New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 8, 2000
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
11
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
This was real bad. When snails died and the lead actor went to his knees screaming noo, I was embarrased to be sitting through the performance.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Aug 29, 2005
Wow, what a movie! The acting was beyond anything I had seen before and the story was FANTASTIC! Forget the Lord of the Rings trilogy- this is what special effects should look like! On several occasions I had to rub my eyes in disbelief-the Wow, what a movie! The acting was beyond anything I had seen before and the story was FANTASTIC! Forget the Lord of the Rings trilogy- this is what special effects should look like! On several occasions I had to rub my eyes in disbelief-the dragons looked real! I'm amazed that such a talented actor like Jeremy Irons hasnt managed to slip up yet- Dungeons and Dragons is yet another jem in his filmography crown........brilliant. I also loved the costumes- they didnt take themselves too seriously and the locations- although very low budget and tacky, blew my mind! If I had to nominate just one film to take the title of 'Film of the Decade' it would be 'Mortal Kombat Anihilation' but 'Dungeons and Dragons' would be a close second!- Awesome. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
5
MovieLonely94Nov 6, 2010
a major disappointment for a video game adaptation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Orlynao1131Nov 20, 2011
It's so terrible it'sIt's so terrible it's funny............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
JiachiDec 14, 2005
This movie was/is poorly done. I'm not making fun of if it actually did have a low budget or anything, but come on. The acting stank, the script stank, money put into CGI effects had been much too heavily invested into the wrong ones, This movie was/is poorly done. I'm not making fun of if it actually did have a low budget or anything, but come on. The acting stank, the script stank, money put into CGI effects had been much too heavily invested into the wrong ones, and to top it all off, it was FAR off from the source material. The fact I even gave it a 1/10 is due to the *cough*fumes*cough laughing gas put off by this dung heap, and even there I am feeling like it being a bit too generous (fumes must be wearing off). I would say more, and even push into strong details, but it would be easier to simply tell you to look elsewhere if I have not convinced you of the scent it excreates. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GioR.Mar 5, 2006
This movie is only funny/cool if u have ur friends watching it with u making funny comments!!! If not, u can take it to the supreme court for cruel and unusual punishment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MonicaSep 6, 2006
The only film that I ever walked out on and demanded my money back. Just awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JBAug 11, 2006
I consider this the second worst film I have ever seen, next to the Garbage Pail Kids thing that was direct to video (when I was a kid). This is THE worst game to film adaptation of all time, bar none, and it's a genre filled with I consider this the second worst film I have ever seen, next to the Garbage Pail Kids thing that was direct to video (when I was a kid). This is THE worst game to film adaptation of all time, bar none, and it's a genre filled with mediocre crap. There is no acting in this film. None. It's like a bunch of high school students set up a V-8 cam and did improv to a D&D campaign of their own device. The music is dull and generic. The special effects are as cheesy as anything I have ever seen in CGI. The plot just isn't there, it isn't there at all, likely hiding in shame in one of those dungeons the heroes never really visit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobS.Aug 1, 2006
It was really cool. Not the best but cool. The specail effect were good in spite of everyone else's comments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
samtam90Apr 19, 2007
Pros: Jeremy Irons' performance, some D&D elements were nice, it's (quasi-)decent for an action/adventure movie Cons: everything else; basically, calling this a D&D movie is ridicolous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinG.Jan 23, 2008
I enjoyed the movie. It had the remnant redeeming qualities of a bad 80's sci-fi or fantasy movie, which I love. The story isn't terrible, the acting is pretty good (Save for Jeremy Irons completely overacted, even for a maniacal I enjoyed the movie. It had the remnant redeeming qualities of a bad 80's sci-fi or fantasy movie, which I love. The story isn't terrible, the acting is pretty good (Save for Jeremy Irons completely overacted, even for a maniacal genius, role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
Visually, this movie isn't the best of the kind. The plot, too, is stumbling along. But then again, why to complain? The characters are funny and not too obvious, the events take you with to a nice jolly ride. For the players, this movieVisually, this movie isn't the best of the kind. The plot, too, is stumbling along. But then again, why to complain? The characters are funny and not too obvious, the events take you with to a nice jolly ride. For the players, this movie tells no doubt more than to the random watchers like me. Like, the ending confuses me... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rox22Apr 19, 2013
There is very little good I can say about this movie. Acting on the whole is either very bad or too over the top (I?m looking at you Irons.) I will compliment the movie for at least trying to capture the Dungeon & Dragons atmosphere and lore,There is very little good I can say about this movie. Acting on the whole is either very bad or too over the top (I?m looking at you Irons.) I will compliment the movie for at least trying to capture the Dungeon & Dragons atmosphere and lore, and to be fair some of the creature effects are pretty decent. Set design and wardrobe also pretty top notch too. But regardless, this movie is just a huge steaming pile of dog crap. A real shame as you can see that the production crew were trying.

Overall:
A real, real shame. From the set pieces to the effects team it could have been great. But such a putrid script and piss poor acting from the cast, it can not be saved. I can not even say that its so bad that its good. No, its not. Its just bad. Period!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
orderedchaos010Feb 14, 2013
This is one of those movies that is so bad that it's awesome. The overacting is hilarious, the CG is laughably bad, and the characters are completely out of place for the setting. This is definitely worth watching if your looking for a badThis is one of those movies that is so bad that it's awesome. The overacting is hilarious, the CG is laughably bad, and the characters are completely out of place for the setting. This is definitely worth watching if your looking for a bad movie to laugh at and make fun of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews