User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 131
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Hello I am Brazilian I live in Rio de Janeiro in Barra da Tijuca I'm settled aera Brazilian force, as you Americans are so innocent, this movie does not portray nen half of the slums relidade nen you do not know what hunger is mizeria violence, our reality are totally different in the favela has no law has no rule, this film portrays nen half of violence and crime in the favelas, the BOPEHello I am Brazilian I live in Rio de Janeiro in Barra da Tijuca I'm settled aera Brazilian force, as you Americans are so innocent, this movie does not portray nen half of the slums relidade nen you do not know what hunger is mizeria violence, our reality are totally different in the favela has no law has no rule, this film portrays nen half of violence and crime in the favelas, the BOPE (Special Operations Battalion) and the movie but there shall not nen shows half of what they are ralmente materiality because in the recruitment of BOPE to shock language they take you out but only the strong and well prepared fiction, should doubt my word ta here my facebook http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002033752756 Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    One of my favourite films of the past few years. An intense, cleverly directed and a well written screenplay. It left me full of adrenaline. Yes, it's violent, aggressive and pulls absolutely no punches - it's a drug war, what would you expect? If you like "City of God" then I highly recommend this.
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's funny how you, critical, give for Die Hard a metascore 70/100 and for Elite Squad 33/100. With $4.000.000, José Padilha made a good movie and beyond all realistic. this movie there is no American badass who combats stereotyped villains. The villains here are true, kills every day hundreds of innocent people. So the thing of this movie isn't the great special effects or the good plot. This movie is a message. Violent? Yes, but necessary. Best thriller I ever seen. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Also, if you don't like this kind of movie, why in hell did you bother watching it at all? You FAILED to understand the plot of this movie, and it was NEVER incoherent. You people have amazed me this time.
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    This movie is awesome. I can't believe it has such a low Metascore. This just doesn't make sense. Do yourself a favor, don't believe the critics, and go watch it for yourself!
  6. JoaoR
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Is simply one of the best movies i ever saw. Great acting, great story (there isn't a best story than the reality). My 10, like the other 10s give from the other users isn't a over rated score, the critics didn't know what they were seeing so DON'T LOOK AT THE 33 "metascore", because when you see this movie you will be suprised by this score for being so low, also all Is simply one of the best movies i ever saw. Great acting, great story (there isn't a best story than the reality). My 10, like the other 10s give from the other users isn't a over rated score, the critics didn't know what they were seeing so DON'T LOOK AT THE 33 "metascore", because when you see this movie you will be suprised by this score for being so low, also all the other user scores are correct so won't write anything more. Enjoy this film. Expand
  7. TheOne
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Don
  8. MajY
    May 16, 2009
    10
    Awesome. The best portuguese language movie ever.
  9. PauloS
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Great movie. This is not an apology to the violence, this is just the reality faced by the people leaving the favelas and the police man facing this problem. It also brings the reality that the cause of the problem is the people consuming drugs, sustaining the trafic and violence.
  10. GuilhermeZ.
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    I'm brazilian, and I must say: Elite Squad is one of the bests movies I've ever watched. The critics problably didn't understood the idea of the movie. It's not an apology to crime. It's just the reality as told by a policeman. His point of view is not necessarily the point of view of major brazilians. It's a film about poor conditions in stress areas and the I'm brazilian, and I must say: Elite Squad is one of the bests movies I've ever watched. The critics problably didn't understood the idea of the movie. It's not an apology to crime. It's just the reality as told by a policeman. His point of view is not necessarily the point of view of major brazilians. It's a film about poor conditions in stress areas and the lack of law. It's a portrait of the favelas and its day-a-day. Collapse
  11. JanetM
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    Agreed - the 'professional' critics are using 'hollywood fiction' comparisons for a film where the social reality and 'unprotected capitalism' of the drug trade in Brazil has to be recognised. The real intention of the film is to reveal 'institutionalised' economic protection of the rich by denigrating the poor, brutalising them and their living Agreed - the 'professional' critics are using 'hollywood fiction' comparisons for a film where the social reality and 'unprotected capitalism' of the drug trade in Brazil has to be recognised. The real intention of the film is to reveal 'institutionalised' economic protection of the rich by denigrating the poor, brutalising them and their living conditions and for Brazlians to dig a little deeper into why that is so. The disparity over education and self-interest in the film was palpable. For every 'tourist' who has stood in the evening in downtown historic Rio and watched in disbelief as the flares of high velocity weapons streak across the sky from one hillside This is a real 'civil war', but it is on a class basis as much as the competative efforts of the 'feral children' being given a choice between 'charity' from the feckless rich or a very 'capitalist' way to earn their living. Expand
  12. SauloD
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    Superb movie. The main plot isn't about violence, but it's about how people deal with it, and how people many times see themselves as having a good behavior when they don't.
  13. SteveJ
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie. I don´t understand these reviews. Manohla Dargis from New York Times didn´t understand the movie. Or maybe has another interest
  14. CarlosB
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    The movie is based on the book "Elte of the Squad" (own translation), which was written by former police officers from the "BOPE" unit, in Rio. It is an espectacular thriller with both extraordinary history and action (the action scenes done by the same guy of "BlackHawk Down") - the relation between the caracters resembles "Training Day", but the movie is mainly a portrait of real life The movie is based on the book "Elte of the Squad" (own translation), which was written by former police officers from the "BOPE" unit, in Rio. It is an espectacular thriller with both extraordinary history and action (the action scenes done by the same guy of "BlackHawk Down") - the relation between the caracters resembles "Training Day", but the movie is mainly a portrait of real life in Brazil's Rio de Janeiro. It does not reflect any opinion about violence, but describes the enviroment by the point of view of one the characters, cap. Nascimento. The movie leaves to the audience to analyse and make his own conclusions. To call it "fascist propaganda" is an absurd, paranoid mistake. It's just ignorance. Expand
  15. MarcC
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    I don't get the NY Times review. Dead Wrong! This is one of the best foreign films I've seen in the past couple years. Heart-pounding, social commentary, a Blockbuster hit in Brazil. So who are we to judge its uneasy questions, and hard answers. I'm not a right wing fanatic. But if you lived in a country where corruption and lawlessness invaded every sinew, would calling I don't get the NY Times review. Dead Wrong! This is one of the best foreign films I've seen in the past couple years. Heart-pounding, social commentary, a Blockbuster hit in Brazil. So who are we to judge its uneasy questions, and hard answers. I'm not a right wing fanatic. But if you lived in a country where corruption and lawlessness invaded every sinew, would calling for tough knuckle-busting justice make you a fascist? Ask any of your Mexico friends with the drug war raging across the country ? Expand
  16. YuriC
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Those guys who scored the movie as horrible don't know the brazilian reality to say that the movie history is untrue and incoherent.
  17. JohnM.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    This is such a bad film that I cannot believe Speilberg directed this. Is he actually happy with the end result?! The script is so overly cheesy, and what is it with Lucas and CGI, someone needs to teach him when and where it
  18. DaviC
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    A superb movie that shows how a real drug war is, far from a Steven Seagal movie.
  19. Leonardo
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    What is the problem with you american critics and people? The BOPE isn't like SWAT, its like a cleaner for a failed hitman, usually sent for missions that the crap normal cops can't do. Second, the torture depicted in the movie is pratically the same of you damn shows like 24 hours, and the same thing happens in Iraq. Stop being so damn foolish, the smugglers aren't What is the problem with you american critics and people? The BOPE isn't like SWAT, its like a cleaner for a failed hitman, usually sent for missions that the crap normal cops can't do. Second, the torture depicted in the movie is pratically the same of you damn shows like 24 hours, and the same thing happens in Iraq. Stop being so damn foolish, the smugglers aren't terrorists nor drug lords, and your country got a lot of social problems too. And if a SWAT team entered in a shootout with guys from BOPE, the SWAT team would be completely exterminated. And by the way, shut the f*&% up when you say that there is no attempt to catch and judje the criminals on Rio de Janeiro. About the movie, it's freaking GREAT. Expand
  20. PriscilaM
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Awesome portrait of Rio's drug traffic and police action that leads to deep social reflection.
  21. JoãoG
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    Great movie. Wagner Moura is amazing in this film and displays a brilliant performance.
  22. JulianB
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    The young middle class of Rio who are the target market of the narco-terrorists DO finance the violence! I live 200 metres from BOPE headquarters and I think God every day that they are there to protect me and my community from the sub-humans of the Comando Vermelho.
  23. MP
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Great, authentic, fast moving and shows the very cruel reality of a society undecided in solving deep impact real life issues. I do recommend.
  24. RafaelM
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    The best Brazilian movie since CITY OF GOD. Thought-provoking, original and stunning.
  25. FlorencioF.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Jason C, Violence in Rio de Janeiro is a reality, in which the fund is the middle class and foreign tourists seeking in our cities sex tourism. If the film plays the violence and corupção, it is not the fault of the director, is simply the reality. The film is a work of art, principalmnete the amount spent.
  26. Hoffs
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Despite its plot not being very original, it's a movie that teaches people what really happens in Rio de Janeiro. Showing what cops must give up, given a horrible salary to make sure the city isn't overtaken by the drug lords. It's a movie everyone should see, not only because of its artistic value, but also for the moral values that are lacking in today's society, Despite its plot not being very original, it's a movie that teaches people what really happens in Rio de Janeiro. Showing what cops must give up, given a horrible salary to make sure the city isn't overtaken by the drug lords. It's a movie everyone should see, not only because of its artistic value, but also for the moral values that are lacking in today's society, where kids who do drugs don't think about the consequences of where do their money go to. Expand
  27. MigzS
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Well-acted and fast-paced, the movie raises interesting questions about the role of society in a city like Rio. No question: one of the best movies I have ever seen.
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. The captain narrates in a punchy, journalistic style that gives Elite Squad an air of sociological realism--it bears a resemblance to viscerally exciting seventies urban thrillers like "The French Connection."
  2. Poorly structured and at times incoherent.
  3. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    40
    A one-note celebration of violence-for-good that plays like a recruitment film for fascist thugs.