Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 956 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Lt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the sameLt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the same brutal combat over and over, fighting and dying again…and again. But with each battle, Cage becomes able to engage the adversaries with increasing skill, alongside Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (Emily Blunt). And, as Cage and Rita take the fight to the aliens, each repeated encounter gets them one step closer to defeating the enemy. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Edge of Tomorrow is the ultimate metaphor about Tom Cruise’s career. You can’t kill this guy. He’ll just keep coming. And he remains arguably the biggest movie star in the world for a reason. He brings it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    The movie has an organic intelligence and a sense that it, too, exists outside of linear time. It seems to be creating itself as you watch it.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    A furiously time-looping joy ride and the smartest action film of the early summer season.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    I'm not sure Edge of Tomorrow holds much repeat viewing potential among teenage movie consumers, since the movie's a self-repeating entity to begin with. But once is fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    In Edge of Tomorrow, Mr. Liman brings Mr. Cruise’s smile out of semiretirement and also gives him the kind of physical challenges at which he so brilliantly excels.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Edge of Tomorrow is slick, but once its fancy plot dressing takes form, it has little more to offer aside from a few impressive action sequences and the infallible grin of its nimble lead.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 245
  1. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    I am SHOCKED that this movie was not a huge success. It was original, it had an amazing cast, overall, this movie was one of the best of theI am SHOCKED that this movie was not a huge success. It was original, it had an amazing cast, overall, this movie was one of the best of the year. Id definitely recommend it. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventuallyI was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    This movie was great fun. One of the best action films I've ever seen. Even though the plot is more action than story oriented (and that's aThis movie was great fun. One of the best action films I've ever seen. Even though the plot is more action than story oriented (and that's a flaw for me) it's still exceptionally well made in every aspect, intriguing, exciting and even funny in the right way. Never stupid neither really predictable. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    Forget Groundhog Day. For Science Fiction fans like me, this movie combines the best of Minority Report (finally another great performance byForget Groundhog Day. For Science Fiction fans like me, this movie combines the best of Minority Report (finally another great performance by Tom Cruise) and Aliens. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Emily Blunt commanded attention (with guts and dignity like Ripley), and the other characters were also idiosyncratic and fun. Two other big pluses – the movie had a great sense of humor and I had no problem following the complicated plot. This one may be a classic. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    8
    My favorite summer movie so far. This film has some excellent moments, feeding off a sci fi hybrid of groudhogs day, saving private ryan, andMy favorite summer movie so far. This film has some excellent moments, feeding off a sci fi hybrid of groudhogs day, saving private ryan, and any recent alien invasion saga. The design is excellent. The mimics look great and are actually quiet frightening when introduced. The repetitive nature of the story works because Liman is able to keep it moving without going over unnecessary parts. The editing works in favor, though I did feel that some of the later reboots were a little vague in detail. Blunt looks awesome carrying that huge sword and killing aliens. Cruise is good enough to play the every man that progresses through the movie to be come a top solider. -A here. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    Best action movie in years. Tom Cruise may be nuts in real life, but on screen he is still the man. Emily Blunt matches Cruise blow for blow,Best action movie in years. Tom Cruise may be nuts in real life, but on screen he is still the man. Emily Blunt matches Cruise blow for blow, and the two of them really carry the movie together. Just a no-BS action film with great performances, great action, and a preposterous plot that nonetheless draws you in as you watch. I could have used a touch more humor, but otherwise I can't complain. 8/10. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    3
    Groundhog Day, Source Code, Pacific Rim put together brings Edge of Tomorrow like already one of comment said, I really can't see how isGroundhog Day, Source Code, Pacific Rim put together brings Edge of Tomorrow like already one of comment said, I really can't see how is possible that somebody which see it self like regular movie critics writer (i think on many news papers and magazine) can give to this movie any higher score than 3+ and 1 point more for good production, after his fourth "reset" movie becoming on first place boring, whit various ATTEMPTS in several different directions for developing story, but neither of them was developed in some kind of main note , so all is one big mix, as is said before of several movies, whit End which is so chip and stupid , that was simply surprising..for example Movie LIVING IN OBLIVION maybe is not master piece but he have one main impulse trough which viewers is guided from beginning to the end. As i said... edge of Tomorrow is maybe poorest executed movie for last , let's say 15 years in which Tom Cruise took the main rolle Expand

See all 245 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June Image
    Published: June 3, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in June, including 22 Jump Street, Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, and more.