Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Drive is the story of a Hollywood stunt driver by day, a loner by nature, who moonlights as a top-notch getaway driver-for-hire in the criminal underworld. He finds himself a target for some of LA's most dangerous men after agreeing to aid the husband of his beautiful neighbor, Irene. WhenDrive is the story of a Hollywood stunt driver by day, a loner by nature, who moonlights as a top-notch getaway driver-for-hire in the criminal underworld. He finds himself a target for some of LA's most dangerous men after agreeing to aid the husband of his beautiful neighbor, Irene. When the job goes dangerously awry, the only way he can keep Irene and her son alive is to do what he does best—Drive! [FilmDistrict]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Drive works as a great demonstration of how, when there's true talent behind the camera, entertainment and art are not enemies but allies.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Sep 13, 2011
    100
    Drive feels like some kind of masterpiece - it's as pure a version of the essentials as you're likely to see.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Sep 15, 2011
    88
    The movie has you from its nearly wordless opening sequence.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 15, 2011
    80
    So it's a fun, if not exhilarating, ride, one sped along with the help of a wonderfully assembled cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 16, 2011
    75
    With its emphasis on relationships and character, Drive can best be described as a thinking man's action film -- or at least, it could if it didn't ultimately feel so oddly slight. As it is, for all of its positives, it functions mostly as a guilty pleasure rather than as a movie that resonates the way, say, "Blue Valentine" does.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Sep 15, 2011
    75
    Nobody puts the "angst" in "gangster" like a European director. When the director's a Dane, you can count on gloomy, chilly visuals and deliberate pacing. And when the director is Nicolas Winding Refn, who made the "Pusher" series in his native country and "Bronson" in England, you can expect intense, often brutal spurts of violence.
  7. 40
    Every bit as dumb as August's "Conan the Barbarian" but awash in neon-lit nightscapes and existential dread, with killings so graphic that you can't entirely believe what you're gagging at.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 358
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    fist of all, i am spanish...and sorry for my english beforehand...
    i think this is the one of the best film of the year and one of the most
    fist of all, i am spanish...and sorry for my english beforehand...
    i think this is the one of the best film of the year and one of the most undervalued having recieved only one nominations for oscars...this film has in the group of my favorites films...essential film
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Like several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strongLike several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strong emotional response has probably fulfilled its purpose. This can certainly be said for Drive. I'm not a professional reviewer but I do have a large library of movies at home and I get out to the theater whenever possible, so I'd call myself a talented amateur. This film stayed with me long after pressing stop on my player. It's hard to quantify what makes one movie better than another - you can point to the acting, music/soundtrack, cinematography, etc. An hour after seeing it for the first time, I found myself compulsively searching for the music from the film online. Several days later, I'm still reliving key scenes in my mind. Bottom line, this movie does not wear its heart on its sleeve, and it falls decidedly outside the normal Hollywood formula; this stymies some viewers. For me, I rate it as one of the best films I saw this year, and certainly worthy of a look by anyone curious to see what "nuanced" movie-making looks like. Expand
  3. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    You're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. ThankYou're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. Thank God it wasn't a Hugh Jackman Fast and the Furious film, as it was planned before Ryan Gosling got the lead. In addition he personally chose director Nicolas Winding Refn.. However, more users would have liked it if Michael Bay directed and Hugh Jackman staring. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Its kind of annoying when people rate so low when they never had patience with the movie and dont understand it. The artistic element of itIts kind of annoying when people rate so low when they never had patience with the movie and dont understand it. The artistic element of it made the movie really engaging if you let yourself understand the moods it was trying to convey. I dont want to sit through Transformers where there is a ridiculous amount of action at the expense of real feeling; thats a really boring movie, I can fall asleep during that. But Drive is for people who can interpret emotions and the psychology of the events that are in front of them. For that reason, it is not a mainstream movie and ends up going beyond the average movie goer who read things on the surface. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    The movie is presented as a throwback to the 70's or 80's with the choice of music which as nice .Though not everyone will agree that itThe movie is presented as a throwback to the 70's or 80's with the choice of music which as nice .Though not everyone will agree that it actually fits. The acting is good and the chemistry between Ryan Gsling's character and his love interest was well done i think. The movie started by showing a smart car chase scene but never really showed anymore scenes like that . Not even at the end which was bad for me since the movie is called drive there were only two scenes of driving [exciting driving] . But the film was good . it should have been called something else. but it was a good drama to watch. i felt a bit let down on the second half of the film but not sorry i watched it at all. Albert Brooks was good also. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2012
    6
    The actors are good, the soundtrack is better, and the cinematography is masterful. The movie sets its self up very nicely but slowly becomesThe actors are good, the soundtrack is better, and the cinematography is masterful. The movie sets its self up very nicely but slowly becomes a dull thriller. The gore is so over the top, distracting, and unnecessary. The solemnity of the performances vanish every time Refn extends a scene into jarringly violent territory. Ryan Gosling is great and I really want to see more work from Refn for the most part but for right now I'm very disappointed in this movie. Violence has never affected my enjoyment for a movie as much as it did in Drive. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    WORST MOVIE EVER! Gosselings character was portrayed as mentally retarded. The love story, as well as the ridiculousness of virtually everyWORST MOVIE EVER! Gosselings character was portrayed as mentally retarded. The love story, as well as the ridiculousness of virtually every scene was laughable. If you liked this movie even a little, your a complete idiot who knows nothing about cinema. Expand

See all 358 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  3. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  4. 2011 Film Awards and Nominations

    2011 Film Awards and Nominations Image
    Published: December 5, 2011
    Over the next three months, we
  5. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.
  6. Cannes Recap: A Look at This Year's Key Films

    Cannes Recap: A Look at This Year's Key Films Image
    Published: May 23, 2011
    Our complete recap of the just-concluded 64th Cannes Film Festival includes a look at this year's winners and a summary of critical reaction to the 25 biggest films in and out of competition.