User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rolliepollie
    Mar 19, 2008
    1
    All that talent. All those wonderful words... and still this movie left me in awe of its extreme craptitude! Edmond Burke may have killed with a knife, but Mamet killed this movie with his nonsensical rants. Macy plays an empty shell of a man who seems to find a reason to 'live' thru violence,rage, racism and big words! Kept waiting for an eureka! moment where Macy's All that talent. All those wonderful words... and still this movie left me in awe of its extreme craptitude! Edmond Burke may have killed with a knife, but Mamet killed this movie with his nonsensical rants. Macy plays an empty shell of a man who seems to find a reason to 'live' thru violence,rage, racism and big words! Kept waiting for an eureka! moment where Macy's character would finally make sense! but it was not to be. sad to waste such talent as Macy, Mantegna,Stiles . Expand
  2. MA.
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    This movie wasn't even worth the $3 I paid to rent it. The viewer is bored to death waiting for this movie to go somewhere, but it goes no where. I'm sure the egg head, artsy types, think this movie is great social commentary or art. However, if they were honest with themselves they would admit that it stinks. What filmmakers have to understand is that move of the public sees a This movie wasn't even worth the $3 I paid to rent it. The viewer is bored to death waiting for this movie to go somewhere, but it goes no where. I'm sure the egg head, artsy types, think this movie is great social commentary or art. However, if they were honest with themselves they would admit that it stinks. What filmmakers have to understand is that move of the public sees a movie to be entertained, not preached to! In the end this movie is a jumbled, incoherent mix of racism and politically correct satire. Don't waste your money. Expand
  3. scodav
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    I'm a big Mamet fan, and I was surprised to find that he himself adapted the screenplay. It came across to me like a ham-fisted parody of Mamet! It wasn't remotely plausible, and, if you're not meant to care about a character, you should be able to learn something from him. This had neither. The ending was surprisingly touching, but that ain't enough.
  4. K.Lee
    Aug 18, 2006
    3
    by far one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Macy tries to hard, the dialouge between characters is ridiculous. Especially during the jail rape scene. Avoid at all costs.
  5. PT
    Dec 31, 2007
    0
    This film is utter rubbish. I rented it because my local Blockbuster stocked it and the back read ok so i thought id give it a go. Whoever payed $3 to rent it lucky you i payed $8.20 and feel ripped off. I would request that whoever made this tripe post me my money back and somehow give me back my 1 hour and 10 mins that i invested in watching it. If you want to make an art film then make This film is utter rubbish. I rented it because my local Blockbuster stocked it and the back read ok so i thought id give it a go. Whoever payed $3 to rent it lucky you i payed $8.20 and feel ripped off. I would request that whoever made this tripe post me my money back and somehow give me back my 1 hour and 10 mins that i invested in watching it. If you want to make an art film then make one , if you want to make a racist film to make a quick buck out of the USAs closet racists then at least make sure that its better than Romper Stomper or American History x so normal people can just about watch it without dying of boredom. I feel no ability to tell readers what happened as nothing did! This film is a little like having a drunken conversation with a teenager ,Full of opinion with no substance or experiance to back up what they are saying coupled with total conviction that what they are saying is correct and everyone else should listen. Rather than watch this film donate the rental money to charity and call a friend that you havent spoken to for a while you will feel ultimatly more entertained and rewarded at the end of the conversation and you didnt give the worst film ever made any more money. If you are an atsy type as mentioned elsewhere in the reviews may i suggest a gallery the Gugenheim will be fine and look at a piccaso for an hour. I dont care how many times a person says that this is political satire, emotionally charged, social comfort challenging etcetcetc there are better examples of all of these things out there, stop trying to make yourselves look clever by giving bad films good reviews you only kid yourselves my friends!!!! Expand
  6. PaulB.
    Mar 26, 2007
    3
    Mamet is becoming a cliche. His dialogue seems forced where at one time it was refreshing. The only reason I stayed with it was to find out if the end had some redeeming qualities. Oops. Big mistake. I'm really tempted to go on a rant amount Mamet and lose focus on commenting on this movie, but I won't. All I'll say about both the film and the writer is that both try way Mamet is becoming a cliche. His dialogue seems forced where at one time it was refreshing. The only reason I stayed with it was to find out if the end had some redeeming qualities. Oops. Big mistake. I'm really tempted to go on a rant amount Mamet and lose focus on commenting on this movie, but I won't. All I'll say about both the film and the writer is that both try way too hard to be clever. Maybe it worked better on the stage. Expand
  7. JS
    Jun 29, 2007
    1
    I am one of those egghead, artsy fartsy types with an MFA in film and a PhD. This film sucks. One point for hooker humor.
  8. RobT.
    Nov 2, 2006
    1
    I usually like Mamet's work, but this is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The first 50 minutes is literally the same thing over and over, with only location providing a difference. After this, the film dissolved into a true turd by having the antihero do and say stuff that wouldn't even be screamed by homeless vagrants living in a Denny's dumpster. The movie is I usually like Mamet's work, but this is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The first 50 minutes is literally the same thing over and over, with only location providing a difference. After this, the film dissolved into a true turd by having the antihero do and say stuff that wouldn't even be screamed by homeless vagrants living in a Denny's dumpster. The movie is trash, don't watch it. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. For hard-core David Mamet fans only...Edmond serves to remind you how artificial the dialogue and dramaturgy truly was in early Mamet.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    50
    Despite agreeably short running time and committed performances, Edmond is rendered inert by its stagy atmosphere and failure to fully mine the depths of its protagonist's complex psyche.
  3. As the full-length sorta-satire it has become, Edmond is all sizzle and little meat, a veritable tangent act dropped from "Glengarry Glen Ross" because it was several marks too silly.