Edge of Tomorrow

Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    May 29, 2014
    60
    Thank heavens, then, for the time-loop gimmick, which sustains a full hour of screen time with enough variations on its gambit to hook you in.
  2. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    May 23, 2014
    60
    The film’s Groundhog Day-meets-Independence Day plot is actually pretty genius.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Edge of Tomorrow isn’t good, but it’s also forgivable. Just please stop the "Top Gun 2" rumors, Tom. Please.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    By design it’s monotonous, and with so much clunky hardware, Liman can’t generate the same pace he produced in the “Bourne” movies. Edge of Tomorrow has neither an edge nor a vision of tomorrow that matters today.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    I felt unable to decide between this movie is the most badass thing ever and OMG turn it off.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Jun 4, 2014
    50
    This is an action flick for those who like form over substance in their popcorn movies which explode onscreen every summer.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Although the humor helps, the Groundhog Day-like repetition gets tedious; it makes you feel more like a hamster than a groundhog — or rather a hamster's wheel, going round and round, over and over again.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 270
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventuallyI was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    The 're-living sequences' were very entertaining, sometimes comical. There's also good chemistry between Cruise and Blunt, and the premise wasThe 're-living sequences' were very entertaining, sometimes comical. There's also good chemistry between Cruise and Blunt, and the premise was interesting enough to keep me captivated for the entirety of the movie. Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    A very very ambition satisfying gorgeous sci–fi movie in recent years, I came to watch this cause I adore Tom Cruise but with no highA very very ambition satisfying gorgeous sci–fi movie in recent years, I came to watch this cause I adore Tom Cruise but with no high expectation in the movie itself, and for now I still can't believe how much surprises it gave me! I found it funny and hilarious in the first 15 minutes, and it started to blow my mind with its awesome warfare scenes, then when I came to follow the storytelling, I found it hard to breath cause it's so tight! I can't wait to see what cage's gonna do when he revive, when the end came, I almost shout freakin awesome! after all it's easy to recommend to all sci–fi movie fan cause you know what's gonna happen in the edge of tomorrow! Full Review »