Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 20, 2009
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
43
Mixed:
31
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
CarolynMMar 20, 2009
Twisty, turny, suspenseful, and very funny. Two hours long and never a dull moment. Good performances by everyone, and Paul Giamatti almost steals the show. Highly recommended!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesF.Apr 4, 2009
Duplicity starts about as well as a film can, with a fast pace, sharp, funny dialogue, a hilarious slow-mo satire of corporate cutthroats, and star chemistry between Julia Roberts and Clive Owen that you can only get as a gift from the gods. Duplicity starts about as well as a film can, with a fast pace, sharp, funny dialogue, a hilarious slow-mo satire of corporate cutthroats, and star chemistry between Julia Roberts and Clive Owen that you can only get as a gift from the gods. After that, however, things get increasingly dense and draggy, with the wrapup looking like it was chosen out of a hat as the finish we'd least like to see. All in all, worth seeing, and even reseeing, butonly forthose stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardWMar 23, 2009
Well-crafted, clever caper flick perfectly acted by a terrific ensemble.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
B.CainMar 22, 2009
Terrific movie - twists, suspense, romance, comedy. I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EarleWMar 22, 2009
The twists and turns of the plot are hard to follow at times,but the movie is ultimately saved by the chemistry and repartee between Julia Roberts and Clive Owen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SelinaMMay 2, 2009
This movie was not as hard to follow along as everyone says it was. The ending was spectacular. Absolutely unexpected. Julia Roberts was stunning as always and clive owen was convincing..I took a point off becuase chemisty wasn't all there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AveryC.Jul 18, 2009
This film lacks both action and emotional vulnerability; however, it has intelligence, charisma, charm, a good bit of wit, and narrative ingenuity. It's my favorite film of 2009, so far. I class it with films like 'Charade' This film lacks both action and emotional vulnerability; however, it has intelligence, charisma, charm, a good bit of wit, and narrative ingenuity. It's my favorite film of 2009, so far. I class it with films like 'Charade' and 'North by Northwest' more than with, say, The Bourne films or the Ocean's films (I'm a fan of all the movies I just listed). Owen and Roberts sparkle, and so the supporting cast is terrific. The movie is *about* cleverness and charm, so, to enjoy it, you sort of have to be into gloss and repartee. In other words, you have to like art that's a little bit artificial. It's not a work of visual symbolism. It's very american, and it require that you enjoy watching people who are sexier and more clever than you are. [This reviewer is thirty-nine, male, straight, upper middle class, has a Ph.D. in English, and loves the NFL and NBA.] Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VictoriaS.Jan 11, 2010
I absolutely adored it, so I'm mystified by the ton of negative comments. Sort of an update of Lubitsch's, admittedly far superior, "Trouble In Paradise," it's completely delightful and wonderfully adult. The point off is for I absolutely adored it, so I'm mystified by the ton of negative comments. Sort of an update of Lubitsch's, admittedly far superior, "Trouble In Paradise," it's completely delightful and wonderfully adult. The point off is for the occasional choppiness (I'm an getting so sick of non-sequential narratives) and Julia Roberts' limitations as an actress -- she's wonderful at just looking delighted, but not the world's greatest light comedienne. Still, a sparkling treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilippeMar 22, 2009
This movie is a practically perfect upbeat, light comedy. It's not a stroke of genius and it will not be an influence for decades to come, but for what it's worth it's entertainment at its best. And if you pay attention, This movie is a practically perfect upbeat, light comedy. It's not a stroke of genius and it will not be an influence for decades to come, but for what it's worth it's entertainment at its best. And if you pay attention, it's really not that confusing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TerrmanMar 23, 2009
The same things that make this movie good are the same ones that keep from being great - many twists and turns in the plot. Clever, but confusing. Fun, but you better pay attention. In a nut shell, I had to work a little to hard to keep up The same things that make this movie good are the same ones that keep from being great - many twists and turns in the plot. Clever, but confusing. Fun, but you better pay attention. In a nut shell, I had to work a little to hard to keep up with the story. And work is not something I go to the movies for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TDKinDallasMar 26, 2009
I thought this movie was great. There was only one scene in the whole movie that I had a problem with and usually I could go on and on about how stupid a movie is. This movie does require a brain to keep up with it so be warned before going I thought this movie was great. There was only one scene in the whole movie that I had a problem with and usually I could go on and on about how stupid a movie is. This movie does require a brain to keep up with it so be warned before going in. I was also afraid that this movie was going to stink because they have been showing previews forever so I was very happy that it lived up to the hype: direction, story, the entire cast, etc. Also, I actually would rate it an 8. I rated high because the movie deserves a little help in the ratings here on metacritic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HollyW.Mar 29, 2009
I don't know what is wrong with my fellow audience viewers. I loved this movie! The plot is twisty, complicated and challenging, but in a fun way. Owens and Roberts have a nice rhythm to their banter, and their mutual attraction I don't know what is wrong with my fellow audience viewers. I loved this movie! The plot is twisty, complicated and challenging, but in a fun way. Owens and Roberts have a nice rhythm to their banter, and their mutual attraction flavored with mutual mistrust makes theirs a complicated dance. We almost didn't see this movie because the trailers were pretty bad--they would lead one to believe there is little chemistry between the leads. But David Denby (New Yorker) has never steered me wrong, so we went to see it. So glad we did. Most enjoyable movie I've seen in a long time. But be sure to pay attention--don't nod off! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
tomcSep 22, 2009
This film has flaws, but it also has a lot of charm. It is not confusing. If you were confused by it, then either you're dumb or you simply have no attention span. It's no more complicated than most any suspense film by Hitchcock. This film has flaws, but it also has a lot of charm. It is not confusing. If you were confused by it, then either you're dumb or you simply have no attention span. It's no more complicated than most any suspense film by Hitchcock. If you can follow Hitchcock you can follow this. If you like Owen, Roberts, and any Cary Grant character who's a little gruff, you'll like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSMar 22, 2009
"You're unbelievable. You're un-****ing-believable...I've never had a DP act like this. You don't f***ing understand what it's like working with actors." This, of course, is a portion of the tirade that Christian "You're unbelievable. You're un-****ing-believable...I've never had a DP act like this. You don't f***ing understand what it's like working with actors." This, of course, is a portion of the tirade that Christian Bale unleashed on the hapless cinematographer whose crime, according to the actor, was "f***ing around in the background." In other words, the DP dared to exist. The behavior displayed by this real-life American psycho only confirmed what most of us already suspected about movie stars, that some of them are incorrigible egotists who live in their own bubble of self-importance. They use their agency like a license to treat the little people, the crew, like dirt. In "Duplicity", Clive Owen and Julia Roberts stop being Ray Koval and Claire Steinwick in a self-reflexive scene that makes an allusion to their profession. The motel bedroom is transformed into a set, in which the two stars handhold scripts while rehearsing their respective character's lines. Bantering and looking good bantering, the intelligence officers carry an air of invincibility, each lost in his/her own elevated world of mutual sexiness. At one point, Claire asks, "Are you directing me?" Nobody else exists. So they think. This scene informs an earlier one, where Ray orders his colleagues around with blunt aplomb for the especial purpose of servicing Claire. In retrospect, Ray's brusque commandeering sounds analogous to an actor badgering the crew. "Duplicity", ultimately, works as a sort of deconstruction of the relationship between a director and his stars. The film takes the agency away from the stars and hands it over to the subordinates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesH.Mar 29, 2009
For once, the critics have got it right and the audience has got it wrong. This is a fantastic movie. A complete stunner. It's so beautifully complex and greatly put together and just an all round incredible movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicJun 20, 2011
How is this film so misunderstood? It's brilliant.

Duplicity is the flip side of writer/director Gilroy's somber Michael Clayton - a charming, adult corporate-espionage comedy that takes place in the high-stakes world of personal hygiene
How is this film so misunderstood? It's brilliant.

Duplicity is the flip side of writer/director Gilroy's somber Michael Clayton - a charming, adult corporate-espionage comedy that takes place in the high-stakes world of personal hygiene products.

This is a throwback movie in the style of To Catch a Thief, one that asks you to follow a complex plot without apologizing for it, and one which had me grinning from ear to ear through its entirety. As convoluted as it is, the plot is really inconsequential, as its stars carry the bulk of the charm this film has to offer. Instead of Cary Grant and Grace Kelly we get Clive Owen and Julia Roberts, and the two stars are a perfect fit together, with an easy chemistry and sparkling sexuality that is really the engine that runs Gilroy's ship. It's a blast to see a real adult movie in this day and age that has two romantic leads past the age of 40. Roberts is still beautiful and sexy, and her age just enhances the natural intelligence she always exuded. This is her best, most fun performance since Erin Brokovich. And as much as I love Daniel Craig in the role, we all know Clive Owen was born to play James Bond. In this film, he's delightfully roguish and sexy, but seemingly always a step or two behind Roberts' character. And George Clooney better look out if he wants to keep the title of "Best-looking Leading Man in a Suit."

This is the kind of movie that has agents passing secret information back and forth, others trying to lose tails, and even more eavesdropping on private conversations with hi-tech gadgets. Owens and Roberts are never quite sure of one another even while they're falling in love, and the main running joke through the movie is that they don't trust one another at all - and keep testing the other to prove their loyalty - or duplicity.

It co-stars Tom Wilkinson and Paul Giamatti as the rival CEOs, and features a great two-scene performance by the very likable and funny Carrie Preston as a hapless travel agent who is taken in by Owens' charms. Tony Gilroy has become one of my favorite film makers of the last few years. He was an A-list screenwriter for quite awhile, with credits that include Dolores Claiborne, Armageddon, Proof of Life and the Jason Bourne movies. As a director he's done Michael Clayton and now Duplicity, and is obviously a hell of a talent. Like in his previous film, Gilroy jumps back and forth with the timeline until we're thoroughly, happily confused. And in a film that has double-crosses upon double-crosses, he throws a final triple-cross at us that we certainly do not see coming and throws the genres' conventions for a loop! Duplicity is a great film, period.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews