Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2010
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 271 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
145
Mixed:
103
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JuicebxdlxNov 6, 2010
Funny enough to warrant the entry fee, even though virtually ALL the funny one liners are shown in the trailers. Still an entertaining experience, but the Hangover, it sadly, is not.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
From the writer, director, and star of the Hangover, aka the funniest movie I've ever seen, comes Due Date! I can't tell you how excited I was to see this film. Unfortunately, if you've seen the preview, you've seen all the funny parts.From the writer, director, and star of the Hangover, aka the funniest movie I've ever seen, comes Due Date! I can't tell you how excited I was to see this film. Unfortunately, if you've seen the preview, you've seen all the funny parts. Robert Downy is great as the moody, uptight, Peter. Zach Galifianakis however, was pretty bland. Metro-sexual Ethan didn't have the same shock value and loveable loser quality as Alan did, I didn't find him funny, I just felt sorry for him. The plot didn't help the film much either. How many times have you seen two strangers, thrown together by happenstance taking a road trip together? Due Date was OK, but it's been done, and they made the rookie mistake of putting everything good into the preview. Despite the great cast, I say pass on this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 31, 2012
I liked the film and it did have quite a few funny moments. However its really the same old same old that we expect from Todd Phillips so dont expect to be blown away by it. Robert Downey Jr and Zach Galifanakis work great together andI liked the film and it did have quite a few funny moments. However its really the same old same old that we expect from Todd Phillips so dont expect to be blown away by it. Robert Downey Jr and Zach Galifanakis work great together and definently make the movie that much better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Due Date" doesn't really have that much of a blast. It wasn't a movie that will blow your brains out with humor, but it will just....delight you.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
ChandeliericalNov 6, 2010
Essentially a remake - probably unintended - of Trains, Planes and Automobiles, though while John Candy's heart of gold was wrapped around a recognizable caricature of the overfamiliar shlubby salesman, Galifianakis's is wrapped around an oddEssentially a remake - probably unintended - of Trains, Planes and Automobiles, though while John Candy's heart of gold was wrapped around a recognizable caricature of the overfamiliar shlubby salesman, Galifianakis's is wrapped around an odd amalgamation of schticks: a breathtakingly naive, under-socialized stoned sycophant who alternates randomly from fawning to hostile behavior. It's not that funny. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
tdkDallasNov 7, 2010
Some very funny stuff, but that is all I can say for it. I can only hope that Philips will do something on or above the level of "The Hangover" in the future. Without Zach this movie would be nothing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
mau1133Nov 8, 2010
ok saw the movie. and well it had some really funny parts but then it was missing something thast i still can´t put my finger on. if you want to have a good laugh and like to smoke marajauan you can´t miss this movie..
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
An overly hyped film by Todd Phillips (Director of Hangover) who seemed to try to take advantage of his previous success with Hangover. Due Date didn't have the same relish as Hangover, but the show is worthwhile and a good substitute untilAn overly hyped film by Todd Phillips (Director of Hangover) who seemed to try to take advantage of his previous success with Hangover. Due Date didn't have the same relish as Hangover, but the show is worthwhile and a good substitute until Hangover II. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleNov 7, 2010
Not nearly as good as The Hangover or Old School (2 classics), but it's still got plenty of laughs and heartwarming moments to make it worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraNov 11, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Due Date" uses the same template as John Hughes' "Planes, Trains and Automobiles", but the template is broken now, and it was a perfectly servicable template, even worse, 1987 called because the yesteryear wants its movie back. 1987 wants to know why every comedy being produced from the major studios pander to the lowest common denominator. "Planes, Trains and Automobiles", albeit formulaic through and through the entire running time, was able to telegraph its happy ending without the brazen disregard for plausibility that "Due Date" is guilty of. Peter Highman(Robert Downey Jr.) is such a city mouse, the a**hole of a city mouse, the filmmaker should just let him be, without having to worry about redeeming him, especially since he's teamed up with a country mouse, the a**hole of a country mouse, who doesn't seem like the same character after both men are asked to leave the plane. At the drop-off area, Ethan Trembly(Zach Galifinakas) is inscrutable; he makes eye contact with Peter, a nonchalance that seems exceedingly bold, coming so soon after the car he arrived in, ripped off the door of the architect's taxi. Later, while both men are standing together curbside, Ethan knocks over Peter's luggage and resigns himself from the common courtesy of picking it up. Once on the plane, Ethan walks to his seat as if the 747 was a yacht he personally owned, placing his carry-on luggage in the overhead compartment without the slightest acknowledgement that he's fat and an owner of a hirsute belly, haphazardly concealed within a buttoned shirt, aligned strategically with Peter's face, a magnet, as it turns out. "Due Date" would have been a whole lot fresher had both men remained formidable opponents, but once they hit the road, the relationship turns hierarchical, in which Ethan stops playing "dumb", and Peter asserts himself as the sophisticate who doesn't suffer fools gladly. The words and actions that Peter unleashes on Ethan are so hurtful, so rooted in class consciousness, they practically blow away the "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" template to smithereens. The architect's contempt for the budding actor seems just too intense, going so far, at one point, as telling the "Two and a Half Men" enthusiast that he despises him "on a cellular level". On another occasion, Peter slams Ethan's permed head on a truck, almost hard enough to cause a concussion. In the 1987 John Hughes classic, Neal Page(Steve Martin) may have disliked his accidental companion immensely, but his aversion for Del(John Candy) never coalesced into full-blown hatred. It was John Hughes at his best that the moviegoer didn't mutter to himself, "Yeah, right," when Neal invites the big lug over for Thanksgiving dinner. The late Hughes was a humanist with a pragmatic touch. With its over-reliance on a masturbating dog and drug-related humor for laughs, "Due Date" should have played off the sentimental tropes found in "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" rather than recast them in such a vulgarian context. It's hard to believe Peter when he says, "I love you," to his fellow traveller, not after Peter spit in Ethan's dog's face and mocks the Arkansasian man for having the rube dream of making it big in Hollywood. He doesn't care about other people. The filmmaker establishes this fact early in the film, as Peter ignores the friendly driver who tries to engage him in a conversation during their jaunt to the airport. We get it. Peter only talks to people he deems worthwhile. A car figures in a later scene, where Peter has second thoughts about ditching his "friend" after forgetting to throw out the coffee can containing Ethan's father's ashes. Neal Page would turn around and go back, not Peter Highman, but he turns around anyway, because that's the formula, the steady progression from antagonists to friends, culminating in the scene at the Grand Canyon, where Peter seems exceedingly sensitive while encouraging Ethan to honor his father's last wish, and say goodbye. This is total bulls*it. It feels forced. This loser means nothing to him. But a formula is a formula, which makes you realize how a film like "Planes, Trains and Automobile" covers its tracks much better than "Due Date", a funny enough film that might have benefited even more had Ethan been allowed to be Peter's sparring partner, not whipping boy. That's the movie we see in the set-up. Interestingly enough, the sparring partner makes a cameo, soon after Ethan gets roughed up by Peter, when a loaded gun that the actor(remember: he's an actor) finds in the glove compartment, accidentally, of course, goes off, and hits the abusive architect in the leg. It's a taste of what "Due Date" could have been, and might have been in the original draft: a dark road comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DarkCriticNov 30, 2010
Due Date wasn't much funny as The Hangover or the remake of Plaines,Trains,& Automobiles. It's actually a descent comedy where two guys are heading to Los Angeles and one of the character wants to headed home so he can see his pregnant wifeDue Date wasn't much funny as The Hangover or the remake of Plaines,Trains,& Automobiles. It's actually a descent comedy where two guys are heading to Los Angeles and one of the character wants to headed home so he can see his pregnant wife and another character wants to get high. Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis wasn't half bad in the movie but in a different way that those two guys weren't much funny and I get complaint about Downey Jr for putting him in a so so movie with Zach in it. They have arguments the whole time and the lines aren't there yet (not to The Hangover funny lines). But there's Zach Galifianakis has three funny lines in the middle with spitting the dog line,the truck back line,and the waffles line,which we save him in this picture. But the movie slows down with lack that it refers to the Planes,Trains,and Automobile and it's nothing interesting with the whole cast that actually missing in the movie. But this comedy wasn't worthing to the classic of Road Trip,Old School,and the best box-office winner of The Hangover. You could probably stick to the John Hughes film of Planes,Trains,and Automobiles that it's more funny and it has hearts to those beloved actors of Steve Martin and John Candy at the same time,but this new one wasn't much special and I'm really sorry with those two actors in the movie like that,but it's a least bad you can tell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
paulomatsuiApr 10, 2011
The trailer was way much better than the film. I found the movie somewhat lacking in energy, with some plots running nowhere and with very light in laughs. Like Chandelierical said, it reminded me of "Trains, Planes and Automobiles".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
movieboyFeb 1, 2011
I guess you only get one chance to make a movie so hilariously funny at The Hangover. If you're expecting a comedy equal from the same director, alas no. As most have noted it's a sort of remake of the classic Trains, Planes and Automobiles,I guess you only get one chance to make a movie so hilariously funny at The Hangover. If you're expecting a comedy equal from the same director, alas no. As most have noted it's a sort of remake of the classic Trains, Planes and Automobiles, without the heart of John Candy. Sure there are laughs but I didn't find the characters believable. Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis sound like a dream team. I loved him in the recent Its Kind of a Funny Story, here he's kind of annoying. And Downey is just too way too uptight. Oh well. Maybe next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
nutterjrFeb 24, 2011
There are some funny moments, particularly some of the guffy Galifianakis moments, but neither Downey Jr, nor the celebrity supporting appearances of Foxx and Lewis make this a film to recommend, mostly due to the average material in hand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
brewcrewprideNov 11, 2010
Despite its promising cast and director, this film really could have been funnier and it seemed a bit rushed at times. It didnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DukeJan 4, 2011
I suppose â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
thesteelreserveNov 7, 2010
A pretty half-assed effort on the part of the script. The jokes were plain and simply not that funny. The actors really had nothing to work with. A DEFINITE rental not worth 10 bucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
scrieciuJan 6, 2011
I was expecting more laughter from this movie. Sure there were funny lines and some scenes with Zach Galifianakis, but that was the only thing worth seeing for. The plot is simple, nothing deep, so you can easily predict what will happen atI was expecting more laughter from this movie. Sure there were funny lines and some scenes with Zach Galifianakis, but that was the only thing worth seeing for. The plot is simple, nothing deep, so you can easily predict what will happen at the end. The first time you will see it, you will laugh. The second time, you will be bored. There were enjoyable and funny moments and a few boring ones. If it wasn't for Zach's role (the funniest in the movie) '' Due Date '' would have been terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
chotzyDec 8, 2010
if u watch this and thinks its funny then u will probably die watching the hangover the humor in this movie is kind of awkward and dark. it was a funny movie but cmon there's much better out there than this. Robert Downey Jr is really thatif u watch this and thinks its funny then u will probably die watching the hangover the humor in this movie is kind of awkward and dark. it was a funny movie but cmon there's much better out there than this. Robert Downey Jr is really that funny and Zack glaskdfenerlfekis is a bit annoying Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mary7Feb 27, 2011
This movie reminded me of the Hangover most of the time that I was watching it. It was entertaining but I was not so intrigued by it. But it was funny thanks to Zach Galifianakis, but I din't like that the end didn't surprise me at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aryanruleMar 14, 2011
Great idea, great actors...i just dont know wtf happened...its just not so funny. interesting yes, lucid dialogs, comic events, dark funny approach, but...just not enough funny...:(
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jessetaylor25Apr 9, 2011
This is basically the ugly cousin of "Planes, Trains and Automobiles". Unfortunately, it's not even close to being as funny or as heartwarming, but it still has its moments.
"Due Date" certainly provides some laughs, thanks mostly to
This is basically the ugly cousin of "Planes, Trains and Automobiles". Unfortunately, it's not even close to being as funny or as heartwarming, but it still has its moments.
"Due Date" certainly provides some laughs, thanks mostly to Galifianakis, but I couldn't help but question its sincerity. The film has also been compared to director Todd Phillips' previous effort "The Hangover", another roadie film that I had major issues with. "Due Date" is just as good as "The Hangover" in my opinion.
In the end, however, it isn't about much else besides being a funny movie, and that's what we got. So I did like it. I just wish the whole Mexico chapter didn't exist at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
I am a huge fan of Robert Downey Jr. and have watched Zach Galifianakis for years when he was just doing stand up. I have enjoyed both menâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
geedupJul 4, 2012
Very disappointed with this film. Good potential pairing Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis-predictable straightman/oddman linage. But didn't live up to the possibilities. Throughout the movie I could predict what was going to happenVery disappointed with this film. Good potential pairing Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis-predictable straightman/oddman linage. But didn't live up to the possibilities. Throughout the movie I could predict what was going to happen next, and that doesn't make for a good comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dev92Aug 24, 2012
I love Todd Phillips as a director but this just seems like he made this film to try and live off of the success of The Hangover. It is alright in places but it was almost too childish to be good. Neither character is particularly likable andI love Todd Phillips as a director but this just seems like he made this film to try and live off of the success of The Hangover. It is alright in places but it was almost too childish to be good. Neither character is particularly likable and that is probably this film's biggest problem. I wouldn't not recommend it to anyone but I can think of a lot of films I would recommend before this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Due Date is no Hangover, but I did laugh a lot. The film is very funny, but once the credits have begun to roll, I didn't feel content. I felt like there should've been something more, maybe the addition of a few more characters?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KivaJun 11, 2013
I didn't like Downy Jounior in that film. He was the serious one and that disappointed me. Ghalifianakis at his best. The plot was ok and i really liked that dog. Thumbs up for Zach
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ViciadensisMar 28, 2016
The acting is the only thing that saves this movie: horrible plot, horrible jokes and a horrible pace that didn't keep me interested in the movie at all. Definitely a pass for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
Early in “Due Date” the odd-couple main characters, Peter and Ethan, visit a pot dealer. As Ethan (Zach Galifianakis) checks out the bud, his reluctant companion, Peter (Robert Downey Jr.), waits in the living room with the dealer’s twoEarly in “Due Date” the odd-couple main characters, Peter and Ethan, visit a pot dealer. As Ethan (Zach Galifianakis) checks out the bud, his reluctant companion, Peter (Robert Downey Jr.), waits in the living room with the dealer’s two children. Peter has been kicked off a plane and forced into a car with Ethan, and he isn’t happy. He swats away the children’s questions and mocks the girl, and her brother, who looks about 9, bounces a toy off Peter’s head in seeming retaliation. One thing leads to another, and Peter punches the boy in the stomach so hard that the child doubles over, which certainly gives the expression “belly laugh” new meaning.

Of course the boy (Jakob Ulrich) is acting, and it’s all meant to be in good, nasty fun. The director Todd Phillips, who scored big last year with “The Hangover,” isn’t saying in “Due Date” that it’s O.K. for an adult to strike a child. Mr. Phillips likes to push studio comedies to the edge of mainstream acceptability, retrofitting old ideas (here, “Planes, Trains and Automobiles”) with new-school aggression and obscuring his social conservatism under the fig leaf of calculating comedy. But he’s too canny to make a movie in which an adult hurts any ol’ child. Rather, in “Due Date,” he tells us it is perfectly acceptable to laugh as a (much admired) movie star pretends to whale on a pesky child who ostensibly had it coming.

The (faked) child abuse theme is something of a continuation of the baby-in-jeopardy stunt that Mr. Phillips pulled off, if barely, in “The Hangover,” a funnier, more intricately plotted and ambitious movie. In that comedy three amigos (including one played by Mr. Galifianakis) wake up in a wrecked Vegas suite after a collective blackout during a bachelor party and find themselves the surprised custodians of a baby. Strapped to Mr. Galifianakis’s chest like a ticking bomb, the baby is the story’s savviest touch. It’s an easy prop, good for audience sighs and gasps, but it also works like an amulet because its very presence protects the men, signifying that all vulgar and violent evidence to the contrary, they are father material.

The sucker-punched boy in “Due Date,” by contrast, is the son of a hippie-ish space case (Juliette Lewis), whose profession, low-rent digs and seemingly altered state both set the scene and effectively justify Peter’s brutality. If the dealer had taken care of her child, if she didn’t sell drugs, cleaned her house and controlled her children, her son wouldn’t have been harmed. Maternal neglect sets up the joke, and a wallop from a daddy-disciplinarian, who’s every bit as ill behaved and finally uncontrolled as the child he hurts, brings the funny home. It’s an unfair fight, but that’s also part of the joke. As is the self-interest — a signature element in Mr. Phillips’s derivative, generic work — that drives Peter’s fist into that tiny belly.

In the logic of Mr. Phillips’s universe, punching a child is one more ha-ha, outrageous, liberating act that men (at least on screen) experience in the wilds before returning to the little ladies tapping their feet back home. In “Due Date” the missus (Michelle Monaghan, purely decorative), who’s married to Peter and pregnant (I didn’t notice if she was barefoot), is understandably eager for him to return for the Caesarean delivery of their first child. Like “The Hangover,” “Due Date” creates two oppositional spaces for the sexes — the giant playground in which men run riotously amok, and the domestic sphere of waiting women — you know, kind of like “The Odyssey,” but with masturbation jokes and vomit.

Regurgitation and a self-pleasuring dog define the limits of the new film’s ambitions. Most road movies have a sense of the life rushing past that the guys in “Due Date” scarcely notice, though they do stop to stock up on product placements. This narrow field of vision is mirrored in the main relationship, with Peter, an architect with a sleek wife and house, forced to suffer Ethan’s ignorance and lower-class affectations. Ethan is a rube with a perm and delusions of acting grandeur, as well as a fount of mayhem, but as a surrogate child he has lessons to teach the expectant father. Equal parts appealing and appalling innocence, with a spark of anarchic menace, Mr. Galifianakis is good enough to make you almost forget the movie.

Mr. Downey either can’t, or doesn’t, do much with Peter, who, as written by Mr. Phillips and three others, remains an off-putting, hollow man — a presumably unintentional lack of character development that represents the movie’s sole honest moment.

For Mr. Phillips, a hero’s journey doesn’t mean betterment for all; it’s about giggling into the wind while riding shotgun in a world of trouble.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews