El cantante

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 63
  2. Negative: 26 out of 63

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MariaP.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Sorry to all the JLO and Marc Haters and to those who dont know sht about Salsa and Hector Lavoe but this movie was AWESOME! it tells it like it was and Marc was able to fill Hector's shoes to the T.. Thats the way I remember Hector Lavoe with all his flaws and great songs! Que viva La Salsa! and big thanks to Jennifer and Marc for making this movie. God bless you and I cant wait for Sorry to all the JLO and Marc Haters and to those who dont know sht about Salsa and Hector Lavoe but this movie was AWESOME! it tells it like it was and Marc was able to fill Hector's shoes to the T.. Thats the way I remember Hector Lavoe with all his flaws and great songs! Que viva La Salsa! and big thanks to Jennifer and Marc for making this movie. God bless you and I cant wait for Nuyorican Productions next Latino oriented movie. Expand
  2. VonC.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    A very good film!
  3. IRA
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This film is just great. Real not the usual sugered story!
  4. RayD.
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    It's not a GREAT film--the story could have been stronger, more accurate and better acted. It should have focused more on Hector's greatness, his redeeming qualities and less on his philandering and drug abuse. But the domestic squabbles bring both JLo and her husband up a notch in the acting department and the salsa always rolls in, full boil, at the right moments to heat things up.
  5. M.L.
    Aug 4, 2007
    7
    It may have been cliche but Jennifer's acting was fantastic and Marc's performances were incredible. It kept me watching. It was her story about her perception of their lives together and who he was as a man. Well done.
  6. Heather
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Excellent movie. I LOVED it. All the actors were convincing and threw themselves into their parts. Jennifer Lopez was great as the feisty Puchi and Marc Anthony embodied Hector Lavoe. Really great. Really entertaining.
  7. ShevyL.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    I just want to say this because I know a lot of people hate on Jen even critics so I know she will never get a fair shot. We all know she deserves recognition for this but will it happen, because of people's perspective and or hatred for her. People meaning critics. This is a low budget film and I am sure none or almost all of the critics have and or will forget to mention that when I just want to say this because I know a lot of people hate on Jen even critics so I know she will never get a fair shot. We all know she deserves recognition for this but will it happen, because of people's perspective and or hatred for her. People meaning critics. This is a low budget film and I am sure none or almost all of the critics have and or will forget to mention that when they say it opened poorly, which it didn't. Just like they did with her low budget film An Unfinished Life. Some people just love to put others down, and Jen is on the critics list for bashing. She cant get a fair chance from them, so people may as well stop listening to them and just judge the film for themselves. Expand
  8. MilaS.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    This movie is worth watchong for is amazing music and Wonderfull perfromances, Jennifer Lopez best acting work since Out of sight.
  9. SaraC.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing performance by jennifer, esp when she tells hector about their sons death, heatbreaking. The story line and direction was a little flimsy but jennfier and marc did a first class acting job. If jennifer hudson can win an oscar for dreamgirls based on her performance then jennifer is a shoe in.
  10. VirginaC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    I was ready to hate this movie. I have to admit that I have learn much more about the singing legend Hector La Voe and his life. Mark Anthony and Jennifer Lopez did an excellent job of portraying these people. This movie is a must see.
  11. RonyD.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Fantastic.
  12. DeeM.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    It is irritating to see so many negative comments about this truly fantastic film! It came out in NYC theatres yesterday and I have it seen twice. Both Marc and Jennifer did an amazing job and deserve recognition for that. The music and story made theatre goers emotional each time but that may have been because it was a largely PRican audience in the BX who can truly relate to the story It is irritating to see so many negative comments about this truly fantastic film! It came out in NYC theatres yesterday and I have it seen twice. Both Marc and Jennifer did an amazing job and deserve recognition for that. The music and story made theatre goers emotional each time but that may have been because it was a largely PRican audience in the BX who can truly relate to the story and music. We didn't need to be told WHY Hector Lavoe is important to Salsa and to our culture as many critics expressed was lacking in the movie. It does have a focus on drugs but c'mon those were the times and we can't deny them. I went today to see it with my mom who just got goosebumps throughout the movie as she lived salsa in the 70s and 80s. She followed Hector's music and his life and much of the movie portrayed it accurately. I encourage all who love salsa, latino culture and heritage to go see this film! Expand
  13. Erika
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Before you continue bashing Jennifer Lopez..get it straight...this movie is told from Puchi's point of view - is that not made completely obvious in the beginning???? So please, quit bitching about how much Jennifer Lopez is in the movie. Jennifer, killed as the character Puchi! Marc Anthony, killed it as Hector Lavoe...for what this story was meant to tell they did an amazing job! Before you continue bashing Jennifer Lopez..get it straight...this movie is told from Puchi's point of view - is that not made completely obvious in the beginning???? So please, quit bitching about how much Jennifer Lopez is in the movie. Jennifer, killed as the character Puchi! Marc Anthony, killed it as Hector Lavoe...for what this story was meant to tell they did an amazing job! Please don't go by so called 'critic' reviews, for one, these people can't get past the J.LO effect, and two, they've missed the fact that this film was crafted after Puchi's experience. This is what Puchi (in her great Nuyorican accent) would've told all of you: "I'm in 3/4 of the movie, cuz it's MY story about my husband...if you don't like that..Get the f*** out!!" :) Expand
  14. STANLEYM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    This movie was great and i do understand that it was the point of one person (puchi) and that was stated in the begining of the movie, So all of the harsh critics need to relax it was her point of view ,,,, Get over it Marc did a great JOB
  15. LorenaO.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Loved this moview. They were both great!
  16. RobM.
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    I actually saw this move unlike most of the people that voted already. It's solid. Jennifer Lopez and Marc Anthony have a magnetic chemistry. It leaps off the screen. The performances are great. Award worthy? No. But, they're great nevertheless.
  17. StevenV.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Let me tell you that the performances in this movie are fantastic, especially from la Lopez, who made her mark every time she would be on screen. She was edgy, sharp, soooo New York!!!!. I would love to see her get some nominations for this. Marc Anthony gives a passionate performance as well, as if playing Hector Lavoe was second nature to him. The acting by Anthony just flowed out, Let me tell you that the performances in this movie are fantastic, especially from la Lopez, who made her mark every time she would be on screen. She was edgy, sharp, soooo New York!!!!. I would love to see her get some nominations for this. Marc Anthony gives a passionate performance as well, as if playing Hector Lavoe was second nature to him. The acting by Anthony just flowed out, nothing forced or too rehearsed, and when he sang you felt it. I absolutely loved this movie!!!! and in the end the one who shined the most was Jennifer Lopez- hurray for her!!! . Lets not forget the unbelievable soundtrack, the one everyone must have!!!. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Unfortunately, the music is as irresistible as the tired story of a musician succumbing to substance abuse is resistible.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    40
    A virtual template of every imaginable cliche of the musical biopic, picture suffers from a lack of narrative and character focus
  3. 30
    Focusing almost solely on Lavoe's addictions (drugs and women, ho and hum), El Cantante is a garish, dispiriting bit of work--a mountain of biopic clich├ęs snorted through the lens of a fidgety camera that never pauses long enough for us to get to like (or even know) the man responsible for making the Nuyorican sound a mainstream American commodity in the 1970s and early '80s.