Screen Gems | Release Date: September 17, 2010
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
265
Mixed:
54
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
CineAutoctonoJun 1, 2017
"Easy A" was a fun and a crazy movie, I enjoyed a good time Emma Stone scenes, and the interplays of other actors, but Emma Stone took the lead in that film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyAug 11, 2016
Easy A is a very entertaining watch and has great themes/truth to it about the realities of high school. Overall the casting choices, performances, writing, directing, and comedy is very well done. I definitely would recommend this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AaronWasserman1Mar 27, 2016
Emma Stone really shines in this very entertaining comedy. It is fun and very original. There was refreshing dialogue and good sense of humor in the script. A flick I was not sure I was going to like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 23, 2016
Easy A is almost an A. A- if you want to call that one a catch-up. Enjoy the few minutes of this movie and then go ahead and review this movie all you want.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SEROJSep 7, 2015
This is the most overrated sh1t in the history of the comedies!.. Don't waste your time and ignore this horrible fail by "Screen Gems". 0/10 without any doubt
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeMay 17, 2015
The story is stupid,the acting is not that good and the movie is not really funny.While Emma Stone and Thomas Haden Church were not that bad, the rest of the cast were bad.For an unknown reason,the movie was still watchable and entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
StormTroopBMar 6, 2015
No intellectual presence found in this film. May be the most pointless film I have seen and not in a good way. Emma Stone's head looks like a skull with skin if that makes sense. This movie is a great example however in how not to cast rolls.No intellectual presence found in this film. May be the most pointless film I have seen and not in a good way. Emma Stone's head looks like a skull with skin if that makes sense. This movie is a great example however in how not to cast rolls. The high schoolers are 30 and all have 5 o'clock shadows. Why do movies like this exist? Hurts as a guy to watch a film that puts women is such a horrible light. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DokaluMar 2, 2015
Easy A is not the typical teenager drama. It really is a different kind of movie in that “genre”, and that’s what makes it so good. Obviously, not an Oscar movie, it does what it has to do, and does it really well. It’s about a girl that,Easy A is not the typical teenager drama. It really is a different kind of movie in that “genre”, and that’s what makes it so good. Obviously, not an Oscar movie, it does what it has to do, and does it really well. It’s about a girl that, just for telling a lie, begins to be known by everyone in high school as a slut, when she really isn’t one. Emma Stone does a brilliant job here, one of the bests she has ever done, and everything really worked out for me. Obviously, some parts were stupid, some parts had a little too much coincidences, and it was really predictable about plenty of stuff, but what would you really expect about a teenagers “genre” movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BradySmithJan 1, 2015
Basically, it's a crude, cruel attempt to make fun of Christians, and make them look like annoying and self righteous jerks. As a Christian myself, this movie was extremely annoying, as we are, for the most part, nothing like that. I alsoBasically, it's a crude, cruel attempt to make fun of Christians, and make them look like annoying and self righteous jerks. As a Christian myself, this movie was extremely annoying, as we are, for the most part, nothing like that. I also found the movie to be overly politically correct and shameless. It even tries to make teenage sex look harmless. Then there's the problem of the movie thinking it's so much more funny than it actually is. So no matter how good the performances are I just can't recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
busbfranAug 28, 2014
Easy A is an overly enjoyable film that uses the amazing Emma Stone to rock the stage. Very relate able issues are brought to the surface while using an amazing script that is so perfectly executed. The collection of laughs are great and willEasy A is an overly enjoyable film that uses the amazing Emma Stone to rock the stage. Very relate able issues are brought to the surface while using an amazing script that is so perfectly executed. The collection of laughs are great and will keep you satisfied to the credits. Easy A cannot be missed would recommend to everyone! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesJul 5, 2014
The movie is nothing special but the sexy and charming Emma Stone makes it fresh and juvenile, just like the rest of the cast. Yes it's good but I think it's not great as the other movies...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RemJun 1, 2014
For a breakout role, Emma Stone did a pretty darn good job, but that doesn't save the movie from the quirkness that is Amanda Bynes, whose character becomes annoying instead of threatening. Some of the humor in the movie feels really forcedFor a breakout role, Emma Stone did a pretty darn good job, but that doesn't save the movie from the quirkness that is Amanda Bynes, whose character becomes annoying instead of threatening. Some of the humor in the movie feels really forced and unituitive, but the setup is nice and it did have some worthy laughs for a comedy about rumors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LokathorApr 20, 2014
This movie is just alright. Emma Stone does well in it, but the plot kinda plods along and a lot of the jokes didn't really land for me. I guess it's got a good message? Except I think the same message could have been told better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleNov 9, 2013
Overall good teen comedy. Emma Stone is quite good in the lead role and really makes the movie. Lots of quotable lines and overall a fun, enjoyable experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
Emma Stone was the perfect person to play in this role. The script was excellent and a hell of a lot more intelligent than most teenage films. It was smart and witty and was highly enjoyable to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkMusicMar 19, 2013
It's the film thats this. Ima highschooler who pretends to have sex with guys to get there popularity statis up, but this bad reputation is getting out of hand and isn't helping me get with the guy of my dreams, now I have to turn theIt's the film thats this. Ima highschooler who pretends to have sex with guys to get there popularity statis up, but this bad reputation is getting out of hand and isn't helping me get with the guy of my dreams, now I have to turn the situation around. That sums it up. The acting for the most part by Emma Stone, Amanda Bynes, her parents and little brother, her crush and the gay friend she pretended to sleep with acted pretty good. Anyone else was just eh-bad. However Im a guy and watched the movie 7 times but only fully finished it 3 times. 1. To watch it for myself. 2. The TV went out and its been 6 months since I saw it. 3. I watched to explain to my mom like most movies. It is a chick flix with better then others story and acting. I also like the whole A thing on the chest they did. creative with the movie they were learning. This is a movie to get your girl friends and watch Saturday or at a slumber party. I would pay for it but its 2012 its gonna be on TV in a couple maybe 3 months, its on netflix, online, and maybe in the 5$ ben at the store. But I would say watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sowhatchathinkJan 8, 2013
I didn't particularly want to watch this film when my friend first mentioned it, definitely wasn't top of my must-see list. However, after being hounded by her for quite some time, i decided to cave in and watch it. Tell you what...i'm reallyI didn't particularly want to watch this film when my friend first mentioned it, definitely wasn't top of my must-see list. However, after being hounded by her for quite some time, i decided to cave in and watch it. Tell you what...i'm really glad i did, it was one of the best films i saw that year and now one of my favourite films, full stop. I must admit i am a sucker for a Romantic Comedy film, can't help but love them; but of course the majority of them are as cheesy as they come. With Easy A, it wasn't cheesy, it was sarcastic, witty and funny and in nowadays films, that can be extremely hard to come by. Truly don't think the casting director could of picked a better fit for Olive Penderghast. Emma Stone was perfect for this role, i'd seen her do small parts in other films like The House Bunny and Superbad, but she never got enough screen time, not that she truly deserves anyway. Bert V. Royal's writing and Emma Stone, equals comedic genius.
If you have not seen this film yet, i think you can gather that i think you should. No, i know you should. Do yourself a favour. Enjoy!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Surprisingly a great comedy! Great cast...Emma Stone, Amanda Bynes, Thomas Haden Church, Patricia Clarkson, Lisa Kudrow, Stanley Tucci, they're all hilarious in this film. I love the references to the old 80's teen movies, but I also loveSurprisingly a great comedy! Great cast...Emma Stone, Amanda Bynes, Thomas Haden Church, Patricia Clarkson, Lisa Kudrow, Stanley Tucci, they're all hilarious in this film. I love the references to the old 80's teen movies, but I also love that it was able to keep it's originality, too.

Good movie, I recommend it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This film had a really good ensemble cast which delivered great results. It is smart, witty and fast-paced without being obviously slapstick or dirty. Not that I mind films like that but it was nice for a director to acknowledge that mostThis film had a really good ensemble cast which delivered great results. It is smart, witty and fast-paced without being obviously slapstick or dirty. Not that I mind films like that but it was nice for a director to acknowledge that most people in an audience are able to think coherently. Emma Stone is one of the top rising actresses in comedies and action films (ie blockbusters rather than dramas). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rafael14Jul 13, 2012
Easy A is one of the best movies Emma Stone and she's perfect for this film it really appeared a teenager, Lisa Kudrow is perfect as always, the movie would be better if it had an ending a little better, but it is Emma Stone was mericido andEasy A is one of the best movies Emma Stone and she's perfect for this film it really appeared a teenager, Lisa Kudrow is perfect as always, the movie would be better if it had an ending a little better, but it is Emma Stone was mericido and it has been Nominated for Golden Globe, but unfortunately she did not win Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mcc123May 31, 2012
An overall smart, witty, and very satisfying teen comedy in all respects. They don't make them like this anymore. You may automatically think of this movie as a "chick flick", but i believe its a movie that will speak to all teenagers andAn overall smart, witty, and very satisfying teen comedy in all respects. They don't make them like this anymore. You may automatically think of this movie as a "chick flick", but i believe its a movie that will speak to all teenagers and adults. Male and female alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thatsmyrainbowMay 26, 2012
Favourite movie of all time. Emma Stone is amazing. This movies reflects how society sucks. One day you're are no one, the next day you can become a slut or whatever for one rumour(without confirmation). I enjoyed it and I've seen it aFavourite movie of all time. Emma Stone is amazing. This movies reflects how society sucks. One day you're are no one, the next day you can become a slut or whatever for one rumour(without confirmation). I enjoyed it and I've seen it a hundred times. If you want to laugh/cry/enjoy/laugh, then watch it! you wont regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Metz9984Apr 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watching movie in my free time is one of the many ways I like to relax. After watching Easy A, I came away with a lot of mix emotions about the movie and events that happened throughout the movie. This movie was funny to watch but as a Christian it really went against my world view. This movie is about a girl who pretends to have sex with the most unlikely of students. She never really had sex with any of the boys but she would make up a sex story for the boys to spread around to help the boys reputation through the school. She would receive money and gift cards for what she would do or in this case not do with the boys. This movie totally throws out the whole idea of saving sex for the marriage. Even though she may not have had sex with the boys, she gave off the idea that she was. The movie title just is one example of how she has affected her life now, Easy A. through her actions she was telling the school that she was easy when it came to a sexual relationship. Sex was created by God as a blessing and throughout this movie, sex was thought of as something not special and not a blessing. The thought of sex today has the same view today in 2012 as it has had in the past.
Another part of the movie that added to the plot was the character of the Christian high school group leader. Throughout the movie her character was shown as a stupid character without any real feelings. She lived in the mindset that she needs to fix everything wrong in other people. I am not downplaying the prayer that she did throughout the movie but other than praying for the main character she did not help her in any way. She would always be around to tell her what she was doing wrong but ever be willing to help her stop the sinful actions. Christians have always had this negative view on them as being judgmental and not willing to help, this movie played into this view. Her character never broke out of that view to show how true Christians should be acting in the real world. Just so you all know not all Christians are like this character, we actually care about and are willing to help in any situation that may come up in life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Easy A is an easy D-. This movie is just some stupid teenage comedy with dumb jokes to go around. Can hollywood make anything new these days. It is just another hypersexualized chick flick only it seems teenage girls dress as a bunch ofEasy A is an easy D-. This movie is just some stupid teenage comedy with dumb jokes to go around. Can hollywood make anything new these days. It is just another hypersexualized chick flick only it seems teenage girls dress as a bunch of strippers to school each day. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ScarTissue1990Mar 19, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is JUST WHAT OUR YOUTH NEEDS. This movie compares to those of John Hughes' days with box office kings like "The Breakfast Club". Emma Stone plays a slightly vulnerable teenage girl who is a virgin but tells people that she has had sex with other students to increase THEIR popularity. But, after a while she starts making them pay her when they need her. At the end of the film, a lesson IS taught and everything goes back to normal and she meets her prince charming. GREAT MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Destructor2012Mar 15, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is Easy A a funny movie? Yes, is it realistic? Not really. Emma Stone is believable in her role though this must be one heck of a small or conservative school for her to be considered a "slut" for supposedly sleeping with one guy. A couple of things that bothered me about this film were that Olive is somehow invited to a party thrown by the most popular girl in school, yet she is by her own admission invisible and thus would likely not be known by the popular girl. I guess you could say once she takes on her Easy A persona she becomes known, but still it didn't make much sense to me. Another thing was the scene with Evan (the fat kid), come on that's just not realistic at all. We all know hot chicks would never be interested in a fat guy. And then with Todd, isn't it convenient that Olive's window just happens to open when Todd comes to see her? And after her talking about wanting to be asked out and all of this as far as I can recall he never actually asked her out, he just showed up with his speakers and the lawnmower and she comes down and jumps into his arms and kisses him, like they've been dating for years or something. Not realistic at all there. Another random thing that bugged me was Olive's friend, that girl was super annoying. And then she had the nerve to get pissed at Olive for going on a date with the guy she liked when we later find out that she kissed the guy Olive liked. Sorry sweetie, you don't get to have it both ways. Overall, a decent movie, but not great. It had it's funny moments, but also portrays things unrealistically at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Jan 27, 2012
Led by a witty script and Emma Stone charismatic performance, 'Easy A' is an uncommon teen-movie that captures the essence of teenage insecurity with surprising accuracy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieGCarrJan 20, 2012
I went into watching this film expecting another one of those god-awful chick flicks. I have to say, I was very pleasantly surprised. Great scrip, acting and lots of humour and sadness make Easy-A one of the best film I have ever, ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 17, 2012
The whole film just glides on Emma Stone's hilarious and charming performance. And basically the whole film is just a great teen movie that we all have been missing. I give this film 89%.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
BlogDog123Dec 8, 2011
I couldn't sit through the first 30 minutes of this; it was like torture. Once again, the media has another annoyingly stupid teen movie that has dumb, unlikeable characters and a dull plot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaOct 6, 2011
This comedy is smarter than average comedies out there nowadays, and besides, it's funny and has an interesting plot, and the script is well written. The cast is fantastic. Every character is likable, especially the star in the making, EmmaThis comedy is smarter than average comedies out there nowadays, and besides, it's funny and has an interesting plot, and the script is well written. The cast is fantastic. Every character is likable, especially the star in the making, Emma Stone. Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson are beyond amazing and hilarious. Just watch it. It's a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
j30Sep 22, 2011
It's not bad, not great, just above average chick flick. Emma Stone makes and lives this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Jul 31, 2011
Very well-written, superbly acted by an adorable Emma Stone, Easy A is a story of gossip, insane judgment and all of it done in our modern society with the Internet, texting and the never-ending story of mean people. With constant referencesVery well-written, superbly acted by an adorable Emma Stone, Easy A is a story of gossip, insane judgment and all of it done in our modern society with the Internet, texting and the never-ending story of mean people. With constant references to the impact of 80's movies to a more modern teen culture, Easy A develops its own version and niche for Gen M (or Gen Z, depending on what you read). Very much worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Khunter4382Jul 20, 2011
Emma Stone is so dang cute in this film. I really enjoyed this one, primarily because of an excellent cast, with Tucci & Clarkson getting extra kudos for their parental roles! Tucci is pitch-perfect in every character, though being repeatedlyEmma Stone is so dang cute in this film. I really enjoyed this one, primarily because of an excellent cast, with Tucci & Clarkson getting extra kudos for their parental roles! Tucci is pitch-perfect in every character, though being repeatedly typecast. The permeation of rumors exhibited in this film is very true to form, though slight exaggerated, but it makes for a funny and realistic experience! Good fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BinkiJul 6, 2011
Released on my birthday I could only but like it! No seriously this movie was amazing! So refreshing! Very different from all the other comedies, it has a much more ironical dimension that I adored. The cast is very well chosen, Emma Stone ofReleased on my birthday I could only but like it! No seriously this movie was amazing! So refreshing! Very different from all the other comedies, it has a much more ironical dimension that I adored. The cast is very well chosen, Emma Stone of course, but Penn Badgley is a nice Todd and I absolutely loved the parents!
A must see!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fantastic teenage angst film. Easy A delivers everything that you could possibly want from a move: a lot of laughs, a heartfelt conclusion, and plenty of references to classic literature (the Scarlet Letter). Highlighted by strong performances, especially by Emma Stone, Easy A is a whole lot better then most 80's teen films. With plenty of pop culture references and a lot of humor at the sake of religion, Easy A is a great film, and one not to miss. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Finally a fun teen flik!

This movie rises above it's peers, by a an order of magnitude. Solid performances, bright, snappy dialog, without being self-important/engrossed... just good fun -- big win. To be honest among all movies, I'd rate
Finally a fun teen flik!

This movie rises above it's peers, by a an order of magnitude. Solid performances, bright, snappy dialog, without being self-important/engrossed... just good fun -- big win.


To be honest among all movies, I'd rate it a 6(which is saying quite a bit, as teen fliks are usually 2-4), but for it's genre, a 10+ easy.


Amanda Bynes owes her role as an 'i don't give a fu@%' young woman in high school, who really can't help but caring what others think--That softness gives the movie it's life.

No plot give-aways here, just watch it for yourself. It offers solid performances all around with some amazing lines (My fav: If there's one thing worse than chlamydia, It's Florida) in a well paced stream of fun.


Will it change your life, NOPE.

Will it make you laugh, BIG YES for me.

Thks for the entertainment, I ask nothing more, and this flic delivered!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
I really adore Emma Stone, her performance was very good like the previous movies she did as well and made me laugh so much, as Amanda Bynes doing the "religion girl". The message that the movie passes isn't very original, but keeps beingI really adore Emma Stone, her performance was very good like the previous movies she did as well and made me laugh so much, as Amanda Bynes doing the "religion girl". The message that the movie passes isn't very original, but keeps being really cool, even more in a society with many teenagers that appreciate characteristics which Olive (from the movie) tries transmit (even lying). It's really incredible what people do for popularity. Easy A is a great teen comedy, up there with films like Mean Girls and Superbad. It has a witty screenplay, some great dialogue, and remains hilarious throughout. It has a great acts as well. Emma stone had recently charmed me in Zombieland and Superbad, and here she shows that she is a great lead. She can really act, giving a performance that is the biggest reason to watch this film. She is perhaps the best young star right now of her age. The rest of the cast is amazing as well. Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson are hilarious as her off-beat parents, and Lisa Kudrow is great as well in her limited performance. All in all, there is no reason to miss this film. It is rewatchable, entertaining, funny, and best of all, intelligent. Have I mentioned how great Stone is here? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
Fabulously backed up by a quirky supporting cast (especially Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson) and a clever script, Emma Stone shines throughout. Her performance is one of the year's best and with Easy A, as the film suggests, she's on our map.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRMay 18, 2011
Not a movie to watch with Mom and Dad. That being said, it's good, unclean, naughty fun, with great performances from all the cast and a down-to-earth story about high school. It does fall victim to some of the most predictable cliches thatNot a movie to watch with Mom and Dad. That being said, it's good, unclean, naughty fun, with great performances from all the cast and a down-to-earth story about high school. It does fall victim to some of the most predictable cliches that makes John Hughes movies so classic, but it's still a fun watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicMay 15, 2011
funny as hell. i love this movie. it was hit and miss jokes. good chick flick movie. better than what i expected. it wasn't gay either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smijatovMay 12, 2011
While at first it takes some 20 minutes to get used to the rather uncommon comedic style of direction, Easy A ends up being a very hilarious film!! With great acting by Emma Stone and a rather interesting take at the Scarlet Letter, the filmWhile at first it takes some 20 minutes to get used to the rather uncommon comedic style of direction, Easy A ends up being a very hilarious film!! With great acting by Emma Stone and a rather interesting take at the Scarlet Letter, the film provides for numerous funny moments, and some quite unexpectedly good acting - especially in shirtless scenes, haha. Well, I'm not talking about Mrs.Stone here, but one should check the film out to know what I'm talking about.
That aside, the film is funny, refreshingly original and keeps one wanting more! Very good comedy, one of the best of the year! 7/10!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
movie__manApr 23, 2011
I hated this movie. The story was boring and tired. It seems like a script that was written 10 years ago and has been updated slightly to make it relevant. The characters are all one dimensional stereotypes. The acting sucked. I thoughtI hated this movie. The story was boring and tired. It seems like a script that was written 10 years ago and has been updated slightly to make it relevant. The characters are all one dimensional stereotypes. The acting sucked. I thought Emma Stone's performance was particularly weak and definitely bordered on unwatchable. The only decent actor in the film is Malcolm McDowell but he is only in like 2 or 3 scenes. Sort of like a desperate attempt to give the film some credibility. Maybe he owed someone a favor. Lisa Kudrow looked gross and very old. I have a hard time believeiing an attractive high school student would want anything to do with her. There is a very strong anti-gay message in the film. They tried to dress it up a little so people could watch it without feeling like a scumbag but in my opinion they failed. Also the movie is not funny. However, it does have the mechanic from Wings in it!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bigdon9Mar 28, 2011
A great movie with a great cast. Good dialogue and refreshing humor. I hope to see more of emma stone in the future. The only qualm i have with this movie is that i wanted more of a resolution with the antagonists.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
wiggipopMar 25, 2011
A friend had labelled this film as on par with such teen movie gems as Clueless and Mean Girls, and from the small parts I had seen, was all set to agree with him. However, I was overall disappointed. Emma Stone is really good, she has aA friend had labelled this film as on par with such teen movie gems as Clueless and Mean Girls, and from the small parts I had seen, was all set to agree with him. However, I was overall disappointed. Emma Stone is really good, she has a great sense of timing, and Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson are really excellent as her parents. But the film suffers because of a fairly obvious story, some pretty uninteresting parts (largely featuring Amanda Bynes, Aly Michala and Cam Gigandet), and a surprisingly boring love interest. Not quite up to being called a teen movie classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RoscoMar 22, 2011
A very good teen comedy indeed. Emma Stone proves yet again why she is one of the leading young actresses in the world with another fabulous performance as an anonymous and normal teenage girl who pretends to lose her virginity in order toA very good teen comedy indeed. Emma Stone proves yet again why she is one of the leading young actresses in the world with another fabulous performance as an anonymous and normal teenage girl who pretends to lose her virginity in order to help out a friend. However this spirals out of control and she soon finds herself at the centre of every males attention. Supporting cast is well chosen Patricia Clarkson, Thomas Haden Church and Lisa Kudrow are fantastic in their roles. But its Stone who steals the show, superb choice as the lead in what is a well written and very clever comedy. Won't be for everyone but given the amount of terrible teen movies on the market Easy A is refreshingly humorous in highlighting how big a role "sex" plays in a teenagers life and thus brings around the comedy in what is a genuinely funny and smart movie. Terrific! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ethan24Mar 21, 2011
This movie is so underrated! It is one of my all time favorite movies ever. That's due to superb writing, excellent direction, and fantastic performances by the genius cast. But this film goes down in history for one awesome reason... EMMAThis movie is so underrated! It is one of my all time favorite movies ever. That's due to superb writing, excellent direction, and fantastic performances by the genius cast. But this film goes down in history for one awesome reason... EMMA STONE. She is in a word BRILLIANT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BeratSayMar 15, 2011
I really enjoyed watching this film.It is not the best comedy but it is really fun to watch.It is not the usual teen movie. Story is smart, interesting and great. Also i like how the story goes in the movie.Emma explains us the story via webI really enjoyed watching this film.It is not the best comedy but it is really fun to watch.It is not the usual teen movie. Story is smart, interesting and great. Also i like how the story goes in the movie.Emma explains us the story via web cam and i like that. so i recommend the movie pretty much everyone especially to guys, you will probably get suprised by the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
bottafffMar 15, 2011
This was just a another stupid "chick flick." I can't believe that these types of movies are what my generation watches now. This movie is about a nerdy girl who pretends to lose her virginity so she can become popular, it was exceedinglyThis was just a another stupid "chick flick." I can't believe that these types of movies are what my generation watches now. This movie is about a nerdy girl who pretends to lose her virginity so she can become popular, it was exceedingly boring. I thought the actors were below talented. I must say that the only funny scenes were when Emma Stone's parents where in it. Collapse
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
4
SixellaFeb 15, 2011
I really did not like this movie. The acting wasn't good, and her blond friend was just annoying. This is not how teenagers act! Completely unrealistic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LynFeb 5, 2011
Another hypersexualized teen comedy, though warmed by a good supporting cast and Emma Stone's appealing performance. Do California schools really let girls come to class in lingerie? I'm not sure, but Stone's fun and witty character wasAnother hypersexualized teen comedy, though warmed by a good supporting cast and Emma Stone's appealing performance. Do California schools really let girls come to class in lingerie? I'm not sure, but Stone's fun and witty character was written more like a smarter character on "Friends" than a teenager with actual moments of angst. Never as touching as "Juno," for example. And there's nothing smart or cutting-edge about a teen comedy portraying EVERY "Christian" character as a hypocritical idiot. What really would be groundbreaking is portraying one of them as compassionate and sincere. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
MrC3030Feb 2, 2011
Even though "Teen Coming of Age films" have been done to death, the thing that I liked about this film was that it gave us a fresh look on the pressures of being cool while going through the most awkward stage in your life. Emma StoneEven though "Teen Coming of Age films" have been done to death, the thing that I liked about this film was that it gave us a fresh look on the pressures of being cool while going through the most awkward stage in your life. Emma Stone delivers a great performance as Olive an outcast who uses her sexuality to try to fit in. Amanda Bynes performance as Marianne the snotty Christian girl was so spot on, I graduated from catholic school felt I new her personally. I literally could look in my yearbook and show a picture of this girl. Bottom line, I had a blast watching this film!!!
Acting: Good
Storyline: Good
Characters: Great
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DorrbeckerJan 23, 2011
Another boring chick flick we have seen million times already. Lame jokes that are not even funny. If you want to see this movie just watch 'Mean Girls' again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JulynhaJan 22, 2011
It`s a great movie to pass the time.
the way they told the story was very interesting and the actress did a great job.
if you want to pass the time in a fun way, that's the way to go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JasonGoalieJan 8, 2011
Please don't pay the slightest bit of attention to the small handful of negative reviews for "Easy A." Most of them are from the unimaginative and easily offended, who therefore complain about the surrealsim of the plot and characterPlease don't pay the slightest bit of attention to the small handful of negative reviews for "Easy A." Most of them are from the unimaginative and easily offended, who therefore complain about the surrealsim of the plot and character stereotypes. Uhm, folks... It's a MOVIE. Unless you want a movie to be 5 hours long, you have to lay down SOME governing assumptions and hyperbolic situations. Was "Seinfeld" a bad TV show because many of the comedic situations were completely contrived?

The truth is as follows: "Easy A" is a funny, entertaining, largely SATIRICAL movie. Olive (Emma Stone) is the dynamic character with a real struggle. The actors that play her friends, her enemies, her parents, her teachers, etc... are supporting cast members that INTENTIONALLY fall into unfair stereotypes...

Clearly, some people need a lesson in satire. Go see Easy A if you actually have a sense of humor.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
The movie comes up with one interesting idea: When homosexual teenagers have a really hard time, some others mean well by telling them it will get better with time. However, everyone should be able to be happy in the moment and not only in aThe movie comes up with one interesting idea: When homosexual teenagers have a really hard time, some others mean well by telling them it will get better with time. However, everyone should be able to be happy in the moment and not only in a possible future that might still take years to come. Easy A uses an extreme amount of American stereotypes, is sometimes funny, and the parents' characters are very charming. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
scrieciuJan 4, 2011
Finally ! An entertaining , fun, cool teen movie, with smart humor, that you can enjoy and even relay to it (of course, i'm talking about the situations in high school and some other stuff...). After watching this, it really put me in a goodFinally ! An entertaining , fun, cool teen movie, with smart humor, that you can enjoy and even relay to it (of course, i'm talking about the situations in high school and some other stuff...). After watching this, it really put me in a good mood for some reason. Maybe because it was so fun to watch and like I said, really enjoyable. Emma Stone is stunning ! This movie might make her more noticeable for other good movies. Who knows ? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TENCATIJADec 27, 2010
I actually ended watching this movie twice, once in theatres and once after it came out and I have to say it seemed better the second time. I generally thought Emma Stone, who's turning out to have an amazing acting career, did a brilliantI actually ended watching this movie twice, once in theatres and once after it came out and I have to say it seemed better the second time. I generally thought Emma Stone, who's turning out to have an amazing acting career, did a brilliant job with her role as Olive and I thought it was her and and the amazing supporting cast that really made this movie as popular as it was. Surprisingly, I was reading The Scarlet Letter in English the time this movie came out and I have to say, there were a lot of the same aspects of that book in the movie, which made it very entertaining for me. This movie is probably the best teen movie made in the 21st century and deserves every bit of praise. The only thing that i didn't like was that Lisa Kudrow gave her student an STD. Awkward! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DralenDec 18, 2010
Simple, fun and funny. Although, I was expecting a little bit more humour. Good movie overall though. That's all I want to really say about this chick flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KateMDec 13, 2010
This movie is exactly what you think it is. The plot is predictable to the extreme and there are a few funny moments, but it's still quite dull. Olive is a pretty basic character, the main love interest is very typical and the school'sThis movie is exactly what you think it is. The plot is predictable to the extreme and there are a few funny moments, but it's still quite dull. Olive is a pretty basic character, the main love interest is very typical and the school's students are all blatantly in their 20s and over the top. This is usual of these kind of films, but it got boring ages ago. This is a good enough teen romcom, but it's nothing special at all, and is obviously just a grab for cash and stardom for Emma Stone. Uninspiring, predictable and dull sums up Easy A Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424Dec 4, 2010
Really funny movie. I think highschool is kind of like it was in this movie. I laugh alot watching this movie. I thought this movie was going be a regular teen movie but it was actually a great teen movie. Emma Stone did a nice job in thisReally funny movie. I think highschool is kind of like it was in this movie. I laugh alot watching this movie. I thought this movie was going be a regular teen movie but it was actually a great teen movie. Emma Stone did a nice job in this movie. I like comedy movies like this one. It bring comedy and some romance. I think this ix a movie every one should see. Best comedy-romace movie of the year. I hope this movie get nominated for best comedy romace or music movie. I think emma stone did a very nice job with her performance with in this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RyanLopezDec 3, 2010
This movie is funny, but it also had it's flaws. But in the most part, it was 93% good-5% awesome- 2%flaw. This movie is hilarious, just the concept of a girl acting like a slut, to be more popular, it's just a great movie plot. Two thumbsThis movie is funny, but it also had it's flaws. But in the most part, it was 93% good-5% awesome- 2%flaw. This movie is hilarious, just the concept of a girl acting like a slut, to be more popular, it's just a great movie plot. Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
KundKNov 30, 2010
An enjoyable, smart and funny teen comedy. It is also contrived, perhaps overly "meta-" for some viewers, more that slightly implausible (from the European perspective at least), it revisits all the well worn tropes and, for my money, it isAn enjoyable, smart and funny teen comedy. It is also contrived, perhaps overly "meta-" for some viewers, more that slightly implausible (from the European perspective at least), it revisits all the well worn tropes and, for my money, it is not quite on a par with "Clueless", "Mean Girls", "Saved" or "Superbad", but well worth a watch. Emma Stone is just magnificent here. Much more than in "Zombieland". And she carjacked Hummers and blasted zombies with shotguns there so... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
While Easy A has a cliche plot, it still benefits from its smart script and charming performance from Emma Stone. The film has a plot that is so cliche that whenever Hollywood makes a movie about it, people just tend to overlook it.While Easy A has a cliche plot, it still benefits from its smart script and charming performance from Emma Stone. The film has a plot that is so cliche that whenever Hollywood makes a movie about it, people just tend to overlook it. Unfortunately, people also overlooked this particular film. Easy is not just another Hollywood cliche, it has a script that is fresh and it has a lead that is charming. Rhiannon is a typical school girl who is not that popular. So she's going around spreading rumors about herself: that she slept with a college guy and almost the whole school. While all this is fake, guys are going up to her asking her to spread rumors that she slept with them (in exchange for a gift card to Target.) Although Easy A isn't as funny as it should be, it still manages to entertain me with its amazing (and hot!) Emma Stone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrettOwen9Nov 3, 2010
This film is good, but I think it went for too young of an audience. This might be a cliche sentiment, but I think that it would have been better if the directors and producers had aimed for an older audience, gone for an R rating, and madeThis film is good, but I think it went for too young of an audience. This might be a cliche sentiment, but I think that it would have been better if the directors and producers had aimed for an older audience, gone for an R rating, and made the film raunchier than it is. To me the best part of the movie were Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson playing Emma Stone's character's parents, they were too funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
fridaymovieOct 28, 2010
I found the story line of this movie pathetic and trivial.HOWEVER, I think Emma Stone is going to be a very big star.I would have walked out of this movie but she was just so captivating and likable.It would be a good movie to rent just toI found the story line of this movie pathetic and trivial.HOWEVER, I think Emma Stone is going to be a very big star.I would have walked out of this movie but she was just so captivating and likable.It would be a good movie to rent just to see her shine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
bumbleboyOct 25, 2010
This film is awful and the strong reviews for it very disappointing. I had very high hopes that it would be a smart teen comedy but instead every character is overwritten. The story non-sensical; it seems as though the script was written andThis film is awful and the strong reviews for it very disappointing. I had very high hopes that it would be a smart teen comedy but instead every character is overwritten. The story non-sensical; it seems as though the script was written and overwritten a number of times with each person trying to add yet another twist. Why is everyone talking this way; why would a character who fakes being a prostitute be surprised someone thinks of her that way? In what highschool is one person having sex the talk of the institution? The really sad thing is that Easy A could have been a really smart comedy; instead its just a mess. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
olympiansOct 24, 2010
I thought this film was OK but no more . It was nowhere near as funny as Juno was and to be honest I don't think it will ring any bells with a European audience (of which I am one). No teenager in Europe has ever gone through anI thought this film was OK but no more . It was nowhere near as funny as Juno was and to be honest I don't think it will ring any bells with a European audience (of which I am one). No teenager in Europe has ever gone through an existentialist crisis at the thought of losing their virginity (especially at the age of 17), and to see a 21 year old guy being slapped around by his mother for having caught chlamydia was a step too far for me. Having said that, the acting was good and I liked Emma Stone's parents a lot. This film is great for any 14 year old, good for any 18 year old and OK for anyone over the age of 21! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
crowOct 22, 2010
Why is this movie being praised? It's really truly not a good film. The characters made zero sense. Hi, I'm an intelligent high schooler who pretends to be a slut. Now I have a bad reputation and everyone stares at me because I decided toWhy is this movie being praised? It's really truly not a good film. The characters made zero sense. Hi, I'm an intelligent high schooler who pretends to be a slut. Now I have a bad reputation and everyone stares at me because I decided to wear negligee to school and a big obvious red 'A' on my shirt. I have a best friend who has zero redeeming qualities and parents who have borderline personality disorder. Oh and for some reason all of the other sluts in school aren't given such a hard time as me. I am confused, but don't get me wrong I'm smart. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
liptapOct 22, 2010
This movie is hilarious funny & outrageous daft. This is Emma Stone's funniest portrayal yet! This is up there with my fave comedies (Superbad, Knocked Up, Shaun of the Dead, P9neapple Express, Role Models, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, TropicThis movie is hilarious funny & outrageous daft. This is Emma Stone's funniest portrayal yet! This is up there with my fave comedies (Superbad, Knocked Up, Shaun of the Dead, P9neapple Express, Role Models, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Tropic Thunder etc.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TonyOct 11, 2010
I had high expectations, and the film exceeded them. Emma Stone is incredibly likable. The script is sharp and hilarious. Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson are absolute scene stealers as Stone's parents. It has drawn a lot of comparisons toI had high expectations, and the film exceeded them. Emma Stone is incredibly likable. The script is sharp and hilarious. Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson are absolute scene stealers as Stone's parents. It has drawn a lot of comparisons to "Mean Girls," and, while it doesn't quite reach the same level as Tina Fey's film, it deserves to be in the same company. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
seanpatrickrOct 5, 2010
I really liked this one. I was laughing and loving the story. and i completely felt for the little gay boy who needed his friend's help. so sad :( Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson were absolute stand-outs, as was amanda Bynes. Welcome backI really liked this one. I was laughing and loving the story. and i completely felt for the little gay boy who needed his friend's help. so sad :( Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson were absolute stand-outs, as was amanda Bynes. Welcome back to acting darling! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryOct 3, 2010
This bouncy teen flick tries to be like so many others, but it seldom generates real laffs. Emma Stone pretends to have sex with loser boys and becomes known as the school's Hester Prynne (look it up). Clichés include wackyThis bouncy teen flick tries to be like so many others, but it seldom generates real laffs. Emma Stone pretends to have sex with loser boys and becomes known as the school's Hester Prynne (look it up). Clichés include wacky adults (with one cool one), campus cliques and an ambiguous (not really) romantic interest. Since the scenario is so obvious, the characters and dialogue must sustain the humor. This one has an energetic spirit, but not much originality or real comedy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SeekerDarksteelOct 3, 2010
A well executed and amusing movie, but ultimately it suffers from being a bit too cliche. The outcome was obvious very early on in the movie, and so seemed to drag a bit while meandering towards the inevitable conclusion. However theA well executed and amusing movie, but ultimately it suffers from being a bit too cliche. The outcome was obvious very early on in the movie, and so seemed to drag a bit while meandering towards the inevitable conclusion. However the meandering was at least enjoyable to watch, saving Easy A from being an otherwise forgettable teen comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviegSep 30, 2010
Although there are times where the movie is hard to watch, Emma Stone keeps the movie strong and should be respected after this. It does borrow some elements from other high school films, but it knows that. The movie isnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
conschobharSep 28, 2010
Easy A is pretty good, but it's best when it's having fun. The acting is first class, with excellent performances by Stone, Tucci, Clarkson, and Kudrow in particular. However, there is a kind of arrogance to the film's humor, often totallyEasy A is pretty good, but it's best when it's having fun. The acting is first class, with excellent performances by Stone, Tucci, Clarkson, and Kudrow in particular. However, there is a kind of arrogance to the film's humor, often totally missing the mark while seeming extremely self-satisfied. Much of the script lacks subtlety or intelligence, but when the actors are allowed free reign to raise their characters freak flags the film sparkles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shnell517Sep 25, 2010
I loved this movie! Very funny!! I usually don't see teen movies but my daughter wanted to go. I think I enjoyed it as much or more than her - Great cast!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Island7Sep 23, 2010
A very fun and enjoyable movie. Emma Stone is turning into a real star.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
moviegoerSep 23, 2010
When is it okay to promote intolerance and perpetuate false, vindictive, evil, and cruel stereotypes about a people group? As long as that people group happens to be Christians. If Muslims or gays were treated like Christians are in thisWhen is it okay to promote intolerance and perpetuate false, vindictive, evil, and cruel stereotypes about a people group? As long as that people group happens to be Christians. If Muslims or gays were treated like Christians are in this movie, people would be enraged and we would never hear the end of it. I would encourage critics who laud this movie to be intellectually honest. Who are the real hypocrites here? Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
8
reasonateSep 22, 2010
I'm not usually into teen movies, but this one was funny and witty and thoroughly entertaining. And despite its sex-related topic, didn't feel super dirty and raunchy like Superbad or the American Pie-type movies. I enjoyed pretty muchI'm not usually into teen movies, but this one was funny and witty and thoroughly entertaining. And despite its sex-related topic, didn't feel super dirty and raunchy like Superbad or the American Pie-type movies. I enjoyed pretty much every scene with Emma Stone, Patricia Clarkson, or Stanley Tucci. It isn't going to win an Oscar, but made me laugh out loud time and again. And though I almost never want to see movies more than once, I'm already thinking about seeing it again. (And as an aside, is anyone else thinking that a Tina Fey/Emma Stone collaboration would be awesome?) Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
mrcriticSep 21, 2010
Did Easy A deserve its grade, or was it an epic fail? Well, Easy A stars Emma Stone (Zombieland), as Olive Penderghast, an anonymous nobody in high school. Her only friends are Aly Michalka (From the band 78violet), as Rhiannon, a mid-Did Easy A deserve its grade, or was it an epic fail? Well, Easy A stars Emma Stone (Zombieland), as Olive Penderghast, an anonymous nobody in high school. Her only friends are Aly Michalka (From the band 78violet), as Rhiannon, a mid- popular hottie who likes to curse. Michalka was hilarious, and definitely proved she's not a Disney Channel girl anymore. Her other friend/crush is Penn Badgely (The Stepfather), as Woodchuck Todd. His performance was bland and boring, however unique in a way where his humor was dry, yet funny. Her final friend is Brandon, played by Dan Byrd (Cougar Town) is her homosexual friend, who fakes having sex with Olive to earn popularity points. Although he was only in the movie for about 8-10 minutes, Byrd's performance was very gay. I guess that's good acting.... Her enemies are pretty much the entire school Christian club, but Marianne, played by Amanda Bynes (Sydney White) is her main nemesis, who also starts the entire rumor of her losing her virginity. Bland and boring, this is Bynes' last... and worst acting role she has ever done. Thomas Haden Church (Spider Man 3), Lisa Kudrow (Hotel For Dogs), and Malcolm McDowell (Halloween 2), play school faculty members, who are very funny. If you haven't seen or heard about this movie, you must be blind and deaf, so there's no need to explain this movie. Overall, the movie was great, however the last third of the movie turned more into a drama. So, Easy A may not have gotten an A, but it did get an: A- Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
christysunSep 21, 2010
One of the better movies I have seen in a while. Great teen movie with so many amazing one liners. I will watch this again to catch things I missed the first time, because I was laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
YsalamiriSep 20, 2010
I just read that Emma Stone dropped out of Sucker Punch to do this movie (Source: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1282140/trivia) . Bad decision in my opinion!
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraSep 19, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pinpointing the exact moment where Julia Roberts became a star in Garry Marshall's "Pretty Woman" was a tangible instant, a light source, previously unseen, suddenly emanating from the jacuzzi. It was Julia singing "Kiss", out of tune and out to charm, punctuated with kissing noises, that set the Steel Magnolia apart from the other Magnolias and Mystics. Emma Stone, last seen in "Zombieland", now seen in "Easy A", has a moment like that, when the earworm(Natasha Bedington's "Pocketful of Sunshine") which enters Olive's head, slowly and surely burrows deeper and deeper over the course of a lonely weekend, with perfect editing, Wes Anderson-like titles, and the right shaggy mutt, shows how singing some disposable, yet insinuatingly catchy pop song can turn into a compulsion, a temporary full-blown neurosis, and a cure for the blues, while, of course, charming the pants off the audience. Stone plays a virgin, Olive Pendergast, who is made to feel inadequate by the sexual exploits of her worldly best friend Rhiannon(Aly Michalka), two girls, the virgin and the whore, who aren't all that dissimilar from their twentieth-century counterparts played by Thora Birch and Mena Suvari in Sam Mendes' "American Beauty". In the Mendes film, the friendship sours the moment Jane(Birch) embarks on a love affair with Ricky(Wes Bentley), an unexpected development that intimidates the usually undauntable Angela(Suvari), since as it turns out, her boastful talk about wanting to do "it" with Jane's father is all an act. She's a virgin too, like Rhiannon, perhaps, which would explain why the daughter of nudists would turn against Olive, when the purported wild girl should be thrilled to have a partner-in-crime(ala Nicky Reed and Evan Rachel Wood in Catherine Hardwicke's "Thirteen": the mother played by Patricia Clarkson has a little Holly Hunter in her). Previously, with bravado and post-feminist glee, Rhiannon squeals in delight upon learning that her caller ID name on Olive's cell phone is "big t**s", a sure indication that Olive may have a body image problem, as Jane did in "American Beauty", when she explores the possibility of breast implants. She feels like a "plain Jane", so does Olive, that's why the good girl turns "bad"; the good girl feels the pressure to compete, but the moviegoer may want to hedge his/her bets that the good girl may be in a one-woman race against a c*cktease. Who can forget the scene between Suvari and Kevin Spacey, when the jailbait temptress reverts back into a quivering schoolgirl, as Lester gets ready to ravish her. (He didn't realize the rose petals in his sex fantasy about Angela, signified a deflowering.) As played by Spacey, Lester Burnham had no morals. Whereas in "Easy A", the English teacher played by Thomas Haden Church, is kept in check by some girls(Amanda Bynes is their queen bee) who belong to an on-campus church group. Sanctimonious and annoying as they may appear to be, the moviegoer should be aware of the sexual overtones, albeit Victorian ones, which makes Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter" a fairly incendiary book; a book that could be employed to help seduce a bright and naive female student by some unscrupulous teacher. The wife's affair with a male student is treated like a surprise plot twist, suggesting that the transgression was supposed to occur between Olive and Mr. Griffith. But alas, while Christian values take its lumps, Christian values save the day; saves the teacher's job, because Olive never does turn into Hester Prynne, never commits adultery. The "A" stitched to her dress signifies nothing; it's merely a fashion accessory. She never does get that easy "A" from the English teacher. She's a good girl. And that's progress. Back in 1990, to be America's Sweetheart, Julia Roberts played the hooker with a heart of gold, whereas Emma Stone, in a long line of heir apparents since then, plays a fake hooker who takes the fake orgasm to the next level. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
NeptuneSep 19, 2010
Pop culture aficionados will be adding quotations from the zinger-filled "Easy A" to their repertoires. Cleverly uses Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter" as a departure point for examining today's mores, envisioning them through the lens of JohnPop culture aficionados will be adding quotations from the zinger-filled "Easy A" to their repertoires. Cleverly uses Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter" as a departure point for examining today's mores, envisioning them through the lens of John Hughes. Strong performances all around, a great ensemble. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SmellyCatSep 18, 2010
This film deserves every bit of praise that has been thrown at it. It's the smartest teen movie in a long while, bolstered by an incredibly charismatic lead and a clever supporting cast. Emma Stone makes her snarkiness endlessly appealing andThis film deserves every bit of praise that has been thrown at it. It's the smartest teen movie in a long while, bolstered by an incredibly charismatic lead and a clever supporting cast. Emma Stone makes her snarkiness endlessly appealing and cute. The supporting cast, most notably Patricia Clarkson, Thomas Haden Church, Lisa Kudrow, and Stanley Tucci are scene-stealers in the best way possible. Easy A is a great way to finish off a summer with numerous great comedies. However, Easy A just might be the best. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DominikSep 18, 2010
A very good movie, pure and simple. Emma Stone is charming and was definitely a good choice and the supporting characters are just delightful. The wit that you've heard so much about in the professional reviews is alive and well and thereA very good movie, pure and simple. Emma Stone is charming and was definitely a good choice and the supporting characters are just delightful. The wit that you've heard so much about in the professional reviews is alive and well and there some great jokes (some a little corny, but the rest are very funny and pretty). Finally a high school comedy with some actual charm and substance, (which in my opinion are few and far between). If your a guy and your girlfriend drags you into seeing this movie, you may come out pleasantly surprised. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews