the acting, the cinematography, theUnbelievable. I can't remember the last time a movie made me want to stand up and cheer when it was over. Heck, I wanted to stand up and cheer after the first five minutes. Everything here is top notch: the acting, the cinematography, the direction, and the action scenes. Don't go in expecting your traditional action movie though, you will probably not get it. This is borderline art house, from the cinematography to the lack of dialogue. This is a movie for people who love great movies or, more specifically, the art of cinema. If that doesn't appeal to you (or you're turned off by relentlessly graphic violence), stay away. Those who haven't been satisfied with giant robots and superheroes this summer should definitely check it out. I don't think you'll be disappointed. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
boneSep 17, 2011
Everything about the film Drive is good. From the lead actor, supporting actors, the script, the direction, the action, the drama, and the music. Drive is the most endearing film I've seen in a while.
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
10
DeadpieSep 16, 2011
Not for fans of mindless big explosion movies. This isn't your typical action film. It's pretty artsy in terms of very well done cinematography, not much dialogue from the main character, very still scenes, but it's not bashing you in theNot for fans of mindless big explosion movies. This isn't your typical action film. It's pretty artsy in terms of very well done cinematography, not much dialogue from the main character, very still scenes, but it's not bashing you in the face with that. So yes, I do feel like even people who don't really care for art films can still get into it. The movie is well paced and when the mood changes, that when you know **** just got real. It can be disturbing and shocking at times due to the ultraviolence which is quite typical of Refn is you've seen any of his other films, particularly Bronson. Even if you don't like the film you have to admit the acting is VERY well done by everyone. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
9
ShyfoxSep 23, 2011
Shot gorgeously, terrific acting, and compelling yet semi-believable chase scenes. I enjoyed the hell out of it. I don't know how this is too "artsy", except in comparison to crap like Transformers or Final Destination. I've seen movies thatShot gorgeously, terrific acting, and compelling yet semi-believable chase scenes. I enjoyed the hell out of it. I don't know how this is too "artsy", except in comparison to crap like Transformers or Final Destination. I've seen movies that are too artsy, they definetly exist- most of them are pretentious film festival entries or indie dramas. Worst you could say about Drive is that there are some awkward silences. So yeah, awesome film. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaJan 5, 2012
The Film is a masterpiece and the best movie of the year. This film has it all, a love story, great symbolism, suspense and a well paced out film. However what is so impressive about the film is the style it chose. The director chose an artsyThe Film is a masterpiece and the best movie of the year. This film has it all, a love story, great symbolism, suspense and a well paced out film. However what is so impressive about the film is the style it chose. The director chose an artsy style and tone to dominate the screen. The film should be just another fast and the furious film but no it is much smarter and very well done. Ryan Gosling's performnace is one of the keys to the film. He stays true to his character the entire film. He does not speak often which emphacises all the words he does say. We don't learn about the driver through his words but instead through his actions. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
SlythforlifeSep 17, 2011
I thought it was fantastic. Great soundtrack, sleek, low-key, but powerful. Maybe a little over the top w/the violence. But Ryan Gosling was absolute perfection. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I personally loved it.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
VanessaOrozco12Sep 17, 2011
The way the film was directed caught my attention. I couldn't stop watching it had me hooked from the start! Plus Gosling is extremely good looking and his attitude in the film is irresistible.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
trigun123478Sep 16, 2011
Reading user reviews for this movie made me want to write a review. I just saw the movie tonight. It seems everyone is to wussy for all the violence this movie had. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a while. I really didn't knowReading user reviews for this movie made me want to write a review. I just saw the movie tonight. It seems everyone is to wussy for all the violence this movie had. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a while. I really didn't know what was going to happen next. This isn't your typical action movie with car chases and everything blowing up. So don't expect the usual, but if you want something different give this movie a shot. While it does have action its just not done in a traditional way.
The acting was great. Ryan gosling like you have never seem him before. The story was good, the camera angles and everything was just different. Don't listen to the people complain about violence, go see it. fantastic movie.
Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleSep 17, 2011
Although Gosling has been stronger, more dynamic in other films (Blue Valentine, Lars, Half Nelson), he brings such intensity and subtle emotion to what amounts to a relatively shallow character. Without dwelling on the details of the filmAlthough Gosling has been stronger, more dynamic in other films (Blue Valentine, Lars, Half Nelson), he brings such intensity and subtle emotion to what amounts to a relatively shallow character. Without dwelling on the details of the film to any great extent, I don't think that I haven't seen a film since maybe Hurt Locker that has made my heart feel like it was going to beat out of my chest like this one did. I'm not a fan of Carey Mulligan at all - couldn't stand her in An Education - but she's terrific in an understated role. You never plummet the depths of the driver's soul, but that is unnecessary - I can't imagine anyone else doing what he did here. Jason Statham? Nope. Burt Reynolds? Nah. There's something about the timber of Gosling's voice that just works in a role like this one. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
blaingranadoSep 17, 2011
Drive is a milestone in filmmaking. There won't be a film like this in some time. Artistic, Brutal, Sweet, and Poignant. It will no doubt baffle many and I think that's its greatest quality. A maverick tour de force. I consider this film aDrive is a milestone in filmmaking. There won't be a film like this in some time. Artistic, Brutal, Sweet, and Poignant. It will no doubt baffle many and I think that's its greatest quality. A maverick tour de force. I consider this film a Masterpiece. It is also in the running for my favorite film of all time. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
kings7Sep 19, 2011
+Gosling is compelling. +The soundtrack is amazing. +Supporting cast is well-acted and adds to the realism.
+It is subtle and not mainstream (which can be a good or bad thing depending on the type of movie-goer you are).
-The story is good,
+Gosling is compelling. +The soundtrack is amazing. +Supporting cast is well-acted and adds to the realism.
+It is subtle and not mainstream (which can be a good or bad thing depending on the type of movie-goer you are).

-The story is good, but had more potential than it used.


Overall: Highly recommended for people who can think beyond what's happening on the screen and actually have some intelligence.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
DarshykSep 23, 2011
I cannot comprehend how everyone can decry a movie because of its apparent 'artiness.' Movies are art, they are about more than just telling a story and seeing a guy's head implode. The silences are not without purpose, they are really quiteI cannot comprehend how everyone can decry a movie because of its apparent 'artiness.' Movies are art, they are about more than just telling a story and seeing a guy's head implode. The silences are not without purpose, they are really quite powerful. That this move can be so great with so little dialogue says loads about the direction and acting. This is by no means a boring movie. I guess some people lack the intelligence to understand the subtleties of this truly brilliant movie. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
lizusa4444Jul 30, 2012
I was entranced by this film. It was hypnotic from the beginning. All of the actors deliver and it is not as violent as some of the critics have said. Ryan Gosling can do no wrong and he proves it for this director. Albert Brooks is aI was entranced by this film. It was hypnotic from the beginning. All of the actors deliver and it is not as violent as some of the critics have said. Ryan Gosling can do no wrong and he proves it for this director. Albert Brooks is a thrill as a thug. Great movie and comment on being a loner. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
jdmarcSep 27, 2011
Interesting look into a scarred anti-social individual who only feels alive, at first, when he exercises his automotive skills. The lack of dialog between the two leads was hard for me to accept, but the attraction and distance theyInteresting look into a scarred anti-social individual who only feels alive, at first, when he exercises his automotive skills. The lack of dialog between the two leads was hard for me to accept, but the attraction and distance they maintained seemed real. Movie looked great, soundtrack unique, acting by all impressive. Three excruciatingly violent scenes that only mirror the lack of humanity in the world these characters inhabit. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanFeb 15, 2012
At its most basic level, Drive could be described as "The Transporter with a brain". If you yourself possess even half a brain, you'll realise that it is so much more. Drive is a beautiful, thematically rich and powerful film. The whole castAt its most basic level, Drive could be described as "The Transporter with a brain". If you yourself possess even half a brain, you'll realise that it is so much more. Drive is a beautiful, thematically rich and powerful film. The whole cast are superb, with Ryan Gosling imbuing The Driver with a deep, brooding emotion, and making him a very engaging protagonist despite him being a character of very few words. It's a true testament to Gosling's skill as an actor that he can communicate to the viewer so much about what his character is thinking through a single facial expression, or physical act. The Driver is also the epitome of cool, from his scorpion-emblazoned white jacket, sunglasses and Clint Eastwood-esque toothpick, to the leather driving gloves he dons and the unassuming analogue watch he fastens to his steering wheel when on a job. Carey Mulligan is also extremely believable as single mother Irene, and has great chemistry with Gosling. It is because this central relationship, this unlikely romance works that The Driver gains much of its emotional leverage, and with the addition of a surprisingly effective soundtrack of soppy electro-pop love songs, the few moments of intimacy that The Driver and Irene share, and the ultimate tragedy of their story, is all the more affecting. Bryan Cranston is brilliant as always as the crippled garage owner and low-level mob dealer Shannon, Ron Perlman is entertaining as Jewish mob heavy Nino and Albert Brooks is simply terrifying as Bernie Rose, the psychotic razor-wielding mob boss who serves as the film's primary antagonist. The film is about fractured identity, and about redemption through good deeds. This never more clear than through the characterisation of The Driver. He remains nameless throughout the film, only referred to in relation to his profession - he is a functional tool before he is a person. It is only through his steadily growing love for Irene and her young son Benicio, and through his quest for justice in punishing the Los Angeles criminal underworld that he finds his humanity, and symbolically saves his soul, proving himself to be a real person. Building on these philosophically heavy themes, Hossein Amini's script is deceptively simple, but effective - he gives his characters enough to say to communicate their feelings and map their growth over the course of the film, but pleasingly he doesn't fall into the trap of convoluted, inherently unrealistic dialogue purely designed to show audiences how clever the film is. These are real people, speaking (or not, in The Driver's case) as real people do, and the film's heady themes speak for themselves, and Amini knows this, and smartly doesn't resort to highlighting them in his dialogue, which would have made it heavy and laborious, rather than honest and minimalistic as it is. Drive is not just an achievement for clever writing, but also a visual triumph. Cinematographer Newton Thomas Sigel uses his experience working frequently with Bryan Singer extremely effectively here - like in X-Men or Valkyrie, he is demanded in Drive to adapt his filming style to a number of visually and tonally different sequences - whether it's an expansive aerial shot of the glittering L.A. skyline, or a frantic car chase, or a more mellow and intimate moment in Irene's apartment, Sigel always rises to the challenge and creates something visually striking. The cinematography, married with Matthew Newman's masterful editing and the effectively moody film noir lighting used throughout the film, Driver becomes a real thing of beauty. Nicholas Winding Refn continues to prove his talent as an extremely creative, intelligent director that isn't afraid to challenge his audience. He's also extremely adept at handling action, without reducing himself to mainstream drudgery - the car chases and shootouts are all entertaining, but aren't dumb and obvious, and have more in common with the work of Martin Scorsese than Michael Bay. Refn clearly knows that less is more, and is prepared to make you wait, to really rack up the tension before giving you a blood-soaked or tyre-smoke clouded payoff, and the set-pieces are far more powerful as a result. Drive is many things - a religious allegory, an intense psychodrama, a tender love story, a gangster-thriller, a film noir, and it even has much of the iconography and themes of a classic Western. It looks great, sounds great, is well-scripted, clever without being pretentious, packs a real emotional punch and is extremely well-acted, particularly by the mesmerising Gosling. Simply put, Drive is stunning. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
sfarcusFeb 12, 2012
This movie was graphically violent for no reason. The story line was dragged out disguised as artsy camera angles, annoying music and over dramatic pauses. I'm sure film students and film noir wannabe's will love this but it's not for theThis movie was graphically violent for no reason. The story line was dragged out disguised as artsy camera angles, annoying music and over dramatic pauses. I'm sure film students and film noir wannabe's will love this but it's not for the average movie goer. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
Gaston17Apr 10, 2013
Had a hard time watching it. So slow and boring, endless scenes with background music. It looks like and independent film, if you hate these, please don't watch it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
Overly violent without cause, and with a clunky script, Drive is a bad movie disguised as a masterpiece. This love-it-or-hate-it movie could've been so much better. And one question: did Ryan Gosling every move a facial muscle in this movie???
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
JordanPApr 13, 2012
Unnecessarily violent, strangely awkward, and given an inexplicably tacky 80s aesthetic (complete with dreadful 80s style music). The ending makes little sense either. The first five minutes were an interesting setup, but after that I foundUnnecessarily violent, strangely awkward, and given an inexplicably tacky 80s aesthetic (complete with dreadful 80s style music). The ending makes little sense either. The first five minutes were an interesting setup, but after that I found very little to like. Not sure what got the critics so in a froth. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
NedRyerson1Feb 27, 2012
Drive is a rare type of movie: an action but touching picture. The protagonist is a man with no name, a driver that lives for himself and has a look as if he was looking for something. He has some kind of a double personality, a secret life.Drive is a rare type of movie: an action but touching picture. The protagonist is a man with no name, a driver that lives for himself and has a look as if he was looking for something. He has some kind of a double personality, a secret life. At day he works as a stuntman in car racing films, during night he provides an aid for criminals that is worthy of applause: he is the transport in which the robbers escape; but the life to him seems empty. The driver will find a way of ending his emptiness by the path of love. And that is the gate for changing his life and a little bit of the world. Drive has some details of Martin Scorsese´s filmography: first Ryan Gosling is like the new Robert DeNiro. Second, there are some sequences that seem to be from Scorsese, the attack in the parking zone, the magnificent scene of the elevator, the car crashing and the ending. Third the protagonist has the need of discover a new life. This picture has an amazing script and montage, the score A Real Hero contributes to the feeling that wants to provoke this film, but the crown is the strong performance of Ryan Gosling (maybe his best after Stay). Beside that this film will always be a shadow of Taxi Driver; I really recommend it, because it is a reinvention of the local hero. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
miketeOct 4, 2011
I, like many others, joined just to review this movie. I have to say I love movies. I love arthouse movies. This movie was not too wierd or "arts-y" for me. The reason for the low score is that it is genuinely awful. I would have given it aI, like many others, joined just to review this movie. I have to say I love movies. I love arthouse movies. This movie was not too wierd or "arts-y" for me. The reason for the low score is that it is genuinely awful. I would have given it a 0, but the opening scene is very good, and I liked one other scene. Apart from that, I see absolutely nothing redeeming about Drive. The protagonist is an antisocial personality-vacuum. The love interest and her son are cute but ornamental. The two mob villains are ham-fisted and cliched to a point beyond parody. The audience is given no reason to emotionally invest in the well-being of any characters. There is not a germ of realism in the tacky, tv-movie script. All of which could serve to reinforce the mythology, if that's what this movie is after, but the archetypes aren't strong enough, and the story arc not epic enough to sustain a myth. And, to top it all off, amid all the clumsy writing and un-reality of the script, the filmmakers practically beg to be taken seriously with overlong dramatic pauses and hyper-graphic depictions of violence. It is a superficial, nihilistic, cynical exercise in vanity that seems to want to be taken as deep. It's terrible. Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
0
SammetsfanSep 19, 2011
Drive is total critics bait. Classic case of trying very hard to be loved. One of the worst movies of 2011. Predictable, cliche and overdramatic. Lacked plot.
11 of 24 users found this helpful1113
All this user's reviews
10
FinnaticSep 18, 2011
Ryan Gosling scores another winner with this compellingly atmospheric drama/thriller hybrid. Ryan plays an emotionally detached character, Driver, who has a simple 5 minute rule. You hire him, and he's there for you completely for 5Ryan Gosling scores another winner with this compellingly atmospheric drama/thriller hybrid. Ryan plays an emotionally detached character, Driver, who has a simple 5 minute rule. You hire him, and he's there for you completely for 5 minutes. Anything a minute either side of that, and you are on your own. What a setup! There's not a lot of dialogue from Driver, but what there is is acted out so well and glues you to your seat. The perfectly tuned soundtrack serves as another character in the film, helping to steer the action and heighten the emotion of the film. I can't say that I've ever seen a movie quite like Drive before. Sure, there are some similarities to other movies. The soundtrack alone reminds me of something out of Michael Mann's earlier works. But there's more here than even the pieces of homages to other times could possibly add up to make. There's been discussion about the very 80's lipstick font chosen for the titles of the film. I think this was done purposely, to evoke memories of another time. Drive will transport you away from the everyday into a taut and tense emotional vehicle that will leave you wanting more by the time it all inevitably ends. Highly recommended and not to be missed! See you at the popcorn stand. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 15, 2011
Sensational director Nicholas Winding Refn's "Drive" is a good subtle movie that sorta revives the noir genre with violence and color. The film's ending is hurried and weak compared to the immense tension it creates. However, the directorSensational director Nicholas Winding Refn's "Drive" is a good subtle movie that sorta revives the noir genre with violence and color. The film's ending is hurried and weak compared to the immense tension it creates. However, the director actually presents a great movie with his ability to use various masterful camera angles as well as showing copious action and car chases. In conclusion...watch it. It's a cool movie that will definitely appeal to you. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
shaunmedSep 30, 2011
if you have a soul, this movie will grip you from beginning to end. it burns a hole in your stomach with anticipation and fills it with hope. heartbreaking and honest.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382Sep 19, 2011
Excellent! Gosling gives a great performance along with an especially strong supporting cast. Mulligan and Cranston are great and Brooks and Perlman are totally convincing. This movie felt "cool". I was completely focused on the story whichExcellent! Gosling gives a great performance along with an especially strong supporting cast. Mulligan and Cranston are great and Brooks and Perlman are totally convincing. This movie felt "cool". I was completely focused on the story which reaches moments of tenderness and brutality with great cinematic style and finesse. When I saw Gosling appear in this film, I kept thinking back to the classic veterans of the film industry such as Marlon Brando, James Dean, or Steve McQueen. He completely embodies this role and he does so with a very calm but focused reserve. The score is spectacular and is such an integral part of this story! This one will definitely be in my collection! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
Sir_BrandonOct 13, 2011
Every once in a while, a film comes along that cannot be compared to anything else you have ever seen before. This is one of those films. Drive is truly one of a kind. Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn (Bronson) uses his talents and uniqueEvery once in a while, a film comes along that cannot be compared to anything else you have ever seen before. This is one of those films. Drive is truly one of a kind. Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn (Bronson) uses his talents and unique vision to tell a story with style and substance. He has made an artsy action film that lets music tell part of its story while always being visually exciting.

Ryan Gosling plays a guy who only goes by Driver. He is quiet and keeps to himself. By day, he works in a garage for Shannon (Bryan Cranston) and works part-time as a Hollywood stuntman. At night, he is a getaway driver and uses his special skills behind the wheel to get the bad guys to safety. He is a loner by nature and has his own way of doing things. He has specific rules that people must follow before he takes a job and lends his services. And there is no mistaking on what he expects from them or himself, and he makes sure you definitely understand what he is telling you.

But even for a guy like Driver, he cannot help but fall in love with his neighbor Irene (Carey Mulligan), a young mother whose husband (Oscar Issac) gets out of prison and drags all of them in to a very messy situation. Due to how he feels about Irene and her son, Driver helps her husband with a heist that is to clear his debt once and for all. But it goes horribly wrong and he soon finds out there are more than a few people involved who want the bag of cash, including a gangster (Albert Brooks) who doesnâ
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
allmoviesJan 6, 2012
An arthouse film with shameless but aplomb violence, Refn's Drive gripped audiences with shock and adrenaline of the paced sequences and Gosling's portrayal of a cool driver. He may not be similar to the legends McQueen and De Niro butAn arthouse film with shameless but aplomb violence, Refn's Drive gripped audiences with shock and adrenaline of the paced sequences and Gosling's portrayal of a cool driver. He may not be similar to the legends McQueen and De Niro but Gosling delivered high caliber style to a dwindling genre of car chase and machismo. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
RaygirlSep 17, 2011
Overrated. Started out like it was going to be another Transporter-type movie (a'la Jason Statham) but quickly got boring. Not that it wasn't an interesting, 'different', artsy type of film (minimal dialogue, lots of shots of actors lookingOverrated. Started out like it was going to be another Transporter-type movie (a'la Jason Statham) but quickly got boring. Not that it wasn't an interesting, 'different', artsy type of film (minimal dialogue, lots of shots of actors looking into space, drawn out scenes) but I hoped for more action and less boredom. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
ZeusSep 16, 2011
I suppose my only complaint is the lack of character development, but Refn creates such a wonderful atmosphere ... absolutely incredible film! I just saw the movie tonight and I keep wanting to replay it in my head. I will have to see thisI suppose my only complaint is the lack of character development, but Refn creates such a wonderful atmosphere ... absolutely incredible film! I just saw the movie tonight and I keep wanting to replay it in my head. I will have to see this one again. I'd also like to ask - why is everyone "not enjoying" Drive because of the brutality? Is this the first Refn film you have seen? Have you never seen a foreign film (Drive is on par with some international violence)? Please go and see DRIVE! It is one of the best films of the year (so far). The story line is probably familiar to most moviegoers, but everything else about the film is so satisfying. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
LeonTh3DukeSep 19, 2011
Surprising that anyone commenting on it being a series of meaningless images and boring scenes or mentioning the silences calling them pointless, even bothered to review a film they shouldn't have seen to begin with. It is quite clear thatSurprising that anyone commenting on it being a series of meaningless images and boring scenes or mentioning the silences calling them pointless, even bothered to review a film they shouldn't have seen to begin with. It is quite clear that some don't seem to be capable or maybe do not want to understand and look deeper than the obvious, which is the usual for these sorts of art-house films. â Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
asthobaskoroDec 24, 2011
Drive was brutal, artistic and poetic. The love story is intriguing. A heist goes wrong movie is never be the same in collaboration between Ryan Gosling and Nicolas Winding Refn. And also the neon sign soundtrack was cool.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
AkkharDec 30, 2011
DRIVE is clearly the best film of 2011 .From the start to end its the most silent amusement one can ever have . The whole movie is so amazing . Ryan's acting was clearly his best and 2011's best actor . Albert Brooks was damn good in his roleDRIVE is clearly the best film of 2011 .From the start to end its the most silent amusement one can ever have . The whole movie is so amazing . Ryan's acting was clearly his best and 2011's best actor . Albert Brooks was damn good in his role . Also Carey , Bryan , Oscar ,Perlman did their best work .Nicolas Winding Refn's directing was so wonderful and tnx coz you remind us once again that Film-Nori is not dead, its still out there and still the best film genre ever. The whole film has a flow which gave me a great example of film making . Now , Soundtrack .... I have never liked a Original Motion Picture Soundtrack this much . Its just incredibly amazing . Tnx so much Cliff Martinez for the best ethereal electronic-pop score ever . I am Putting DRIVE in the top position of 2011 films and probably gonna watch it hundred of times when DVD's or Blu-Ray gonna released . Tnx Nicolas Winding Refn , Ryan , Cliff Martinez and rest of the cast and crew and Producers , Hossein Amini , James Sallis, Newton Thomas Sigel , Matthew Newman for this Amazing film . Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
QuamikazeOct 2, 2011
You know, considering that I walked out of "Drive" weak at the knees, with my heart still pounding in a worrying fashion and my hands sore from clenching them together for a good hour or so; I find it completely baffling that this movie'sYou know, considering that I walked out of "Drive" weak at the knees, with my heart still pounding in a worrying fashion and my hands sore from clenching them together for a good hour or so; I find it completely baffling that this movie's reception is as polarizing as it is with regular audiences. I think of this as one of the most intense action films made in a good long time, but most can't seem to get past the meditative exposition at all, so much the relatively simple plot structure (which, again, completely baffles me: action movies have no dire need to be as needlessly convoluted as "Transformers" or the "Star Wars" prequels; everyone needs a little "Die Hard" sometimes). It's at the point where I think there's a mutual hatred of the movie based off of its unique direction and popularity with critics. To put it bluntly: if you believe that anyone whose review score is lower than three, you are sadly mistaken. The movie is directed extremely well -- it is a very clean, very tight action film that contrasts the quiet nature of the movie's dialogue with the EXTREME violence (and I do mean extreme -- this is Peckinpah violent). Basically, if you want an action movie that is a little bit different from run-of-the-mill stuff, watch Drive. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
aldersonreyes99Oct 3, 2011
One of the worst movies of the year. Not engaging in the slightest. Totally boring. A dud. Some good acting, but can't save the lifelessness of the movie.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
nokaah9Oct 29, 2011
This movie was the biggest let down ever. The main character had two facial expressions and spoke 3 sentences during the entire movie. It mostly consisted of him sitting in the car with some really slow music in the background. This was 95%This movie was the biggest let down ever. The main character had two facial expressions and spoke 3 sentences during the entire movie. It mostly consisted of him sitting in the car with some really slow music in the background. This was 95% of the movie. The rest is what you saw in the trailer.

And btw, there is only one god damn car scene.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
CinemaNoirNov 6, 2011
Drive is the best movie I have seen in years. Fantastic direction, beautiful cinematography and impeccable acting. Don't be confused though, Drive is not an action movie; if you are expecting to see a super fast driving/heist movie, avoidDrive is the best movie I have seen in years. Fantastic direction, beautiful cinematography and impeccable acting. Don't be confused though, Drive is not an action movie; if you are expecting to see a super fast driving/heist movie, avoid this movie at all costs and go watch the fast and the furious or even The Town (which I really enjoyed). Drive is an arthouse movie disguised in the trailers as a genre piece. I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys watching experimentation in film and cinematic style Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
speckerNov 16, 2011
to all the people that posted a good review for this film, seriously?? did we see the same movie???? that's 100 minutes of my life that i will never get back...
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
greenpaintNov 20, 2011
First of all i gotta say this movie is really bad and cheesy. the way the main character acts is like a serial killer or a creep he doesn't seem normal. in fact none of these characters do. in real life nobody acts like that. secondly what isFirst of all i gotta say this movie is really bad and cheesy. the way the main character acts is like a serial killer or a creep he doesn't seem normal. in fact none of these characters do. in real life nobody acts like that. secondly what is with the 80s music and "vibes" its not set in the 80s so it doesn't really make any sense. i don't think there's one time in this film except maybe the beginning, where you don't forget your watching a film because its so unlike real life. the first action scene happens about half way through the film. don't bother wasting your time watching this its pretty much terrible. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Feb 11, 2012
Drive is a wildly entertaining, strikingly shot, fantastically acted, thrill ride; with great action pieces, enough violence, gore and romance to appeal to a mainstream audience. I give Drive 97% of a good movie.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
SirEddieCookNov 27, 2011
A technical and dramatic powerhouse. This is the best film so far of 2011. The opening action sequence in downtown LA is the best cinematic representation of Modern Los Angeles I have ever seen. Top Notch filmmaking across the board. RyanA technical and dramatic powerhouse. This is the best film so far of 2011. The opening action sequence in downtown LA is the best cinematic representation of Modern Los Angeles I have ever seen. Top Notch filmmaking across the board. Ryan Gosling actually built his car for the film, loaded with precise details and outstanding creative choices. This is a film that will be highly valued decades from now. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
TarintinoCodFanFeb 15, 2012
I watched this film as it was recommended by a friend. I expected over exaggerated violence through out the film, but I am pleased to say it wasn't like that! The violence kicks in 50 minutes into the film, and although the violence can beI watched this film as it was recommended by a friend. I expected over exaggerated violence through out the film, but I am pleased to say it wasn't like that! The violence kicks in 50 minutes into the film, and although the violence can be considered to be realistic, it is satisfyingly very brutal. It has an excellent soundtrack and amazing editing. I initially disliked the ending, but now I agree with it and it suits the rest of the film. This film has reminded me why I love cinema! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
NoncreativeDec 19, 2011
I have never seen any more miserable movie before. Instead of releasing it as movie, they needed to send it for print with subtitles and release as "revolutionary" photography comics. Sorry, maybe I'm getting old, but in my mind even chuckI have never seen any more miserable movie before. Instead of releasing it as movie, they needed to send it for print with subtitles and release as "revolutionary" photography comics. Sorry, maybe I'm getting old, but in my mind even chuck Norris' characters stays over this kind of sweet, sleek, shiny sugaheroes. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
GRAHAMPADec 29, 2011
Cool. Ryan Gosling is almost frustratingly quiet at times in this film, but the coolest characters are often those who use their words sparingly. Very solid movie experience with great action sequences, definitely worth your time.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
MagnificentMDec 21, 2011
Drive is unlike any heist film/thriller I have ever seen...in a good way. It's full of intensity and left me riveted from the opening scene until the very end. The best part of the movie is Ryan Goslings amazing performance which goesDrive is unlike any heist film/thriller I have ever seen...in a good way. It's full of intensity and left me riveted from the opening scene until the very end. The best part of the movie is Ryan Goslings amazing performance which goes against the action hero norm and then there is Albert Brooks who's bad guy portrayal will hopefully earn him a deserved Oscar. The movie moves at a rather slow pace but it somehow maintains the same level of tension throughout due to a job well done by director Nicolas Winding Refn. The movie is also complemented by an amazing soundtrack and great cinematography. But I have to warn you that this is not an action movie with tons of explosions, expensive visual effects, or the occasional comic relief so stay away from this movie if that's what your looking for. If your looking for a well acted and well told alternative to the big blockbuster action movies, this is your kind of film. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
ictoldskoolJan 31, 2012
All these reviewers complaining about the 'boring/slow' plot and lack of dialogue probably say the same thing about 2001 a Space Odyssey, Tree of Life, Wall*e, Taxi Driver, There Will Be Blood, the Good Bad & Ugly, and other such films. GoAll these reviewers complaining about the 'boring/slow' plot and lack of dialogue probably say the same thing about 2001 a Space Odyssey, Tree of Life, Wall*e, Taxi Driver, There Will Be Blood, the Good Bad & Ugly, and other such films. Go watch something more your liking such as fast and furious or Bruckheimer's gone in 60 seconds. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
MrSndmanFeb 5, 2012
Like several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strong emotional response has probably fulfilled its purpose. This can certainly be said for Drive. I'm not aLike several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strong emotional response has probably fulfilled its purpose. This can certainly be said for Drive. I'm not a professional reviewer but I do have a large library of movies at home and I get out to the theater whenever possible, so I'd call myself a talented amateur. This film stayed with me long after pressing stop on my player. It's hard to quantify what makes one movie better than another - you can point to the acting, music/soundtrack, cinematography, etc. An hour after seeing it for the first time, I found myself compulsively searching for the music from the film online. Several days later, I'm still reliving key scenes in my mind. Bottom line, this movie does not wear its heart on its sleeve, and it falls decidedly outside the normal Hollywood formula; this stymies some viewers. For me, I rate it as one of the best films I saw this year, and certainly worthy of a look by anyone curious to see what "nuanced" movie-making looks like. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
RevHeidiOlsenFeb 7, 2012
In the midst of a film industry suffering from over-budgeted, and over-hyped CGI trainwrecks, Drive exibits a timeless essence that mirrors classic films of the past. This drama-thriller by director Nicolas Winding Refn is a perfect exampleIn the midst of a film industry suffering from over-budgeted, and over-hyped CGI trainwrecks, Drive exibits a timeless essence that mirrors classic films of the past. This drama-thriller by director Nicolas Winding Refn is a perfect example of a stunning piece of cinema that could save a dying art. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloMar 25, 2012
First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Had to round. 2nd this is an amazing brutal thriller. Acting great, story unforgettable, and just overall great. Almost perfect. Highly recommended.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
pcgSep 19, 2011
Awful. The first scene is good, and might even be great if it weren't followed by 90 minutes of frustrating, boring (and, occasionally, nauseating) cinema. The acting feels like it tries to be minimalistic, pensive, and mysterious; it comeAwful. The first scene is good, and might even be great if it weren't followed by 90 minutes of frustrating, boring (and, occasionally, nauseating) cinema. The acting feels like it tries to be minimalistic, pensive, and mysterious; it come off as dull, wooden, and self-important. The movie doesn't go anywhere and doesn't say anything, and remains a "style over substance" effort. Unfortunately, even the style is confusing at best: the pink lipstick credits, the Casio synth sound, the cheesy "Thunderdome"-style power ballad... if this movie had been made in the 80s, it might have some B-movie credibility. As a movie made 20 years after the 80s ended, Drive feels bewildering and artificial. And that's not even to say anything about the degrading, absurd violence; you don't have to be "faint of heart" to be disgusted with the blood spillage in Drive.

I rarely have such a visceral reaction to a movie as I did with Drive. I could not for the life of me understand why such a movie is even made, as it is an exercise in empty style... and a D effort at that.
Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
3
mulderdogSep 16, 2011
the plot sucked, I did not hate the acting, but it was not nearly enough to carry the movie. did I mention the plot was unimaginative, regurgitated, unoriginal, and boring.
the movie pissed me off, I love both leads, the reviews were great
the plot sucked, I did not hate the acting, but it was not nearly enough to carry the movie. did I mention the plot was unimaginative, regurgitated, unoriginal, and boring.
the movie pissed me off, I love both leads, the reviews were great but it just sucked.
sorry I'm not a better writer/reviewer.
Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
0
roadshowscholarSep 19, 2011
While most people dislike this movie for the obvious reasons- it lacks dialogue, creativity and plot and it is slow moving and cliche- I dislike much more strongly because none of it felt believable. It was all so glossy and manicured withWhile most people dislike this movie for the obvious reasons- it lacks dialogue, creativity and plot and it is slow moving and cliche- I dislike much more strongly because none of it felt believable. It was all so glossy and manicured with catchy techno music, but no scene felt like it could ever happen the way it did- from start to finish. It was trying to be ridiculous but came off so over the top that it fell, very hard and very flat. I'm with the previous haters. Drive was AWFUL. Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
1
GottOct 3, 2011
I just didn't get it. Way too weird and not about a get away driver at all. There is maybe 15 minutes of driving in the whole movie.

It was boring and strange.
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
3
listen2themovieSep 19, 2011
The greatest flaw of "Drive" is not it's obscenely short script, nor is it how cliche and mundane the film is. The biggest flaw is certainly not the acting or cinematography, both are terrific- they make the movie almost bearable. The movieThe greatest flaw of "Drive" is not it's obscenely short script, nor is it how cliche and mundane the film is. The biggest flaw is certainly not the acting or cinematography, both are terrific- they make the movie almost bearable. The movie may lack plot, pace and believability. But no- the biggest flaw is far greater than the sum of its parts. It is the desperation. The immense attempt that a young director makes to lure the audience. Pulsing techno, old school pauses that exist for their own sake, slow motion music-video-esk shots that occur at random moments. They are all meaningless. A movie without a plot cannot be saved by artsy fillers. They fail to captivate and create a bigger problem and a larger distraction than the mundane plot does from the unrealistic nature of the film. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
1
JGSSep 20, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have also just created a Metacritic account for the sole purpose of lending my voice to the sane, thinking, critical people who see past the stylish facade and realize that Drive is a bad film. A subterfuge of aesthetics covering up a dull pastiche of cliches. I went in ready to fall in love; neo-noir-ish elements? The Gos? A stylish looking thriller? I figured it couldn't miss. And yes, the first five minutes showed promise. But, for starters, I actually think Gosling did not work in this role; he's very charming and I think this is why people seem to have liked his character. But in reality, all we are given is a mono-syllabic killer; a dull, violent creep. Which is FINE, that could work. Except, it's far from "hero/lover/surrogate dad" mantle that the film is also struggling to hoist on him. A very confused follow-through of what I assume was a pretty great book/initial idea for the film What part did fans like best? The abandoned race car driver subplot that no seemed interested in anyway? The way that Gosling dons a mask for no practical reason to carry out one of his killings? When that other car shows up mid-robbery for no purpose? (oh, they were going to pull the double-cross on the side of the highway? Smart thinking). That Hendrick's role consists solely of getting slapped by our "hero" and then getting her head blown off? Did you like the gritty realism of Carey Mulligan's 90s-emo-pixie-girl-who-also-works-at-Denny's-and-has-a-husband-in-prison aesthetic? It was so beautiful when the Gos turned that guy's head into mush in front of her, wasn't it? Did you like how the characters (besides Gosling who, ooh! has a trademark toothpick! Cool!) explained who they were in tight, little speeches so we all knew where we stood? Albert Brooks's hands are "dirty" too! From all the violence he carries out as a mobster. Get it?! Oh wait, maybe you liked the soundtrack. Ah yes, you know when the chilled out blissful tune plays and the singer says: "A real human being and a real hero,". I just love stuff you don't have to think too much about, you know? (It would be like if in Top Gun, while "Highway to the Danger Zone" was playing, Maverick and Goose were on an actual highway passing a sign that said "Danger Zone, 20 miles away") To like this movie is to be easily fooled or just playing it safe to stay on the right side of the prevailing critical response. And, don't worry, you are not alone if you read these response and started to feel like "Maybe I didn't get it?" But there is nothing to get. I do love that beautiful Gosling, but you know, sometimes the ones we love... Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
0
Slayer__4Oct 10, 2011
I have registered on Metacritic specifically for the purposes of reviewing this "movie". This horrible junk is not a movie and definitely is not entertainment. I can say with absolute honesty that I attempted to give this movie the benefit ofI have registered on Metacritic specifically for the purposes of reviewing this "movie". This horrible junk is not a movie and definitely is not entertainment. I can say with absolute honesty that I attempted to give this movie the benefit of the doubt, but no saving grace presented itself. I am willing to say that this is THE worst movie I have ever seen in my life.

There was very little action, and the romance wasn't there either. I don't know how this movie was produced and I am in complete shock towards how utterly awful this experience truly was. Marijuana wouldn't even save this film, you would have to be high on acid, and even that might not work. I generally understand where the critics come from when rating movies but they are the polar opposite of right about this movie. Many people actually left the theatre about 60% of the way through and I was seriously considering following their lead. I feel like I wasted enough time watching that movie and I don't feel like wasting more going into heavy detail about everything this movie did wrong. If you are considering seeing this movie: DON'T.
Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
0
MB88Oct 11, 2011
Pretentious, conceited, contrived, hollow and boring. This film has no redeeming features. Anyone who enjoys this film clearly has an extremely limited knowledge of films. True 'arty' films such as Requiem for a Dream and A Scanner DarklyPretentious, conceited, contrived, hollow and boring. This film has no redeeming features. Anyone who enjoys this film clearly has an extremely limited knowledge of films. True 'arty' films such as Requiem for a Dream and A Scanner Darkly show what can be achieved with cinematography and a different approach to the formulaic construction of most Hollywood films. Drive merely shows how poorly a film can turn out when the director loses sight of the plot and focuses too much on being different. The result is a film where you feel nothing for the good-as-mute characters, lackluster driving scenes, gratuitously violent, yet brief, action scenes, a nonsensical plot as well as around 20 minutes of unnecessary silence. In short, Drive is a truly awful film. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
9
Hensch2475Sep 17, 2011
I thought this movie would be a non-stop action fest but its not anywhere close to that. This is my surprise movie of the year. Good plot, emotional and pretty good acting. I thought Gosling was great in this film, except when it came toI thought this movie would be a non-stop action fest but its not anywhere close to that. This is my surprise movie of the year. Good plot, emotional and pretty good acting. I thought Gosling was great in this film, except when it came to dialogue with the female lead, those scenes were awkward. It starts off slow, but when the action picks up, you will be on the edge of your seat, an unpredictable, sleek film Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
J-ShapOct 10, 2011
Drive is, hands down, the single most exciting and involving film to come out all year. The best part is, you also can't really figure out what makes it so engaging. It just is. Too many films think. This once acts.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
A_List_ProducerSep 24, 2011
Brutal, slow, and pathetic with good acting from Brian but a movie with no plot, or life. Boring parts, gory parts but all in all, all parts of this movie waste your time and money. I would rather have stayed home and played with the dog, asBrutal, slow, and pathetic with good acting from Brian but a movie with no plot, or life. Boring parts, gory parts but all in all, all parts of this movie waste your time and money. I would rather have stayed home and played with the dog, as would the dog.

In my opinion one would have to be paid by the studios to give this movie a good review. Worst movie I have seen in many years.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
SleeperOct 10, 2011
"Drive" is different. It's a modern western with extremely violent death scenes. It reminded me of Sergio Leone's westerns with the nameless hero at center, cleaning up the mess left behind by very bad people.

While Eastwood's Blondie was a
"Drive" is different. It's a modern western with extremely violent death scenes. It reminded me of Sergio Leone's westerns with the nameless hero at center, cleaning up the mess left behind by very bad people.

While Eastwood's Blondie was a silent type without expression, but still likeable, Gosling's nameless hero is pretty silent, but impressively expressive at the same time. He goes through all the motions with real emotion, and even though none of his back story appears, we know that he has a dark past that has driven him into the underworld, into hiding from something terrible, something that always comes back to haunt him. Albert Brooks is surprisingly effective as a cold, cold bastard. I admit getting a little tired of Carey Mulligan, that sweet wife with the sweet kid, and an unfortunate husband. However, I understood why she was important. The characters seemed emotionally invested in each other, which added context to the action. And what an action. The driving was not disappointing, nor the heavy brutality of the killings, which were just as ugly as brutal as killings must be. Nothing attractive about the violence in this film.

When watching Ryan Gosling, I feel there is finally an actor comparable with the great Jimmy Stewart. He can both act sweet and cruel, desperate and calm, and at every moment believable. Without Gosling, this would have been just another action movie about a loner seeking justice in an unjust world.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
bl_nkSep 16, 2011
Overrated. Don't get me wrong, it had it's charms. The soundtrack and cinematography for example, were great, but the dialogue, especially between the male and female leads, was consistently awkward and wooden. It also had way too manyOverrated. Don't get me wrong, it had it's charms. The soundtrack and cinematography for example, were great, but the dialogue, especially between the male and female leads, was consistently awkward and wooden. It also had way too many excessively artsy shots of Gosling looking contemplative. Plot-wise, it said and accomplished little. The movie really shines during it's driving sequences, and in a few of the action sequences. Overall, it's not bad, but it's not the amazing movie some of the professional critics made it out to be. Expand
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
0
judypatriciaOct 1, 2011
Like many others, I registered an account here to add to the negative reviews. I cannot understand what it is about Drive that people enjoyed. At all. I am baffled by the overwhelmingly positive reviews and praise for its "suspense" andLike many others, I registered an account here to add to the negative reviews. I cannot understand what it is about Drive that people enjoyed. At all. I am baffled by the overwhelmingly positive reviews and praise for its "suspense" and "tension". Not once did I feel even a slight interest or attachment to any character, which I realized about ten minutes in, and hoped would change. Nope. I had gone to see this with another person, at a little independent theater, and at one point thought about walking out. Based on the gasps and chuckles and jolts of the surrounding move-goers, I think I was the only one in that little independent theater who hated what she saw. Drive is incredibly boring, unimportant, unimpressive, unemotional, and absolutely pointless. I wouldn't bother giving it another view, and wish I could take back the one I had. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
4
RienyeOct 2, 2011
I'm getting sick of these near-silent movies punctuated with 4 minutes of dialogue every 15 minutes. And Drive falls into this category. Why doesn't anyone really talk unless they are getting beaten or shot. The premise of the movie is great,I'm getting sick of these near-silent movies punctuated with 4 minutes of dialogue every 15 minutes. And Drive falls into this category. Why doesn't anyone really talk unless they are getting beaten or shot. The premise of the movie is great, but the the screenplay is lacking and what you remain with is an empty movie with a few outstanding moments. All in all, Drive is better watched on a sick day..when u are actually sick and could care less what happens! Expand
13 of 37 users found this helpful1324
All this user's reviews
0
BenjaminStassoSep 19, 2011
Really, really bad. Totally dull and hard to follow. Script was a paragraph long. Lacked plot. Easily one of the least fulfilling movies of the year.
8 of 23 users found this helpful815
All this user's reviews
3
DragonflySep 27, 2011
DRIVE started out with such promise, then quickly derailed - or should I say - went off the road, crashed and burned...? It's really a shame, too. It was trying to be a masterpiece, in the vein of KILL BILL, which coincidentally, I happenedDRIVE started out with such promise, then quickly derailed - or should I say - went off the road, crashed and burned...? It's really a shame, too. It was trying to be a masterpiece, in the vein of KILL BILL, which coincidentally, I happened to watch once again a week before seeing DRIVE. DRIVE is no KILL BILL. Thank you, Quentin Tarantino, for reminding me of how great you are! In the end I found DRIVE pretentious. And poor Carey Mulligan. So underutilized. As for Ryan Gosling's character, what's his name?...Oh, that's right, he had no name! Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
3
MissVertigoOct 5, 2011
I can see why the critics would love this movie. It is different and generally speaking, that already scores high with critics. I did not enjoy it, but not because it was different. The rhythm is uneven, the score good but soundtrack doesn'tI can see why the critics would love this movie. It is different and generally speaking, that already scores high with critics. I did not enjoy it, but not because it was different. The rhythm is uneven, the score good but soundtrack doesn't work. The script clearly aims for "gritty and real" rather than the holywoodish "witty and snappy" but the result is boring instead of interesting. The title is misleading because there is very little actual street driving, people should know that. But really, for me, the key element for the story to work which is the love between the two main characters is just never credible. Without a foundation, no building can remain standing, no matter how pretty the curtains or how different the layout is. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
0
Morpheus00Jun 23, 2012
Modestly entertaining premise, but let down by comically gratuitous violence and awkward (some will say artsy) dialogue. The incongruous soundtrack over cliched, subtle-as-a-brick scene shooting doesnt help. Felt as though it'd been putModestly entertaining premise, but let down by comically gratuitous violence and awkward (some will say artsy) dialogue. The incongruous soundtrack over cliched, subtle-as-a-brick scene shooting doesnt help. Felt as though it'd been put together by precocious teenagers. If so, definitely worth a GCSE. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
RossSep 19, 2011
Just a beautifully photographed film and the music/sound effects...one of the most stimulating sound tracks in recent years. The lighting and overall compositions give the film a kind of depth of meaning that is seldom seen in mainstreamJust a beautifully photographed film and the music/sound effects...one of the most stimulating sound tracks in recent years. The lighting and overall compositions give the film a kind of depth of meaning that is seldom seen in mainstream films anymore. Having said all that, I found the ending a tad unsatisfying and I have to admit that the main character's laconic-ism got a little annoying towards the end! Okay, yes, his actions and facial expressions (and, again, the compositions) speak volumes about his interior angst but my goodness at some point we need some actual (cathartic) expression as well! Still, loved it.... Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
LordoftheBrownOct 8, 2011
More than just an action movie, this film is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Gosling gives one of the greatest performances of his career and of the year, period. Far more substance than I was originally anticipating, with the stellarMore than just an action movie, this film is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Gosling gives one of the greatest performances of his career and of the year, period. Far more substance than I was originally anticipating, with the stellar performances tied to extraordinary writing. Don't even get me started on how amazing the soundtrack is. This is the best action movie I've ever seen, and one of the best pictures of the year, without a doubt. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
hidanianSep 21, 2011
Hands down best movie I've seen this year, no doubt! This movie has it all: well thought out story, good action scenes, amazing soundtrack and great actors. Ryan Gosling totally ruled as the nameless main character.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
Coco890Oct 7, 2011
Drive is a movie where you will either love it, or hate it, depending on how well you can tolerate arthouse films. So be prepared(If you ever watch the movie), to see a bunch of scenes where the characters just stare at each other rather thanDrive is a movie where you will either love it, or hate it, depending on how well you can tolerate arthouse films. So be prepared(If you ever watch the movie), to see a bunch of scenes where the characters just stare at each other rather than actually talking to one another. Specifically Gosling's character and Mulligan's character. So there's not that much dialogue especially within the first 30 minutes. Even though I'm not a fan of arthouse movies, I loved this one. Though, the title and the way this is being marketed as is very misleading. I expected a movie with tons of action and cool car chasing scenes. That is not this movie. There's little action and really only two car chasing scenes. This movie focuses on the relationship between Gosling's character and Mulligan's character, for about the first hour. Then the last 40 minutes is just a lot of killing, a lot of the killings are graphic and extremely gory. The acting is terrific, the cast does a wonderful job but the two that stuck out the most were Gosling and Mulligan, surprisingly. They were both exceptional, and the chemistry between them was great. I just wish that they could have added another scene or two with Gosling's character and Irene(Mulligan) hanging out together or driving somewhere together to really make the relationship seem even more believable and stronger. I also wish that they would have given Gosling's character a name, he's only referred as "Driver" or "The Driver." I can see why they did that, I suppose it's probably better that they didn't give him a name but it would have been nice of them to give us a name. I admit I was pretty skeptic when I first heard Gosling playing this type of role, he proved me wrong. I actually can't picture anyone else doing this role but him. He ended up replacing Hugh Jackman, that was probably the best decision ever. I could not picture Hugh Jackman pulling off this type of role the way Gosling did. The story is simple and it kind of annoys me that people are saying this movie sucks because there was hardly a story. Sometimes a movie with a simple story can turn out to be an amazing film based on how well it's told and done. Other times a movie with a simple story can turn out to be total crap(Transformers Revenge of The Fallen). I mean no one seemed to care how Avatar hardly had a story, hell I didn't even care and I liked it. I didn't mind the simple story here because the movie was done so well. It was nicely shot especially during the two car chasing scenes. I especially liked the first car chase scene because you never left the car, it was filmed inside the car the whole time so it was nice to feel like you were part of that experience. The soundtrack for this movie was amazing, if the soundtrack for this movie is not nominated for best score I'm going to be upset. I loved the nice 80's like retro songs. Each song fit perfectly with each scene, and set a nice tone throughout the movie. I especially loved the song "A Real Hero" by College. That song just fit so perfectly with Gosling's character and actually added some depth to his character. Though the ending might have been disappointing for some, I liked the way it ended, and let me tell you it's not your normal Clichéd happy ending. It was actually very sad and different. People also seemed to complain about how awkward it was when Gosling and Mulligan stared at each other a lot without saying anything. I can see why people felt that way but it was really only awkward the first time they met and hung out together. Isn't that normal though? They both start to like each other but they're nervous so they stare, smile and laugh at each other. I think it added some realism to this movie. Another thing that seemed to bother people was that Gosling hardly said anything during the movie, especially when he was with Irene(Mulligan). This is true, but they purposely did that. He was originally suppose to talk a lot but they decided to cut away most of his lines, to make him seem more mysterious. I think it was a smart idea of them to do this, it fit well with the movie, and it gives you a chance to try and figure his character out yourself. What was his childhood like? What got him into driving? How did he learn to drive so well? Ect. There's really no wrong answers to those questions and I actually thought about this movie for about a week after I saw it, hell I'm still thinking about it. I think I went overboard with reviewing this movie, I could continue to go on forever talking about this movie and everything that I loved about it but I won't. People who disliked this movie are probably going to think I was on crack while I was watching it but this is a great movie. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
GilmoreSep 20, 2011
This movie is truly amazing! The acting is top notch and the soundtrack is one of the greatest that I have ever heard. I've been reading alot of negative reviews mainly because it was boring and didn't have enough action or some stupid crap.This movie is truly amazing! The acting is top notch and the soundtrack is one of the greatest that I have ever heard. I've been reading alot of negative reviews mainly because it was boring and didn't have enough action or some stupid crap. Well if your one of those people than yes go see transformers 3 because it will for sure have more action. This movie is purely psychological and most of the acting is expressed through emotion so you do not have much dialogue. However, i think that is what makes it so unique. I've never seen anything as cool as Drive in a long time. I bought the soundtrack ASAP and that night listened to it while driving in my car at excessive speeds. Awesome! See it! Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
geegingerSep 21, 2011
I am loving Ryan Gosling and I really enjoyed this movie. The action (gore) scenes were taut especially in contrast to the "long awkward pause" scenes. The cinematography was great and really made you feel like you were in the scene. GreatI am loving Ryan Gosling and I really enjoyed this movie. The action (gore) scenes were taut especially in contrast to the "long awkward pause" scenes. The cinematography was great and really made you feel like you were in the scene. Great characters! Albert Brooks (?), yes, it worked! The one thing that bothered me was the soundtrack, which I am usually totally unaware of, that seemed to well up and remind you that you were watching a movie. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews