User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 57
  2. Negative: 22 out of 57
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KM
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    Typical that the majority of the critics hated this, but I love it, poop jokes and all.
  2. KevinK.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    This movie was brilliant, and anyone who gives it a zero is antisemitic.
  3. F.F.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    Awesome, really funny.
  4. KatieP.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Laura: What did you expect. If Sandler "SUX" to you, why did you see his movie? You people can be so dumb. What were you expecting. Take it for what it's worth. I really liked it. It was funny, yes, at the expense of others. But that's the best kind of funny.
  5. KevinW.
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Its very funny. it is the best movie i have seen. i like the song burn biddy on the soundtrack, its hilarious!
  6. BrandonE.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    This is a great movie...with a plot...and some great laughs and songs...critics just rate it bad because its adam sandler...well this is a great one.
  7. BrandonO.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    I would give this a ten because it is a good humorouse movie and has good theme.
  8. DaedricLrd
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    They should make more of these. Its funny.
  9. EliK.
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    This movie is awsome!!!! most parents will like it and some will not but all the kids will LOVE it and want to see it again!!!!!
  10. Bcall
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Truly a modern masterpiece of film-making. sandler captures your heart and soul with this brilliant film. its fun, smart, and just plain good. do yourself a favor and see this holiday treat.
  11. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    An excellent movie to watch during the holidays. The humor is grosser than most other Sandler movies, and it's actually part musical. If your a Sandler fan you'll love it, haters gonna hate.
Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 20 out of 27
  1. On the whole, this lively, bittersweet Columbia release works well and is sure to connect strongly with fans of Sandler at his most free-wheeling and uninhibited. Scrub off the latrine humor, and underneath there's a heart-tugging sentimental tale of uplift and redemption.
  2. 75
    What's special about the movie is how totally it believes in itself as a musical. The tunes, co-written by Sandler and a bunch of his pals, take on rock opera and traditional Jewish folk music with boyish exuberance.
  3. 25
    Its humor stems precisely from our enjoying its lead character's rotten behavior.