Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1028 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Lt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the sameLt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the same brutal combat over and over, fighting and dying again…and again. But with each battle, Cage becomes able to engage the adversaries with increasing skill, alongside Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (Emily Blunt). And, as Cage and Rita take the fight to the aliens, each repeated encounter gets them one step closer to defeating the enemy. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Edge of Tomorrow is the ultimate metaphor about Tom Cruise’s career. You can’t kill this guy. He’ll just keep coming. And he remains arguably the biggest movie star in the world for a reason. He brings it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    The movie has an organic intelligence and a sense that it, too, exists outside of linear time. It seems to be creating itself as you watch it.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    A furiously time-looping joy ride and the smartest action film of the early summer season.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    I'm not sure Edge of Tomorrow holds much repeat viewing potential among teenage movie consumers, since the movie's a self-repeating entity to begin with. But once is fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    In Edge of Tomorrow, Mr. Liman brings Mr. Cruise’s smile out of semiretirement and also gives him the kind of physical challenges at which he so brilliantly excels.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Edge of Tomorrow is slick, but once its fancy plot dressing takes form, it has little more to offer aside from a few impressive action sequences and the infallible grin of its nimble lead.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 256
  1. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    "Live. Die. Repeat" would have been a better title, but the studio ran an algorithm (probably) and went for a bland title instead, then failed"Live. Die. Repeat" would have been a better title, but the studio ran an algorithm (probably) and went for a bland title instead, then failed to market the film at all. Critics liked it, so did audiences. "Groundhog Day" in a sci-fi action film and it works. Cruise is first rate at playing initially unlikeable characters and it's the same here. It's also, at times, very funny. Genuinely good. A big surprise, Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventuallyI was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    Not a great fan of Tom Cruise but he plays the part perfectly, his and Blunt chemistry are very good and the script and directing are topNot a great fan of Tom Cruise but he plays the part perfectly, his and Blunt chemistry are very good and the script and directing are top notch. What they did wrong in Oblivion here they did rigth. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    A really good movie, I have to say. When I went to the cinema, i was excpecting a nice science-fiction movie with aliens, weapons, explosions,A really good movie, I have to say. When I went to the cinema, i was excpecting a nice science-fiction movie with aliens, weapons, explosions, wars etc. but this movie is better than this. The plot is REALLY cool and original, also if at first it could seem like source code. And the aliens are awesome. Maybe not everyone will like the ending, but i did. Don't miss it. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    8
    My favorite summer movie so far. This film has some excellent moments, feeding off a sci fi hybrid of groudhogs day, saving private ryan, andMy favorite summer movie so far. This film has some excellent moments, feeding off a sci fi hybrid of groudhogs day, saving private ryan, and any recent alien invasion saga. The design is excellent. The mimics look great and are actually quiet frightening when introduced. The repetitive nature of the story works because Liman is able to keep it moving without going over unnecessary parts. The editing works in favor, though I did feel that some of the later reboots were a little vague in detail. Blunt looks awesome carrying that huge sword and killing aliens. Cruise is good enough to play the every man that progresses through the movie to be come a top solider. -A here. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2014
    8
    After last year's "Oblivion" I was left thinking that the last thing the world needed was another Tom Cruise sci-fi movie. Needless to say IAfter last year's "Oblivion" I was left thinking that the last thing the world needed was another Tom Cruise sci-fi movie. Needless to say I wasn't excited to see this, but I am so glad I did. Excellent action, plenty of humor, and a great story and characters take this one over the top. It proves that sci-fi isn't dead.

    Watching the same day play out over and over again does lead to some repeated scenes, some of which aren't accompanied by the films sense of humorous deja vu jokes, but overall this is one of the best films of the year. I had an absolute blast watching it and I highly recommend it. My total score is an 8.5/10.
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2015
    2
    This is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen in my entire life. If I am playing a video game and I am stuck and have to play the sameThis is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen in my entire life. If I am playing a video game and I am stuck and have to play the same part over and over it gets ANNOYING. To the point that either I beat it pretty quick or I quit playing the game because it ceases to be entertaining, or fun at that point. So if a movie was going to emulate that concept why the heck would I want to watch it.

    This movie was so bad I had to fast forward through most of it, and not surprisingly, I was able to "foresee" what was going to happen in almost every scene I fast forwarded through to get to the ending which also so boring, cliche, and happy hollywood predictable. Trying to watch this movie was literally painful to the point that I could not take seeing the same stupid thing repeated agian and I have no idea how dumb much of the population must be to actually think this film was remotely enjoyable.

    2/10 Most over-rated film of 2014, and one of the worst films of the last half-decade. Horrible.
    Expand

See all 256 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June Image
    Published: June 3, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in June, including 22 Jump Street, Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, and more.