DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: September 26, 2008
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 168 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
101
Mixed:
46
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JanP.Oct 6, 2008
It's a good thing I never listen to film reviewers. Top notch film. LaBoeuf is engaging and the story is probably far more plausible than most of us actually know. I laughed. I cried. I was thrilled by the action. And the story gave It's a good thing I never listen to film reviewers. Top notch film. LaBoeuf is engaging and the story is probably far more plausible than most of us actually know. I laughed. I cried. I was thrilled by the action. And the story gave pause for some reflection. What more could you ask? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimothyTAug 16, 2009
Sure, it wasn't believable, but since when does that make a great action flick? Eagle Eye is an incredibly fast paced movie that lasts for a solid two hours and doesn't disappoint.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MichaelRJan 9, 2009
No worth renting at all. Not creative &I couldn't wait for it to be over.It was ridiculous and not believable at all.I forced myself to watch & hoped the ending would make sense of everything but it didn't.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
I didn't like this movie. it was scary and boring.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
Eagle eyes was a lot like Enemy of the State with Will Smith. Labuff is no Will Smith. Otherwise the movie is at least entertaining but does get a little far fetched at times (I know what's far fetched about a giant computer controllingEagle eyes was a lot like Enemy of the State with Will Smith. Labuff is no Will Smith. Otherwise the movie is at least entertaining but does get a little far fetched at times (I know what's far fetched about a giant computer controlling multiple peoples movements?). Outside of the crazy moments the movie was actually very entertaining and kept me interested. Not an amazing movie but over all entertaining and exciting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HasanK.Jan 10, 2009
Easy watching, nice entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HamishMOct 2, 2008
I thought this movie was absolutely amazing. It had action and suspense and kept you on the edge of your seat. I love movies where the main characters always seem to be in immediate danger, and Eagle Eye had a lot of that. The acting was I thought this movie was absolutely amazing. It had action and suspense and kept you on the edge of your seat. I love movies where the main characters always seem to be in immediate danger, and Eagle Eye had a lot of that. The acting was excellent, and Shia's just getting better in each movie that he's in. A couple scenes were a little unrealistic, but overall, the action and excitement that made the movie so entertaining, allowed people to push the unrealistic parts aside. Plenty of people have been saying that the ending wasn't "good enough" or it should have been better. I disagree. I think that the "good guys" won, even though plenty of people refer to them as the "bad guys". Having a main character die at the end would have added something more, but I think that the ending was good too. If you kill off a lead character, someone's going to be mad and then none of the women fans would buy the DVD! Overall, I think this movie was sweet. It had great acting, awesome action, kept you on the edge of your seat, and added a little bit of suspense. I would recommend it to anyone who likes action or suspense movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreiPOct 5, 2008
I have no idea what the critics are thinking. This movie was entertaining from start to finish. Why is everyone saying that its not believable? Is Terminator, or Heroes, or LOST believable? Why is this movie supposed to be believable? but I have no idea what the critics are thinking. This movie was entertaining from start to finish. Why is everyone saying that its not believable? Is Terminator, or Heroes, or LOST believable? Why is this movie supposed to be believable? but even if, we talked about its believability, I would say that it "could" be possible. Who knows what kind of stuff the government keeps secret. I strongly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SanTiannaSJan 4, 2009
I give this movie a 10,000,000 because the movie has grrreat suspense and it kept me on the edge of my seat! the movie was so good my grandma loved it and she cant even hear! i think this movie should have get all of the credit that they I give this movie a 10,000,000 because the movie has grrreat suspense and it kept me on the edge of my seat! the movie was so good my grandma loved it and she cant even hear! i think this movie should have get all of the credit that they deserve plus more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuanA.Oct 1, 2008
This movie, surprisingly, was a lot better than most professional reviews lead on. Is this a must see movie? No, but it's a cool movie that I would recommend seeing if the previews catch your eyes.. it's definitely better than all This movie, surprisingly, was a lot better than most professional reviews lead on. Is this a must see movie? No, but it's a cool movie that I would recommend seeing if the previews catch your eyes.. it's definitely better than all the reviews I've seen. Granted, there are some corny parts, or events that you may think would've gone down differently, but it doesn't take away from the fact that this is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZackaryS.Oct 7, 2008
I really liked this movie i will buy it the day it comes out. only part i didn't really like was the ending. it was worst then i am legends ending... which is why i dock it 2 points. you should still check it out though
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillP.Sep 26, 2008
This movie is what it is supposed to be, an action movie about two people, forced to obey a voice who threatens to kill them while they try to learn more about the voice. The movie loses a little of its luster in a cheesy twist, making the This movie is what it is supposed to be, an action movie about two people, forced to obey a voice who threatens to kill them while they try to learn more about the voice. The movie loses a little of its luster in a cheesy twist, making the voice into an omnitent computer. The movie recovers at the end when, although the computer is "killed," the pieces are already in play and we get to see how the story could have played out had the "voice" really been somebody. The movie is saved by the slight depth and emotional angst provided in between the car chases and Billy Bob Thornton, who perfectly fit into his role. You will get exactly what you pay for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankV.Sep 26, 2008
Viewers who never saw the films this one... homages, will find good acting and a plot that miraculously came together in the end. Despite all the criticism I find it one of the few movies that are successful with this kind of plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartinF.Sep 27, 2008
Did not like the typical Hollywood propaganda showing that terrorists attack us because we killed the wrong people which are the same ones they routinely kill to terrorize the population. Do these writers think we are all as stupid as they may be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonG.Sep 27, 2008
Absolutely no redeeming qualities. Every scene is a rip-off of other movies. It's like the makers of Epic Movie and Date Movie suddenly started making action flicks. Just watch Enemy of the State, North By Northwest, The Fugitive, and Absolutely no redeeming qualities. Every scene is a rip-off of other movies. It's like the makers of Epic Movie and Date Movie suddenly started making action flicks. Just watch Enemy of the State, North By Northwest, The Fugitive, and Die Hard instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CodyHSep 28, 2008
Really enjoyable, lots of action and a plot following multiple paths that all come together in the end. Shia is great as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JudyT.Sep 28, 2008
Yes, it ripped off a lot of other movies, but don't most. Hollywood hasn't come up with an original idea in a long time with the exception of Burn After Reading. But this movie was a lot of fun to watch and cements LeBoeuf as a Yes, it ripped off a lot of other movies, but don't most. Hollywood hasn't come up with an original idea in a long time with the exception of Burn After Reading. But this movie was a lot of fun to watch and cements LeBoeuf as a plausible leading man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronM.Sep 30, 2008
I enjoyed it a lot. It's everything you expect it to be, a thrill-ride. A solid action picture, which is more than I can say about a lot of this year's releases.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillKJan 10, 2009
I really liked this movie... and I think the acting done by Shia LaBeouf and Michelle Monaghan was done really well. (Plus, Shia is a very, very good looking young man!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KendraP.Nov 17, 2008
I think the director had a very clear and firm picture in his/her mind but had a hard time of conveying the picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamC.Oct 12, 2008
Saw this in IMAX format. The movie was loud, fast-paced, insane action from start to finish. The premise was entirely possible, however, the way the villain in the movie was portrayed was a bit outlandish. This movie did not have many slow Saw this in IMAX format. The movie was loud, fast-paced, insane action from start to finish. The premise was entirely possible, however, the way the villain in the movie was portrayed was a bit outlandish. This movie did not have many slow spots. It's sort of like a rollercoaster ride from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GladysNov 4, 2008
Action packed! Definitely has enough for a mixed male and female audience. Very entertaining, definitely got my monies worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexR.Oct 18, 2008
One thing I really hate about some of the "reviewers" scores is they base it upon realism, whether high-grossing actors are in the movie or not, and originality. Things like that shouldn't be taken too seriously. One example: The Dark One thing I really hate about some of the "reviewers" scores is they base it upon realism, whether high-grossing actors are in the movie or not, and originality. Things like that shouldn't be taken too seriously. One example: The Dark Night, one of the highest rated movies this year. But DC mainly just made the comic into a movie (so it's not entirely original), and really is realism perfect in THAT movie? The point is I'm trying to make is that some reviewers can't take a breather and just plain enjoy the movie. Which comes to my review of the movie in one word to describe it all: awesome. The action is excellent, the story will make you think throughout, the actors do their roles very well, and overall it's a great thriller. I honestly think this is one action movie that is definitely worth checking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.Oct 2, 2008
By far this is one of the best action adventure movies I've seen. Critics are failed artists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeG.Oct 23, 2008
I recently went to the theaters and viewed a film titled Eagle Eye, directed by D J Caruso starring actors Shia Lebeouf and Billy Bob Thorton. Eagle Eye is a very action packed movie from beginning to end, there are action scenes. The whole I recently went to the theaters and viewed a film titled Eagle Eye, directed by D J Caruso starring actors Shia Lebeouf and Billy Bob Thorton. Eagle Eye is a very action packed movie from beginning to end, there are action scenes. The whole plot is a bit strange. A man and a woman were destined to help the country by stopping a terrorist attack. They did succeed in stopping this attempt in a series of action packed scenes. I have to admit the film was very exciting. The main character is given a series of steps to follow and it seems like every time he listens to the advice he turns out okay. He continues to listen. The film felt like a psychological movie much like The Matrix. When I realized all the directions being given to laBeouf come from a computer program controlling the nation, I became more critical of the film. Some of the fictional aspects don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottA.Oct 24, 2008
The movie is great if you want to get your mind out of your life and see something that will keep you at the edge of your seat. For the critic reviews, if you saw a movie that was 100% realistic, we'd hear you whining that it was "too" The movie is great if you want to get your mind out of your life and see something that will keep you at the edge of your seat. For the critic reviews, if you saw a movie that was 100% realistic, we'd hear you whining that it was "too" realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanE.Oct 4, 2008
Good action movie and was fun to see! Go see this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BradS.Oct 4, 2008
A fun movie despite all the flaws described by the critics. Yes, you'll have to swallow a healthy dose of 'suspension of disbelief' potion. Isn't that true of just about any action movie? I enjoyed trying to figure out A fun movie despite all the flaws described by the critics. Yes, you'll have to swallow a healthy dose of 'suspension of disbelief' potion. Isn't that true of just about any action movie? I enjoyed trying to figure out what was really going on: by the time it was revealed I was pretty close but not exactly on target. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BruceH.Oct 5, 2008
If you're under 25 and accustomed to action without meaning, then this mediocre film will satsify. This movie is unnecessarily derivative--I kept flashing back to Enemy of the State, I Robot, and even Mission: Impossible. If you have If you're under 25 and accustomed to action without meaning, then this mediocre film will satsify. This movie is unnecessarily derivative--I kept flashing back to Enemy of the State, I Robot, and even Mission: Impossible. If you have ever actually bothered to see a good film rather than just a popular one, then this film will leave you wishing that you could have your two hours back. Special effects do not equal substance. I am willing to suspend reality a little bit, but the power line scene and many others are so ridiculous that I could not imagine what the writer/director was thinking. Probably something like: "Let's see how stupid we can be and still get some people to give us 10 stars on Metacritic." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregJ.Oct 8, 2008
I don't know why most of the critics banned it. Yes, it was a bit preposterous (as many movies today are) but it was what movies SHOULD BE --- entertaining. I thought it's "cross between the book 1984 and the movie 2001" was pretty I don't know why most of the critics banned it. Yes, it was a bit preposterous (as many movies today are) but it was what movies SHOULD BE --- entertaining. I thought it's "cross between the book 1984 and the movie 2001" was pretty intriging, not to mention some great chase scenes and action sequences! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful