Paramount Pictures | Release Date: April 23, 1999
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 207 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
192
Mixed:
8
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
SpangleJan 25, 2015
Election is certainly a very well made and very entertaining little flick (heh) with some great acting from Matthew Broderick and Reese Witherspoon, but I don't know, I just didn't love it. Alexander Payne's direction is great as always andElection is certainly a very well made and very entertaining little flick (heh) with some great acting from Matthew Broderick and Reese Witherspoon, but I don't know, I just didn't love it. Alexander Payne's direction is great as always and this one is a very interesting film on the ethics of how far one will go to have success and, above all, is an interesting snapshot of life at this particular high school and in the lives of these kids. The writing is also strong, but ultimately, I just felt like this one meandered a bit. All of it is an exercise in ethics and morals, sure, but I wish it stayed more focused on the election rather than focusing on the personal life of Broderick's character or past events at the school. Adding a bit more depth to the race for Student Government President and disregarding other events a bit would ultimately result in a better film in my mind (though obviously some of the events I wish to shrink are necessary, but I don't think they needed to play as much of a role in the overall story as they did). As a whole, I can certainly see why Election is so widely praised, but I just didn't love it, I guess. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysOct 4, 2014
Election is a witty, satirical, hilarious dark comedy. Its high school setting is surprisingly realistic, and every character has a real purpose in the story. Broderick and Witherspoon are great as the leads, and it is a treat to watch theirElection is a witty, satirical, hilarious dark comedy. Its high school setting is surprisingly realistic, and every character has a real purpose in the story. Broderick and Witherspoon are great as the leads, and it is a treat to watch their awkward, teacher-student conversations. There is character development, twists, turns, and enough laughs to make Election worth a watch. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Feb 7, 2014
Acerbic humor and subtly brilliant performances highlight Alexander Payne's "Election," a brilliantly dark film with mirthfully unlikable characters and some playfully indelible imagery.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJun 7, 2013
Having been involved in a scandal resulting in a high school teacher losing his job and family Tracy Flick (Witherspoon) is determined to win the election for student-body president. When her teacher, Mr. McAllister (Broderick), realises heHaving been involved in a scandal resulting in a high school teacher losing his job and family Tracy Flick (Witherspoon) is determined to win the election for student-body president. When her teacher, Mr. McAllister (Broderick), realises he may be forced to spend the next year working closely with a girl he can't stand he convinces the popular, but not particularly bright, Paul Meltzer to run against her.

A satirical comedy of the American electoral process Election has a dark sense of humor throughout with much of the comedy arising from the gradual unraveling of Mr. McAllister's life and it is largely thanks its more subtle nature that it managers to differentiate itself from the endless string of high-school movies of the late nineties. Resisting the temptation to utilise the usual cliched high school characters Election fully explores the motivations of each of the, very well cast, main characters with Reece Witherspoon in particular playing her role to perfection. As relevant now as it was when released Election would make an excellent addition to any movie collection.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidAug 27, 2014
Alexander Payne showed us his talent with this 90's classic, a great high school film full of great lines and great black comedy. Nice work by Witherspoon, Broderick and Kline.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
Election is the type of satire where one is more likely to wince than laugh. It is a bit dark and edgy and is reminiscent of American Beauty. The performances are good, though a bit overwrought. Election, while not thoroughly enjoyable, is aElection is the type of satire where one is more likely to wince than laugh. It is a bit dark and edgy and is reminiscent of American Beauty. The performances are good, though a bit overwrought. Election, while not thoroughly enjoyable, is a still a remarkable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GreatbealloFeb 19, 2012
This movie is so great and unique! I am not particularly fond of Matthew Broderick, and he is really detestable in this movie, but he plays a douche bag to perfection. Reese Witherspoon is also on point. Seriously, this movie is an unusualThis movie is so great and unique! I am not particularly fond of Matthew Broderick, and he is really detestable in this movie, but he plays a douche bag to perfection. Reese Witherspoon is also on point. Seriously, this movie is an unusual treat. I can't really compare it to anything else I have seen. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
TylerDurden900Jul 13, 2014
Election is a spot on movie about elections, characters and black comedy mixed in for fun. The actors
give great lines and they feel like their the character's, they don't seem like they are acting when you watch the movie. Election is one
Election is a spot on movie about elections, characters and black comedy mixed in for fun. The actors
give great lines and they feel like their the character's, they don't seem like they are acting when you watch the movie. Election is one of the best comedy-dramas of the last twenty years !
Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 17, 2015
This has got to be one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It is a very darkly comedic satire that looks into some pretty tough subjects for a high school comedy. But, "Election" isn't really just a high school comedy, it is a look at aThis has got to be one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It is a very darkly comedic satire that looks into some pretty tough subjects for a high school comedy. But, "Election" isn't really just a high school comedy, it is a look at a set of character who are, mostly, pretty pathetic people, who you both despise yet feel very bad for at the same time.
Alexander Payne has gone on to make a lot more well received comedy dramas including "Sideways", The Descendants", and "Nebraska". I still have yet to see these films, but after watching "election", I'm sure they'll be spectacular!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EnanAug 23, 2010
Rigged: Routines and Dreams in Alexander Payneâ
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
ZsuzsaBOct 10, 2004
Fantastic movie, which is able to show our real, sad world in a very funny way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Apr 3, 2001
What a great edge this movie has. It came out about 6 months before "American Beauty," and it's better in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonE.Sep 4, 2004
Very interesting film...caught my attention and kept it the entire film..A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidO.Oct 5, 2002
Great movie, but I felt that the movie could have just have easily been about the moral backsliding and loss of ethics in the world of student politics and cut out the explicit sexual material. However, the sex was much smarter than in the Great movie, but I felt that the movie could have just have easily been about the moral backsliding and loss of ethics in the world of student politics and cut out the explicit sexual material. However, the sex was much smarter than in the American Pie movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ConstanceM.Jul 7, 2003
I can't believe I sat through the whole movie! The guys who cut the previews that made this film look funny and those who were able to cast (aka bribe, threaten, and abduct them to Nebraska) Witherspoon and Broadrick deserve awards! A I can't believe I sat through the whole movie! The guys who cut the previews that made this film look funny and those who were able to cast (aka bribe, threaten, and abduct them to Nebraska) Witherspoon and Broadrick deserve awards! A likeable plot concept ruined by raunchy jokes that WERE funny and skillfully pulled off in Animal House but NOT here. Special thanks to the bad hand at the directors helm, way to go buddy, way back to Nebraska. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YoonMinC.Sep 29, 2003
A movie so impressed with its cynical(yet oh-so-empathetic)understanding of human nature that you just wanna slap the writer-director. Yeah, yeah, beneath our respectable exteriors we are cretins, perverts, insecure jerks, vain jerkettes, A movie so impressed with its cynical(yet oh-so-empathetic)understanding of human nature that you just wanna slap the writer-director. Yeah, yeah, beneath our respectable exteriors we are cretins, perverts, insecure jerks, vain jerkettes, etc. Some viewers might defend the film as forgiving and accepting humans for their flaws instead of simply pointing fingers. Yet, who is this filmmaker to judge or not judge, forgive or not forgive? Might he be admitting he's just as hypocritical as the rest of us? Whoopey! Election works best when depicting human impulses as neural elections, with our conflicting motivations vying for what we ultimately say and do. And as often as not, election and erection are not much far apart. Yet, overall, this is a conceited, overly clever, know-it-all movie. When it's over, one may feel humanity has been exposed of its hypocrisies and neuroses, but I say the revelations are all pretty trite and sell humanity short. But, terrific acting by everyone, enough to raise the movie to must-see status. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyK.Aug 8, 2005
This is a great, and very underrated movie. It's very funny, and very smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaborA.Feb 28, 2006
One of the best comedies...movies of all time. Hits the nail right on the head over and over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Feb 3, 2001
Anyone who said this movie was "dumb, dumb, dumb" is likely to be dumb dumb dumb themselves. This is a classical dark comedy everyone should see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaydohAug 1, 2001
Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanH.Apr 2, 2004
Shockingly smart teen movie that takes you to an unexpected place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Dec 5, 2007
Great movie. Hilarious. I thought Kevin Kline was surprising good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KSApr 26, 2007
This movie was great, and really gives a good view of the bigger picture-American elections and middle class society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Aug 15, 2001
Great in every way, it's an amazing high school movie that brings a new meaning to originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.RyanG.May 29, 2005
One of the most underrated films of all time, this is the modern standard for showing the interiors of American high schools and how the apathetic following through the motions can reach a fever pitch and make some people go crazy. One of One of the most underrated films of all time, this is the modern standard for showing the interiors of American high schools and how the apathetic following through the motions can reach a fever pitch and make some people go crazy. One of the great movies about institutions of any variety and the people who feel (and may just be) trapped inside. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MargaretF.Aug 16, 2005
This is the most disgusting and vile pathetic excuse for a movie I have seen in a long time; Truly awful-Matthew Broderick is an anxious boring soulless teacher whilst Reece Witherspoon is utterly useless in her part as an conceited This is the most disgusting and vile pathetic excuse for a movie I have seen in a long time; Truly awful-Matthew Broderick is an anxious boring soulless teacher whilst Reece Witherspoon is utterly useless in her part as an conceited ambitious teenager. The hopeless plot and script struggles and dies long before the credits appear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful