IFC Films | Release Date: April 1, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
1
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JamesM.Apr 30, 2005
Best thing to come out of the theaters so far this year! Everything is rolled together into an hugely entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaryD.Apr 10, 2005
The material is worth a 10. The event is unique, the characters are unique, the scenes are breathtaking. Go see the film. Enjoy it. But the film is over-produced and over-edited, MTV-syle, jumping from one take to another every two or three The material is worth a 10. The event is unique, the characters are unique, the scenes are breathtaking. Go see the film. Enjoy it. But the film is over-produced and over-edited, MTV-syle, jumping from one take to another every two or three seconds. This race is about Endurance - pushing as hard as you can, through treacherous and unforgiving ground or sand, for hour after hour. But almost all of the action shots only last two to five seconds: watch a car or bike go zoom through the frame, and cut to an "up close and personal" interview with a talking head. It's a rush, of course, but it's not really true to the material. I would love to see the unedited footage - or footage edited more gently - from that event. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcC.Apr 1, 2005
This is the best Offroad movie to date. Thanks to Dana Brown for making a film about my favorite past time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronS.Apr 1, 2005
An unfocused meathead mythology.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuM.Jan 6, 2007
After reading many of the professional reviews, I felt I just chime in. It may in fact be difficult for someone who has never Off Roaded, Dirt Biked, or rode a 4 Wheeler to connect with this movie the way it was intended. But if you have After reading many of the professional reviews, I felt I just chime in. It may in fact be difficult for someone who has never Off Roaded, Dirt Biked, or rode a 4 Wheeler to connect with this movie the way it was intended. But if you have ever done any of these things, WOW, you are going to love it. They have captured the heart pounding struggle, including each small victory as well as defeats and relayed that to us. That three way fight between you, machine, and of course nature. It is a fight each person fights alone, inside them, but with the support of team mates and the competition as well. I couldn't help being emotional watching the action paired with the pounding soundtrack and excellent narration. Gripping! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RochelleM.Apr 28, 2005
Awesome movie! The entire theater was hootin & hollerin! I haven't sat and watched a movie, in a theater, in a very long time where the audience was all about the movie! Great job!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JP.Jul 5, 2007
Fantastic action scenes tainted by cliched narration and bombastic music. All in all an exciting look at a crazy event. The footage included as an extra is excellent, including scenes from one motorcycle-mounted cameraman who breaks his hand Fantastic action scenes tainted by cliched narration and bombastic music. All in all an exciting look at a crazy event. The footage included as an extra is excellent, including scenes from one motorcycle-mounted cameraman who breaks his hand and continues to ride a brutal trail. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffereyC.Mar 31, 2005
This film is magical. a native of baja california, i appreciate its authentic message and values-centered themes that are starkly contrasted with commercial, capitalist priorities just across the border.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brents.Mar 31, 2005
Amazing and best of all its REAL which most of all hollywood lacks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanD.Apr 24, 2005
A little over-edited but still a great film. If you like any type of motorsports, you'll like this film. Regardless of what some people like Village Voice say, this movie is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeJun 27, 2005
Best baja movie ever! Nothing comes close ex actually being there!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilM.May 29, 2006
I did the '78 and '81 Baja 1000 and it brought a lot of memories back. It's about as well done as anything I can imagine. Capturing the true essence of that race on film is near impossible--but Dana did a helluva job!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertCFeb 28, 2007
The best of the best. Nothing can top the movie/doc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maxp.Mar 31, 2005
Unreal! actually very real!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jeffm.Mar 31, 2005
Some people just know real drama any more because they watch to much reality TV . and other people from the city (Village Voice ) just dont get the dirt and probly never will. for the rest this movie is a true adventure , a real one people Some people just know real drama any more because they watch to much reality TV . and other people from the city (Village Voice ) just dont get the dirt and probly never will. for the rest this movie is a true adventure , a real one people due just to say they beat Baja. and city dwellers will never feel the thrill of the "dust and the glory" like the agony of defeat and the thrill of victory against mother nature and the battle of baja. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Apr 19, 2005
Great movie! Great editing and music. This movie will make you want to see the race in person. Thanks to everyone involved in making this film possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ToyTecL.Apr 29, 2005
This is a movie that will get mixed reviews because of the type of film it is. If you like action with reality, this is it! Great job of showing what it is really like to race all out for 1000 miles! Not something the "average Joe" can do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonRApr 29, 2005
Love it. Did the race ten years ago and it broughtback all the memories." I need to go back" is what I told my wife when she asked how it was. Maybe a little too much motor cycles and not enough trophy trucks and other four wheel classes. If Love it. Did the race ten years ago and it broughtback all the memories." I need to go back" is what I told my wife when she asked how it was. Maybe a little too much motor cycles and not enough trophy trucks and other four wheel classes. If you have never been there this is as close as it gets. Rock on! Gone back to see it again. Ron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful