IFC Films | Release Date: September 19, 2008
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 164 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
146
Mixed:
6
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
choomtabi31Apr 20, 2016
Mind blowing film,to see what these guys have to go through and getting away with is worth the watch.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-7416-Elite-Squad
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 4, 2014
Duro e realĂ­stico, a crĂ­tica social de Tropa de Elite evidentimente o que anda acontecendo no Brasil nos dias de hoje, um dos melhores filmes nacionais
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
deebApr 23, 2011
One of my favourite films of the past few years. An intense, cleverly directed and a well written screenplay. It left me full of adrenaline. Yes, it's violent, aggressive and pulls absolutely no punches - it's a drug war, what would youOne of my favourite films of the past few years. An intense, cleverly directed and a well written screenplay. It left me full of adrenaline. Yes, it's violent, aggressive and pulls absolutely no punches - it's a drug war, what would you expect? If you like "City of God" then I highly recommend this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheOneJun 8, 2009
Don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HoffsFeb 5, 2008
Despite its plot not being very original, it's a movie that teaches people what really happens in Rio de Janeiro. Showing what cops must give up, given a horrible salary to make sure the city isn't overtaken by the drug lords. Despite its plot not being very original, it's a movie that teaches people what really happens in Rio de Janeiro. Showing what cops must give up, given a horrible salary to make sure the city isn't overtaken by the drug lords. It's a movie everyone should see, not only because of its artistic value, but also for the moral values that are lacking in today's society, where kids who do drugs don't think about the consequences of where do their money go to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetMFeb 2, 2009
Agreed - the 'professional' critics are using 'hollywood fiction' comparisons for a film where the social reality and 'unprotected capitalism' of the drug trade in Brazil has to be recognised. The real intention Agreed - the 'professional' critics are using 'hollywood fiction' comparisons for a film where the social reality and 'unprotected capitalism' of the drug trade in Brazil has to be recognised. The real intention of the film is to reveal 'institutionalised' economic protection of the rich by denigrating the poor, brutalising them and their living conditions and for Brazlians to dig a little deeper into why that is so. The disparity over education and self-interest in the film was palpable. For every 'tourist' who has stood in the evening in downtown historic Rio and watched in disbelief as the flares of high velocity weapons streak across the sky from one hillside This is a real 'civil war', but it is on a class basis as much as the competative efforts of the 'feral children' being given a choice between 'charity' from the feckless rich or a very 'capitalist' way to earn their living. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PauloSMay 8, 2009
Great movie. This is not an apology to the violence, this is just the reality faced by the people leaving the favelas and the police man facing this problem. It also brings the reality that the cause of the problem is the people consuming Great movie. This is not an apology to the violence, this is just the reality faced by the people leaving the favelas and the police man facing this problem. It also brings the reality that the cause of the problem is the people consuming drugs, sustaining the trafic and violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YuriCOct 1, 2008
Those guys who scored the movie as horrible don't know the brazilian reality to say that the movie history is untrue and incoherent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcCOct 4, 2008
I don't get the NY Times review. Dead Wrong! This is one of the best foreign films I've seen in the past couple years. Heart-pounding, social commentary, a Blockbuster hit in Brazil. So who are we to judge its uneasy questions, and I don't get the NY Times review. Dead Wrong! This is one of the best foreign films I've seen in the past couple years. Heart-pounding, social commentary, a Blockbuster hit in Brazil. So who are we to judge its uneasy questions, and hard answers. I'm not a right wing fanatic. But if you lived in a country where corruption and lawlessness invaded every sinew, would calling for tough knuckle-busting justice make you a fascist? Ask any of your Mexico friends with the drug war raging across the country ? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FlorencioF.Feb 12, 2008
Jason C, Violence in Rio de Janeiro is a reality, in which the fund is the middle class and foreign tourists seeking in our cities sex tourism. If the film plays the violence and corupção, it is not the fault of the director, Jason C, Violence in Rio de Janeiro is a reality, in which the fund is the middle class and foreign tourists seeking in our cities sex tourism. If the film plays the violence and corupção, it is not the fault of the director, is simply the reality. The film is a work of art, principalmnete the amount spent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MPFeb 14, 2008
Great, authentic, fast moving and shows the very cruel reality of a society undecided in solving deep impact real life issues. I do recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoãoGFeb 28, 2008
Great movie. Wagner Moura is amazing in this film and displays a brilliant performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaviCSep 22, 2008
A superb movie that shows how a real drug war is, far from a Steven Seagal movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoaoRAug 7, 2009
Is simply one of the best movies i ever saw. Great acting, great story (there isn't a best story than the reality). My 10, like the other 10s give from the other users isn't a over rated score, the critics didn't know what Is simply one of the best movies i ever saw. Great acting, great story (there isn't a best story than the reality). My 10, like the other 10s give from the other users isn't a over rated score, the critics didn't know what they were seeing so DON'T LOOK AT THE 33 "metascore", because when you see this movie you will be suprised by this score for being so low, also all the other user scores are correct so won't write anything more. Enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveJOct 13, 2008
Excellent movie. I don´t understand these reviews. Manohla Dargis from New York Times didn´t understand the movie. Or maybe has another interest
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MigzSJan 26, 2008
Well-acted and fast-paced, the movie raises interesting questions about the role of society in a city like Rio. No question: one of the best movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RafaelMFeb 13, 2008
The best Brazilian movie since CITY OF GOD. Thought-provoking, original and stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianBFeb 17, 2008
The young middle class of Rio who are the target market of the narco-terrorists DO finance the violence! I live 200 metres from BOPE headquarters and I think God every day that they are there to protect me and my community from the The young middle class of Rio who are the target market of the narco-terrorists DO finance the violence! I live 200 metres from BOPE headquarters and I think God every day that they are there to protect me and my community from the sub-humans of the Comando Vermelho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PriscilaMMay 10, 2008
Awesome portrait of Rio's drug traffic and police action that leads to deep social reflection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonardoAug 1, 2008
What is the problem with you american critics and people? The BOPE isn't like SWAT, its like a cleaner for a failed hitman, usually sent for missions that the crap normal cops can't do. Second, the torture depicted in the movie is What is the problem with you american critics and people? The BOPE isn't like SWAT, its like a cleaner for a failed hitman, usually sent for missions that the crap normal cops can't do. Second, the torture depicted in the movie is pratically the same of you damn shows like 24 hours, and the same thing happens in Iraq. Stop being so damn foolish, the smugglers aren't terrorists nor drug lords, and your country got a lot of social problems too. And if a SWAT team entered in a shootout with guys from BOPE, the SWAT team would be completely exterminated. And by the way, shut the f*&% up when you say that there is no attempt to catch and judje the criminals on Rio de Janeiro. About the movie, it's freaking GREAT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Sep 26, 2008
This is such a bad film that I cannot believe Speilberg directed this. Is he actually happy with the end result?! The script is so overly cheesy, and what is it with Lucas and CGI, someone needs to teach him when and where it
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JulieM.Apr 30, 2009
Only when SWAAT is killing people, is not worth seeing... Excuse Brazil for showing the world''s reality!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MajYMay 16, 2009
Awesome. The best portuguese language movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SauloDNov 15, 2008
Superb movie. The main plot isn't about violence, but it's about how people deal with it, and how people many times see themselves as having a good behavior when they don't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosBOct 12, 2008
The movie is based on the book "Elte of the Squad" (own translation), which was written by former police officers from the "BOPE" unit, in Rio. It is an espectacular thriller with both extraordinary history and action (the action scenes done The movie is based on the book "Elte of the Squad" (own translation), which was written by former police officers from the "BOPE" unit, in Rio. It is an espectacular thriller with both extraordinary history and action (the action scenes done by the same guy of "BlackHawk Down") - the relation between the caracters resembles "Training Day", but the movie is mainly a portrait of real life in Brazil's Rio de Janeiro. It does not reflect any opinion about violence, but describes the enviroment by the point of view of one the characters, cap. Nascimento. The movie leaves to the audience to analyse and make his own conclusions. To call it "fascist propaganda" is an absurd, paranoid mistake. It's just ignorance. Collapse
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
GuilhermeZ.Feb 28, 2009
I'm brazilian, and I must say: Elite Squad is one of the bests movies I've ever watched. The critics problably didn't understood the idea of the movie. It's not an apology to crime. It's just the reality as told by a I'm brazilian, and I must say: Elite Squad is one of the bests movies I've ever watched. The critics problably didn't understood the idea of the movie. It's not an apology to crime. It's just the reality as told by a policeman. His point of view is not necessarily the point of view of major brazilians. It's a film about poor conditions in stress areas and the lack of law. It's a portrait of the favelas and its day-a-day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiqvidJan 18, 2011
This movie is awesome. I can't believe it has such a low Metascore. This just doesn't make sense. Do yourself a favor, don't believe the critics, and go watch it for yourself!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IdidseethemovieMar 8, 2011
Also, if you don't like this kind of movie, why in hell did you bother watching it at all? You FAILED to understand the plot of this movie, and it was NEVER incoherent. You people have amazed me this time.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JoaoVitorMar 18, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's funny how you, critical, give for Die Hard a metascore 70/100 and for Elite Squad 33/100. With $4.000.000, José Padilha made a good movie and beyond all realistic. this movie there is no American badass who combats stereotyped villains. The villains here are true, kills every day hundreds of innocent people. So the thing of this movie isn't the great special effects or the good plot. This movie is a message. Violent? Yes, but necessary. Best thriller I ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
aalanmassariFeb 24, 2012
Hello I am Brazilian I live in Rio de Janeiro in Barra da Tijuca I'm settled aera Brazilian force, as you Americans are so innocent, this movie does not portray nen half of the slums relidade nen you do not know what hunger is mizeriaHello I am Brazilian I live in Rio de Janeiro in Barra da Tijuca I'm settled aera Brazilian force, as you Americans are so innocent, this movie does not portray nen half of the slums relidade nen you do not know what hunger is mizeria violence, our reality are totally different in the favela has no law has no rule, this film portrays nen half of violence and crime in the favelas, the BOPE (Special Operations Battalion) and the movie but there shall not nen shows half of what they are ralmente materiality because in the recruitment of BOPE to shock language they take you out but only the strong and well prepared fiction, should doubt my word ta here my facebook http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002033752756 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews