Earth to Echo

Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Osmond
    Jul 21, 2014
    80
    Does for "E.T." what "Super 8" did for "Close Encounters." As lovably '80s as Reece's Pieces and pop socks.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jul 2, 2014
    78
    Despite the shaky-cam aesthetic, Dave Green’s first feature still makes for a brisk, appealing adventure capably anchored by four young actors.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jul 2, 2014
    75
    An exceptionally fine children's film.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    Green and his cast deliver a wonderful surprise. Echo himself, a generically precious alien, is the least of it. The funny, moving, authentic bond among the kids in the movie is the unadvertised draw.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    Earth to Echo is about adventure, bravery and excitement, but mostly it's about friendship— a subject that resonates with audiences of all ages.
  6. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jul 3, 2014
    74
    It’s not exceedingly original, it is well-made and a solid entry into the subgenre.
  7. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jul 8, 2014
    70
    The filmmakers wanted to broaden the formula a little, make it more inclusive, do something a little adventurous. Kinda like Earth to Echo's tween heroes.
  8. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jun 29, 2014
    70
    Attractively made, good-hearted, and more than a little redundant even as it's trying a little too hard, Earth to Echo nonetheless will hit the sweet spot for parents looking for innocent PG-rated entertainment for their kids in a summer full of PG-13 spectacle and mayhem.
  9. 70
    Credit a youthful, energetic spirit, nicely conveyed by its cast of naturally-acting newcomers, a workable raw-footage construct and a spare but smartly spent special effects budget for the satisfying end result.
  10. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 26, 2014
    67
    Earth To Echo is a little bit big and broad, but that's also part of its charm.
  11. 63
    Would that the movie had gone the next step, and possibly imagined that this bright, shiny little E.T. had figured out how to get kids to do its sinister work for him by providing free WiFi and endless smartphone upgrades in exchange for undying loyalty, we might have had something altogether different on our hands.
  12. Reviewed by:  Sandie Angulo Chen
    Jul 2, 2014
    63
    Yes, it’s plainly derivative, but Dave Green’s debut feature is heartfelt and fun, particularly for children craving live-action films beyond big-budget superhero reboots and animated sequels.
  13. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Jul 2, 2014
    63
    The saving grace for this film is the group of young actors.
  14. 63
    An 'E.T.' knockoff that works.
  15. 60
    Earth to Echo resonates, despite itself.
  16. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Jul 1, 2014
    60
    It's no "E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial." (What is?) But on its own modest terms, the alien adventure Earth to Echo is a lively and likable knockoff that should divert, if not exactly enthrall, tweens and young teens.
  17. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 1, 2014
    60
    Despite its adoption of that trendy (and more than a little tired) shooting style, there's an old-fashioned charm to Earth to Echo.
  18. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 2, 2014
    58
    The most derivative movie of the summer, Earth To Echo, is also the most visually unpredictable, chock-full of degraded digital textures that seem ready to boil off the screen, picture-boxed within Mac desktops and overlaid with extraterrestrial interface trees.
  19. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 2, 2014
    58
    All in all, Earth to Echo is passable family entertainment, neither unforgettable nor particularly bad.
  20. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Jul 2, 2014
    50
    The found-footage approach loses its shine quickly.
  21. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Jul 2, 2014
    50
    What ultimately should have been borrowed from Spielberg’s oeuvre but isn’t is a sense of wonder and achievement whenever characters come in contact with the unknown or overcome a great obstacle as a team. Imitation should be flattering, not flattening.
  22. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 2, 2014
    50
    This isn't a family-friendly film - anyone over the age of about 8 will immediately recognize that significant chunks of the story don't make sense.
  23. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jul 1, 2014
    50
    The constant foregrounding of so much well-executed incident only works to shortchange the heroes' yearnings and anxieties.
  24. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Jul 1, 2014
    42
    It's not particularly logical and it's not particularly fun. As deliberately amateur as the herky-jerky photography is, the rest of the film isn't much more professional.
  25. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jul 2, 2014
    40
    Earth to Echo is a slender kiddie flick about a quartet of preteens and their palm-sized alien pal that's at once bland, well-intentioned, and utterly terrifying about the mental development of modern children.
  26. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Technology remains no substitute for well-written characters and genuine intrigue and atmosphere, so despite the cute special effects and camera jostling, this film feels like an extended episode of an after-school show by Disney.
  27. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Earth to Echo is a copy of a copy. The movie feels less like a weak “E.T.” than a substandard “Mac and Me.” And you may not even remember the latter, a 1988 flop — the fate likely to hit this well-meaning but underwhelming effort.
  28. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Earth To Echo is yet another found-footage film, and not a particularly inventive one at that.
  29. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Jun 7, 2014
    40
    Earth to Echo reaches for the stars with its gentle sci-fi shenanigans, but the rote result remains decidedly earthbound.
  30. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 1, 2014
    25
    It's as if there's a barrier between the viewer and the story that never comes down.
  31. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 1, 2014
    25
    Even at a cramped and frenetic 82 minutes, the movie feels long. That’s what happens when the audience can guess everything that’s going to happen in advance.
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 42
  2. Negative: 22 out of 42
  1. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Earth to Echo incorporates movies like Cloverfield, Super 8 and E.T., and does each of those movies justice. I found it to be enjoyable,Earth to Echo incorporates movies like Cloverfield, Super 8 and E.T., and does each of those movies justice. I found it to be enjoyable, sincere and at the same time highlighting an important theme, friendship. Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    This was the best movie ever. I saw the bad reviews and thought it would be boring, but when I saw it I literally said and thought toThis was the best movie ever. I saw the bad reviews and thought it would be boring, but when I saw it I literally said and thought to everybody around me, "who could think this is boring?" This was the bets movie of all time, and I like it better than even Disney, and I am a Disney fan. No chance I'm ever going to see a better movie. I loved Earth to Echo, brilliant movie!!! Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2014
    4
    what's there to say about 'Earth to Echo'? well it's a little found footage family movie about a bunch of kids who find a little alien andwhat's there to say about 'Earth to Echo'? well it's a little found footage family movie about a bunch of kids who find a little alien and named it Echo. so now, these kids are gonna try to get it back home. yeah, it's a pretty obvious rip-off of 'E.T'. the kids in the movie, they were okay but a few of them were actually good. and the kids are supposed to form this bond with the alien, but in the end i was like "Are you really bonding with it?" cause i wasn't bonding with it either. i mean sure, the alien's really cute and stuff, but that doesn't really mean much. the biggest problem with 'Earth to Echo' is that it's trying to be a throwback to the 80's movies like 'The Goonies' and of course 'E.T', these kid movies we grew up on. what they do wrong is what they did wrong in this movie. the fact is: the kids in the movie don't act like kids. these are kids in junior high with no parents around whatsoever. but they never act like actual kids in this movie and that felt really weird and stupid. have the kids act human, have them use swear words like in 'E.T', ya know like normal funny human stuff. directors these days don't really do it, cause they don't wanna push it like "No, we gotta keep it PG". this is a PG-rated movie and you can tell, cause the kids just talk but none of them actually gets to curse. one of them says "balls" once but that's it. it felt like the movie was written by people who don't have kids. so is 'Earth to Echo' that movie of this generation? no, not really. it's just your average found footage movie with the same kinda built up that's actually pretty boring, and it's nothing new. just the same found footage stuff all over again. maybe young kids - like 5 or 6 year olds - might like and enjoy the movie. but this movie was made for the junior or middle school kids, and even they might get bored outta their minds. so in the end, it had a few decent moments with cool special effects, and the alien was adorable, but that's not saying much. 'Earth to Echo' was more of a snooze fest rather than a entertaining movie. Full Review »