Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 14, 2005
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 148 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
27
Negative:
43
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
billt.Oct 24, 2005
What a pathetic piece of trash. Anyone who has actually lost a parent will be horrified by this film. When it is not being inappropriate, it's being absolutely predictable. Its attempt at depth reveal it to be all the more hopelessly shallow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
apersonOct 30, 2005
The only good part was the end with the map, the rest of the movie was boring and pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JuleC.Feb 7, 2006
The only thing I thought when I saw this movie was "Thank god I don't have to see it again." I should sue the movie company.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EconomistBRApr 8, 2007
A horrible and brainless movie, and as the USA Today put it, with a disjointed story. The plot didn't make sense and tap dacing at funeral makes even less sense. The only good thing was the movies soundtrack
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SusanJ.Oct 17, 2005
Other than the great music, this movie is horrible. The main problem is the acting. Then, topping that off with a dragging screen play made the 2 hours and 10 minutes of the movie feel like so much more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
wendyOct 19, 2005
RaeAnn you don't get the bad reviews and gave it a perfect ten like in Gone With The Wind? How about it sucked with a Capital S. It was tedious and boring. Do you get this? If you can give it a ten, I will balance it off with a zero. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickW.Oct 22, 2005
This is the worst movie I have ever seen, and I've seen some bad ones. I can't believe that stars like Susan Sarandon, Kirsten Dunst, and Orlando Blume allowed themselves to be associated with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LilyFeb 20, 2006
This movie made me sad for Cameron Crowe. It is badly written and badly directed (and very badly put together). Kirsten Dunst is at her worst. It is nothing more than a collection of stock scenes and unbelievable one-liners. Susan Sarrandon This movie made me sad for Cameron Crowe. It is badly written and badly directed (and very badly put together). Kirsten Dunst is at her worst. It is nothing more than a collection of stock scenes and unbelievable one-liners. Susan Sarrandon (who I usually Love) should not be trusted ever again after her participation in the worst eulogy ever fictionalized. Still, I give it a 2 because the beginning was promising, the music is good (even though I think it was supposed to say everything that Crowe decided he didn't want to write down), and it's not as bad as Battlefield Earth - the worst movie ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnB.Mar 5, 2006
Terrible unplausible movie, trying to do too much which turns about to be mindless drivle. As if any firm would lose a Billion dollars for making a bad shoe. Two hours of boredom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ClintH.Oct 15, 2005
This is WAY too long. A really boring, bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CamdenL.Oct 15, 2005
Not good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NormanOct 17, 2005
I think Crowe tried too hard this time which is a shame because he is one of the best directors my generation has ever seen. Bloom was only blank stares and Dunst's character almost was a stalker. Just rent this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
edwardv.Oct 17, 2005
This would have been a real hit, were i a schizophrenic 13 year old. when crowe wasn't busy addingg more storyline to the muddled convergence of plots he was filling in the cracks with the most tired cliches. orlando bloom makes a much This would have been a real hit, were i a schizophrenic 13 year old. when crowe wasn't busy addingg more storyline to the muddled convergence of plots he was filling in the cracks with the most tired cliches. orlando bloom makes a much better elf, at least they hardly talk. i have seen cyborgs display more emotion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VictorBOct 18, 2005
Ashton Kutcher was famously fired from this film for needing acting lessons (the story has been since cleaned up). At any rate I think this was the major problem with the film-that's right! Look at most of the poor reviews, they all say Ashton Kutcher was famously fired from this film for needing acting lessons (the story has been since cleaned up). At any rate I think this was the major problem with the film-that's right! Look at most of the poor reviews, they all say "poor chemistry". Chemistry is a by-product of rehearsal and actors' talent, having to switch lead actors probably made this movie suffer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
nickOct 19, 2005
A bland, boring mess that was poorly written and too insider-ish. didn't help that dunst was insanely annoying and bloom was wooden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamOct 20, 2005
A truly awful piece of regugitated crap. How does this movie suck? Well the dialouge sucks. Here are some examples, "Just say you love me and get it over with!" or "I really, really, like you!" Blegh, and that's only Ms. Dunst that said A truly awful piece of regugitated crap. How does this movie suck? Well the dialouge sucks. Here are some examples, "Just say you love me and get it over with!" or "I really, really, like you!" Blegh, and that's only Ms. Dunst that said it. Speaking of her, she is having her most retarded, pathetic performance ever, same with Orlando Bloom. Awful, awful, awful s..t. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
elizabethtownOct 26, 2005
I feel like I need to make a parallel between Elizabethtown and Mark B's review to protect the public from the increasing pandemic of long boring stuff. Both the movie and the review are good examples of what you (the viewing/reading I feel like I need to make a parallel between Elizabethtown and Mark B's review to protect the public from the increasing pandemic of long boring stuff. Both the movie and the review are good examples of what you (the viewing/reading public) should avoid. It would be far better to be kicked directly in your baby-making/copulative zone than to watch Elizabethtown or read Mark B's review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JustinB.Oct 28, 2005
The soundtrack to Elizabehtown is excellent, coming from a masterful director and even producer Cameron Crowe. Theres Tom Petty, a track from Nancy Wilson, and My Morning Jacket, all lending that taste of Americana. The movies theme Same in The soundtrack to Elizabehtown is excellent, coming from a masterful director and even producer Cameron Crowe. Theres Tom Petty, a track from Nancy Wilson, and My Morning Jacket, all lending that taste of Americana. The movies theme Same in Any Language is very heartwarming. But the soundtrack does not jive with the actual film (for the very first time in a Crowe film. Music and film critics sang high praises for Crowes 2000 endeavor Almost Famous). The film is good at the beginning but goes tiresome in the middle and goes annoying in the end (the tap dance performed by badly miscast Susan Sarandon is supposed to elicit poignancy and hope after a loss. It didn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarenM.Feb 28, 2006
It was ok, but it dragged alot. The scenes are too long. It seems like you sat on the couch forever. I rated it a three, because the story itself was ok. But it was stupid to put it into a movie. By far my LEAST favorite movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshB.Feb 9, 2006
This movie was bad on so many levels that I don't even know where to begin. It gets a one because of the promising first 20 minutes of the movie that were filled with Bloom's character calm handling of a disasterous situation. The This movie was bad on so many levels that I don't even know where to begin. It gets a one because of the promising first 20 minutes of the movie that were filled with Bloom's character calm handling of a disasterous situation. The rest of the movie gets worse and worse, up until the point at which sarandon's character gives her "performance", then it becomes unwatchable. Definitely in my list of "worst all time" movies, the characters don't work, relationships drag on, and it fails at ripping off Garden State (boy comes home for parent's funeral...hipster soundtrack...cute woman pops up). Bad, just...bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
stevesOct 13, 2007
i have loved cameron crowe's movies. but not this one. this was a tedious movie of disjointed scenes and corny - at best - (if not silly), over sappy scenes which just didnt work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ColstmanMar 6, 2009
Unbelievably awful. Watched it with my wife and daughter and they thought it was dire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IsaacFNov 13, 2005
Thought it was a terrible film. Random without being clever and some cringeworthy and pretentious dialogue in the romantic scenes. Bloom can't lead or narrate. The tap-dancing moment was horrible. Just saw this film for a charity movie Thought it was a terrible film. Random without being clever and some cringeworthy and pretentious dialogue in the romantic scenes. Bloom can't lead or narrate. The tap-dancing moment was horrible. Just saw this film for a charity movie night and those around me universally condemned it. At least some of my ticket price went to a good cause. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshG.Oct 15, 2005
This film is so incredibly bad and it depresses me to say that. Up until Elizabethtown, Crowe was one of the few directors, along with the late Stanley Kubrick, who I felt never made a film I did not love. This film is such a complete mess. This film is so incredibly bad and it depresses me to say that. Up until Elizabethtown, Crowe was one of the few directors, along with the late Stanley Kubrick, who I felt never made a film I did not love. This film is such a complete mess. Orlando Bloom gives one of the most emotionally dead performances I have seen on film. Dunst keeps turning her characters southern accent on and off. Surandon makes a fool of herself. There's barely an ounce of intelligence in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AsaM.Oct 15, 2005
I was very disappointed by this movie. I thought it didn't work at all. Orlando Bloom had no energy in the film, the relationship with the Kirsten Dunst character lacked any real spark and the road trip bit at the end was out of place. I was very disappointed by this movie. I thought it didn't work at all. Orlando Bloom had no energy in the film, the relationship with the Kirsten Dunst character lacked any real spark and the road trip bit at the end was out of place. The movie was very disjointed and didn't flow together at all. It was also way too long and some of the scenes just went on and on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrentCOct 16, 2005
This move was such a complete waste of time. The entire time I was watching the movie, I kept asking myself, "What was Crowe thinking?" There were so many unanswered questions plus Bloom's American accent and narration was horrible. This move was such a complete waste of time. The entire time I was watching the movie, I kept asking myself, "What was Crowe thinking?" There were so many unanswered questions plus Bloom's American accent and narration was horrible. Dunst needed to also figue out if she was going to be southern or not. Please save your time and your money. So disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MattC.Oct 17, 2005
While Crowe is an adequate storyteller, Kurst and Bloom are not talented movie stars. They have zero charisma and presence alone or together. These are two people the Hollywood system is desperately foisting upon the public, force-feeding to While Crowe is an adequate storyteller, Kurst and Bloom are not talented movie stars. They have zero charisma and presence alone or together. These are two people the Hollywood system is desperately foisting upon the public, force-feeding to audiences. Effective publicisists and agents can make one famous, but that fame is not always deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanaROct 18, 2005
A total fiasco! Save your money! I had to experience the torture of premiering this at the film festival.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomSDec 12, 2005
This movie was a flat-out train wreck. There was never any reason to care about Orlando Bloom's character. To make matters worse, they never actually explained what it was that made his shoe a 'failure.' The scene with Susan This movie was a flat-out train wreck. There was never any reason to care about Orlando Bloom's character. To make matters worse, they never actually explained what it was that made his shoe a 'failure.' The scene with Susan Sarandon on stage was completely self-indulgent, unnecessary, and actually forced the film to move backwards. The 'scrapbook' that kirsten dunst 'threw' together in the 10 spare minutes she had apart from stalking orlando bloom was comical at best. The film was simply unbelievable, and even if you were to suspend your disbelief, there's still no reason to care. On the otherhand, as usual for Crowe, the soundtrack was great. But it seems like the whole film was just an excuse to put some of his favorite driving tunes into a movie. Even the sheer number of songs played shows an inability of Crowe to self-edit. Disaster of a movie for Crowe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RichardG.Dec 29, 2005
Excruciatingly boring and inept. It is difficult to believe that a studio could release anything this bad with leads this good. Just unbelievably bad!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SairaM.Mar 28, 2006
I typically like Cameron Crowe but this movie is all over the place and never really works anywhere it tries to go. The actors barely believe it, which makes it hard for the audience to and after it's all over one is left with a pile of I typically like Cameron Crowe but this movie is all over the place and never really works anywhere it tries to go. The actors barely believe it, which makes it hard for the audience to and after it's all over one is left with a pile of sentimental mush from one too many "lessons learned". Cliched storyline and a stalker-esque heroine (Dunst) who is lonely and persistent to console (Bloom), most apparently to resolve her own issues. Dunst is too slimy to be charming and Bloom never gets beyond a blank stare to convey the depth of emotion the character would likely be feeling. - Elizabethtown is a big yucky mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
atmosphericrexMay 28, 2015
STOP THE CREMATION! Oh my god stop talking in a southern accent Kirsten Dunst . If the entire movie was the last ten minutes this movie would have been pretty chill, but everything is just so convoluted and exaggerated that it is sort of aSTOP THE CREMATION! Oh my god stop talking in a southern accent Kirsten Dunst . If the entire movie was the last ten minutes this movie would have been pretty chill, but everything is just so convoluted and exaggerated that it is sort of a caricature of itself. Also what's up with the whole shoe b.s? It's shown in the beginning and then mentioned in the late middle, it's a really weird choice to start the movie off with a plot point that will only be vaguely explored later on in the film. I don't know, it's not even comparable to Crowe's other work. Making Almost Famous and then making Elizabethtown is like painting the mona lisa and then taking a crap on a canvas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews