Eagle Eye

Eagle Eye Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the fast-paced race-against-time-thriller, Eagle Eye, two strangers become the pawns of a mysterious woman they have never met, but who seems to know their every move. Realizing they are being used to further her diabolical plot, they must work together to outwit the woman before she hasIn the fast-paced race-against-time-thriller, Eagle Eye, two strangers become the pawns of a mysterious woman they have never met, but who seems to know their every move. Realizing they are being used to further her diabolical plot, they must work together to outwit the woman before she has them killed. (Paramount Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    80
    A fun techno romp, mixing great bang for your buck with insights into the dangers of restricting civil liberties. Now, anyone for Shia killing blondes dressed as his dead mother?
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    63
    A movie only a copyright lawyer could love. It strip-mines at least three Hitchcock classics - "North by Northwest," "The Wrong Man," and "The Man Who Knew Too Much" - then commits unlawful assault on Stanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey" just for the heck of it.
  3. Monaghan gives a solid performance, and Billy Bob Thornton has sarcastically funny bits as an FBI agent.
  4. The movie doesn't have three brain cells to rub together, but the premise carries it a long way.
  5. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    45
    Idiotic, if reasonably kinetic, Eagle Eye -- in which Shia LaBeouf and Michelle Monaghan spend the better part of two hours urgently answering phone calls and dodging hurtling machinery -- is every bit as over-edited as it is under-thunk.
  6. See, everyone complains about humans in movies but no one does anything about it, so it fell to Eagle Eye to make everything laughably, ridiculously fake.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 67
  2. Negative: 7 out of 67
  1. TimothyT
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    Sure, it wasn't believable, but since when does that make a great action flick? Eagle Eye is an incredibly fast paced movie that lasts Sure, it wasn't believable, but since when does that make a great action flick? Eagle Eye is an incredibly fast paced movie that lasts for a solid two hours and doesn't disappoint. Expand
  2. TomG.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    By far this is one of the best action adventure movies I've seen. Critics are failed artists.
  3. BillK
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    I really liked this movie... and I think the acting done by Shia LaBeouf and Michelle Monaghan was done really well. (Plus, Shia is a very, I really liked this movie... and I think the acting done by Shia LaBeouf and Michelle Monaghan was done really well. (Plus, Shia is a very, very good looking young man!) Expand
  4. GregJ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    I don't know why most of the critics banned it. Yes, it was a bit preposterous (as many movies today are) but it was what movies SHOULD I don't know why most of the critics banned it. Yes, it was a bit preposterous (as many movies today are) but it was what movies SHOULD BE --- entertaining. I thought it's "cross between the book 1984 and the movie 2001" was pretty intriging, not to mention some great chase scenes and action sequences! Collapse
  5. BradA.
    Jan 25, 2009
    7
    It really grabs you for the first 2 thirds of the movie. I personally feel that it could have been much better without the last 3rd. It was It really grabs you for the first 2 thirds of the movie. I personally feel that it could have been much better without the last 3rd. It was just stupid. I know that isn't an excellent review but there really is no other way to describe it. I enjoyed the film, the last bit didn't ruin the movie...it was just stupid. Plain and simple. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    6
    DJ Caruso knows how to pace and direct an action film. However he has no idea how to infuse an action film with any semblance of emotion orDJ Caruso knows how to pace and direct an action film. However he has no idea how to infuse an action film with any semblance of emotion or character. Eagle Eye gets by because the action is enjoyable and the leads do their job well. However if they werenâ Expand
  7. JasonG.
    Sep 27, 2008
    1
    Absolutely no redeeming qualities. Every scene is a rip-off of other movies. It's like the makers of Epic Movie and Date Movie suddenly Absolutely no redeeming qualities. Every scene is a rip-off of other movies. It's like the makers of Epic Movie and Date Movie suddenly started making action flicks. Just watch Enemy of the State, North By Northwest, The Fugitive, and Die Hard instead. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.