Eagle Eye

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 157
  2. Negative: 16 out of 157

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BitBurn
    Dec 28, 2008
    6
    I thought it was slightly crappy here and there, still alright for a Sunday afternoon rental but definitely not a Saturday rental.
  2. JayH.
    Dec 21, 2008
    6
    In spite of a very far fetched plot, it cerainly is imagionative. The rapid pace of the film keeps it together and Shia La Beouf and Michelle Monaghan do a fine job. Well produced, great special effects. Exciting.
  3. Dan
    Dec 24, 2008
    6
    Decent acting, well-staged action, semi-interesting plot, but too full of glaring holes. I give it a 6 for at least trying to entertain.
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    Eagle eyes was a lot like Enemy of the State with Will Smith. Labuff is no Will Smith. Otherwise the movie is at least entertaining but does get a little far fetched at times (I know what's far fetched about a giant computer controlling multiple peoples movements?). Outside of the crazy moments the movie was actually very entertaining and kept me interested. Not an amazing movie but overEagle eyes was a lot like Enemy of the State with Will Smith. Labuff is no Will Smith. Otherwise the movie is at least entertaining but does get a little far fetched at times (I know what's far fetched about a giant computer controlling multiple peoples movements?). Outside of the crazy moments the movie was actually very entertaining and kept me interested. Not an amazing movie but over all entertaining and exciting. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    6
    DJ Caruso knows how to pace and direct an action film. However he has no idea how to infuse an action film with any semblance of emotion or character. Eagle Eye gets by because the action is enjoyable and the leads do their job well. However if they werenâ
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    Eagle Eye is a blast to watch.
    The movie is long but entertaining, it stays at a solid pace and doesn't let up. The performances are average, the script is good, and the overall movie is impressive.
  7. JoeG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    I recently went to the theaters and viewed a film titled Eagle Eye, directed by D J Caruso starring actors Shia Lebeouf and Billy Bob Thorton. Eagle Eye is a very action packed movie from beginning to end, there are action scenes. The whole plot is a bit strange. A man and a woman were destined to help the country by stopping a terrorist attack. They did succeed in stopping this attempt I recently went to the theaters and viewed a film titled Eagle Eye, directed by D J Caruso starring actors Shia Lebeouf and Billy Bob Thorton. Eagle Eye is a very action packed movie from beginning to end, there are action scenes. The whole plot is a bit strange. A man and a woman were destined to help the country by stopping a terrorist attack. They did succeed in stopping this attempt in a series of action packed scenes. I have to admit the film was very exciting. The main character is given a series of steps to follow and it seems like every time he listens to the advice he turns out okay. He continues to listen. The film felt like a psychological movie much like The Matrix. When I realized all the directions being given to laBeouf come from a computer program controlling the nation, I became more critical of the film. Some of the fictional aspects don Expand
  8. ChadS.
    Sep 28, 2008
    5
    [***SPOILER***] Dude sounds like a lady; the voice on the phone, Hal, reborn as a female super-computer(Halle), who keeps Jerry(Shia LeBeouf), then Rachel(Michelle Monaghan), alive, as "Eagle Eye", a live-action cartoon that borrows liberally from Stanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey, among others, updates the tradition of the person in peril who answers pay phones for pertinent [***SPOILER***] Dude sounds like a lady; the voice on the phone, Hal, reborn as a female super-computer(Halle), who keeps Jerry(Shia LeBeouf), then Rachel(Michelle Monaghan), alive, as "Eagle Eye", a live-action cartoon that borrows liberally from Stanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey, among others, updates the tradition of the person in peril who answers pay phones for pertinent information about his next move. Back in the day, the hero would run from phone booth to phone booth to receive his directive from some guy who tracked his target without the benefit of a grid. He probably had a strong pair of binoculars. That was old school. This is the new school, and for my money, "Eagle Eye" is just too chaotic for its own good. The thriller can be described as "The End of Violence"(Wim Wenders) meets "Shoot 'Em Up(Michael Davis). Whatever social commentary about the Patriot Act this filmmaker proposes to make, gets upstaged, time after time, by overblown action set pieces, like a short attention span theater of the absurd. In a nutshell, "Eagle Eye" is George Orwell gone retarded. This dystopia, an extrapolation on the intrustion that technology plays in our lives, hardly disturbs, just like how a video game is more of an outlet for visceral thrills than a means to provoke thought. It's pure escapism, which is an irony of sorts, since there is no escape from the government these days. Expand
  9. HyperS.
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    Unremitting bombardment of implausibility for your science fiction viewing. Non-stop action means there is some entertainment to be had, but the movie needed to take place in the year 2075 to be believable.
  10. MichaelR
    Jan 9, 2009
    4
    No worth renting at all. Not creative &I couldn't wait for it to be over.It was ridiculous and not believable at all.I forced myself to watch & hoped the ending would make sense of everything but it didn't.
  11. KevinG
    Dec 27, 2008
    4
    Although visually pleasing, this movie was just one rip off after another. The first half rips off the matrix, as can be seen in the trailer. In fact, that's why I saw it, to bolster my love for the matrix by being able to say "yeah! even the first 10 minutes of the matrix is an idea someone can make an entire movie from! Just watch eagle eye!" And it worked decently as that for a Although visually pleasing, this movie was just one rip off after another. The first half rips off the matrix, as can be seen in the trailer. In fact, that's why I saw it, to bolster my love for the matrix by being able to say "yeah! even the first 10 minutes of the matrix is an idea someone can make an entire movie from! Just watch eagle eye!" And it worked decently as that for a while which is why I gave this movie even a 4. But then suddenly making it turn out it was a smart super computer just ends up ripping off 2001 with HAL, and for that matter, every other ghost in the machine movie or tv show episode or whatever. It was just an incredibly uncreative move in the plot line that I could only walk away from the movie theater in disappointment. Expand
  12. Dec 25, 2015
    4
    "Eagle Eye" was a movie filled with action and suspense but a bit boring , worst of this performance is more **** of the world , Shia LaBeouf , Transformers since his arrest until we miss a great contempt for everyone , but for this film I have another opinion.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. A brain-squandering thriller.
  2. Good, manic fun plus a heavy dose of political intrigue adding up to two hours of clamorous, mind-numbing nonsense.
  3. 40
    From tepid start to laughable middle to thudding finish (and the final two minutes smack of a reshoot), it's nothing but a herky-jerky clusterfuck of noise and nonsense.