User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 86
  2. Negative: 52 out of 86
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    when they writers made a script they turned it into the three stooges basically . Its funny, retarted , . without Jim Carey in this comedy the movie is still an even bigger JACKASS . Grade C- maybe a D
  2. GigiCritic
    Aug 21, 2003
    6
    Come on, it was called Dumber and Dumberer, so what do you expect? It was good for some laughs, but it was pretty dumb like the title warns you. Stop making it seem like you expected it to be an award winning movie!
  3. PatH
    Jun 29, 2005
    6
    The only thing about this movie was the lackluster plot. Other than that, this movie was a stupid movie with many good laughs. Not like other comedies.
  4. AdamE.
    Dec 2, 2003
    5
    I know it's a really crappy film but I must admit it was sooo stupid I laughed my head off!
  5. GiovannaC.
    Jun 17, 2003
    5
    Eh, it was all right i suppose. yet vincent r's review was a bit harsh, and obviously if he found at least one scene hilarious, the movie warrants a higher rating than his pitiful one.
  6. JosephC.
    Jun 19, 2003
    5
    I think people are approaching this the wrong way. It had some genuinley funny moments, and I smiled at others. No, it wasnt the original, but hey, its all in good fun.
  7. DerekW.
    Jun 23, 2003
    4
    Seen better, seen worse. If you like slapstick comedy then see it. It's got some laughs, not as great as the first, but if you like the genre, I'm sure you'll like this movie.
  8. EricY.
    Jun 23, 2003
    5
    There were a few funny moments and very few boring moments...a worthy effort overall.
  9. Tysono'mac
    Jun 25, 2003
    5
    The dumb and dumber prequel had its moments, unfortunately they were few and far between. the movie was bad, but it wasnt good either. if youre thinking about seeing this in the theatre or even waiting until it comes to video/dvd, my suggestion is to wait until it eventually airs on tv.
  10. Zach
    Jun 28, 2003
    6
    No, it's not NEARLY as funny as Dumb & Dumber, yet there is a completely different writing team at work on this prequel so you can't expect it to rival the original's greatness. I think the mistakes a lot of people/critics made were comparisons. If you just watch this movie as a movie, it's nothing special but genuinely funny in parts and entertaining. The Jim No, it's not NEARLY as funny as Dumb & Dumber, yet there is a completely different writing team at work on this prequel so you can't expect it to rival the original's greatness. I think the mistakes a lot of people/critics made were comparisons. If you just watch this movie as a movie, it's nothing special but genuinely funny in parts and entertaining. The Jim Carrey/Jeff Daniels impressions alone are good enough for at least one viewing. Expand
  11. TomL.
    Jun 29, 2003
    6
    This movie was actually a lot more fun than i had originally expected. Olsen pulled it off as Lloyd. Although the movie didn't have the possibly funniest directors of all time,Peter and Bobby Farrelly, Troy Miller kept me very amused. Throw sophisticated humor out the window. I realized I laughed harder at more petty, unclean movies.
  12. ryanb.
    Jan 26, 2005
    4
    This movie is one of the funnyest movies ever but there is no point to it at all all it is is them trying to make it thru high school and try to be cool but all dose not go well there a man who offers 25000dollars for any school that has a special ed class so the principle made up a fake ld class to get money but the end dose not go so well you are going to have to see it in order to find This movie is one of the funnyest movies ever but there is no point to it at all all it is is them trying to make it thru high school and try to be cool but all dose not go well there a man who offers 25000dollars for any school that has a special ed class so the principle made up a fake ld class to get money but the end dose not go so well you are going to have to see it in order to find out the ending and i do recemend it. Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    The Farrelly's didn't want to do this movie for fear it would diminish the quality of the original. It wasn't quite that bad thou. It had some really hysterical moments, and Hollywood chipped in with cameos (by Saget, Shia LaBouf, Cheri Oteri, Mimi Rogers, and Eugene Levy to name a few.) It most defiantly doesn't live up to the original, but surprisingly it wasn't terrible. Eric ChristianThe Farrelly's didn't want to do this movie for fear it would diminish the quality of the original. It wasn't quite that bad thou. It had some really hysterical moments, and Hollywood chipped in with cameos (by Saget, Shia LaBouf, Cheri Oteri, Mimi Rogers, and Eugene Levy to name a few.) It most defiantly doesn't live up to the original, but surprisingly it wasn't terrible. Eric Christian Olson does a terrific job as Lloyd, the story of how they met, as well as references to the original, and the cameos make this film worth seeing. It really isn't as bad as you might think it would be. Expand
  14. May 12, 2013
    4
    As a prequel, Dumb and Dumberer is the equal to a natural disaster. As your average teenage film (not to be taken seriously) I'd give it a nod. If you compare it to the first, I'll admit that this movie deserves hate. We all expected Carrey and Daniels to return with comical results. Olsen did a great job at playing Lloyd if that's any concillation while Richardson did a decent job asAs a prequel, Dumb and Dumberer is the equal to a natural disaster. As your average teenage film (not to be taken seriously) I'd give it a nod. If you compare it to the first, I'll admit that this movie deserves hate. We all expected Carrey and Daniels to return with comical results. Olsen did a great job at playing Lloyd if that's any concillation while Richardson did a decent job as Harry. The rest of the cast should have been replaced for their sleepy performances and while I admire Eugene Levy, he should stick to playing Jim's Dad. If you love crude jokes and short laughs, then dumb and dumberer should garner your vote. In other words, this film is a pretty harmless, pretty reckless tale with a few gags but very poor performances from much of the cast. Expand
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. 10
    To call it sophomoric would libel even the most pathetic, pimply underclassman.
  2. 20
    Levy, Luis Guzman, Cheri Oteri -- utterly wasted. At 82 minutes it feels longer than “Lawrence of Arabia” -- and a lot less funny.
  3. Long, lumbering and endlessly unfunny.