Screen Gems | Release Date: September 17, 2010
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 357 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
269
Mixed:
55
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
reasonateSep 22, 2010
I'm not usually into teen movies, but this one was funny and witty and thoroughly entertaining. And despite its sex-related topic, didn't feel super dirty and raunchy like Superbad or the American Pie-type movies. I enjoyed pretty muchI'm not usually into teen movies, but this one was funny and witty and thoroughly entertaining. And despite its sex-related topic, didn't feel super dirty and raunchy like Superbad or the American Pie-type movies. I enjoyed pretty much every scene with Emma Stone, Patricia Clarkson, or Stanley Tucci. It isn't going to win an Oscar, but made me laugh out loud time and again. And though I almost never want to see movies more than once, I'm already thinking about seeing it again. (And as an aside, is anyone else thinking that a Tina Fey/Emma Stone collaboration would be awesome?) Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
bigdon9Mar 28, 2011
A great movie with a great cast. Good dialogue and refreshing humor. I hope to see more of emma stone in the future. The only qualm i have with this movie is that i wanted more of a resolution with the antagonists.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BlogDog123Dec 8, 2011
I couldn't sit through the first 30 minutes of this; it was like torture. Once again, the media has another annoyingly stupid teen movie that has dumb, unlikeable characters and a dull plot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fantastic teenage angst film. Easy A delivers everything that you could possibly want from a move: a lot of laughs, a heartfelt conclusion, and plenty of references to classic literature (the Scarlet Letter). Highlighted by strong performances, especially by Emma Stone, Easy A is a whole lot better then most 80's teen films. With plenty of pop culture references and a lot of humor at the sake of religion, Easy A is a great film, and one not to miss. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BradySmithJan 1, 2015
Basically, it's a crude, cruel attempt to make fun of Christians, and make them look like annoying and self righteous jerks. As a Christian myself, this movie was extremely annoying, as we are, for the most part, nothing like that. I alsoBasically, it's a crude, cruel attempt to make fun of Christians, and make them look like annoying and self righteous jerks. As a Christian myself, this movie was extremely annoying, as we are, for the most part, nothing like that. I also found the movie to be overly politically correct and shameless. It even tries to make teenage sex look harmless. Then there's the problem of the movie thinking it's so much more funny than it actually is. So no matter how good the performances are I just can't recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
LynFeb 5, 2011
Another hypersexualized teen comedy, though warmed by a good supporting cast and Emma Stone's appealing performance. Do California schools really let girls come to class in lingerie? I'm not sure, but Stone's fun and witty character wasAnother hypersexualized teen comedy, though warmed by a good supporting cast and Emma Stone's appealing performance. Do California schools really let girls come to class in lingerie? I'm not sure, but Stone's fun and witty character was written more like a smarter character on "Friends" than a teenager with actual moments of angst. Never as touching as "Juno," for example. And there's nothing smart or cutting-edge about a teen comedy portraying EVERY "Christian" character as a hypocritical idiot. What really would be groundbreaking is portraying one of them as compassionate and sincere. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JasonGoalieJan 8, 2011
Please don't pay the slightest bit of attention to the small handful of negative reviews for "Easy A." Most of them are from the unimaginative and easily offended, who therefore complain about the surrealsim of the plot and characterPlease don't pay the slightest bit of attention to the small handful of negative reviews for "Easy A." Most of them are from the unimaginative and easily offended, who therefore complain about the surrealsim of the plot and character stereotypes. Uhm, folks... It's a MOVIE. Unless you want a movie to be 5 hours long, you have to lay down SOME governing assumptions and hyperbolic situations. Was "Seinfeld" a bad TV show because many of the comedic situations were completely contrived?

The truth is as follows: "Easy A" is a funny, entertaining, largely SATIRICAL movie. Olive (Emma Stone) is the dynamic character with a real struggle. The actors that play her friends, her enemies, her parents, her teachers, etc... are supporting cast members that INTENTIONALLY fall into unfair stereotypes...

Clearly, some people need a lesson in satire. Go see Easy A if you actually have a sense of humor.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraSep 19, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pinpointing the exact moment where Julia Roberts became a star in Garry Marshall's "Pretty Woman" was a tangible instant, a light source, previously unseen, suddenly emanating from the jacuzzi. It was Julia singing "Kiss", out of tune and out to charm, punctuated with kissing noises, that set the Steel Magnolia apart from the other Magnolias and Mystics. Emma Stone, last seen in "Zombieland", now seen in "Easy A", has a moment like that, when the earworm(Natasha Bedington's "Pocketful of Sunshine") which enters Olive's head, slowly and surely burrows deeper and deeper over the course of a lonely weekend, with perfect editing, Wes Anderson-like titles, and the right shaggy mutt, shows how singing some disposable, yet insinuatingly catchy pop song can turn into a compulsion, a temporary full-blown neurosis, and a cure for the blues, while, of course, charming the pants off the audience. Stone plays a virgin, Olive Pendergast, who is made to feel inadequate by the sexual exploits of her worldly best friend Rhiannon(Aly Michalka), two girls, the virgin and the whore, who aren't all that dissimilar from their twentieth-century counterparts played by Thora Birch and Mena Suvari in Sam Mendes' "American Beauty". In the Mendes film, the friendship sours the moment Jane(Birch) embarks on a love affair with Ricky(Wes Bentley), an unexpected development that intimidates the usually undauntable Angela(Suvari), since as it turns out, her boastful talk about wanting to do "it" with Jane's father is all an act. She's a virgin too, like Rhiannon, perhaps, which would explain why the daughter of nudists would turn against Olive, when the purported wild girl should be thrilled to have a partner-in-crime(ala Nicky Reed and Evan Rachel Wood in Catherine Hardwicke's "Thirteen": the mother played by Patricia Clarkson has a little Holly Hunter in her). Previously, with bravado and post-feminist glee, Rhiannon squeals in delight upon learning that her caller ID name on Olive's cell phone is "big t**s", a sure indication that Olive may have a body image problem, as Jane did in "American Beauty", when she explores the possibility of breast implants. She feels like a "plain Jane", so does Olive, that's why the good girl turns "bad"; the good girl feels the pressure to compete, but the moviegoer may want to hedge his/her bets that the good girl may be in a one-woman race against a c*cktease. Who can forget the scene between Suvari and Kevin Spacey, when the jailbait temptress reverts back into a quivering schoolgirl, as Lester gets ready to ravish her. (He didn't realize the rose petals in his sex fantasy about Angela, signified a deflowering.) As played by Spacey, Lester Burnham had no morals. Whereas in "Easy A", the English teacher played by Thomas Haden Church, is kept in check by some girls(Amanda Bynes is their queen bee) who belong to an on-campus church group. Sanctimonious and annoying as they may appear to be, the moviegoer should be aware of the sexual overtones, albeit Victorian ones, which makes Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter" a fairly incendiary book; a book that could be employed to help seduce a bright and naive female student by some unscrupulous teacher. The wife's affair with a male student is treated like a surprise plot twist, suggesting that the transgression was supposed to occur between Olive and Mr. Griffith. But alas, while Christian values take its lumps, Christian values save the day; saves the teacher's job, because Olive never does turn into Hester Prynne, never commits adultery. The "A" stitched to her dress signifies nothing; it's merely a fashion accessory. She never does get that easy "A" from the English teacher. She's a good girl. And that's progress. Back in 1990, to be America's Sweetheart, Julia Roberts played the hooker with a heart of gold, whereas Emma Stone, in a long line of heir apparents since then, plays a fake hooker who takes the fake orgasm to the next level. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
SmellyCatSep 18, 2010
This film deserves every bit of praise that has been thrown at it. It's the smartest teen movie in a long while, bolstered by an incredibly charismatic lead and a clever supporting cast. Emma Stone makes her snarkiness endlessly appealing andThis film deserves every bit of praise that has been thrown at it. It's the smartest teen movie in a long while, bolstered by an incredibly charismatic lead and a clever supporting cast. Emma Stone makes her snarkiness endlessly appealing and cute. The supporting cast, most notably Patricia Clarkson, Thomas Haden Church, Lisa Kudrow, and Stanley Tucci are scene-stealers in the best way possible. Easy A is a great way to finish off a summer with numerous great comedies. However, Easy A just might be the best. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DominikSep 18, 2010
A very good movie, pure and simple. Emma Stone is charming and was definitely a good choice and the supporting characters are just delightful. The wit that you've heard so much about in the professional reviews is alive and well and thereA very good movie, pure and simple. Emma Stone is charming and was definitely a good choice and the supporting characters are just delightful. The wit that you've heard so much about in the professional reviews is alive and well and there some great jokes (some a little corny, but the rest are very funny and pretty). Finally a high school comedy with some actual charm and substance, (which in my opinion are few and far between). If your a guy and your girlfriend drags you into seeing this movie, you may come out pleasantly surprised. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
NeptuneSep 19, 2010
Pop culture aficionados will be adding quotations from the zinger-filled "Easy A" to their repertoires. Cleverly uses Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter" as a departure point for examining today's mores, envisioning them through the lens of JohnPop culture aficionados will be adding quotations from the zinger-filled "Easy A" to their repertoires. Cleverly uses Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter" as a departure point for examining today's mores, envisioning them through the lens of John Hughes. Strong performances all around, a great ensemble. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryOct 3, 2010
This bouncy teen flick tries to be like so many others, but it seldom generates real laffs. Emma Stone pretends to have sex with loser boys and becomes known as the school's Hester Prynne (look it up). Clichés include wackyThis bouncy teen flick tries to be like so many others, but it seldom generates real laffs. Emma Stone pretends to have sex with loser boys and becomes known as the school's Hester Prynne (look it up). Clichés include wacky adults (with one cool one), campus cliques and an ambiguous (not really) romantic interest. Since the scenario is so obvious, the characters and dialogue must sustain the humor. This one has an energetic spirit, but not much originality or real comedy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
bumbleboyOct 25, 2010
This film is awful and the strong reviews for it very disappointing. I had very high hopes that it would be a smart teen comedy but instead every character is overwritten. The story non-sensical; it seems as though the script was written andThis film is awful and the strong reviews for it very disappointing. I had very high hopes that it would be a smart teen comedy but instead every character is overwritten. The story non-sensical; it seems as though the script was written and overwritten a number of times with each person trying to add yet another twist. Why is everyone talking this way; why would a character who fakes being a prostitute be surprised someone thinks of her that way? In what highschool is one person having sex the talk of the institution? The really sad thing is that Easy A could have been a really smart comedy; instead its just a mess. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 17, 2012
The whole film just glides on Emma Stone's hilarious and charming performance. And basically the whole film is just a great teen movie that we all have been missing. I give this film 89%.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
The movie comes up with one interesting idea: When homosexual teenagers have a really hard time, some others mean well by telling them it will get better with time. However, everyone should be able to be happy in the moment and not only in aThe movie comes up with one interesting idea: When homosexual teenagers have a really hard time, some others mean well by telling them it will get better with time. However, everyone should be able to be happy in the moment and not only in a possible future that might still take years to come. Easy A uses an extreme amount of American stereotypes, is sometimes funny, and the parents' characters are very charming. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
bottafffMar 15, 2011
This was just a another stupid "chick flick." I can't believe that these types of movies are what my generation watches now. This movie is about a nerdy girl who pretends to lose her virginity so she can become popular, it was exceedinglyThis was just a another stupid "chick flick." I can't believe that these types of movies are what my generation watches now. This movie is about a nerdy girl who pretends to lose her virginity so she can become popular, it was exceedingly boring. I thought the actors were below talented. I must say that the only funny scenes were when Emma Stone's parents where in it. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
crowOct 22, 2010
Why is this movie being praised? It's really truly not a good film. The characters made zero sense. Hi, I'm an intelligent high schooler who pretends to be a slut. Now I have a bad reputation and everyone stares at me because I decided toWhy is this movie being praised? It's really truly not a good film. The characters made zero sense. Hi, I'm an intelligent high schooler who pretends to be a slut. Now I have a bad reputation and everyone stares at me because I decided to wear negligee to school and a big obvious red 'A' on my shirt. I have a best friend who has zero redeeming qualities and parents who have borderline personality disorder. Oh and for some reason all of the other sluts in school aren't given such a hard time as me. I am confused, but don't get me wrong I'm smart. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
YsalamiriSep 20, 2010
I just read that Emma Stone dropped out of Sucker Punch to do this movie (Source: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1282140/trivia) . Bad decision in my opinion!
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
1
moviegoerSep 23, 2010
When is it okay to promote intolerance and perpetuate false, vindictive, evil, and cruel stereotypes about a people group? As long as that people group happens to be Christians. If Muslims or gays were treated like Christians are in thisWhen is it okay to promote intolerance and perpetuate false, vindictive, evil, and cruel stereotypes about a people group? As long as that people group happens to be Christians. If Muslims or gays were treated like Christians are in this movie, people would be enraged and we would never hear the end of it. I would encourage critics who laud this movie to be intellectually honest. Who are the real hypocrites here? Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
mrcriticSep 21, 2010
Did Easy A deserve its grade, or was it an epic fail? Well, Easy A stars Emma Stone (Zombieland), as Olive Penderghast, an anonymous nobody in high school. Her only friends are Aly Michalka (From the band 78violet), as Rhiannon, a mid-Did Easy A deserve its grade, or was it an epic fail? Well, Easy A stars Emma Stone (Zombieland), as Olive Penderghast, an anonymous nobody in high school. Her only friends are Aly Michalka (From the band 78violet), as Rhiannon, a mid- popular hottie who likes to curse. Michalka was hilarious, and definitely proved she's not a Disney Channel girl anymore. Her other friend/crush is Penn Badgely (The Stepfather), as Woodchuck Todd. His performance was bland and boring, however unique in a way where his humor was dry, yet funny. Her final friend is Brandon, played by Dan Byrd (Cougar Town) is her homosexual friend, who fakes having sex with Olive to earn popularity points. Although he was only in the movie for about 8-10 minutes, Byrd's performance was very gay. I guess that's good acting.... Her enemies are pretty much the entire school Christian club, but Marianne, played by Amanda Bynes (Sydney White) is her main nemesis, who also starts the entire rumor of her losing her virginity. Bland and boring, this is Bynes' last... and worst acting role she has ever done. Thomas Haden Church (Spider Man 3), Lisa Kudrow (Hotel For Dogs), and Malcolm McDowell (Halloween 2), play school faculty members, who are very funny. If you haven't seen or heard about this movie, you must be blind and deaf, so there's no need to explain this movie. Overall, the movie was great, however the last third of the movie turned more into a drama. So, Easy A may not have gotten an A, but it did get an: A- Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
olympiansOct 24, 2010
I thought this film was OK but no more . It was nowhere near as funny as Juno was and to be honest I don't think it will ring any bells with a European audience (of which I am one). No teenager in Europe has ever gone through anI thought this film was OK but no more . It was nowhere near as funny as Juno was and to be honest I don't think it will ring any bells with a European audience (of which I am one). No teenager in Europe has ever gone through an existentialist crisis at the thought of losing their virginity (especially at the age of 17), and to see a 21 year old guy being slapped around by his mother for having caught chlamydia was a step too far for me. Having said that, the acting was good and I liked Emma Stone's parents a lot. This film is great for any 14 year old, good for any 18 year old and OK for anyone over the age of 21! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RyanLopezDec 3, 2010
This movie is funny, but it also had it's flaws. But in the most part, it was 93% good-5% awesome- 2%flaw. This movie is hilarious, just the concept of a girl acting like a slut, to be more popular, it's just a great movie plot. Two thumbsThis movie is funny, but it also had it's flaws. But in the most part, it was 93% good-5% awesome- 2%flaw. This movie is hilarious, just the concept of a girl acting like a slut, to be more popular, it's just a great movie plot. Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
j30Sep 22, 2011
It's not bad, not great, just above average chick flick. Emma Stone makes and lives this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Easy A is an easy D-. This movie is just some stupid teenage comedy with dumb jokes to go around. Can hollywood make anything new these days. It is just another hypersexualized chick flick only it seems teenage girls dress as a bunch ofEasy A is an easy D-. This movie is just some stupid teenage comedy with dumb jokes to go around. Can hollywood make anything new these days. It is just another hypersexualized chick flick only it seems teenage girls dress as a bunch of strippers to school each day. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
busbfranAug 28, 2014
Easy A is an overly enjoyable film that uses the amazing Emma Stone to rock the stage. Very relate able issues are brought to the surface while using an amazing script that is so perfectly executed. The collection of laughs are great and willEasy A is an overly enjoyable film that uses the amazing Emma Stone to rock the stage. Very relate able issues are brought to the surface while using an amazing script that is so perfectly executed. The collection of laughs are great and will keep you satisfied to the credits. Easy A cannot be missed would recommend to everyone! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KundKNov 30, 2010
An enjoyable, smart and funny teen comedy. It is also contrived, perhaps overly "meta-" for some viewers, more that slightly implausible (from the European perspective at least), it revisits all the well worn tropes and, for my money, it isAn enjoyable, smart and funny teen comedy. It is also contrived, perhaps overly "meta-" for some viewers, more that slightly implausible (from the European perspective at least), it revisits all the well worn tropes and, for my money, it is not quite on a par with "Clueless", "Mean Girls", "Saved" or "Superbad", but well worth a watch. Emma Stone is just magnificent here. Much more than in "Zombieland". And she carjacked Hummers and blasted zombies with shotguns there so... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smijatovMay 12, 2011
While at first it takes some 20 minutes to get used to the rather uncommon comedic style of direction, Easy A ends up being a very hilarious film!! With great acting by Emma Stone and a rather interesting take at the Scarlet Letter, the filmWhile at first it takes some 20 minutes to get used to the rather uncommon comedic style of direction, Easy A ends up being a very hilarious film!! With great acting by Emma Stone and a rather interesting take at the Scarlet Letter, the film provides for numerous funny moments, and some quite unexpectedly good acting - especially in shirtless scenes, haha. Well, I'm not talking about Mrs.Stone here, but one should check the film out to know what I'm talking about.
That aside, the film is funny, refreshingly original and keeps one wanting more! Very good comedy, one of the best of the year! 7/10!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Island7Sep 23, 2010
A very fun and enjoyable movie. Emma Stone is turning into a real star.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRMay 18, 2011
Not a movie to watch with Mom and Dad. That being said, it's good, unclean, naughty fun, with great performances from all the cast and a down-to-earth story about high school. It does fall victim to some of the most predictable cliches thatNot a movie to watch with Mom and Dad. That being said, it's good, unclean, naughty fun, with great performances from all the cast and a down-to-earth story about high school. It does fall victim to some of the most predictable cliches that makes John Hughes movies so classic, but it's still a fun watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
liptapOct 22, 2010
This movie is hilarious funny & outrageous daft. This is Emma Stone's funniest portrayal yet! This is up there with my fave comedies (Superbad, Knocked Up, Shaun of the Dead, P9neapple Express, Role Models, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, TropicThis movie is hilarious funny & outrageous daft. This is Emma Stone's funniest portrayal yet! This is up there with my fave comedies (Superbad, Knocked Up, Shaun of the Dead, P9neapple Express, Role Models, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Tropic Thunder etc.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews