User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 87
  2. Negative: 53 out of 87
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    0
    This movie was so bad I stopped watching after 45minutes hoping it would get better. The story sucked, there was nothing funny, and the actors couldn't keep my attention. The first attempt at watching it made me fall asleep ... waste of time!
  2. Dec 21, 2014
    0
    What The Hell did i just watch? Is this a comedy film?
    Man! this movie is awful.After seeing dumb and Dumber I was skeptic on this Movie, I ask Myself will this unknown actors do a good job portray this roles? well my expectations were low but I want to see the execution of it and it was horrible,It is poorly done ,poorly written and poorly acted and the main characters are annoying
    What The Hell did i just watch? Is this a comedy film?
    Man! this movie is awful.After seeing dumb and Dumber I was skeptic on this Movie, I ask Myself will this unknown actors do a good job portray this roles? well my expectations were low but I want to see the execution of it and it was horrible,It is poorly done ,poorly written and poorly acted and the main characters are annoying unlike the original"annoying yet loveable" but here nope they're not loveable .It is one of the worst films of all time!
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    when they writers made a script they turned it into the three stooges basically . Its funny, retarted , . without Jim Carey in this comedy the movie is still an even bigger JACKASS . Grade C- maybe a D
  4. Fantasy
    Jul 4, 2003
    0
    Dumb, Dumber, and now the Dumbest. Avoid at all costs, unless of course, you are a Dumbbell. Refund!
  5. RaymondW.
    Feb 10, 2005
    0
    This is movie is the worst comedy I have ever seen. It makes Meatballs 4 look soo funny you would die laughing. Who ever had the idea of having this movie made is a moron.
  6. Brandon
    Mar 21, 2004
    0
    Okay, first i'm glad i didn't waste my money on this but my dad did, if i spent money on this i would consider suicide. No humor what so ever. Not one laugh came out of me, perhaps a sniker but that was because i was laughing and how poor this movie really is....however i felt that the two guys portraying harry and loyd pulled it off...somewhat...but the jokes were just horrid. Okay, first i'm glad i didn't waste my money on this but my dad did, if i spent money on this i would consider suicide. No humor what so ever. Not one laugh came out of me, perhaps a sniker but that was because i was laughing and how poor this movie really is....however i felt that the two guys portraying harry and loyd pulled it off...somewhat...but the jokes were just horrid. Not funny or entertaining at all. And there are so many wasted actors and actresses in this movie. It's just not funny. Surprisingly, it dosent ruin Dumb and Dumber which in my opinion is an instant classic. Expand
  7. VincentR.
    Jun 13, 2003
    1
    One hysterical scene involving chocolate in a swimming pool (I won't say anymore), but that's it. Overall, this is now on my list of one of the 20 worst films ever made. No exagerration folks, it really is that bad. Unfunny to the point of awkwardness, lame plot, tired and bland script, crummy performances. Do not see this on a double-bill with Boat Trip if you're One hysterical scene involving chocolate in a swimming pool (I won't say anymore), but that's it. Overall, this is now on my list of one of the 20 worst films ever made. No exagerration folks, it really is that bad. Unfunny to the point of awkwardness, lame plot, tired and bland script, crummy performances. Do not see this on a double-bill with Boat Trip if you're contemplating suicide. Expand
  8. GigiCritic
    Aug 21, 2003
    6
    Come on, it was called Dumber and Dumberer, so what do you expect? It was good for some laughs, but it was pretty dumb like the title warns you. Stop making it seem like you expected it to be an award winning movie!
  9. AbbyH.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    You people R so mean when it comes to rating movies. I think Eric Christian Olsen & Derrick Richardson did an awesome job at playing the original Harry & Lloyd. NICE JOB!!!!!!!
  10. VikramM.
    Apr 4, 2004
    0
    Horrible, disgusting, vulgar, vile trash that is a bad excuse for a movie!! 30 minutes is all I could stand of what seems like five year old humour in the prequel to one of the cherished comedies Dumb and Dumber! This movie was so bad! I can not even start to begin and once again I was one of the unlucky ones to say, "Oh it can't be that bad!" and I was right! Its not bad its Horrible, disgusting, vulgar, vile trash that is a bad excuse for a movie!! 30 minutes is all I could stand of what seems like five year old humour in the prequel to one of the cherished comedies Dumb and Dumber! This movie was so bad! I can not even start to begin and once again I was one of the unlucky ones to say, "Oh it can't be that bad!" and I was right! Its not bad its HORRIBLE! I could rant on for hours. I am so glad that I did not see the whole movie! 30 minutes waste of my life thank you very much! Expand
  11. SaerB.
    Apr 9, 2004
    2
    The most stupidest movie ever! There were a few laughs but this movie is so stupid! I hate it!
  12. JoeM.
    Nov 17, 2005
    0
    This movie was so unbelievably bad that it nearly destroyed the whole world and everything on it. After I watched it, I lay in a bombshelter for 8 days eating tin food.
  13. PatH
    Jun 29, 2005
    6
    The only thing about this movie was the lackluster plot. Other than that, this movie was a stupid movie with many good laughs. Not like other comedies.
  14. Tyler
    Nov 23, 2003
    1
    At a loss for words. Well, not quite. Pathetic. The only reason it mustered a '1' rating is because my roommate wasted his money renting it and I didn't.
  15. BrandonS.
    Dec 2, 2003
    8
    You guys are a bunch of stiffs, of course this movie sucks, but that doesn't mean it's not hilarious. Sure, it's not funny in the way it was intended, but in being so poorly written and executed it's funny funny funny. The sad thing is, is that the writers were actually attempting to make a great movie, can't you just picture two guys coming up with these bad You guys are a bunch of stiffs, of course this movie sucks, but that doesn't mean it's not hilarious. Sure, it's not funny in the way it was intended, but in being so poorly written and executed it's funny funny funny. The sad thing is, is that the writers were actually attempting to make a great movie, can't you just picture two guys coming up with these bad jokes and snickering away in delight to each other? See, that's why it's so funny, here's a chance to laugh at some naive, light hearted writers. Expand
  16. AdamE.
    Dec 2, 2003
    5
    I know it's a really crappy film but I must admit it was sooo stupid I laughed my head off!
  17. MoviesGreat
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    FUNNY MOVIE!...not as good as the original but worthy of its name.
  18. GiovannaC.
    Jun 17, 2003
    5
    Eh, it was all right i suppose. yet vincent r's review was a bit harsh, and obviously if he found at least one scene hilarious, the movie warrants a higher rating than his pitiful one.
  19. Anonomousguy
    Jun 18, 2003
    1
    This movie is a poorly made sequel that disgraces the first "Dumb and Dumber" movie which was quite funny. I am not very picky when it comes to comedies and I usually laugh at least a few times before the end. In this horrible excuse for a movie I did not even laugh once. I could go on and on listing all the bad things about this movie but I think you get the point.
  20. FreddyO.
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    I don't think this was a bad movie at all. The critics were just all riled up about the first and how good it was. I must admit, the first was better, but if this was an independent movie it would have recieved a higher score from everyone. Forget about the first movie for one second and actually look at this one. Its really not that bad.
  21. JosephC.
    Jun 19, 2003
    5
    I think people are approaching this the wrong way. It had some genuinley funny moments, and I smiled at others. No, it wasnt the original, but hey, its all in good fun.
  22. DerekW.
    Jun 23, 2003
    4
    Seen better, seen worse. If you like slapstick comedy then see it. It's got some laughs, not as great as the first, but if you like the genre, I'm sure you'll like this movie.
  23. EricY.
    Jun 23, 2003
    5
    There were a few funny moments and very few boring moments...a worthy effort overall.
  24. Tysono'mac
    Jun 25, 2003
    5
    The dumb and dumber prequel had its moments, unfortunately they were few and far between. the movie was bad, but it wasnt good either. if youre thinking about seeing this in the theatre or even waiting until it comes to video/dvd, my suggestion is to wait until it eventually airs on tv.
  25. Zach
    Jun 28, 2003
    6
    No, it's not NEARLY as funny as Dumb & Dumber, yet there is a completely different writing team at work on this prequel so you can't expect it to rival the original's greatness. I think the mistakes a lot of people/critics made were comparisons. If you just watch this movie as a movie, it's nothing special but genuinely funny in parts and entertaining. The Jim No, it's not NEARLY as funny as Dumb & Dumber, yet there is a completely different writing team at work on this prequel so you can't expect it to rival the original's greatness. I think the mistakes a lot of people/critics made were comparisons. If you just watch this movie as a movie, it's nothing special but genuinely funny in parts and entertaining. The Jim Carrey/Jeff Daniels impressions alone are good enough for at least one viewing. Expand
  26. SamL.
    Jul 11, 2003
    0
    So TERRIBLE! Waste of time, money, and energy! This movie was worse than back to back episodes of Spongebob Squarepants! Eghhh!!
  27. Matt
    Jul 15, 2003
    1
    *Flush* whats that?! i think i heard a toilet flushing. must be this sh*tty movie.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Jul 6, 2003
    0
    I paid matinee price to see this movie, and I feel sorry for any poor sucker who paid over nine dollars to see this. I loathed this like a disease. Everyone in this movie act like they are in "Meatballs Five," and the jokes are all awful (one chocolate bar cannot leave a gigantic mess). This movie is so bad, even Eugene Levy, one of the great comedic actors working in movies today, I paid matinee price to see this movie, and I feel sorry for any poor sucker who paid over nine dollars to see this. I loathed this like a disease. Everyone in this movie act like they are in "Meatballs Five," and the jokes are all awful (one chocolate bar cannot leave a gigantic mess). This movie is so bad, even Eugene Levy, one of the great comedic actors working in movies today, isn't even the least bit funny. And Bob Saget's cameo is embarassing. There's a new adjective to describe this movie: it's the dumbererest move of 2003. Expand
  29. yayyyyy
    Jan 19, 2004
    0
    All i can say is its a good thing i told the guy i was under 11 and got in for 6$ instead of 14 bcus i wudnt have wnated to waste my money on such a pathetic,worthless,stupid sh.t.
  30. MikeW.
    Dec 8, 2004
    1
    This movie was just a sad joke, to somehow attempt a sequel (in this case a prequel) to the original Dumb & Dumber is completely idiotic. They could at least get Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels to revise their roles, without them the movie just falls apart at its seems.
  31. bluto
    Feb 16, 2004
    0
    U R kidding me. this movie suck a.. bug fu..ing time.
  32. MickK.
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    This movie is a brilliant comedy because it has the word poo in it and i like the movie because it is just as funny as the original.
  33. Sarah
    May 18, 2004
    10
    Hilarious!
  34. IanF.
    Apr 22, 2005
    7
    I thought the film was very funny in a lot of places, if not quite unfunny in quite a lot of places. At times it is exceptionally funny. Whilst it is not as good or funny as the first film, it is still a funny film and most certainly doesnt deserve the slaiting it has got.
  35. JustinC.
    Jun 16, 2005
    8
    This movie is stupid....but very very funny.
  36. GerrickC.
    Feb 12, 2007
    1
    It's documented sequels are usually not as good as the first, and in the case of this movie, it could not be more obvious. In a followup to an already flop movie the sequel makes the first look smart. An abomination to movie sequels.
  37. Branden
    Jun 15, 2003
    2
    I gave it a 2 for the 2 talented actors(erik and derrick) and a fat zero for the movie.
  38. TomL.
    Jun 29, 2003
    6
    This movie was actually a lot more fun than i had originally expected. Olsen pulled it off as Lloyd. Although the movie didn't have the possibly funniest directors of all time,Peter and Bobby Farrelly, Troy Miller kept me very amused. Throw sophisticated humor out the window. I realized I laughed harder at more petty, unclean movies.
  39. JacobR.
    Aug 13, 2003
    0
    WTF? Watching a porn Moive is much more funner! BTW SpongeBob is cool! @ss Wipe
  40. DecepticonPom
    Oct 27, 2004
    1
    I tried 3 times to watch this DVD and each time found that pulling skin from my fingers and making them breed caused me to laugh more. The dood who plays the Jim Carrey role was an immaculate likeness but he simply did not have the material to work with.
  41. AlansitoKLO
    Jun 17, 2004
    0
    Just sad.
  42. SeanB
    Jul 15, 2004
    3
    Some movies are so dumb and make no sense so they are funny. Dumb & Dumberer falls so far below being this type of film that it isn't. A few laughs here and there, but even you could have probably come up with a better script. Horribly done, but you might take liking if you laugh at stupid comedies. No where in the same universe as the first one.
  43. ryanb.
    Jan 26, 2005
    4
    This movie is one of the funnyest movies ever but there is no point to it at all all it is is them trying to make it thru high school and try to be cool but all dose not go well there a man who offers 25000dollars for any school that has a special ed class so the principle made up a fake ld class to get money but the end dose not go so well you are going to have to see it in order to find This movie is one of the funnyest movies ever but there is no point to it at all all it is is them trying to make it thru high school and try to be cool but all dose not go well there a man who offers 25000dollars for any school that has a special ed class so the principle made up a fake ld class to get money but the end dose not go so well you are going to have to see it in order to find out the ending and i do recemend it. Expand
  44. BonehoC.
    Apr 16, 2006
    0
    So bad! I was trying to figure out who find most of the jokes funny. It's too inappropriate for children, too immature for adults. I saw it in my early teen years, and the whole time I was thinking, where's Jim Carry and Jeff Daniels. Then the credits came on and I realized what an awesome move those guys made in avoiding this.
  45. JoelC.
    Nov 12, 2003
    1
    I rented this fooling myself into thinking maybe it's not that bad. Anyone on the same boat as me, it is 'that' bad. I find absolutely no reason to watch this. It is not Dumb and Dumber pt. 1 of 2. Different director, different actors, and scenes totally ripped off of the original. I have never seen anything so cheesy, so tacky before. I would be more entertained by I rented this fooling myself into thinking maybe it's not that bad. Anyone on the same boat as me, it is 'that' bad. I find absolutely no reason to watch this. It is not Dumb and Dumber pt. 1 of 2. Different director, different actors, and scenes totally ripped off of the original. I have never seen anything so cheesy, so tacky before. I would be more entertained by watching gradeschool level classroom videos. I gave this movie a 1 because of Bob Sagot talking about all of the crap on the walls. That was the only thing good about this movie. Obviously not worth buying, certainly not worth watching but simply worth not even looking at it. I cant even believe im wasting my energy writing a review for this lame movie, but I must warn others of this. Ill admit though, it made me laugh at the beginning simply because I couldnt get it through my head that a movie could be this bad. Alright im moving on, mad at myself for letting this garbage suck some of my life. Expand
  46. Aug 28, 2010
    2
    with out carey and with out danials there is no movie . apparently hollywood didnt care and slaped together a half assed prequel that does no justice to the original. there where a moment or 2 where i laughed thats the only reason ill give this 2 points the rest was unbarable crap.
  47. Sep 2, 2011
    0
    There's a fine line between dumb enough to make a hilarious movie, and so ridiculously dumb that it's hard to even let out a nervous laugh here and there. Though the original DUMB AND DUMBER was a good example of a former, this prequel is the perfect example of the latter. DUMB AND DUMBERER: WHEN HARRY MET LLOYD is more of an homage to DUMB AND DUMBER than anything. The form of "dumbness"There's a fine line between dumb enough to make a hilarious movie, and so ridiculously dumb that it's hard to even let out a nervous laugh here and there. Though the original DUMB AND DUMBER was a good example of a former, this prequel is the perfect example of the latter. DUMB AND DUMBERER: WHEN HARRY MET LLOYD is more of an homage to DUMB AND DUMBER than anything. The form of "dumbness" isn't even similar to the original, there is no similar plot, and it looks like two truly-smart teenagers imitating the believable stupidity of Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels. All in all? This isn't worth watching. For fans of the original DUMB AND DUMBER, you'll begin to miss the real Jim Carrey because of the awful impersonations you'll find here. Collapse
  48. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    If you are like me then you will like this kind of humor. I don't see how some people didn't laugh in certain parts. This prequel has some funny moments.
  49. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    The Farrelly's didn't want to do this movie for fear it would diminish the quality of the original. It wasn't quite that bad thou. It had some really hysterical moments, and Hollywood chipped in with cameos (by Saget, Shia LaBouf, Cheri Oteri, Mimi Rogers, and Eugene Levy to name a few.) It most defiantly doesn't live up to the original, but surprisingly it wasn't terrible. Eric ChristianThe Farrelly's didn't want to do this movie for fear it would diminish the quality of the original. It wasn't quite that bad thou. It had some really hysterical moments, and Hollywood chipped in with cameos (by Saget, Shia LaBouf, Cheri Oteri, Mimi Rogers, and Eugene Levy to name a few.) It most defiantly doesn't live up to the original, but surprisingly it wasn't terrible. Eric Christian Olson does a terrific job as Lloyd, the story of how they met, as well as references to the original, and the cameos make this film worth seeing. It really isn't as bad as you might think it would be. Expand
  50. May 11, 2013
    1
    A toilet could write a better movie than this. First off, I usually like goofy comedies. I liked the original Dumb & Dumber. This one was just plain... Sorry that I have to use this word, but it was Retarded! Perhaps the worst comedy ever made. I think the guy who made this was just trying to see if something could be so stupid that it would break the laws of physics. It just mayA toilet could write a better movie than this. First off, I usually like goofy comedies. I liked the original Dumb & Dumber. This one was just plain... Sorry that I have to use this word, but it was Retarded! Perhaps the worst comedy ever made. I think the guy who made this was just trying to see if something could be so stupid that it would break the laws of physics. It just may have done that. Expand
  51. May 12, 2013
    4
    As a prequel, Dumb and Dumberer is the equal to a natural disaster. As your average teenage film (not to be taken seriously) I'd give it a nod. If you compare it to the first, I'll admit that this movie deserves hate. We all expected Carrey and Daniels to return with comical results. Olsen did a great job at playing Lloyd if that's any concillation while Richardson did a decent job asAs a prequel, Dumb and Dumberer is the equal to a natural disaster. As your average teenage film (not to be taken seriously) I'd give it a nod. If you compare it to the first, I'll admit that this movie deserves hate. We all expected Carrey and Daniels to return with comical results. Olsen did a great job at playing Lloyd if that's any concillation while Richardson did a decent job as Harry. The rest of the cast should have been replaced for their sleepy performances and while I admire Eugene Levy, he should stick to playing Jim's Dad. If you love crude jokes and short laughs, then dumb and dumberer should garner your vote. In other words, this film is a pretty harmless, pretty reckless tale with a few gags but very poor performances from much of the cast. Expand
  52. Jul 15, 2015
    1
    This flop is so bad its bad. I did not laugh once in this film, whereas in the first one my stomach hurt from laughing. Don't see this movie. Its NOTHING like the original.
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. 10
    To call it sophomoric would libel even the most pathetic, pimply underclassman.
  2. 20
    Levy, Luis Guzman, Cheri Oteri -- utterly wasted. At 82 minutes it feels longer than “Lawrence of Arabia” -- and a lot less funny.
  3. Long, lumbering and endlessly unfunny.