User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1117 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best films of 2011. The opening 5 minutes of Drive are simply extraordinary: zero music and virtually no dialogue, just the Driver outrunning the cops after a burglary. If you aren't instantly drawn in by the opening chase sequence, your favorite movie is most likely Transformers and you do not deserve to see the greatness this film beholds. This raw and realistic film isEasily one of the best films of 2011. The opening 5 minutes of Drive are simply extraordinary: zero music and virtually no dialogue, just the Driver outrunning the cops after a burglary. If you aren't instantly drawn in by the opening chase sequence, your favorite movie is most likely Transformers and you do not deserve to see the greatness this film beholds. This raw and realistic film is falsely advertised by its trailers; they make it seem like a hardcore action flick, but it turns out to be an intensely character driven story with very minimal, but effective, dialogue that progresses the story at a continuously entertaining pace. The cinematography is some of the best I've seen in years: it seems effortlessly smooth and endlessly creative. The plot is simple, but Refn's execution is, in part, what makes the film ultimately stand out. Another crucial part to what makes this film so enticing is its ruthless depiction of violence. I KNOW that some (actually, a lot of) people are turned away, or dislike, Drive solely because of its graphic violence. These people are dumb; IT'S A MOVIE (not real). The violence is as realistic as it gets, without being over-exaggerated to the point of blood spraying 10 feet into the air in all directions when someone gets stabbed. There ARE some very graphic scenes, but I feel that it's a reflection of the characters (especially Albert Brook's and Ryan Gosling's characters). Most of the film is actually absent of action/violence, in which i was pleasantly surprised by. It's probably a 75/25 split. Overall, if you have any appreciation of good film, you definitely need to see this film. It's amazing and should win a handful of Oscars. Expand
  2. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    You're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. Thank God it wasn't a Hugh Jackman Fast and the Furious film, as it was planned before Ryan Gosling got the lead. In addition he personally chose director Nicolas Winding Refn.. However, more users would have liked it if Michael Bay directed and HughYou're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. Thank God it wasn't a Hugh Jackman Fast and the Furious film, as it was planned before Ryan Gosling got the lead. In addition he personally chose director Nicolas Winding Refn.. However, more users would have liked it if Michael Bay directed and Hugh Jackman staring. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Drive is like nothing I've ever seen before. Rarely will a movie saturate its first 45 minutes or so with a gentle love story and then escalate so quickly into the horrific, grizzly, B-Movie violence that is Drive. This is what makes it such a powerful film. Its formulaic use of silence and violence makes it work and makes it work well. Go see it but keep in mind, it is not for the faintDrive is like nothing I've ever seen before. Rarely will a movie saturate its first 45 minutes or so with a gentle love story and then escalate so quickly into the horrific, grizzly, B-Movie violence that is Drive. This is what makes it such a powerful film. Its formulaic use of silence and violence makes it work and makes it work well. Go see it but keep in mind, it is not for the faint of heart mainstream audiences. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2011
    1
    After seeing this movie, I was first a little taken aback to discover how popular it was among the critics. I then realized why- they were attracted to its very obvious qualities of artsy-ness. It is as "TomProCritic" says. They responded to its artsy qualities- a few: long pauses for no reason, hesitation, unique camera angels, the use of techno and modern music, a kid who is not veryAfter seeing this movie, I was first a little taken aback to discover how popular it was among the critics. I then realized why- they were attracted to its very obvious qualities of artsy-ness. It is as "TomProCritic" says. They responded to its artsy qualities- a few: long pauses for no reason, hesitation, unique camera angels, the use of techno and modern music, a kid who is not very childish...etc. The movie was dull. If you don't respond to hollow artsy crap, it falls flat. I only give it credit for having some truly terrific actors. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    1
    This film resembles a classic case of "Bait Art" common in contemporary filmmaking, especially among young directors. They lure in film critics who are overwhelmed by a wide range of intense hollywood cinema and give them something digestible- a slow moving, short scripted, uneventful film- market it as artsy and put in some artsy music and artsy shots to complete the picture. Drive, forThis film resembles a classic case of "Bait Art" common in contemporary filmmaking, especially among young directors. They lure in film critics who are overwhelmed by a wide range of intense hollywood cinema and give them something digestible- a slow moving, short scripted, uneventful film- market it as artsy and put in some artsy music and artsy shots to complete the picture. Drive, for the rest of us, is nothing more than a ridiculously forgettable movie with some great actors. The film is painfully slow, painfully cliche and above all overdramatic in delivery. It never feels real. Made for the elitist critics, not for people like us. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    0
    "listen2themovie" and "memphisfeast" have it right. The artsy-ness of this movie tries to distract you from how lifeless the plot is but instead make things worse. It really is one of the worst cases imaginable of critics bait.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    I was entranced by this film. It was hypnotic from the beginning. All of the actors deliver and it is not as violent as some of the critics have said. Ryan Gosling can do no wrong and he proves it for this director. Albert Brooks is a thrill as a thug. Great movie and comment on being a loner.
  8. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    At its most basic level, Drive could be described as "The Transporter with a brain". If you yourself possess even half a brain, you'll realise that it is so much more. Drive is a beautiful, thematically rich and powerful film. The whole cast are superb, with Ryan Gosling imbuing The Driver with a deep, brooding emotion, and making him a very engaging protagonist despite him being aAt its most basic level, Drive could be described as "The Transporter with a brain". If you yourself possess even half a brain, you'll realise that it is so much more. Drive is a beautiful, thematically rich and powerful film. The whole cast are superb, with Ryan Gosling imbuing The Driver with a deep, brooding emotion, and making him a very engaging protagonist despite him being a character of very few words. It's a true testament to Gosling's skill as an actor that he can communicate to the viewer so much about what his character is thinking through a single facial expression, or physical act. The Driver is also the epitome of cool, from his scorpion-emblazoned white jacket, sunglasses and Clint Eastwood-esque toothpick, to the leather driving gloves he dons and the unassuming analogue watch he fastens to his steering wheel when on a job. Carey Mulligan is also extremely believable as single mother Irene, and has great chemistry with Gosling. It is because this central relationship, this unlikely romance works that The Driver gains much of its emotional leverage, and with the addition of a surprisingly effective soundtrack of soppy electro-pop love songs, the few moments of intimacy that The Driver and Irene share, and the ultimate tragedy of their story, is all the more affecting. Bryan Cranston is brilliant as always as the crippled garage owner and low-level mob dealer Shannon, Ron Perlman is entertaining as Jewish mob heavy Nino and Albert Brooks is simply terrifying as Bernie Rose, the psychotic razor-wielding mob boss who serves as the film's primary antagonist. The film is about fractured identity, and about redemption through good deeds. This never more clear than through the characterisation of The Driver. He remains nameless throughout the film, only referred to in relation to his profession - he is a functional tool before he is a person. It is only through his steadily growing love for Irene and her young son Benicio, and through his quest for justice in punishing the Los Angeles criminal underworld that he finds his humanity, and symbolically saves his soul, proving himself to be a real person. Building on these philosophically heavy themes, Hossein Amini's script is deceptively simple, but effective - he gives his characters enough to say to communicate their feelings and map their growth over the course of the film, but pleasingly he doesn't fall into the trap of convoluted, inherently unrealistic dialogue purely designed to show audiences how clever the film is. These are real people, speaking (or not, in The Driver's case) as real people do, and the film's heady themes speak for themselves, and Amini knows this, and smartly doesn't resort to highlighting them in his dialogue, which would have made it heavy and laborious, rather than honest and minimalistic as it is. Drive is not just an achievement for clever writing, but also a visual triumph. Cinematographer Newton Thomas Sigel uses his experience working frequently with Bryan Singer extremely effectively here - like in X-Men or Valkyrie, he is demanded in Drive to adapt his filming style to a number of visually and tonally different sequences - whether it's an expansive aerial shot of the glittering L.A. skyline, or a frantic car chase, or a more mellow and intimate moment in Irene's apartment, Sigel always rises to the challenge and creates something visually striking. The cinematography, married with Matthew Newman's masterful editing and the effectively moody film noir lighting used throughout the film, Driver becomes a real thing of beauty. Nicholas Winding Refn continues to prove his talent as an extremely creative, intelligent director that isn't afraid to challenge his audience. He's also extremely adept at handling action, without reducing himself to mainstream drudgery - the car chases and shootouts are all entertaining, but aren't dumb and obvious, and have more in common with the work of Martin Scorsese than Michael Bay. Refn clearly knows that less is more, and is prepared to make you wait, to really rack up the tension before giving you a blood-soaked or tyre-smoke clouded payoff, and the set-pieces are far more powerful as a result. Drive is many things - a religious allegory, an intense psychodrama, a tender love story, a gangster-thriller, a film noir, and it even has much of the iconography and themes of a classic Western. It looks great, sounds great, is well-scripted, clever without being pretentious, packs a real emotional punch and is extremely well-acted, particularly by the mesmerising Gosling. Simply put, Drive is stunning. Expand
  9. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I watched this film as it was recommended by a friend. I expected over exaggerated violence through out the film, but I am pleased to say it wasn't like that! The violence kicks in 50 minutes into the film, and although the violence can be considered to be realistic, it is satisfyingly very brutal. It has an excellent soundtrack and amazing editing. I initially disliked the ending, but nowI watched this film as it was recommended by a friend. I expected over exaggerated violence through out the film, but I am pleased to say it wasn't like that! The violence kicks in 50 minutes into the film, and although the violence can be considered to be realistic, it is satisfyingly very brutal. It has an excellent soundtrack and amazing editing. I initially disliked the ending, but now I agree with it and it suits the rest of the film. This film has reminded me why I love cinema! Expand
  10. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    This movie has some of the greatest movie moments that I have seen in recent years. The cast is phenomenal, and Gosling was particularly fantastic. This movie should have been nominated for best picture. The fact that it was neglected makes me question the Academy's judgment.
  11. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Tarantino's fan ? Watch this movie you're going to love it. Actors are brilliant. Maybe one of the best part for Ryan Gosling. For me, the best movie of 2011.
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    With elegant backdrops, focused camera-work, an amazing soundtrack, and immensely slow, but intense, moments; Drive is definetly an "artsy" film. However, this is not a typical artsy-fartsy film. It doesn't stop short by only providing the previously mentioned characteristics, it uses them as a foundation and builds upon them. Ryan Gosling does a great job at playing a perplexingWith elegant backdrops, focused camera-work, an amazing soundtrack, and immensely slow, but intense, moments; Drive is definetly an "artsy" film. However, this is not a typical artsy-fartsy film. It doesn't stop short by only providing the previously mentioned characteristics, it uses them as a foundation and builds upon them. Ryan Gosling does a great job at playing a perplexing character that you are never quite sure of. The gentle and caring nature conveyed by Gosling really makes you want to root for him as a hero(anti-hero), however, there is a explosive violence bottled in him that makes you step back and wonder how far he would/could really go. These outbursts provide for some very intense scenes that quite memorable. All of the supporting actors are great and play their roles well. There's a definite "cool" factor to the movie that is just hard to explain, but get a hold of the soundtrack and cruise through town to it and you'll catch my drift - just don't break any laws! :) There are some long pauses in dialogue between the Driver and the love interest, but I was not turned off by it and found it to actually be more convincing of that awkward true love moment than how others interpret it. Also, if you don't know or understand the fable The Scorpion and the Frog, then you're might be missing the integral part of the story. I actually was unaware of this fable, but I had a feeling that a key scene where the Driver mentions it had more meaning then was blatantly conveyed, so I looked it up afterwards. I recommend reading the fable before seeing the movie as it summarizes the tortured nature of the Driver. I almost wish they would have showed the fable in text at the very beginning of the movie. Expand
  13. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    The dynamic and visual punch of this film hits hard as we see the Driver make his way through the concrete-laden streets of Los Angeles. The cinematography in this movie is on another level as well is the soundtrack. Nicolas Winding Refn formulates an interesting mix of silence and violence throughout the movie that works surprisingly well. The hard-hitting gritty violence fusesThe dynamic and visual punch of this film hits hard as we see the Driver make his way through the concrete-laden streets of Los Angeles. The cinematography in this movie is on another level as well is the soundtrack. Nicolas Winding Refn formulates an interesting mix of silence and violence throughout the movie that works surprisingly well. The hard-hitting gritty violence fuses exceptionally well with the score courtesy of Cliff Martinez. The flaws presented with the Driver as well throughout the film just resonate with not only the type of person he is but also what this film has become: a real hero. Expand
  14. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Drive is how action films should be. It's quiet, elegant, and then it floors you. Ryan Gosling delivers a stone cold and determined performance without saying a word.
  15. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    Drive is a mashup of cool 80's music, car chases that simply wow and powerhouse art styles. It is a masterful creation. A rendering of the game Hotline Miami, but better. Ryan Gosling was spectacular in the lead, he played a quiet driver, who is in love with his neighbour, Irene played by Carey Mulligan in a great performance, who is married to a sadistic man, played by Oscar Issac. TheDrive is a mashup of cool 80's music, car chases that simply wow and powerhouse art styles. It is a masterful creation. A rendering of the game Hotline Miami, but better. Ryan Gosling was spectacular in the lead, he played a quiet driver, who is in love with his neighbour, Irene played by Carey Mulligan in a great performance, who is married to a sadistic man, played by Oscar Issac. The amount of greatness is limited when writer Hossen Amini, doesn't put much in the movie, it is very short and falls low on many story elements. The graphic violence is unexpected and could have been layered, but it is a Refn joint anyway. Drive is a cool movie, it is a vibe of pop culture mixed with great star cast including, Christina Hendricks, Bryan Cranston and Ron Pearlman. Watch it. Expand
  16. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    Drive is a masterpiece, Its one of the best directed movies, Its beautifully shot and its very well acted, And has deeper meanings that the average viewer might miss, This is my favourite film of all time.
  17. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Drive is a fairly sophisticated and barren piece of movie-art. The violence and crime progressively gets rather disturbing at the end but it is always appropriate and done in thoughtful style; the silent and laid-back main character (Driver) adds further authenticity which results in an even mood throughout the entire film and leaves you thinking that the Michael Bay or Gore Vorbiski typeDrive is a fairly sophisticated and barren piece of movie-art. The violence and crime progressively gets rather disturbing at the end but it is always appropriate and done in thoughtful style; the silent and laid-back main character (Driver) adds further authenticity which results in an even mood throughout the entire film and leaves you thinking that the Michael Bay or Gore Vorbiski type of movie should probably be worried as Drive might be a replacement for this; further installments will let us know. Expand
  18. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this film. the acting was great, cinematography was beautiful, music was great, great direction. the only problem that i had was the writing, i felt that the second half of the movie was lacking something, it just feel complete. that being said, its still a really great movie. i didnt mind the lack of dialogue i think it just help set the mood/tone/atmosphere of the film,i really enjoyed this film. the acting was great, cinematography was beautiful, music was great, great direction. the only problem that i had was the writing, i felt that the second half of the movie was lacking something, it just feel complete. that being said, its still a really great movie. i didnt mind the lack of dialogue i think it just help set the mood/tone/atmosphere of the film, or the violence (again helped the mood). this movie isnt for everyone, i think if you liked "The American" with Clooney you might like this the pacing was the same and it too had little dialogue. and if you dont mind the more "realistic" violence (similar to "Eastern Promises" and "A History of Violence") than you should be fine. Expand
  19. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    The director has made the duologue, or lack thereof, work throughout the movie. The camera work is well done. The action scenes aren't too over the top which makes things even better. The only thing I'm a little irked about is, nothing about how the driver knew all his tricks is revealed. But forgiving that minor detail, the movie is very thrilling and will keep you in your seat until theThe director has made the duologue, or lack thereof, work throughout the movie. The camera work is well done. The action scenes aren't too over the top which makes things even better. The only thing I'm a little irked about is, nothing about how the driver knew all his tricks is revealed. But forgiving that minor detail, the movie is very thrilling and will keep you in your seat until the very end, guaranteed (You'll know what I mean if you watch the closing scenes). Expand
  20. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    The first 5 minutes of "Drive" is Worth the price of admission ( 6 bucks, if your askin' ) stylish photography, tense, terse with several brilliant scenes within; but the " Art House Gore" in lieu of a more solid script mars the effort. Rated "R" ( Nudity, language, unsafe driving practices ) "X" for Violence;- - and never, EVER pose a threat to this young mans Girlfriend.
  21. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    Shot gorgeously, terrific acting, and compelling yet semi-believable chase scenes. I enjoyed the hell out of it. I don't know how this is too "artsy", except in comparison to crap like Transformers or Final Destination. I've seen movies that are too artsy, they definetly exist- most of them are pretentious film festival entries or indie dramas. Worst you could say about Drive is that thereShot gorgeously, terrific acting, and compelling yet semi-believable chase scenes. I enjoyed the hell out of it. I don't know how this is too "artsy", except in comparison to crap like Transformers or Final Destination. I've seen movies that are too artsy, they definetly exist- most of them are pretentious film festival entries or indie dramas. Worst you could say about Drive is that there are some awkward silences. So yeah, awesome film. Expand
  22. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    The Film is a masterpiece and the best movie of the year. This film has it all, a love story, great symbolism, suspense and a well paced out film. However what is so impressive about the film is the style it chose. The director chose an artsy style and tone to dominate the screen. The film should be just another fast and the furious film but no it is much smarter and very well done. RyanThe Film is a masterpiece and the best movie of the year. This film has it all, a love story, great symbolism, suspense and a well paced out film. However what is so impressive about the film is the style it chose. The director chose an artsy style and tone to dominate the screen. The film should be just another fast and the furious film but no it is much smarter and very well done. Ryan Gosling's performnace is one of the keys to the film. He stays true to his character the entire film. He does not speak often which emphacises all the words he does say. We don't learn about the driver through his words but instead through his actions. Expand
  23. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I have been a champion of Nicholas Winding Refn's films for a few years, and DRIVE is his best film yet and my new personal favorite film. The film is brutally intimate and subtly beautiful. Gosling's soft spoken almost silent protagonist reminded me of Robert de Niro in Taxi Driver. The amazing synth soundtrack, the long shots of characters faces as the director forces you to feel theirI have been a champion of Nicholas Winding Refn's films for a few years, and DRIVE is his best film yet and my new personal favorite film. The film is brutally intimate and subtly beautiful. Gosling's soft spoken almost silent protagonist reminded me of Robert de Niro in Taxi Driver. The amazing synth soundtrack, the long shots of characters faces as the director forces you to feel their emotions, to the amazing use of horrific violence that you a sense of real desperation, DRIVE is a perfect film. Expand
  24. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Unbelievable. I can't remember the last time a movie made me want to stand up and cheer when it was over. Heck, I wanted to stand up and cheer after the first five minutes. Everything here is top notch: the acting, the cinematography, the direction, and the action scenes. Don't go in expecting your traditional action movie though, you will probably not get it. This is borderline art house,Unbelievable. I can't remember the last time a movie made me want to stand up and cheer when it was over. Heck, I wanted to stand up and cheer after the first five minutes. Everything here is top notch: the acting, the cinematography, the direction, and the action scenes. Don't go in expecting your traditional action movie though, you will probably not get it. This is borderline art house, from the cinematography to the lack of dialogue. This is a movie for people who love great movies or, more specifically, the art of cinema. If that doesn't appeal to you (or you're turned off by relentlessly graphic violence), stay away. Those who haven't been satisfied with giant robots and superheroes this summer should definitely check it out. I don't think you'll be disappointed. Expand
  25. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Settle noir, intense violence, and a thrilling yet mysterious story. Though slow at first, the movie picks up right in the middle, and hardly lets up from there on. However, even the slow parts held my attention. It's unfortunate that this film probably will not get the credit it deserves as one of the best films of the year. Amazing performances from the entire cast, and it's a must seeSettle noir, intense violence, and a thrilling yet mysterious story. Though slow at first, the movie picks up right in the middle, and hardly lets up from there on. However, even the slow parts held my attention. It's unfortunate that this film probably will not get the credit it deserves as one of the best films of the year. Amazing performances from the entire cast, and it's a must see for the cult film followers. Expand
  26. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    The way the film was directed caught my attention. I couldn't stop watching it had me hooked from the start! Plus Gosling is extremely good looking and his attitude in the film is irresistible.
  27. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Not for fans of mindless big explosion movies. This isn't your typical action film. It's pretty artsy in terms of very well done cinematography, not much dialogue from the main character, very still scenes, but it's not bashing you in the face with that. So yes, I do feel like even people who don't really care for art films can still get into it. The movie is well paced and when the moodNot for fans of mindless big explosion movies. This isn't your typical action film. It's pretty artsy in terms of very well done cinematography, not much dialogue from the main character, very still scenes, but it's not bashing you in the face with that. So yes, I do feel like even people who don't really care for art films can still get into it. The movie is well paced and when the mood changes, that when you know **** just got real. It can be disturbing and shocking at times due to the ultraviolence which is quite typical of Refn is you've seen any of his other films, particularly Bronson. Even if you don't like the film you have to admit the acting is VERY well done by everyone. Expand
  28. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Everything about the film Drive is good. From the lead actor, supporting actors, the script, the direction, the action, the drama, and the music. Drive is the most endearing film I've seen in a while.
  29. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    Although Gosling has been stronger, more dynamic in other films (Blue Valentine, Lars, Half Nelson), he brings such intensity and subtle emotion to what amounts to a relatively shallow character. Without dwelling on the details of the film to any great extent, I don't think that I haven't seen a film since maybe Hurt Locker that has made my heart feel like it was going to beat out of myAlthough Gosling has been stronger, more dynamic in other films (Blue Valentine, Lars, Half Nelson), he brings such intensity and subtle emotion to what amounts to a relatively shallow character. Without dwelling on the details of the film to any great extent, I don't think that I haven't seen a film since maybe Hurt Locker that has made my heart feel like it was going to beat out of my chest like this one did. I'm not a fan of Carey Mulligan at all - couldn't stand her in An Education - but she's terrific in an understated role. You never plummet the depths of the driver's soul, but that is unnecessary - I can't imagine anyone else doing what he did here. Jason Statham? Nope. Burt Reynolds? Nah. There's something about the timber of Gosling's voice that just works in a role like this one. Expand
  30. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    I cannot comprehend how everyone can decry a movie because of its apparent 'artiness.' Movies are art, they are about more than just telling a story and seeing a guy's head implode. The silences are not without purpose, they are really quite powerful. That this move can be so great with so little dialogue says loads about the direction and acting. This is by no means a boring movie. II cannot comprehend how everyone can decry a movie because of its apparent 'artiness.' Movies are art, they are about more than just telling a story and seeing a guy's head implode. The silences are not without purpose, they are really quite powerful. That this move can be so great with so little dialogue says loads about the direction and acting. This is by no means a boring movie. I guess some people lack the intelligence to understand the subtleties of this truly brilliant movie. Expand
  31. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    I thought it was fantastic. Great soundtrack, sleek, low-key, but powerful. Maybe a little over the top w/the violence. But Ryan Gosling was absolute perfection. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I personally loved it.
  32. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Interesting look into a scarred anti-social individual who only feels alive, at first, when he exercises his automotive skills. The lack of dialog between the two leads was hard for me to accept, but the attraction and distance they maintained seemed real. Movie looked great, soundtrack unique, acting by all impressive. Three excruciatingly violent scenes that only mirror the lack ofInteresting look into a scarred anti-social individual who only feels alive, at first, when he exercises his automotive skills. The lack of dialog between the two leads was hard for me to accept, but the attraction and distance they maintained seemed real. Movie looked great, soundtrack unique, acting by all impressive. Three excruciatingly violent scenes that only mirror the lack of humanity in the world these characters inhabit. Expand
  33. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    Drive was brutal, artistic and poetic. The love story is intriguing. A heist goes wrong movie is never be the same in collaboration between Ryan Gosling and Nicolas Winding Refn. And also the neon sign soundtrack was cool.
  34. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    DRIVE is clearly the best film of 2011 .From the start to end its the most silent amusement one can ever have . The whole movie is so amazing . Ryan's acting was clearly his best and 2011's best actor . Albert Brooks was damn good in his role . Also Carey , Bryan , Oscar ,Perlman did their best work .Nicolas Winding Refn's directing was so wonderful and tnx coz you remind us once againDRIVE is clearly the best film of 2011 .From the start to end its the most silent amusement one can ever have . The whole movie is so amazing . Ryan's acting was clearly his best and 2011's best actor . Albert Brooks was damn good in his role . Also Carey , Bryan , Oscar ,Perlman did their best work .Nicolas Winding Refn's directing was so wonderful and tnx coz you remind us once again that Film-Nori is not dead, its still out there and still the best film genre ever. The whole film has a flow which gave me a great example of film making . Now , Soundtrack .... I have never liked a Original Motion Picture Soundtrack this much . Its just incredibly amazing . Tnx so much Cliff Martinez for the best ethereal electronic-pop score ever . I am Putting DRIVE in the top position of 2011 films and probably gonna watch it hundred of times when DVD's or Blu-Ray gonna released . Tnx Nicolas Winding Refn , Ryan , Cliff Martinez and rest of the cast and crew and Producers , Hossein Amini , James Sallis, Newton Thomas Sigel , Matthew Newman for this Amazing film . Expand
  35. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Drive is a wildly entertaining, strikingly shot, fantastically acted, thrill ride; with great action pieces, enough violence, gore and romance to appeal to a mainstream audience. I give Drive 97% of a good movie.
  36. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    A technical and dramatic powerhouse. This is the best film so far of 2011. The opening action sequence in downtown LA is the best cinematic representation of Modern Los Angeles I have ever seen. Top Notch filmmaking across the board. Ryan Gosling actually built his car for the film, loaded with precise details and outstanding creative choices. This is a film that will be highly valuedA technical and dramatic powerhouse. This is the best film so far of 2011. The opening action sequence in downtown LA is the best cinematic representation of Modern Los Angeles I have ever seen. Top Notch filmmaking across the board. Ryan Gosling actually built his car for the film, loaded with precise details and outstanding creative choices. This is a film that will be highly valued decades from now. Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Cool. Ryan Gosling is almost frustratingly quiet at times in this film, but the coolest characters are often those who use their words sparingly. Very solid movie experience with great action sequences, definitely worth your time.
  38. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Drive is unlike any heist film/thriller I have ever seen...in a good way. It's full of intensity and left me riveted from the opening scene until the very end. The best part of the movie is Ryan Goslings amazing performance which goes against the action hero norm and then there is Albert Brooks who's bad guy portrayal will hopefully earn him a deserved Oscar. The movie moves at a ratherDrive is unlike any heist film/thriller I have ever seen...in a good way. It's full of intensity and left me riveted from the opening scene until the very end. The best part of the movie is Ryan Goslings amazing performance which goes against the action hero norm and then there is Albert Brooks who's bad guy portrayal will hopefully earn him a deserved Oscar. The movie moves at a rather slow pace but it somehow maintains the same level of tension throughout due to a job well done by director Nicolas Winding Refn. The movie is also complemented by an amazing soundtrack and great cinematography. But I have to warn you that this is not an action movie with tons of explosions, expensive visual effects, or the occasional comic relief so stay away from this movie if that's what your looking for. If your looking for a well acted and well told alternative to the big blockbuster action movies, this is your kind of film. Expand
  39. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    All these reviewers complaining about the 'boring/slow' plot and lack of dialogue probably say the same thing about 2001 a Space Odyssey, Tree of Life, Wall*e, Taxi Driver, There Will Be Blood, the Good Bad & Ugly, and other such films. Go watch something more your liking such as fast and furious or Bruckheimer's gone in 60 seconds.
  40. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    Drive is a rare film; one beautiful in cinematography, rich in atmospheric sound (its soundtrack being one of the greatest in filmmaking history), graphic in its portrayal of violence and utterly unique in its abstract direction. The storyline is simple (yet utterly compelling) and, in the hands of Nicholas Winding Refn, it is transformed into an artform, devoid of many words but rich inDrive is a rare film; one beautiful in cinematography, rich in atmospheric sound (its soundtrack being one of the greatest in filmmaking history), graphic in its portrayal of violence and utterly unique in its abstract direction. The storyline is simple (yet utterly compelling) and, in the hands of Nicholas Winding Refn, it is transformed into an artform, devoid of many words but rich in character. Expand
  41. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Drive is a milestone in filmmaking. There won't be a film like this in some time. Artistic, Brutal, Sweet, and Poignant. It will no doubt baffle many and I think that's its greatest quality. A maverick tour de force. I consider this film a Masterpiece. It is also in the running for my favorite film of all time.
  42. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    +Gosling is compelling. +The soundtrack is amazing. +Supporting cast is well-acted and adds to the realism.
    +It is subtle and not mainstream (which can be a good or bad thing depending on the type of movie-goer you are).
    -The story is good, but had more potential than it used. Overall: Highly recommended for people who can think beyond what's happening on the screen and actually have
    +Gosling is compelling. +The soundtrack is amazing. +Supporting cast is well-acted and adds to the realism.
    +It is subtle and not mainstream (which can be a good or bad thing depending on the type of movie-goer you are).

    -The story is good, but had more potential than it used.


    Overall: Highly recommended for people who can think beyond what's happening on the screen and actually have some intelligence.
    Expand
  43. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Reading user reviews for this movie made me want to write a review. I just saw the movie tonight. It seems everyone is to wussy for all the violence this movie had. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a while. I really didn't know what was going to happen next. This isn't your typical action movie with car chases and everything blowing up. So don't expect the usual, but if youReading user reviews for this movie made me want to write a review. I just saw the movie tonight. It seems everyone is to wussy for all the violence this movie had. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a while. I really didn't know what was going to happen next. This isn't your typical action movie with car chases and everything blowing up. So don't expect the usual, but if you want something different give this movie a shot. While it does have action its just not done in a traditional way.
    The acting was great. Ryan gosling like you have never seem him before. The story was good, the camera angles and everything was just different. Don't listen to the people complain about violence, go see it. fantastic movie.
    Expand
  44. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Every once in a while, a film comes along that cannot be compared to anything else you have ever seen before. This is one of those films. Drive is truly one of a kind. Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn (Bronson) uses his talents and unique vision to tell a story with style and substance. He has made an artsy action film that lets music tell part of its story while always being visuallyEvery once in a while, a film comes along that cannot be compared to anything else you have ever seen before. This is one of those films. Drive is truly one of a kind. Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn (Bronson) uses his talents and unique vision to tell a story with style and substance. He has made an artsy action film that lets music tell part of its story while always being visually exciting.

    Ryan Gosling plays a guy who only goes by Driver. He is quiet and keeps to himself. By day, he works in a garage for Shannon (Bryan Cranston) and works part-time as a Hollywood stuntman. At night, he is a getaway driver and uses his special skills behind the wheel to get the bad guys to safety. He is a loner by nature and has his own way of doing things. He has specific rules that people must follow before he takes a job and lends his services. And there is no mistaking on what he expects from them or himself, and he makes sure you definitely understand what he is telling you.

    But even for a guy like Driver, he cannot help but fall in love with his neighbor Irene (Carey Mulligan), a young mother whose husband (Oscar Issac) gets out of prison and drags all of them in to a very messy situation. Due to how he feels about Irene and her son, Driver helps her husband with a heist that is to clear his debt once and for all. But it goes horribly wrong and he soon finds out there are more than a few people involved who want the bag of cash, including a gangster (Albert Brooks) who doesnâ
    Expand
  45. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    An arthouse film with shameless but aplomb violence, Refn's Drive gripped audiences with shock and adrenaline of the paced sequences and Gosling's portrayal of a cool driver. He may not be similar to the legends McQueen and De Niro but Gosling delivered high caliber style to a dwindling genre of car chase and machismo.
  46. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    if you have a soul, this movie will grip you from beginning to end. it burns a hole in your stomach with anticipation and fills it with hope. heartbreaking and honest.
  47. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent! Gosling gives a great performance along with an especially strong supporting cast. Mulligan and Cranston are great and Brooks and Perlman are totally convincing. This movie felt "cool". I was completely focused on the story which reaches moments of tenderness and brutality with great cinematic style and finesse. When I saw Gosling appear in this film, I kept thinking back to theExcellent! Gosling gives a great performance along with an especially strong supporting cast. Mulligan and Cranston are great and Brooks and Perlman are totally convincing. This movie felt "cool". I was completely focused on the story which reaches moments of tenderness and brutality with great cinematic style and finesse. When I saw Gosling appear in this film, I kept thinking back to the classic veterans of the film industry such as Marlon Brando, James Dean, or Steve McQueen. He completely embodies this role and he does so with a very calm but focused reserve. The score is spectacular and is such an integral part of this story! This one will definitely be in my collection! Expand
  48. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Ryan Gosling scores another winner with this compellingly atmospheric drama/thriller hybrid. Ryan plays an emotionally detached character, Driver, who has a simple 5 minute rule. You hire him, and he's there for you completely for 5 minutes. Anything a minute either side of that, and you are on your own. What a setup! There's not a lot of dialogue from Driver, but what there is isRyan Gosling scores another winner with this compellingly atmospheric drama/thriller hybrid. Ryan plays an emotionally detached character, Driver, who has a simple 5 minute rule. You hire him, and he's there for you completely for 5 minutes. Anything a minute either side of that, and you are on your own. What a setup! There's not a lot of dialogue from Driver, but what there is is acted out so well and glues you to your seat. The perfectly tuned soundtrack serves as another character in the film, helping to steer the action and heighten the emotion of the film. I can't say that I've ever seen a movie quite like Drive before. Sure, there are some similarities to other movies. The soundtrack alone reminds me of something out of Michael Mann's earlier works. But there's more here than even the pieces of homages to other times could possibly add up to make. There's been discussion about the very 80's lipstick font chosen for the titles of the film. I think this was done purposely, to evoke memories of another time. Drive will transport you away from the everyday into a taut and tense emotional vehicle that will leave you wanting more by the time it all inevitably ends. Highly recommended and not to be missed! See you at the popcorn stand. Expand
  49. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I suppose my only complaint is the lack of character development, but Refn creates such a wonderful atmosphere ... absolutely incredible film! I just saw the movie tonight and I keep wanting to replay it in my head. I will have to see this one again. I'd also like to ask - why is everyone "not enjoying" Drive because of the brutality? Is this the first Refn film you have seen? Have youI suppose my only complaint is the lack of character development, but Refn creates such a wonderful atmosphere ... absolutely incredible film! I just saw the movie tonight and I keep wanting to replay it in my head. I will have to see this one again. I'd also like to ask - why is everyone "not enjoying" Drive because of the brutality? Is this the first Refn film you have seen? Have you never seen a foreign film (Drive is on par with some international violence)? Please go and see DRIVE! It is one of the best films of the year (so far). The story line is probably familiar to most moviegoers, but everything else about the film is so satisfying. Expand
  50. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Surprising that anyone commenting on it being a series of meaningless images and boring scenes or mentioning the silences calling them pointless, even bothered to review a film they shouldn't have seen to begin with. It is quite clear that some don't seem to be capable or maybe do not want to understand and look deeper than the obvious, which is the usual for these sorts of art-houseSurprising that anyone commenting on it being a series of meaningless images and boring scenes or mentioning the silences calling them pointless, even bothered to review a film they shouldn't have seen to begin with. It is quite clear that some don't seem to be capable or maybe do not want to understand and look deeper than the obvious, which is the usual for these sorts of art-house films. â Expand
  51. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    I thought this movie would be a non-stop action fest but its not anywhere close to that. This is my surprise movie of the year. Good plot, emotional and pretty good acting. I thought Gosling was great in this film, except when it came to dialogue with the female lead, those scenes were awkward. It starts off slow, but when the action picks up, you will be on the edge of your seat, anI thought this movie would be a non-stop action fest but its not anywhere close to that. This is my surprise movie of the year. Good plot, emotional and pretty good acting. I thought Gosling was great in this film, except when it came to dialogue with the female lead, those scenes were awkward. It starts off slow, but when the action picks up, you will be on the edge of your seat, an unpredictable, sleek film Expand
  52. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Drive is, hands down, the single most exciting and involving film to come out all year. The best part is, you also can't really figure out what makes it so engaging. It just is. Too many films think. This once acts.
  53. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    "Drive" is different. It's a modern western with extremely violent death scenes. It reminded me of Sergio Leone's westerns with the nameless hero at center, cleaning up the mess left behind by very bad people.

    While Eastwood's Blondie was a silent type without expression, but still likeable, Gosling's nameless hero is pretty silent, but impressively expressive at the same time. He goes
    "Drive" is different. It's a modern western with extremely violent death scenes. It reminded me of Sergio Leone's westerns with the nameless hero at center, cleaning up the mess left behind by very bad people.

    While Eastwood's Blondie was a silent type without expression, but still likeable, Gosling's nameless hero is pretty silent, but impressively expressive at the same time. He goes through all the motions with real emotion, and even though none of his back story appears, we know that he has a dark past that has driven him into the underworld, into hiding from something terrible, something that always comes back to haunt him. Albert Brooks is surprisingly effective as a cold, cold bastard. I admit getting a little tired of Carey Mulligan, that sweet wife with the sweet kid, and an unfortunate husband. However, I understood why she was important. The characters seemed emotionally invested in each other, which added context to the action. And what an action. The driving was not disappointing, nor the heavy brutality of the killings, which were just as ugly as brutal as killings must be. Nothing attractive about the violence in this film.

    When watching Ryan Gosling, I feel there is finally an actor comparable with the great Jimmy Stewart. He can both act sweet and cruel, desperate and calm, and at every moment believable. Without Gosling, this would have been just another action movie about a loner seeking justice in an unjust world.
    Expand
  54. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    Just a beautifully photographed film and the music/sound effects...one of the most stimulating sound tracks in recent years. The lighting and overall compositions give the film a kind of depth of meaning that is seldom seen in mainstream films anymore. Having said all that, I found the ending a tad unsatisfying and I have to admit that the main character's laconic-ism got a little annoyingJust a beautifully photographed film and the music/sound effects...one of the most stimulating sound tracks in recent years. The lighting and overall compositions give the film a kind of depth of meaning that is seldom seen in mainstream films anymore. Having said all that, I found the ending a tad unsatisfying and I have to admit that the main character's laconic-ism got a little annoying towards the end! Okay, yes, his actions and facial expressions (and, again, the compositions) speak volumes about his interior angst but my goodness at some point we need some actual (cathartic) expression as well! Still, loved it.... Expand
  55. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Hands down best movie I've seen this year, no doubt! This movie has it all: well thought out story, good action scenes, amazing soundtrack and great actors. Ryan Gosling totally ruled as the nameless main character.
  56. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    I am loving Ryan Gosling and I really enjoyed this movie. The action (gore) scenes were taut especially in contrast to the "long awkward pause" scenes. The cinematography was great and really made you feel like you were in the scene. Great characters! Albert Brooks (?), yes, it worked! The one thing that bothered me was the soundtrack, which I am usually totally unaware of, that seemed toI am loving Ryan Gosling and I really enjoyed this movie. The action (gore) scenes were taut especially in contrast to the "long awkward pause" scenes. The cinematography was great and really made you feel like you were in the scene. Great characters! Albert Brooks (?), yes, it worked! The one thing that bothered me was the soundtrack, which I am usually totally unaware of, that seemed to well up and remind you that you were watching a movie. Expand
  57. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Great great great movie, do not be fooled by the negative reviews by users self proclaimed "critics", they clearly have no idea what are talking about. 100 minutes passed like a moment, it is been a long time since I had this experience. Stylish, interesting, now it is officially in my top movies of all times list :)
  58. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    Drive was brilliant. The themes it revisits still resonate, especially with men and with those well versed in film. The existential (anti)hero, the man with no name with a past, unrevealed, with a death wish on one final redemptive mission, brilliantly shot, acted and scored. The style is slick, 80s like, the violence stylized, cool, heartless, surreal, like Ballard. Gosling is perfect.Drive was brilliant. The themes it revisits still resonate, especially with men and with those well versed in film. The existential (anti)hero, the man with no name with a past, unrevealed, with a death wish on one final redemptive mission, brilliantly shot, acted and scored. The style is slick, 80s like, the violence stylized, cool, heartless, surreal, like Ballard. Gosling is perfect. The performance channels McQueen. The screenplay also kills, like a Paul Schrader, revisiting the light sleeper. The chase scenes were amazing, like Bullitt or The 7UPs, blissfully free of CGI. Great techno soundtrac to boot. Captures the Ballardian dystopia nicely. Best film I've seen in the last few years and would see it again. Expand
  59. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    You know, considering that I walked out of "Drive" weak at the knees, with my heart still pounding in a worrying fashion and my hands sore from clenching them together for a good hour or so; I find it completely baffling that this movie's reception is as polarizing as it is with regular audiences. I think of this as one of the most intense action films made in a good long time, but mostYou know, considering that I walked out of "Drive" weak at the knees, with my heart still pounding in a worrying fashion and my hands sore from clenching them together for a good hour or so; I find it completely baffling that this movie's reception is as polarizing as it is with regular audiences. I think of this as one of the most intense action films made in a good long time, but most can't seem to get past the meditative exposition at all, so much the relatively simple plot structure (which, again, completely baffles me: action movies have no dire need to be as needlessly convoluted as "Transformers" or the "Star Wars" prequels; everyone needs a little "Die Hard" sometimes). It's at the point where I think there's a mutual hatred of the movie based off of its unique direction and popularity with critics. To put it bluntly: if you believe that anyone whose review score is lower than three, you are sadly mistaken. The movie is directed extremely well -- it is a very clean, very tight action film that contrasts the quiet nature of the movie's dialogue with the EXTREME violence (and I do mean extreme -- this is Peckinpah violent). Basically, if you want an action movie that is a little bit different from run-of-the-mill stuff, watch Drive. Expand
  60. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    The story was pretty interesting, and they released the film at the right time: when not many other great films are coming out. If this film was released when the hobbit or the dark knight rises comes out, this wouldn't stand a chance. Well worth a watch though.
  61. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why this movie has so many haters. The movie's remarkable and I've watched it with pleasure. Every take was well thought out. Play of lights, positions of actors, their gestures and facial expressions where charming. Someone said there is lack of dialogs. I don't agree - the action was focused on a driver who has been played rather as a silent person but with strongI don't understand why this movie has so many haters. The movie's remarkable and I've watched it with pleasure. Every take was well thought out. Play of lights, positions of actors, their gestures and facial expressions where charming. Someone said there is lack of dialogs. I don't agree - the action was focused on a driver who has been played rather as a silent person but with strong personality. These tricks I mentioned above were enough to tell me a full plot. And the storyline was really absorbing. Expand
  62. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Drive is the best movie I have seen in years. Fantastic direction, beautiful cinematography and impeccable acting. Don't be confused though, Drive is not an action movie; if you are expecting to see a super fast driving/heist movie, avoid this movie at all costs and go watch the fast and the furious or even The Town (which I really enjoyed). Drive is an arthouse movie disguised in theDrive is the best movie I have seen in years. Fantastic direction, beautiful cinematography and impeccable acting. Don't be confused though, Drive is not an action movie; if you are expecting to see a super fast driving/heist movie, avoid this movie at all costs and go watch the fast and the furious or even The Town (which I really enjoyed). Drive is an arthouse movie disguised in the trailers as a genre piece. I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys watching experimentation in film and cinematic style Expand
  63. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    A film that truly seduces you; reals you in gently and then hits you like no tomorrow. Great work from Nicolas Winding Refn who neatly unfolds a love story with many layers through a masterful performance of Ryan Gosling. He plays a man who hardly utters a word, yet says so much...
  64. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    this movie is almost a 10, best movie seen in years. Tempo, music, script, everything is just perfect. I'll watch it again as soon as it appears on dvd. Maybe there is a lot of people dissapointed about silences, but silences sometimes mean more than words. the mask scene, even incomprehensible, it's great.
  65. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    this movie was **** intense

    and yes, it gets a little boring, but then it **** explodes in your face at the heist scene and till the end

    anyhow, i don't like many arthouse movies, but this one made my balls tingle
  66. Feb 27, 2012
    6
    Drive is a rare type of movie: an action but touching picture. The protagonist is a man with no name, a driver that lives for himself and has a look as if he was looking for something. He has some kind of a double personality, a secret life. At day he works as a stuntman in car racing films, during night he provides an aid for criminals that is worthy of applause: he is the transport inDrive is a rare type of movie: an action but touching picture. The protagonist is a man with no name, a driver that lives for himself and has a look as if he was looking for something. He has some kind of a double personality, a secret life. At day he works as a stuntman in car racing films, during night he provides an aid for criminals that is worthy of applause: he is the transport in which the robbers escape; but the life to him seems empty. The driver will find a way of ending his emptiness by the path of love. And that is the gate for changing his life and a little bit of the world. Drive has some details of Martin Scorsese´s filmography: first Ryan Gosling is like the new Robert DeNiro. Second, there are some sequences that seem to be from Scorsese, the attack in the parking zone, the magnificent scene of the elevator, the car crashing and the ending. Third the protagonist has the need of discover a new life. This picture has an amazing script and montage, the score A Real Hero contributes to the feeling that wants to provoke this film, but the crown is the strong performance of Ryan Gosling (maybe his best after Stay). Beside that this film will always be a shadow of Taxi Driver; I really recommend it, because it is a reinvention of the local hero. Expand
  67. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    The fact that this movie is so polarizing is what makes it great to me. I am in the category of those who truly enjoyed the movie. Plenty will argue because there is a lack of dialogue but so much is said with a look or a gesture or an action. I found the main characters engaging and hard to forget and I had the movie playing in my head for weeks. I was pulling for "The Driver" andThe fact that this movie is so polarizing is what makes it great to me. I am in the category of those who truly enjoyed the movie. Plenty will argue because there is a lack of dialogue but so much is said with a look or a gesture or an action. I found the main characters engaging and hard to forget and I had the movie playing in my head for weeks. I was pulling for "The Driver" and cared for him though the details of his past were left a mystery. I think if I had known more detail I would've liked it less. I don't need to be spoon fed. I would like to imagine myself what type of upbringing he had to create the complex character he has become.

    I think those that panned the movie were looking for something than more than what is was which is a love story and a study of sociological and psychological disconnect. I believe most were expecting something ala The Fast and the Furious which I am so glad it was NOT!

    Go and see this picture and judge it for yourself but don't just push it aside because you heard from someone it was terrible. One man's junk is another man's gold I suppose...
    Expand
  68. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Trust the critics on this one. But you'd better be a fan of "film noir", or at least look it up and prepare yourself for the kind of dead-on-target film noir "Drive" is. The unexpected, out-of-control, way this dark story plays out is the best part of the film. "Drive" is an classic reminder that dialogue and acting paired up with good story telling is more than just the equal of dazzlingTrust the critics on this one. But you'd better be a fan of "film noir", or at least look it up and prepare yourself for the kind of dead-on-target film noir "Drive" is. The unexpected, out-of-control, way this dark story plays out is the best part of the film. "Drive" is an classic reminder that dialogue and acting paired up with good story telling is more than just the equal of dazzling special effects. Be aware though, that this movie is not for the squeamish. The violence in a few of the scenes is shocking. Expand
  69. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    This movie is insanely good. The story's good, the acting is good and the directing is good.The soundtrack alone is amazing. There is a couple of gory scenes, which in my book , make the film better. And for a film that is based around driving, it has great driving scenes.Drive is definitely a movie to watch.
  70. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Like several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strong emotional response has probably fulfilled its purpose. This can certainly be said for Drive. I'm not a professional reviewer but I do have a large library of movies at home and I get out to the theater whenever possible, so I'd call myself a talentedLike several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strong emotional response has probably fulfilled its purpose. This can certainly be said for Drive. I'm not a professional reviewer but I do have a large library of movies at home and I get out to the theater whenever possible, so I'd call myself a talented amateur. This film stayed with me long after pressing stop on my player. It's hard to quantify what makes one movie better than another - you can point to the acting, music/soundtrack, cinematography, etc. An hour after seeing it for the first time, I found myself compulsively searching for the music from the film online. Several days later, I'm still reliving key scenes in my mind. Bottom line, this movie does not wear its heart on its sleeve, and it falls decidedly outside the normal Hollywood formula; this stymies some viewers. For me, I rate it as one of the best films I saw this year, and certainly worthy of a look by anyone curious to see what "nuanced" movie-making looks like. Expand
  71. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    In the midst of a film industry suffering from over-budgeted, and over-hyped CGI trainwrecks, Drive exibits a timeless essence that mirrors classic films of the past. This drama-thriller by director Nicolas Winding Refn is a perfect example of a stunning piece of cinema that could save a dying art.
  72. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    I would watch anything directed by Nicolas Winding Refn after watching this movie (twice). Every scene was beautifully done. The dialogue is spare because every line is necessary. Each scene is more like a chapter. The plot skips over anything that isn't completely necessary and leaves you to read between the scenes. The acting is great across the board. The music adds more to this movieI would watch anything directed by Nicolas Winding Refn after watching this movie (twice). Every scene was beautifully done. The dialogue is spare because every line is necessary. Each scene is more like a chapter. The plot skips over anything that isn't completely necessary and leaves you to read between the scenes. The acting is great across the board. The music adds more to this movie than almost any movie I can remember. It is shocking almost to the point of disturbing in the second half of the movie in an amazing way. Expand
  73. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    A gritty, grisly film, this was one of the best movies (and scripts) I saw in 2011. Gosling does so much with so little dialogue, as nothing is wasted in his performance, with the direction and writing were top-notch. This film was more than worthy of an Oscar nomination.
  74. Sep 19, 2012
    6
    Tension is the word. Every single scene in the movie is embedded with a high level of tension. This is good, it's what kept me interested in it, and this is all thanks to how greatly the acting cast did their jobs. I liked the music/sound in Drive as well. Still, even with all the tension and great acting and good music, I felt bored at times, I could not relate well to the plot. I cannotTension is the word. Every single scene in the movie is embedded with a high level of tension. This is good, it's what kept me interested in it, and this is all thanks to how greatly the acting cast did their jobs. I liked the music/sound in Drive as well. Still, even with all the tension and great acting and good music, I felt bored at times, I could not relate well to the plot. I cannot tell exactly what it is that Drive lacks, but when I look at the ratings and critic reviews, it's clear to me that the movie is overhyped. Definitely worth watching, though. Expand
  75. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    Sensational director Nicholas Winding Refn's "Drive" is a good subtle movie that sorta revives the noir genre with violence and color. The film's ending is hurried and weak compared to the immense tension it creates. However, the director actually presents a great movie with his ability to use various masterful camera angles as well as showing copious action and car chases. InSensational director Nicholas Winding Refn's "Drive" is a good subtle movie that sorta revives the noir genre with violence and color. The film's ending is hurried and weak compared to the immense tension it creates. However, the director actually presents a great movie with his ability to use various masterful camera angles as well as showing copious action and car chases. In conclusion...watch it. It's a cool movie that will definitely appeal to you. Expand
  76. Oct 4, 2011
    1
    I, like many others, joined just to review this movie. I have to say I love movies. I love arthouse movies. This movie was not too wierd or "arts-y" for me. The reason for the low score is that it is genuinely awful. I would have given it a 0, but the opening scene is very good, and I liked one other scene. Apart from that, I see absolutely nothing redeeming about Drive. The protagonistI, like many others, joined just to review this movie. I have to say I love movies. I love arthouse movies. This movie was not too wierd or "arts-y" for me. The reason for the low score is that it is genuinely awful. I would have given it a 0, but the opening scene is very good, and I liked one other scene. Apart from that, I see absolutely nothing redeeming about Drive. The protagonist is an antisocial personality-vacuum. The love interest and her son are cute but ornamental. The two mob villains are ham-fisted and cliched to a point beyond parody. The audience is given no reason to emotionally invest in the well-being of any characters. There is not a germ of realism in the tacky, tv-movie script. All of which could serve to reinforce the mythology, if that's what this movie is after, but the archetypes aren't strong enough, and the story arc not epic enough to sustain a myth. And, to top it all off, amid all the clumsy writing and un-reality of the script, the filmmakers practically beg to be taken seriously with overlong dramatic pauses and hyper-graphic depictions of violence. It is a superficial, nihilistic, cynical exercise in vanity that seems to want to be taken as deep. It's terrible. Expand
  77. Sep 19, 2011
    0
    Drive is total critics bait. Classic case of trying very hard to be loved. One of the worst movies of 2011. Predictable, cliche and overdramatic. Lacked plot.
  78. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    Overrated. Don't get me wrong, it had it's charms. The soundtrack and cinematography for example, were great, but the dialogue, especially between the male and female leads, was consistently awkward and wooden. It also had way too many excessively artsy shots of Gosling looking contemplative. Plot-wise, it said and accomplished little. The movie really shines during it's driving sequences,Overrated. Don't get me wrong, it had it's charms. The soundtrack and cinematography for example, were great, but the dialogue, especially between the male and female leads, was consistently awkward and wooden. It also had way too many excessively artsy shots of Gosling looking contemplative. Plot-wise, it said and accomplished little. The movie really shines during it's driving sequences, and in a few of the action sequences. Overall, it's not bad, but it's not the amazing movie some of the professional critics made it out to be. Expand
  79. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    Great Film, and a damn good soundtrack. If Albert Brooks doesn't get nominated for at least a Globe, it would be a crime. Love the way it maintains a love story through so much violence, I mean Ryan Gosling gives the man in the elevator a beating of a lifetime.
  80. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in a long while. Possibly my favorite movie. Incredibly stylish, has a phenomenal score, has a creative and brilliant plot, and does a great job of character development, besides the driver. The driver has no backstory. The driver has no name. The driver is a mystery, and that adds to the movie incredibly. This film isn't an action flick, it isn't aOne of the best movies I've seen in a long while. Possibly my favorite movie. Incredibly stylish, has a phenomenal score, has a creative and brilliant plot, and does a great job of character development, besides the driver. The driver has no backstory. The driver has no name. The driver is a mystery, and that adds to the movie incredibly. This film isn't an action flick, it isn't a drama, its a genre-less movie, but thats a good thing. This film is incredibly gorey, so if you can't stand a little blood, I don't recommend this for you. Otherwise, you are in for a treat. Expand
  81. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    More than just an action movie, this film is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Gosling gives one of the greatest performances of his career and of the year, period. Far more substance than I was originally anticipating, with the stellar performances tied to extraordinary writing. Don't even get me started on how amazing the soundtrack is. This is the best action movie I've ever seen, and one ofMore than just an action movie, this film is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Gosling gives one of the greatest performances of his career and of the year, period. Far more substance than I was originally anticipating, with the stellar performances tied to extraordinary writing. Don't even get me started on how amazing the soundtrack is. This is the best action movie I've ever seen, and one of the best pictures of the year, without a doubt. Expand
  82. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Drive is a movie where you will either love it, or hate it, depending on how well you can tolerate arthouse films. So be prepared(If you ever watch the movie), to see a bunch of scenes where the characters just stare at each other rather than actually talking to one another. Specifically Gosling's character and Mulligan's character. So there's not that much dialogue especially within theDrive is a movie where you will either love it, or hate it, depending on how well you can tolerate arthouse films. So be prepared(If you ever watch the movie), to see a bunch of scenes where the characters just stare at each other rather than actually talking to one another. Specifically Gosling's character and Mulligan's character. So there's not that much dialogue especially within the first 30 minutes. Even though I'm not a fan of arthouse movies, I loved this one. Though, the title and the way this is being marketed as is very misleading. I expected a movie with tons of action and cool car chasing scenes. That is not this movie. There's little action and really only two car chasing scenes. This movie focuses on the relationship between Gosling's character and Mulligan's character, for about the first hour. Then the last 40 minutes is just a lot of killing, a lot of the killings are graphic and extremely gory. The acting is terrific, the cast does a wonderful job but the two that stuck out the most were Gosling and Mulligan, surprisingly. They were both exceptional, and the chemistry between them was great. I just wish that they could have added another scene or two with Gosling's character and Irene(Mulligan) hanging out together or driving somewhere together to really make the relationship seem even more believable and stronger. I also wish that they would have given Gosling's character a name, he's only referred as "Driver" or "The Driver." I can see why they did that, I suppose it's probably better that they didn't give him a name but it would have been nice of them to give us a name. I admit I was pretty skeptic when I first heard Gosling playing this type of role, he proved me wrong. I actually can't picture anyone else doing this role but him. He ended up replacing Hugh Jackman, that was probably the best decision ever. I could not picture Hugh Jackman pulling off this type of role the way Gosling did. The story is simple and it kind of annoys me that people are saying this movie sucks because there was hardly a story. Sometimes a movie with a simple story can turn out to be an amazing film based on how well it's told and done. Other times a movie with a simple story can turn out to be total crap(Transformers Revenge of The Fallen). I mean no one seemed to care how Avatar hardly had a story, hell I didn't even care and I liked it. I didn't mind the simple story here because the movie was done so well. It was nicely shot especially during the two car chasing scenes. I especially liked the first car chase scene because you never left the car, it was filmed inside the car the whole time so it was nice to feel like you were part of that experience. The soundtrack for this movie was amazing, if the soundtrack for this movie is not nominated for best score I'm going to be upset. I loved the nice 80's like retro songs. Each song fit perfectly with each scene, and set a nice tone throughout the movie. I especially loved the song "A Real Hero" by College. That song just fit so perfectly with Gosling's character and actually added some depth to his character. Though the ending might have been disappointing for some, I liked the way it ended, and let me tell you it's not your normal Clichéd happy ending. It was actually very sad and different. People also seemed to complain about how awkward it was when Gosling and Mulligan stared at each other a lot without saying anything. I can see why people felt that way but it was really only awkward the first time they met and hung out together. Isn't that normal though? They both start to like each other but they're nervous so they stare, smile and laugh at each other. I think it added some realism to this movie. Another thing that seemed to bother people was that Gosling hardly said anything during the movie, especially when he was with Irene(Mulligan). This is true, but they purposely did that. He was originally suppose to talk a lot but they decided to cut away most of his lines, to make him seem more mysterious. I think it was a smart idea of them to do this, it fit well with the movie, and it gives you a chance to try and figure his character out yourself. What was his childhood like? What got him into driving? How did he learn to drive so well? Ect. There's really no wrong answers to those questions and I actually thought about this movie for about a week after I saw it, hell I'm still thinking about it. I think I went overboard with reviewing this movie, I could continue to go on forever talking about this movie and everything that I loved about it but I won't. People who disliked this movie are probably going to think I was on crack while I was watching it but this is a great movie. Expand
  83. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This movie is truly amazing! The acting is top notch and the soundtrack is one of the greatest that I have ever heard. I've been reading alot of negative reviews mainly because it was boring and didn't have enough action or some stupid crap. Well if your one of those people than yes go see transformers 3 because it will for sure have more action. This movie is purely psychological and mostThis movie is truly amazing! The acting is top notch and the soundtrack is one of the greatest that I have ever heard. I've been reading alot of negative reviews mainly because it was boring and didn't have enough action or some stupid crap. Well if your one of those people than yes go see transformers 3 because it will for sure have more action. This movie is purely psychological and most of the acting is expressed through emotion so you do not have much dialogue. However, i think that is what makes it so unique. I've never seen anything as cool as Drive in a long time. I bought the soundtrack ASAP and that night listened to it while driving in my car at excessive speeds. Awesome! See it! Expand
  84. pcg
    Sep 19, 2011
    1
    Awful. The first scene is good, and might even be great if it weren't followed by 90 minutes of frustrating, boring (and, occasionally, nauseating) cinema. The acting feels like it tries to be minimalistic, pensive, and mysterious; it come off as dull, wooden, and self-important. The movie doesn't go anywhere and doesn't say anything, and remains a "style over substance" effort.Awful. The first scene is good, and might even be great if it weren't followed by 90 minutes of frustrating, boring (and, occasionally, nauseating) cinema. The acting feels like it tries to be minimalistic, pensive, and mysterious; it come off as dull, wooden, and self-important. The movie doesn't go anywhere and doesn't say anything, and remains a "style over substance" effort. Unfortunately, even the style is confusing at best: the pink lipstick credits, the Casio synth sound, the cheesy "Thunderdome"-style power ballad... if this movie had been made in the 80s, it might have some B-movie credibility. As a movie made 20 years after the 80s ended, Drive feels bewildering and artificial. And that's not even to say anything about the degrading, absurd violence; you don't have to be "faint of heart" to be disgusted with the blood spillage in Drive.

    I rarely have such a visceral reaction to a movie as I did with Drive. I could not for the life of me understand why such a movie is even made, as it is an exercise in empty style... and a D effort at that.
    Expand
  85. Sep 16, 2011
    3
    the plot sucked, I did not hate the acting, but it was not nearly enough to carry the movie. did I mention the plot was unimaginative, regurgitated, unoriginal, and boring.
    the movie pissed me off, I love both leads, the reviews were great but it just sucked.
    sorry I'm not a better writer/reviewer.
  86. Sep 19, 2011
    0
    While most people dislike this movie for the obvious reasons- it lacks dialogue, creativity and plot and it is slow moving and cliche- I dislike much more strongly because none of it felt believable. It was all so glossy and manicured with catchy techno music, but no scene felt like it could ever happen the way it did- from start to finish. It was trying to be ridiculous but came off soWhile most people dislike this movie for the obvious reasons- it lacks dialogue, creativity and plot and it is slow moving and cliche- I dislike much more strongly because none of it felt believable. It was all so glossy and manicured with catchy techno music, but no scene felt like it could ever happen the way it did- from start to finish. It was trying to be ridiculous but came off so over the top that it fell, very hard and very flat. I'm with the previous haters. Drive was AWFUL. Expand
  87. Sep 17, 2011
    6
    Overrated. Started out like it was going to be another Transporter-type movie (a'la Jason Statham) but quickly got boring. Not that it wasn't an interesting, 'different', artsy type of film (minimal dialogue, lots of shots of actors looking into space, drawn out scenes) but I hoped for more action and less boredom.
  88. Oct 3, 2011
    1
    I just didn't get it. Way too weird and not about a get away driver at all. There is maybe 15 minutes of driving in the whole movie.

    It was boring and strange.
  89. Sep 19, 2011
    3
    The greatest flaw of "Drive" is not it's obscenely short script, nor is it how cliche and mundane the film is. The biggest flaw is certainly not the acting or cinematography, both are terrific- they make the movie almost bearable. The movie may lack plot, pace and believability. But no- the biggest flaw is far greater than the sum of its parts. It is the desperation. The immense attemptThe greatest flaw of "Drive" is not it's obscenely short script, nor is it how cliche and mundane the film is. The biggest flaw is certainly not the acting or cinematography, both are terrific- they make the movie almost bearable. The movie may lack plot, pace and believability. But no- the biggest flaw is far greater than the sum of its parts. It is the desperation. The immense attempt that a young director makes to lure the audience. Pulsing techno, old school pauses that exist for their own sake, slow motion music-video-esk shots that occur at random moments. They are all meaningless. A movie without a plot cannot be saved by artsy fillers. They fail to captivate and create a bigger problem and a larger distraction than the mundane plot does from the unrealistic nature of the film. Expand
  90. Oct 2, 2011
    4
    I'm getting sick of these near-silent movies punctuated with 4 minutes of dialogue every 15 minutes. And Drive falls into this category. Why doesn't anyone really talk unless they are getting beaten or shot. The premise of the movie is great, but the the screenplay is lacking and what you remain with is an empty movie with a few outstanding moments. All in all, Drive is better watched on aI'm getting sick of these near-silent movies punctuated with 4 minutes of dialogue every 15 minutes. And Drive falls into this category. Why doesn't anyone really talk unless they are getting beaten or shot. The premise of the movie is great, but the the screenplay is lacking and what you remain with is an empty movie with a few outstanding moments. All in all, Drive is better watched on a sick day..when u are actually sick and could care less what happens! Expand
  91. JGS
    Sep 20, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have also just created a Metacritic account for the sole purpose of lending my voice to the sane, thinking, critical people who see past the stylish facade and realize that Drive is a bad film. A subterfuge of aesthetics covering up a dull pastiche of cliches. I went in ready to fall in love; neo-noir-ish elements? The Gos? A stylish looking thriller? I figured it couldn't miss. And yes, the first five minutes showed promise. But, for starters, I actually think Gosling did not work in this role; he's very charming and I think this is why people seem to have liked his character. But in reality, all we are given is a mono-syllabic killer; a dull, violent creep. Which is FINE, that could work. Except, it's far from "hero/lover/surrogate dad" mantle that the film is also struggling to hoist on him. A very confused follow-through of what I assume was a pretty great book/initial idea for the film What part did fans like best? The abandoned race car driver subplot that no seemed interested in anyway? The way that Gosling dons a mask for no practical reason to carry out one of his killings? When that other car shows up mid-robbery for no purpose? (oh, they were going to pull the double-cross on the side of the highway? Smart thinking). That Hendrick's role consists solely of getting slapped by our "hero" and then getting her head blown off? Did you like the gritty realism of Carey Mulligan's 90s-emo-pixie-girl-who-also-works-at-Denny's-and-has-a-husband-in-prison aesthetic? It was so beautiful when the Gos turned that guy's head into mush in front of her, wasn't it? Did you like how the characters (besides Gosling who, ooh! has a trademark toothpick! Cool!) explained who they were in tight, little speeches so we all knew where we stood? Albert Brooks's hands are "dirty" too! From all the violence he carries out as a mobster. Get it?! Oh wait, maybe you liked the soundtrack. Ah yes, you know when the chilled out blissful tune plays and the singer says: "A real human being and a real hero,". I just love stuff you don't have to think too much about, you know? (It would be like if in Top Gun, while "Highway to the Danger Zone" was playing, Maverick and Goose were on an actual highway passing a sign that said "Danger Zone, 20 miles away") To like this movie is to be easily fooled or just playing it safe to stay on the right side of the prevailing critical response. And, don't worry, you are not alone if you read these response and started to feel like "Maybe I didn't get it?" But there is nothing to get. I do love that beautiful Gosling, but you know, sometimes the ones we love... Expand
  92. Oct 10, 2011
    0
    I have registered on Metacritic specifically for the purposes of reviewing this "movie". This horrible junk is not a movie and definitely is not entertainment. I can say with absolute honesty that I attempted to give this movie the benefit of the doubt, but no saving grace presented itself. I am willing to say that this is THE worst movie I have ever seen in my life.

    There was very little
    I have registered on Metacritic specifically for the purposes of reviewing this "movie". This horrible junk is not a movie and definitely is not entertainment. I can say with absolute honesty that I attempted to give this movie the benefit of the doubt, but no saving grace presented itself. I am willing to say that this is THE worst movie I have ever seen in my life.

    There was very little action, and the romance wasn't there either. I don't know how this movie was produced and I am in complete shock towards how utterly awful this experience truly was. Marijuana wouldn't even save this film, you would have to be high on acid, and even that might not work. I generally understand where the critics come from when rating movies but they are the polar opposite of right about this movie. Many people actually left the theatre about 60% of the way through and I was seriously considering following their lead. I feel like I wasted enough time watching that movie and I don't feel like wasting more going into heavy detail about everything this movie did wrong. If you are considering seeing this movie: DON'T.
    Expand
  93. Oct 11, 2011
    0
    Pretentious, conceited, contrived, hollow and boring. This film has no redeeming features. Anyone who enjoys this film clearly has an extremely limited knowledge of films. True 'arty' films such as Requiem for a Dream and A Scanner Darkly show what can be achieved with cinematography and a different approach to the formulaic construction of most Hollywood films. Drive merely shows howPretentious, conceited, contrived, hollow and boring. This film has no redeeming features. Anyone who enjoys this film clearly has an extremely limited knowledge of films. True 'arty' films such as Requiem for a Dream and A Scanner Darkly show what can be achieved with cinematography and a different approach to the formulaic construction of most Hollywood films. Drive merely shows how poorly a film can turn out when the director loses sight of the plot and focuses too much on being different. The result is a film where you feel nothing for the good-as-mute characters, lackluster driving scenes, gratuitously violent, yet brief, action scenes, a nonsensical plot as well as around 20 minutes of unnecessary silence. In short, Drive is a truly awful film. Expand
  94. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    if you go into this film expecting a high-octane, 80â
  95. Feb 21, 2012
    3
    What a pathetic piece of crap! I want my 100 minutes of life back. Absolutely no direction, story, script, acting, direction, or character development. What the hell were the film makers thinking? There are movies so great you don't find words to describe them, but this movie is so drab, I don't have words to describe it. Why 3 points then? Well, charity! I am not as hard-hearted a man, after all.
  96. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    I will echo Maga's typical old sheltered person response to this movie, as it is not for anyone over 40 that tries hard to stay away from this "new fangled" violence. News flash: movies and media has been bloody and gruesome for decades. Every generation thinks the new one is going to hell, so let's take a moment to not be so stupid to not see your own cliche. This movie IS violent, butI will echo Maga's typical old sheltered person response to this movie, as it is not for anyone over 40 that tries hard to stay away from this "new fangled" violence. News flash: movies and media has been bloody and gruesome for decades. Every generation thinks the new one is going to hell, so let's take a moment to not be so stupid to not see your own cliche. This movie IS violent, but it's your fault if you go to see a rated R movie not expecting to see a rated R movie. Sorry if big Howwywood warped your closeted widdle bwain. As for the movie, it was worth a double watch for me. Not many movies make it into that category, so it's definitely something special. It was worth watching the second time just to see my friend's reaction to the hotel scene (he didn't see it with me the first time.) This movie does miss on a few points, but it's definitely head and shoulders above the drivel that inhabits most movie theaters. A watch if you have a soul, if you can't stomach violence, DON'T SEE IT! Can't believe this point has to be made over and over.

    -V
    Expand
  97. Oct 1, 2011
    6
    I'll summarize this movie in a few short words: The actors are great. The music is fantastic. The camera is excellent. The rest is just for idiots.
    .............................................................................
  98. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    This movie was graphically violent for no reason. The story line was dragged out disguised as artsy camera angles, annoying music and over dramatic pauses. I'm sure film students and film noir wannabe's will love this but it's not for the average movie goer.
  99. Jun 15, 2013
    1
    The cinematography is great and Refn is very skilled with it, but the plot was like watching paint dry, Gosling was painful to watch, and even worse, the violence was grotesque and far beyond needed. A good idea (and opening sequence) gone horribly awry in this film. Would definitely not recommend to those with weak stomachs.
  100. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    Hyper stylized can be done well with real purpose. Unfortunately, in regards to Drive, it can be done so wrong that it becomes laughable. I was unconvinced by the characters motives and feelings and honestly didn't care about any of them. The plot had a good structure, but was really blown to bits by the director's ego. The cinematography was wonderful though so at least it had somethingHyper stylized can be done well with real purpose. Unfortunately, in regards to Drive, it can be done so wrong that it becomes laughable. I was unconvinced by the characters motives and feelings and honestly didn't care about any of them. The plot had a good structure, but was really blown to bits by the director's ego. The cinematography was wonderful though so at least it had something going for it. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Drive works as a great demonstration of how, when there's true talent behind the camera, entertainment and art are not enemies but allies.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 19, 2013
    83
    Combing a memorably gritty Ryan Gosling performance with the breakneck tempo of the getaway cars his character handles for hire, Refn churns out a hyperactive love letter to road rage with unapologetic glee. It's a total blast.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Jul 19, 2013
    80
    Buckle up; it's quite a ride.