Miramax Films | Release Date: June 15, 2007
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 31 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
2
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BlancoA.Jun 16, 2007
Laren Horsley, as the Dangerous Person, is a really pleasant surprise. It's definitely reminiscent of the charms of Napoleon Dynamite, but it also has hints of Muriel's Wedding - the whole New Zealand, Pacific Island weirdness. Laren Horsley, as the Dangerous Person, is a really pleasant surprise. It's definitely reminiscent of the charms of Napoleon Dynamite, but it also has hints of Muriel's Wedding - the whole New Zealand, Pacific Island weirdness. It's a "little" movie, but worth seeing by all means. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenSep 9, 2007
It's not the laughs that get you, but the package in general. It's a sweet tale that refuses to take itself to seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeK.Aug 19, 2007
Jemaine, from Flight of the Conchords, was awesome in this movie. Really quirky.. much better than Napoleon Dynamite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkS.Jun 25, 2007
I was initially apprehensive about seeing this film due to the mixed ratings, but a 5-star review from Film Threat (oddly not included on Metacritic which usually includes them) helped turn me around and give it a chance. I found it to be a I was initially apprehensive about seeing this film due to the mixed ratings, but a 5-star review from Film Threat (oddly not included on Metacritic which usually includes them) helped turn me around and give it a chance. I found it to be a cute, fun movie that is funny, but not gut-bustingly so. The romance is nice and cute, but never chick-flick illogical. It's simply a nice tale of a couple of amusingly odd and awkward people who fall in love. Comparisons to Napoleon Dynamite make sense, but are not entirely appropriate. It's more like an entire world of people who have the same sort of unrealistic awkwardness of Napoleon, but without any real people to play them off of. I, and everyone I was with, enjoyed it thoroughly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertJul 24, 2007
I really enjoyed this film. The direction, screen play, acting, and music were all wonderful and I laughed continually. As the film progresses, the character study of Jarrod becomes deeper and, while you still laugh at his ridiculous I really enjoyed this film. The direction, screen play, acting, and music were all wonderful and I laughed continually. As the film progresses, the character study of Jarrod becomes deeper and, while you still laugh at his ridiculous pretensions, you begin to pity him as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 13, 2010
Comedy from New Zealand about a relationship between two "losers".
It's quirky, sweet & some nice laughs.
Did remind me of Napoleon Dynamite in parts but probably not as funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushOct 4, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/eagle-vs-shark.html#comments

Eagle Vs. Shark one of my favorite movies and perhaps one of the most awkward movies to date. To get the gist of this movie think of Napoleon Dynamite...not make it with
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/eagle-vs-shark.html#comments

Eagle Vs. Shark one of my favorite movies and perhaps one of the most awkward movies to date. To get the gist of this movie think of Napoleon Dynamite...not make it with New Zealand accents. There you go! Basically Eagle Vs. Shark is the New Zealand Napoleon Dynamite...with a semi story and with half of Flight of the Concords backing it up. Now personally I loved Napoleon although I know countless people who hated it. So therefore my opinion of this movie is going to be fairly high statistically...and stats are right. I give this a 4.5 out of 5 This movie may be awkward but by the end you'll love the awkwardness and the characters in one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
harelocoApr 7, 2012
The only thing that makes this movie similar to Napoleon Dynamite is its socially awkward characters. Beyond that, this movie is deeply endearing and has a heart. Loren Horsley was especially good in her portrayal of an emotionally shieldedThe only thing that makes this movie similar to Napoleon Dynamite is its socially awkward characters. Beyond that, this movie is deeply endearing and has a heart. Loren Horsley was especially good in her portrayal of an emotionally shielded character who only dropped those shields with the one person she truly trusted with her feelings -- her brother. I found her character and performance touching and thought that it carried the movie above and beyond just being a story about awkward characters. Without the emotional presence her performance brought, I would have just found most of the characters pathetic and the movie on par with Napoleon Dynamite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NZVideosMay 11, 2012
It all begins with Lily, a lonely oddball and fast-food waitress who happens to be a hopeless romantic. Then there's Jarrod, the man of Lily's dreams, another lonely oddball and video game clerk, who has spent the last decade plottingIt all begins with Lily, a lonely oddball and fast-food waitress who happens to be a hopeless romantic. Then there's Jarrod, the man of Lily's dreams, another lonely oddball and video game clerk, who has spent the last decade plotting ultimate vengeance on a bully from his high school past. When these two connect at a "dress as your favorite animal" party, it's a match that seems made in outcast heaven, but when Lily decides to risk everything for love, her hopes are nearly dashed. In summary: "There's someone out there for everyone". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SummersausageJan 16, 2013
This movie is so good. It is shot without any budget and it was so fun and dry black comedy. It makes me think about Napoleon Dynamite but a lot better and touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGFeb 4, 2016
Much like the awkward animal courtship this fairy tale story presents, Eagle vs Shark well display as confusing for some. It may be hard to understand and it's frustrating that the two protagonists don't click immediately, the sentimentalMuch like the awkward animal courtship this fairy tale story presents, Eagle vs Shark well display as confusing for some. It may be hard to understand and it's frustrating that the two protagonists don't click immediately, the sentimental message of two humans wishing to act anything is weaved beautifully however as you watch them flock and fade apart and form back together again. It's mesmerising, like a hilarious documentary about an unlikely bond which in turn becomes more likely as you go deeper into their pasts. Taika Waititi is a craftsmen of the bizarre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews