User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 716 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 716

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Just caught the matinee and feel a little guilty this one deserved a full price! No soph0more slump for Blomkamp I loved District 9 this to me even surpasses it.We get developed characters that we actually care about the performances by all were stellar,especially Damon as the guy we can relate to and Copley in a scene chewing performance delivering one of the best villains in recent memory,Foster was the too as the cutthroat politician .Blomkamp has balls and his vision of two separate societies one of the diseased, overpopulated planet and Elysium where the rich flourish disease free was richly brought to life truly a beautiful the effects by Weca are amazing! I bought in to this future world and the plot actually had a purpose with something to say about our modern society while still being balls to the wall entertaining and affecting its audience. Blomkamp delivers another classic go check it out i can't recommend enough Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Saw it in IMAX, and it totally rocked. I loved District 9 one of my favorites and this film didn't disappoint at all. Great story with great characters, and a powerful message. Totally serious, this should win best picture.
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    I'm not a huge sci-fi fan, but this movie I loved. It was interesting throughout,
    And wasn't just your average shooting blowing up sci-fi movies. It had a good back story and made you feel for the characters. Matt Damon was incredible in the role of Max and Sharlto Copley was very convincing as a psychopath bounty hunter type of character. This film has amazing special effects and was
    visually amazing. I highly recommend it. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Highly recommended, best original sci-fi movie released in a long time. Great because it was a realistic future dystopia-- if anything, the world in 2154 will probably look a lot worse than what it depicted (overpopulated, disease-ridden and devastated by climate change), with scathing social commentary of the present day and gritty, kinetic action sequences/ great special effects to boot. Ending was a little bit of a conventional letdown, and the film didn't spend nearly enough time exploring the fascinating setting and its implications. Probably Blomkamp was already flouting too many stagnant Hollywood conventions that to go any further out of lamestream production values would make him a pariah. Nonetheless this is the best movie I have seen in a very long time and was entertaining for every second of the ride. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    I never saw District 9, but I heard many good things about it. I really thought that Elysium looked good, so I went to see it.
    How was the acting?
    The acting in this film was overall good. There was a bad part, though, like Jodie Foster. Jodie Foster is a good actress, but in Elysium she was not good. She was pretty bad. She did not portray her character well at all, and had forgettable
    performance. Every syllable she said, she fidgeted. Her very also obviously audio dubbed. It was very easy to tell, and sometimes the movement of her lips didn't match the audio track. Matt Damon, Diego Luna, and Alice Braga did very well in this film, though; and Sharlto Copley stole the show. he played the main villain in this film and he just killed it. He was great playing the "crazy guy" and portrayed his character beautifully.
    How was the writing?
    There's not much I can say about the writing in Elysium, but what I can say is that is was writing very well. There were some sudden twists and turns, and maybe too many of them, but other than that, I liked the direction this film went. I do think Elysium changed a little too much, but that doesn't really bring it down that much. It also had realistic dialog, and a very satisfying ending. I really liked the ending of this film. It really surprised me.
    Did it have an interesting premise?
    Basically the main reason I went to see Elysium was because of its premise. I loved the premise. It took real world problems that we have today and made something happen with them. I know District 9 did that, too, but I can't compare Elysium to District 9. Anyway, I liked how at the beginning it showed how life on Elysium and Earth was, and how horrible things are. I also really liked the robot cops. The premise for Elysium was great.
    Was it entertaining or boring?
    This film had a slow start and did have a very big switch from action scenes to slow part, but overall it was very entertaining. The slow parts were used to show how things were and show us the characters, but they weren't that interesting. The parts were more boring than they were interesting. The action scenes, though, were very cool. There was a little bit too much slow motion used, but it very cool action sequences; and they were intense, too, especially in the third act of the film.
    What things in particular did I like?
    I loved the premise of Elysium. The action scenes of this film were great. The acting in this film was mostly very good. I liked the direction this film went. I also thought the last act of this film was excellent. I think it was the last half and hour or so of the film. It was very intense, had quite a bit of excellent action, and mixed the right amount of emotion in the mix, too. The film was also very interesting, enjoyable, and entertaining for the most part.
    What things in particular did I dislike?
    I very much disliked Jodie Foster's performance in Elysium. It was more boring than interesting in most of the slow parts. It aslo changed direction too many times. I just had three problems with Elysium but all three of them were kind of big, making the film not excellent. That's all I disliked about Elysium, though.
    How was it overall?
    Elysium, despite my few problems with it, was a great film.
    Do I recommend this film?
    Yes, I do strongly recommend Elysium to see at full price for anyone who is considering seeing it.
    Will I buy this film?
    Yes, when this film comes out, I will buy it on Blu-Ray.
    Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    Full of swearing and blood: my type of movie. Matt's act is acceptable. The robotic-arm joke dropped me from the seat, because of laughing. Good action and a nice story. Almost 10.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    I was not permitted to rate this film; rather, when I DID rate it "3" and pressed "submit", it automatically rated it a "9". So now I'm rating it a ONE, regardless of what they try force me to rate it. THIS FILM IS RATED "ONE", NOT "NINE; ONE.
  8. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie, great premise and the right motives for the main character to do what he did. It actually exceed my expectations in many ways, it has a strong message on the poor vs the rich. Politics aside tho, if you just watch this movie for what it is, a piece of entertainment you will not be disappointed. Matt does what he does best and the villain in this movie excels in many way, he steals the scenes everytime he comes up. Its a scifi movie with a lot of heart, you can tell the director is passionate about his work. To me this is a one of akind movie for 2013, a sleeper hit in my books, it brings something we yet to see for the remaining of the year. The weakest point in the film is probably the woman, not too great of an actress but she plays a decent role, Expand
  9. Xon
    Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Great visuals and pacing. Perhaps a little too preachy and pushing a liberal aganda. Cardboard cutout characters and lack of plot or character development made the film less gripping. But good pop-corn fare.
  10. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    I wish there was a way for users to delete reviews. I thought this was a great film but I want to delete the review under this profile, and so I write 150 words.
  11. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    very good movie, enjoyed the action, i love how technology is not "super" advanced like in most futuristic movies but very close to reality and to what might actually really happen
  12. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    Elysium is not a film for stupid people. Ultimately, critics and reviewers will pan the film simply because they're unaware of the sci-fi tropes and themes that it references. Like Tarantino, Blomkamp is demanding engagement from the viewer, and when one is able to shunt disbelief aside and enter his world, the brilliance of his vision and his technical ability in portraying it make it an emotionally and intellectually satisfying experience. This is Asimov meets Orwell, it shows a depth of understanding of the nature and evolution of technology as well as the essential structures that produce it that should make most political scientists feel ashamed. Blomkamp isn't producing 'summer block buster entertainment' for the American masses, he's trying to create something artistic. This is not Lady Gaga, it's the White Stripes. A lot of critics will miss the joy of this movie by trying to watch it in terms of a summer blockbuster, instead of being aware that this is a director who will never (at least we hope) produce anything that Hollywood wants him to make. Blomkamp heavily references the scientific types found in novels like Dune and gives them a feeling of reality that is almost creepily grounded in today. A lot of critics ask questions like "how did people end up on Elysium". Well how have rich people in any time period distanced themselves from the masses? The answer is slowly. This is a film that will ultimately be beyond people who have never seen or noted how extreme income disparities develop and who have no feeling for how political economy works thorough technology. As such, many critics will try to cast it as a parody or satire of today's world, but in doing so will miss the point completely. This is the world of today taken to its logical end. Solid acting by Matt Damon who plays the everyman with a sort of pent up aggression that's important to the role. Jodie Foster's role is delightful, but ultimately, if a movie is defined by the quality of its villain, Foster is an antagonist but not the ultimate evil. That's reserved for Sharlito Copley, who's portrayal of Agent M Kruger brings chills, all the more so because his type of existence and the nature of his evil are so well recorded in history. But you'd have to know some history to know that and so we come back to the point; Elysium is an intelligent film for intelligent people, and many critics will bash it simply because they don't get it. I certainly don't expect the editor of Time Out London to do so. Frankly, I hope Blomkamp simply ignores them and that we continue to see the evolution of this fascinating artist. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Non stop action with not-a-hero main character localized in Vanquish universe. I love this movie Mat Damon doesn`t want to be hero he just wants to save his life. He becomes a hero at the end but its more like a coincidence than a target. Perfect scenario, perfect idea, perfect performance. I`m amused
  14. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    This movie does have its few flaws, like a few plot holes, but that doesn't change my thoughts of this movie. This movie was fun and an exciting movie to see. Matt Damon was great, the villains were hateable, and the story was action packed and awesome. See this movie soon. You don't want to miss this!
  15. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Going into this movie, i thought it would be okay. The trailer looked great but i hated district 9 so i was not sure how this would go down. But after i saw it, i thought it was amazing! Everything was done really well and the atmosphere it creates is fantastic. My only complaint is that sometimes during the action, the camera was moving way to much giving me a slight headache. However, it only happened twice so overall, i approve of this movie.

    9.5/10
    Expand
  16. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    I'm getting this the first day out on bluray! The movie was AMAZING! The actors are wrenching. I was surprised at first as to the many number of elements this had that were in District 9 but, in hindsight, the same director that did District 9 also did Elysium so the surprise wore off quickly. And, you'll get a surprise as to the major villain's persona. I'm sure you've seen him before but it took me a while to realize who he was. Amazing acting by Jodi.... Love her! See this for all the action, for the heart wrenching emotional ups and downs, and most of all for the message that could one day be the great socioeconomic divide between the 'us' and 'them'. Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. yeah I thought this movie was great. I loved District 9 and looked forward to their next film. The critics were kind of split so I was a little worried but the movie turned out to be awesome. The action was intense and their were some great characters. The main character from the first movie returns in a totally different role and I thought he kicked ass. I don't usually like Jodie Foster so her being the antagonist made it alright. Matt Damon did a good job and the mechanic suit he wears gave the movie some very memorable action scenes. I also liked the story a lot about the elite deserting earth for a haven in space, keeping their advanced health care for themselves and leaving the poor too die. The movie held my interest completely and definitely lived up to what I expected. Expand
  18. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    It's nice to see a serious sci-fi movie that takes itself serious with coming off as pretentious. It's the first time I have been able to say that about a sci-fi movie in a long time. Matt Damon as always nails it. With great action, and fantastic plot, and what may be one of the most despicable villains in movie history, "Elysium" is definitely worth a watch.
  19. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Elysium is a perfect well written and excellently directed Elysium had everything I except to see in a true Sci Fi film. Elysium kept me on the edge of my seat from start till finish.
  20. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    What the heck were the people saying this was crap watching? One of the biggest gripes about this movie was that "It's overly political", really? really? overly political? Please proceed to remove the tent pole stuck up your... nose, and learn to appreciate good cinema, thank you. Boet. *Insert picture of Kruger giving you the finger*.
  21. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This movie is very underrated in my opinion. The story was good and it wasn't cheesy. The characters seemed very real. the action scenes were great they weren't over the top and they weren't too many or too lengthy. The actors did a fantastic job, especially the ones who aren't very popular. The CGI was amazing. The script was very, very good. I felt like I was watching a real life documentary and not a movie. I think the movie is a must-see. Expand
  22. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    A movie doesn't have to be a cinematic masterpiece to be awesome. And Elysium just goes to show that a movie with flaws can still be f**king amazing when done the right way. A similar comparison for Elysium would be The Transporter movies. By no means anything but a summer blockbuster, and yet you leave the theater having been very entertained. I will admit, Elysium has quite a few flaws, but they are something i can easily forgive as the movie makes up for its mistakes. First off i would like to mention that this film is absolutely gorgeous. Its one of the best looking films i have seen in quite some time. It just oozes style that reminds me of The Island mixed with Aliens. Combat is intense and filmed clearly so you can enjoy every moment. There are so many moments that just make you shout out in how insane they are. People get killed in some of the most over the top and violent ways you cant help but have a dark chuckle as at least half a dozen people are just turned into pink mist. POSSIBLE MINOR SPOILER, I will say that the knife fight at the end of the film is amazingly well done and a perfect way to have a fight with the main villain. END SPOILER As far as acting goes. I do think that the little girl was an awful actress yes but she has maybe three lines so it doesn't hurt the film, and Spyder's performance was so over the top that his ability to chew the scenery became freaking amazing. He overacted so much it just made his character seem likeably insane, sort of like Vass from Far Cry 3. Overall i loved this movie regardless of its flaws. I highly recommend this film for action and sci fi buffs. Just keep in mind that if you cant turn a blind eye to flaws and plot hole, you may enjoy this film less than i did. No means a masterpiece, but it was a helluva a lotta of fun to see. Expand
  23. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Here's the thing, I liked "District 9", but I absolutely loved "Elysium". This is a movie that knows what it is and does it well. The acting was great, the story was phenomenal and the action was fantastic, Go watch this movie! Also, check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife". Stupid title, I know, but I really want to see what you guys think. Overall, prepare to be amazed with "Elysium"
  24. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Finally watched this film today, went in with high expectations, left with every single expectation blown out the water. An absolutely incredible story, paced excellently throughout. Parred with blistering action and directing, it's one of the best films I've seen in a long time. It also helps that I'm a huge fan of District 9. All the characters are likable, especially Kruger. I found myself rooting for the bad guys just as much as the good guys. One of my favorite films, I'd highly recommend anyone to watch it. Expand
  25. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    A brilliant and electrifying sci-fi thriller set in the dystopian 22nd century becomes the vehicle for a scathing satire and powerful indictment of the politics of oppression circa 2013 A great and worthy follow-up to Blomkamp's "District 9."
  26. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    I think that I can safely say this is the second best sci-fi movie released this year the first being Star Trek into darkness). The story of this movie is in the distant future where earth has become to overpopulated and it's nothing but a kraphole. So all the rich people have fled to the halo from the halo games and up there it's pretty much heaven. They have all These robot servants giving them everything and they have this medical bed where when someone lays on it and they are cured of all there problems. So that guy from sponge bob who had glass bones and paper skin would be right at home here, oh wait that was.. just... that rich guy..... oh. Well anyway, so one man named max (Matt Damon) is diseased with radiation during an accident on his job, so now he must put on this terminator suit and get up to Elysium and not just save his life but millions of people's lives on earth. Now the first thing I want to say about this movie are the actors and this casting was definitely great for this movie. First we have Matt Damon who was definitely a treat to have. I mean we have seen this guy kick ass in multiple other movies out there and it was no surprise that he did so in this movie. Then there was Jodie Foster who while not exactly stellar, she played her role as a very well, granted I could think of other actresses who could play Elysiums secretary, but she did good. However those actors don't even compare to the man who stole the show and that was Sharlto Copley as crouger (or however u spell his name). Crouger was pretty much the bad guy in this movie and he was a psychotic one, when he was on that screen, i was just smiling and shaking the entire time. He is just so uncomfortable to be around and that's what makes him so effective. One of the many rules in movie making is that u can't have a great film without a great villain. I mean think about it some of the all time greatest movies have had great villains, Star Wars, the avengers, Indiana Jones the list goes on and on. I also really liked the message that this movie portrayed about are society today. Some might argue that it gets a little preachy, but I respectfully disagree. When movies have these kinds of messages about or world today, it really just makes your mind think and makes u feel more attached to the movie as a whole. Overall there aren't any glaring flaws I can point out in this movie. This is a phenomenally crafted sci-fi movie and one that is very emersive and surprisingly, was released in August of all months. And this movie made me shed some man tears at the end. Any movie that can do that deserves the 10/10 rating in my opinion. Expand
  27. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Neil Blomkamp's District 9 blew me away and so I was really excited about Elysium, the movie was very good but don't expect it to be better than his previous movie. Matt Damon without a doubt was incredible on playing his character, he proved himself that he could be an action star when he was Jason Bourne and in Elysium, his performance was well done. Jodie Foster was also good in the movie but the person that blew me away the most was Sharlto Copley. He was so fun to watch and in every scene that he was in gave me the feeling that he was about to do or say something memorable. The visuals and the action scenes were terrific, it's a further proof that Blomkamp knows how to tell a good story and to create visuals that makes his movies real Sci-Fi. The movie still has it's flaws like the forced chemistry and characters that had short development but that doesn't take the fun out of the movie. Elysium was a well done movie but doesn't really match District 9, I am going to give Elysium a 10/10. Expand
  28. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Just like Place Beyond the Pines, Star Trek Into Darkness, and Only God Forgives, Elysium is another masterpiece to come out of 2013. And not only is a masterpiece, its the best out of the four that I've seen. Now, let me get this out of the way, this movie is like Prometheus to the audience; where some say its dumb, others say its good, and many say its spectacular. But to say it s one of the worst movies ever? Come on. Really? Have you seen some of the that has come out this year? I kept my expectations high, but not too high for this movie and boy were they met! The cinematography is just beautiful; great vision of the future, Matt Damon was fantastic as the character of Max. Jodie Foster? That's where i have problems with the movie. I think she was fine, which was kind of disappointing to me. She was able to get the whole female politician' act down, but not as good as i had hoped. However, the man who steels the show will go down as one of the greatest villains of all time...Shartlo Copely as Kruger. This guy was menacing, brutal, cold, and well just plain right uncomfortable. He steals every scene he is in, and that is no joke, and the last 30 minutes of this movie were some of the best climatic moments i'd ever seen. When a movie's climax has your heart racing, it does something right.
    A+
    Collapse
  29. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "District 9" was amazing so I went into this one with high hopes that Neill Blomkamp would strike oil twice...and he did! I really dug the story (although it did feel a little chaotic and sloppy at times, but not too bad), the action is great (although I wanted more), the characters are fun (although some of them feel like they needed more development) and Sharlto Copley stole the movie to the point I wanna a "Elysium"-spin-off entirely about him!

    The problems in this movie are very, very few and the epic parts are very, very numerous!
    Expand
  30. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    "Bring down the bone saw!"

    Within the overall ranking of great film, there is a sub-section of great reserved for awesome Sci-Fi, the rarest of all great. This blog will begin with a review of such a film.

    Having just seen Elysium I am more probably more envious of director Niell Blomkamp than any other person in the world right now. Besides the fact that Blomkamp’s now two feature
    films are fantastic, his other film is District Nine, he’s only 33 and he operates as a visionary in the Sci-Fi genre, a genre where visionaries are in urgent demand.

    In 2154 Earth’s wealthiest have abandoned the filthy scourge that has become our home planet and taken up residence on Elysium, a Garden of Eden type space station equipped with ultra-advanced medical technology. It’s all just a quick shuttle ride away from Earth. Close enough to be realistic, but just outside the reach of masses.

    Matt Damon plays Max, a heavily tattooed former criminal trying to get this life back on the straight and narrow, but the Los Angeles of 2154 where he resides makes it difficult. After a run of bad luck he is dealt a deadly dose of radiation while working at his factory job. From here Max’s only chance of survival is to get to Elysium. Conveniently, Max just happens to be on a first name basis with Spider, a mastermind hacker crime boss that has the means to get Max there. After an unpleasant scene were Max is fused to with a robotic exoskeleton all he needs to do to attain his passage is hijack a corrupt official’s brain and download the data to his own.

    The dismal picture that Blomkamp paints of our future as a species is grim, although slightly glorified. His Los Angeles 2154 resembles the favelas of current day Rio de Janerio, hardly a fictional dystopia, and although Damon is a pleasure to watch amidst this dystopian fiction, his overall goal of trying to save his own life is not enough to garner sympathy. It is difficult to care about the worth of a single ex-con’s life amidst the pandemonium and violence that everyone around him also suffers.

    This disconnect never really resolves itself despite an attempt: Max ends up trying to save his childhood friend, and her daughter too. It doesn’t work, but it also doesn’t matter. This film is about wholes, big pictures, sums of all things greater than the individual. The technological marvels of Elysium are matched only by the decrepitude of the world that Blomkamp creates. A statement has been made loudly about humanity’s potential trajectory, lest we decide to alter it.
    Expand
  31. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    great
    movie
    story
    action
    acting
    idea
    completely very new idea
    not like directer too idea from someone's old ideas like Marvel Comics.
    villains
    world

    perfect
  32. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    loved this, worth going to see on the big screen. there is some over the top fight scenes that impart some disbelief but over all it is along the lines of district 9 where it pulls the audience into the story.
  33. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Although the camera is a bit shaky, this film just does it for me. I dont understand why people would give bad reviews on this.The other people around me in the cinema enjoyed it. They laughed at the humor. They sniffed during the end after a few tears were shed.

    If you havent seen this movie, WATCH IT NOW!
  34. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Great Sci-fi Film.

    The special effects are incredible and the story is great. Can't believe that so there is so much variance in degrees of acclaim. This is def one of the best films I've seen in awhile.

    I wish you could delete reviews.
  35. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Absolutely loved this film. As a huge fan of District 9, this was actually exactly what I was expecting it to be. Blomkamp's style is so distinct, and in general I have never seen a Sci-fi film quite like this. I don't quite know what critics were expecting, and it's particularly hard to tell when you have some wishing it was closer to District 9 while others criticize it for being too similar. The fact is that Blomkamp has used many of the elements that made District 9 SO brilliant and has applied them to a rather different perspective of Science Fiction in my opinion to equally brilliant effect.
    This film should be view completely independently which I understand is difficult for some.
    Needless to say, after seeing this film, I am even MORE excited to see what Blomkamp does next.
    Expand
  36. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    When I watched district 9 I knew that neil blomkamp was going to he a good director he takes it owns ideas and makes good movies also the performance of sharlto copley was amazing.
    In this movie (ELYSIUM) he makes a new idea by making the movie and making it well, I know that some of you expected the movie a little bit better but dont let the critics screw your movie.
  37. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Fantastic movie. Why cant we all have rights, why cant we all have access to healthcare.

    Great action packed movie with plenty to keep you entertained and think about subconsciously. Highly recommended.
  38. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Elysium is great, great story line, a handfull of seasoned great actors
    Jodie foster, mat damon, woman who played in "i am legend"
    Guy who played in movie "heat"
    I never got bored, always wondering whats next,
    A full value movie for your $
    There is way too many critical nit pickers out there.
    A very good entertaining movie period
  39. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    Look. Movies like this don't need any of the following qualities to be "good": 1.) Believability (according to who, and who would assume that what they believe could happen should be the same assumption for everyone?), 2.) Realistic action sequences and flawless special effects (I honestly do NOT care about this, unless it is painfully, painfully obvious that the action sequences are not of a professional quality.), and 3.) Sci Fi can still be "preachy" and still be science fiction. I never felt lectured to. I welcomed ideas of class warfare. Class "warfare" is a healthy thing in society, if it humbles the proud, and helps the more destitute and forgotten in society. I truly, honestly believe that the lack of compassion (or the grave need of it) toward those who are in need, or who are lonely, etc. (be it most any kind of need) is at the heart of this movie. It is about mercy, about the need for freedom and equality, about karma and true justice, and most of all, about selflessness, sacrifice, and pure love. How can ANYONE honestly dislike this movie, other than the brutality and language (and ok, the off-color, suggestive remarks, etc. by Kruger)? This is one of the best movies I have seen in a while. And one more thing. Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Horror/Supernatural movies, etc. are ALL HIGHLY unrealistic. People need to stop expecting this kind of fiction to behave in the same way as a crime drama, political, etc. thrillers, historical fiction/based on true events, etc., romances, most romantic comedies, and most other kinds of drama, movies, etc. Expand
  40. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    61! The **** is wrong with you guys! You guys probably need to drink more is all.... Try and see the story from each characters point of view... ah screw it you guys are too sober.. or dumb.. I don't care for either one..
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Aug 22, 2013
    60
    Nothing in the movie matches the fascination of its premise and its opening 10 minutes: the undisturbed status quo is mesmeric. Once the narrative grinds into gear, however, the film's distinctive quality is lost.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 22, 2013
    80
    In lesser hands, Elysium might have played like a Lib Dem manifesto with extra spaceships, but the South African filmmaker wants to explore ideas, not wave placards, and whether or not you agree with the film’s politics, the fire in its belly is catching.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Aug 9, 2013
    58
    Blomkamp overdoes even his best effects. (I would have welcomed more vistas of Elysium to break up the grungefest.) If Elysium is an example of how recession-era Hollywood intends to dramatize the rift between the haves and the have-nots, let’s hope the studios don’t also bring back Smell-O-Rama.