Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Edge of Tomorrow is the ultimate metaphor about Tom Cruise’s career. You can’t kill this guy. He’ll just keep coming. And he remains arguably the biggest movie star in the world for a reason. He brings it.
  2. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jun 3, 2014
    95
    A mix of forward-looking sci-fi, classic themes, deft plotting and superb writing and direction, Edge of Tomorrow may be the pure-pleasure blockbuster to beat this Summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    May 30, 2014
    91
    The reason the film works is because it throws everything into the blender and comes up with something new, something that has a great lively sense of wit and humor to it, and it takes the time to fully explore its wild premise fully.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    It's a star-driven mass-market entertainment that's smart, exciting and unexpected while not stinting on genre satisfactions.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    Liman keeps the action and surprises coming nonstop. OK, the end is a head-scratcher. Until then, Cruise and Blunt make dying a hugely entertaining game of chance.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    The movie has an organic intelligence and a sense that it, too, exists outside of linear time. It seems to be creating itself as you watch it.
  7. Reviewed by: Alonso Duralde
    May 22, 2014
    85
    For a film about repetition, Edge of Tomorrow never feels tired or familiar.
  8. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 4, 2014
    83
    An entertaining, effects-driven black comedy, with shades of "Starship Troopers" in its depiction of warfare as a futuristic turkey shoot, the movie is distinguished more by how fluidly it handles its high-concept premise than where it takes it.
  9. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 4, 2014
    83
    Despite its terribly unimaginative title, Edge of Tomorrow is a surprisingly imaginative summer action movie.
  10. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jun 4, 2014
    83
    Liman stages the chaotic action scenes, including several iterations of the beach assault, with clarity, precision, and wit. This is his best movie since 2002's "The Bourne Identity."
  11. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    A furiously time-looping joy ride and the smartest action film of the early summer season.
  12. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Edge of Tomorrow repeats itself without being repetitive, takes itself seriously while providing some laughs and offers plenty of action without short-changing us on the intelligence front.
  13. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 4, 2014
    80
    Crucially, Cruise knows just how to pace Cage’s shift from cowardly to courageous. Yes, we get cool effects and impressive machinery. But he and Liman add unexpected humor and genuine tension to the seasonal thrill of blowing stuff up.
  14. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    May 23, 2014
    80
    The breakneck pace leaves little room for meaningful character development... But there’s imagination, spectacle and thrills to spare.
  15. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 23, 2014
    80
    A playful and frantic science-fiction twister which mimics the best (Aliens, The Matrix, Groundhog Day) while offering something fresh and — most importantly — thrilling.
  16. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    May 22, 2014
    80
    The pleasure of Edge of Tomorrow is that it’s not an action movie first and foremost, but rather a cheeky little puzzle picture in expensive-looking blockbuster drag.
  17. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 6, 2014
    75
    At its best, Edge of Tomorrow plays like a tripwire time-travel thriller. As it progresses, though, the built-in repetition can, and does, grow tedious.
  18. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    All in all, a perfectly superior example of industrially fortified Hollywood fun, and as good a guarantee as Doug Liman can offer that we haven’t seen the last of him yet.
  19. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    The fact is that this is a pretty good summer-kablooie movie, and Cruise is better than pretty good in it.
  20. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Offers a more satisfying cinematic experience than "Oblivion."
  21. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Edge of Tomorrow covers familiar ground with unexpected wit and economy, and the result is a thoroughly entertaining sci-fi fantasy.
  22. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    I'm not sure Edge of Tomorrow holds much repeat viewing potential among teenage movie consumers, since the movie's a self-repeating entity to begin with. But once is fun.
  23. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Like summer movies themselves, it’s become so easy to be glib in dismissing Tom Cruise. “Edge of Tomorrow” provides welcome and hugely entertaining evidence that he’s still a star of considerable gifts, and savvy enough not to let them be squandered just yet.
  24. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Edge of Tomorrow may be the best video game movie ever made. Which is strange since it isn't actually based on a video game.
  25. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 4, 2014
    75
    A Tom Cruise action flick with a strong female heroine and a sense of humor? Edge of Tomorrow has both of those, plus a “Groundhog Day’’-style gimmick that pays big dividends. Over and over.
  26. 70
    It’s probably no great loss, but here and elsewhere the seams show. And in this sort of movie it’s often more fun before we get our bearings and have time to say, “This makes no sense.”
  27. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    In Edge of Tomorrow, Mr. Liman brings Mr. Cruise’s smile out of semiretirement and also gives him the kind of physical challenges at which he so brilliantly excels.
  28. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    They might also have called it "Groundhog Day 2," but that wouldn't have conveyed the film's martial frenzy, its fascinating intricacies or the special delights of its borderline-comic tone.
  29. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Edge Of Tomorrow’s finale can’t live up to what’s come before, though that’s mostly because what comes before is so rich and unusual, particularly in the middle of a summer blockbuster season that doesn’t always value richness or novelty.
  30. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 3, 2014
    70
    The Wile E. Coyote fatalities are fun, but it's that repetitive moment of horror that holds this bipolar stunt together: Cruise, bug-eyed and gasping for breath as he shakes off his fear and grimly prepares for the next suicide mission.
  31. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 6, 2014
    67
    Cruise is better than he’s been in a while because he damps down his usual all-intensity-all-the-time MO. He’s best here when his character seems the most scared. And Emily Blunt as a commando legend is indomitable, a credit to her exoskeleton.
  32. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Edge of Tomorrow is slick, but once its fancy plot dressing takes form, it has little more to offer aside from a few impressive action sequences and the infallible grin of its nimble lead.
  33. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 4, 2014
    63
    Cruise and Blunt have a measure of chemistry, however their characters go undeveloped, given short shrift amid the spectacle. But the pulse-pounding action scenes are briskly directed by Doug Liman.
  34. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Jun 4, 2014
    63
    Tom Cruise's participation transmutes, as it always does, everything around him, turning the movie's series of false starts, dead ends, and hard lessons into a working metaphor for his own career.
  35. 63
    Cruise and Blunt have only as much chemistry as the script allows.
  36. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    May 29, 2014
    60
    Thank heavens, then, for the time-loop gimmick, which sustains a full hour of screen time with enough variations on its gambit to hook you in.
  37. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    May 23, 2014
    60
    The film’s Groundhog Day-meets-Independence Day plot is actually pretty genius.
  38. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Edge of Tomorrow isn’t good, but it’s also forgivable. Just please stop the "Top Gun 2" rumors, Tom. Please.
  39. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    By design it’s monotonous, and with so much clunky hardware, Liman can’t generate the same pace he produced in the “Bourne” movies. Edge of Tomorrow has neither an edge nor a vision of tomorrow that matters today.
  40. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    I felt unable to decide between this movie is the most badass thing ever and OMG turn it off.
  41. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Jun 4, 2014
    50
    This is an action flick for those who like form over substance in their popcorn movies which explode onscreen every summer.
  42. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Although the humor helps, the Groundhog Day-like repetition gets tedious; it makes you feel more like a hamster than a groundhog — or rather a hamster's wheel, going round and round, over and over again.
  43. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 709 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 213
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    The 're-living sequences' were very entertaining, sometimes comical. There's also good chemistry between Cruise and Blunt, and the premise was interesting enough to keep me captivated for the entirety of the movie. Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    A very very ambition satisfying gorgeous sci–fi movie in recent years, I came to watch this cause I adore Tom Cruise but with no high expectation in the movie itself, and for now I still can't believe how much surprises it gave me! I found it funny and hilarious in the first 15 minutes, and it started to blow my mind with its awesome warfare scenes, then when I came to follow the storytelling, I found it hard to breath cause it's so tight! I can't wait to see what cage's gonna do when he revive, when the end came, I almost shout freakin awesome! after all it's easy to recommend to all sci–fi movie fan cause you know what's gonna happen in the edge of tomorrow! Full Review »