Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 727 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Lt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the same brutal combat over and over, fighting and dying again…and again. But with each battle, Cage becomes able to engage the adversaries with increasing skill, alongside Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (Emily Blunt). And, as Cage and Rita take the fight to the aliens, each repeated encounter gets them one step closer to defeating the enemy. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Edge of Tomorrow is the ultimate metaphor about Tom Cruise’s career. You can’t kill this guy. He’ll just keep coming. And he remains arguably the biggest movie star in the world for a reason. He brings it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    The movie has an organic intelligence and a sense that it, too, exists outside of linear time. It seems to be creating itself as you watch it.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    A furiously time-looping joy ride and the smartest action film of the early summer season.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    I'm not sure Edge of Tomorrow holds much repeat viewing potential among teenage movie consumers, since the movie's a self-repeating entity to begin with. But once is fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    In Edge of Tomorrow, Mr. Liman brings Mr. Cruise’s smile out of semiretirement and also gives him the kind of physical challenges at which he so brilliantly excels.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Edge of Tomorrow is slick, but once its fancy plot dressing takes form, it has little more to offer aside from a few impressive action sequences and the infallible grin of its nimble lead.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 217
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Groundhog Day +Awesome Sci fi action+ intense plot = Edge of Tomorrow. I held my breath the entire movie! You have to watch it, not matter if you like sci fi or not. it is a grand movie, definitely one of the best movies 2014.!!! Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This is my first review in Metacritic. Before watching this movie, I read the manga adaptation of the novel from where the movie was based on. I have an idea of what will happen during the story but they still have their differences.

    Different that the movie puts more humor in a kind of dark movie which is a plus; and, the movie put more perspective into the relationship between Cage (Tom Cruise), Rita (Blunt), and his crew members.

    The action scenes were quite terrific. Reliving the experiences and going on another path gives the scenes freshness even though most of the battles are on the same geographical location. What were missing though are gigantic monsters to kill to give an epicness on the battlefield.

    The effects and sounds were excellent. You would see how beautiful a plane crash would be and how loud a machine gun fires. What I like the most is the Power Suit or the armor worn by the soldiers during battle scenes. You'll feel the power it provides just by looking how the characters wear them alone.

    The Character development of Cage is excellent. The psychology of war and death has made him more prepared for the next battle. Likewise, it also created a longing for peace inside him.

    The story is somewhat of a cliche as alien versus human have been created since the dawn of film making. How we get to the end would be the best part of it. On the title page, you would notice the word Live.Die.Repeat. I won't spoil you much, but the words will heavily impact how you see things in the story.

    Overall, this is an excellent movie and a recommended watch to those who like sci-fi, who are war enthusiasts, who like aliens versus humans, and avid video gamers. There are not much of a Twilight romance to be found in the story, but you would still see the relationship of Cage and Rita develop in an implicit kind of way.

    I gave this movie 9/10. The ending of the movie is a "meh" for me. As I've said before, I've read the manga which is faithful to the novel this movie is based on. I liked the ending on the manga hence I deducted one point.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    Just got done about an hour ago seeing this movie in Imax 3D. It's absolutely spectacular. I haven't seen a huge ammount of Tom Cruise movies but he nails his character in Edge Of Tomorrow.

    When I saw the trailer for this movie it looked like too much to throw into a movie. Luckily, the movie is nearly 2 hours long, so there is a lot of breathing room. The general premise of dying and waking up again over and over and over has been done in a handful of films but that doesn't mean this film doesn't introduce anything new. Throughout the movie you'll constantly be interested in the equipment the UDF military is using. You'll always be pondering in your head what something does and what you think it is doing. Especially since the main character has no idea how to operate the equipment, you'll sort of learn with him.

    The movie is packed with action, a bit of mystery, alien genocidal threat, and a thriller premise without taking away from the very creative era of earth it is set in.

    If there was one thing I could complain about it would be that sometimes the story at times felt a little far fetched and wasn't coherent in some nitpicky parts of the plot. But suspension of disbelief will get you there.
    Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    I was unsure how to rate this film when I left the theater. The action was great and I was interested the whole time, so it is a pretty good summer movie worthy of praise I suppose. At the same time it is filled with plot holes and does drag on in parts. The performances were also uneven. Tom Cruise was extremely static the entire film when the role requires amazing dynamism, but with few exceptions the other performances were fantastic. Emily Blunt performs her role flawlessly with great help from the script and manages to be drop dead gorgeous while doing it. Brendan Gleeson (Mad Eye Moody in the Harry Potter films) is terrific as always and Bill Paxton delivers exactly what his character is meant to convey.

    This movie was difficult for me to rate because while I had problems with it while walking out of the theater, I was interested the whole time and quite entertained. Additionally, it is a great subject of conversation following the movie. I would say the movie is not a "must see," but is a fun activity for the summer nonetheless.
    Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tom Cruise puts in a strong performance in this smart action thriller. The beach attack scene is very reminiscent of Saving Private Ryan. Very chaotic and gory at times, and the mimic aliens are genuinely original and scary. Whenever they're on screen you feel a palpable sense of threat. The only downside is the ending, which I felt was a bit lame. If the mimics are so intelligent and deadly and are able to control time then how come their most important position was so easily infiltrated? Overall still a great film. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    3
    Groundhog Day, Source Code, Pacific Rim put together brings Edge of Tomorrow like already one of comment said, I really can't see how is possible that somebody which see it self like regular movie critics writer (i think on many news papers and magazine) can give to this movie any higher score than 3+ and 1 point more for good production, after his fourth "reset" movie becoming on first place boring, whit various ATTEMPTS in several different directions for developing story, but neither of them was developed in some kind of main note , so all is one big mix, as is said before of several movies, whit End which is so chip and stupid , that was simply surprising..for example Movie LIVING IN OBLIVION maybe is not master piece but he have one main impulse trough which viewers is guided from beginning to the end. As i said... edge of Tomorrow is maybe poorest executed movie for last , let's say 15 years in which Tom Cruise took the main rolle Expand

See all 217 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June Image
    Published: June 3, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in June, including 22 Jump Street, Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, and more.