Summit Entertainment | Release Date: November 1, 2013
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 527 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
318
Mixed:
135
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
shaund91Nov 1, 2013
Go into it knowing that some things from the book will be change. That's just how it is for any book to movie adaptation. On its own merits this is a fantastic sci fi movie that I hope will do well enough for them to merit a sequel.
23 of 38 users found this helpful2315
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Apr 8, 2014
Never read the book, so I can only make a judgement based on the movie.

I actually liked this movie allot more than I thought I would. Clearly it tackles with some deep subjects, but they also feel a little rushed at times. The child
Never read the book, so I can only make a judgement based on the movie.

I actually liked this movie allot more than I thought I would. Clearly it tackles with some deep subjects, but they also feel a little rushed at times. The child actors are mostly pretty decent and Ford does a pretty good job too. A bit of a curiosity why Kingsley got top billing (or even how he got cast.) He really feels out of place, but even so, does a good job.

On the outside it feels a bit like a generic Sci-Fi movie, but it's not. At it's core it is something all its own.

Overall:
Ender's Game may not be the best Sci-Fi movie out there, but it is entertaining with some spectacular scenes. Well worth watching.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ezayAug 20, 2014
The pros:
The most important plots and twists were respected, the acting felt real, CGI were convincing.
The cons: You really have to know the story well to follow what happens on the screen without being lost or feeling some piece of
The pros:
The most important plots and twists were respected, the acting felt real, CGI were convincing.

The cons:
You really have to know the story well to follow what happens on the screen without being lost or feeling some piece of the story's missing, like how is it that everyone respects Ender after a simple fight.

All in all, they did a great job pushing all this into a less than 2 hours long movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoOct 25, 2015
I am in shock that this is rated so low. I went in expecting it to be good but not THIS good! I haven't read the book yet so I didn't know what to expect and I don't know how faithful it was but I think fans will probably enjoy it. TheI am in shock that this is rated so low. I went in expecting it to be good but not THIS good! I haven't read the book yet so I didn't know what to expect and I don't know how faithful it was but I think fans will probably enjoy it. The performances were great, the plot was interesting and there were lots of twists that I didn't see coming. I know I'm not the first person to say this but it's a cross between Harry Potter and Star Wars. One of the best of 2013. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Damocles346Nov 14, 2013
This move is a shining example of how to take a book, and turn it into a movie. A director put in charge of moving the creative vision of a writer from the printed word to the visual medium of the big screen has to be very careful not toThis move is a shining example of how to take a book, and turn it into a movie. A director put in charge of moving the creative vision of a writer from the printed word to the visual medium of the big screen has to be very careful not to change the emotional content of the story, while being willing to change the sequence, action, and dialog in order for the story to make a good movie. Ender's Game was the height of this art, provoking the same power emotions as the book, staying true to the heart of the characters, all the while taking a complex plot and distilling it down into a 2 hour movie. Well done, sirs, I salute you. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
ThePeebsNov 1, 2013
As a fan of book, I knew I would come out of this movie a little disappointed. And I was right. Movie adaptions are never as good as the book. Period. The issue is always with the cutting out of material to make the movie more appealing toAs a fan of book, I knew I would come out of this movie a little disappointed. And I was right. Movie adaptions are never as good as the book. Period. The issue is always with the cutting out of material to make the movie more appealing to the average viewer. As I can understand most of the changes, I was not pleased with how the battle school was handled in the film. By the time Ender reached command school, I didn't feel like he was commander material. Too little time was spent developing his skills and demonstrating how his mind worked. Besides that, I thought the movie fared well, especially the ending which was handled fantastically. If I had not read the book, I would have enjoyed the movie more. But, like everyone always says, the book is always better than the movie. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
bonidexDec 26, 2013
Great adaptation, very loyal to the original material.
I simply loved it. I am a big fan of the book and was really scared about the adaptation going really bad.
After 5 minutes I realized I had no reason to be afraid. The movie is
Great adaptation, very loyal to the original material.
I simply loved it. I am a big fan of the book and was really scared about the adaptation going really bad.
After 5 minutes I realized I had no reason to be afraid.
The movie is amazing. That was the general opinion of the friends who watched with me and hadn't read the book. My friend said: I had no expectations whatsoever for this movie and it was awesome!
I agree entirely.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Jan 3, 2014
Can I start off by saying that this movie is not homophobic or anti-gay and that that is only the writer of the book Orson Scott Card (dick).
The director of that badly written CGI fest X-Men Origins Wolverine sets out to make the movie of
Can I start off by saying that this movie is not homophobic or anti-gay and that that is only the writer of the book Orson Scott Card (dick).
The director of that badly written CGI fest X-Men Origins Wolverine sets out to make the movie of the complex book which predicted things such as the internet, gaming and e-mail, he does it surprisingly well.
Asa Butterfield is perfectly cast as Ender and really makes the role his own, Harrison Ford is awesome (need I say more) and all of the supporting cast who make up Enders dragon army are brilliant also. Something which took me by surprise was the quality of the CGI in the space scenes. It was really good. I have not yet seen Gravity, so I won't say it's the best of the year. But it's definitely near the top of the list. However the best thing about the movie by far is the twist within the last 20 minutes (WHICH I WILL NOT REVEAL), but really took me by surprise. I am assuming that the twist was in the book and if I had read that first maybe it would not have been so effective. But I didn't read the book first, so the twist was totally unexpected and very very clever.
The first thing which started to ruin the movie was the ending which is not satisfying, and while I understand it now, it was difficult to interpret while the credits were rolling. The last shot is stolen from Avatar too. Also in contrast to many other movies, where he has been absolutely amazing, Ben Kingsley's performance is not all that good. He fits his character, but changes personality and even worse changes accent, which is one of the biggest sins possible for an actor to commit. Although the main problem with Enders Game, is too many unintentionally funny scenes (the same problem Gavin Hood had in X-Men Origins Wolverine). The clichéd bully gets embarrassed scenes, grin inspiring voice breaks from Asa Butterfield and laugh out loud hilarious first appearance of Ben Kingsley are just some of the unforgettable comedy moments in the movie.
Overall Enders Game failed to be the science fiction epic that Orson Scott Card's (dick) novel was, but does succeed at being an intelligent science fiction fantasy for kids and I found that movie perfectly enjoyable.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
MrEpic012Nov 17, 2013
A Good Sci-Fi Movie Sticks Close To The Book Excellent SFX, Good Acting, Character Development is Fair, Kinda Loud, I Say It Will Earn A Sequel Or Even A Prequel About Mazor Rackham
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
JaboyKoiNov 15, 2013
While the story is fairly solid, the whole movie felt a bit rushed. While this is not a sci-fi movie that will go down in history, it is definitely worth a watch.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
zcavemanDec 6, 2013
This movie had a few differences from the book. It didn't follow some characters as much as the book. But just like the LOTR's and Narnia movies, its part of the process. Making a long book to one movie is a difficult challenge. The movieThis movie had a few differences from the book. It didn't follow some characters as much as the book. But just like the LOTR's and Narnia movies, its part of the process. Making a long book to one movie is a difficult challenge. The movie without the book is a very good movie that has one wondering what's going to happen next. Only to have one of the most original twists of all time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
JatsDec 6, 2013
yes, the book is better.... but i think that this movie is one of the best adaptation that i ever seen. guys, please, don't "critic" the movie if you don't know anything about the book! you look like core less ships! ah! yes! i'm a spaceship!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
KentRDec 7, 2013
When this film becomes available for home viewing it will likely lead many teens and adults to read the imaginative 1980s novel that it was based upon. The film depicts some of the ideas and scenes from the novel in interesting ways. TheWhen this film becomes available for home viewing it will likely lead many teens and adults to read the imaginative 1980s novel that it was based upon. The film depicts some of the ideas and scenes from the novel in interesting ways. The child actors were quite good in their abbreviated roles. The film is relatively brief in comparison to the story it was based upon. The production quality of this film is high. Collapse
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
cyndit1971Dec 9, 2013
Rarely my children and I agree but this was one it was good, the movie as well as the representation of the book very impressed they did not butcher it especially since I read this back in high school in the 80's and had my kids read itRarely my children and I agree but this was one it was good, the movie as well as the representation of the book very impressed they did not butcher it especially since I read this back in high school in the 80's and had my kids read it when they were in elementary school about 7 years ago. I hope they come out with the sequel (speaker of the dead) it will be interesting to see if they continue to be true to the context. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BrownJesus83Nov 1, 2013
The only thing the movie lacked really was great Character Development.. its pretty much a mash up of all the key elements of Ender's Game.. and they also dropped the idea of adding in Ender's Shadow.. I liked what I saw, and thought it was aThe only thing the movie lacked really was great Character Development.. its pretty much a mash up of all the key elements of Ender's Game.. and they also dropped the idea of adding in Ender's Shadow.. I liked what I saw, and thought it was a good enough adaption from the book.. though someone who has not read the book I thought might be a little lost in what's happening when in the movie. However my girlfriend watched the movie with me and she has not read the book but still thought it was a good movie. I think they should have made it a 3 hour movie and kept everything they did.. but DEVELOP the characters more and give it a little filler. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
8
AurelTristenNov 1, 2013
It is always very difficult to cram a book into a movie, but luckily they chose to cut the correct bits for the most part here. I was happy to find that a vast amount of the dialogue was pulled directly from the book. With that said, if youIt is always very difficult to cram a book into a movie, but luckily they chose to cut the correct bits for the most part here. I was happy to find that a vast amount of the dialogue was pulled directly from the book. With that said, if you haven't read the book, you'll probably misunderstand the tone of the movie.

This isn't another 120 minute 'save the cat' by the numbers film, like so much is these days. It actually tries to live up to the book, and succeeds in some surprising ways. If you don't go into this thing expecting perfection, you'll have a good time.
Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
9
zubarskyNov 10, 2013
I thought the movie was very good. I understood all the missing scenes. I wish there were more battle school scenes. It seemed a bit rushed. Overall though, it was very good.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
Jbow95Nov 1, 2013
While Ender's Game is a fantastic visual interpretation for fans of the book, new viewers may struggle to follow the plot and connect with the characters. That being said, this HAD to have been a difficult book to adapt and I don't know howWhile Ender's Game is a fantastic visual interpretation for fans of the book, new viewers may struggle to follow the plot and connect with the characters. That being said, this HAD to have been a difficult book to adapt and I don't know how it could have been improved in this medium without sacrificing the soul of the book. Hopefully we will get a sequel which can improve upon this movies weaknesses and expand upon its strengths. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
hwarmingNov 3, 2013
Not really sure why the critics were so hard on this, even that one guy giving a 0/100, that's kinda ridiculous. I've read the book, and loved it, and this movie is pretty faithful to the book, the only thing really different is Ender'sNot really sure why the critics were so hard on this, even that one guy giving a 0/100, that's kinda ridiculous. I've read the book, and loved it, and this movie is pretty faithful to the book, the only thing really different is Ender's siblings not having a big role like they do in the book, and the ending is slightly different. The movie may have benefited more if it was a 2 parter, because the pacing in this is a bit off, things happen a bit too quick, but it's still an enjoyable movie. My dad, who has never read the book really enjoyed the movie as well. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineNov 2, 2013
The rough concept explanation (very rough) is "Harry Potter in space" gifted kids leaded by the most gifted one dealing with very serious adult problems. The movie has some breathtaking visual effects. Great actors like Ford and Kingsley,The rough concept explanation (very rough) is "Harry Potter in space" gifted kids leaded by the most gifted one dealing with very serious adult problems. The movie has some breathtaking visual effects. Great actors like Ford and Kingsley, also Asa Butterfield aka Ender himself made a really decent job, bravo! As for the rest the movie seems to go forward too quick and I had a feeling that it would be better to divide it into 2 parts at least to tell the whole story in a proper way. The other thing is the story is full of sci-fi cliches in story and characters, most of the story turns are very predictable. And I forgot to mention that the movie raises a couple of moral/ethic problems, but I won't spoil it to you. Overall, the movie is decent, not awesome, but still worth watching for everyone who loves Sci-Fi. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
PStakhivNov 3, 2013
Interesting and refreshing sci fi picture with some great twists! Unfortunately there some missteps in the main plot as well as in presentation of the enemy! But overall it's engaging movie, with original concept
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
LeafrunnerNov 4, 2013
They captured the important points of the book but bad casting of Mazer Rackham. I'm looking forward to sequel and Blu-rays. A prequel would be awesome too showing the first war.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
jonhNov 1, 2013
Very solid movie, and fears about casting were allayed, even Harrison Ford was very good. First hour was great, tight, good story telling. 2nd hour seemed more monotonous and left a few gaps in the character development, but overall veryVery solid movie, and fears about casting were allayed, even Harrison Ford was very good. First hour was great, tight, good story telling. 2nd hour seemed more monotonous and left a few gaps in the character development, but overall very enjoyable movie. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
9
TheSpaceHamsterNov 4, 2013
I have to say the film surprised me and did it's best to be very loyal to the book. Yes, some scenes just didn't make it, Hollywood these days really does seem to focus on 90-120 minute films. That said, good pacing, quality action, andI have to say the film surprised me and did it's best to be very loyal to the book. Yes, some scenes just didn't make it, Hollywood these days really does seem to focus on 90-120 minute films. That said, good pacing, quality action, and some surprising acting chops from the younger generation. Harrison Ford and Ben Kingsley are always solid...but this film was easy to enjoy from beginning to end.

Highly recommended.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
analogkid280Nov 1, 2013
Never read the book, but I liked the movie. Not a classic by any means but I found it very watchable. Harrison Ford tries to dominate the screen time and almost breaks out into one of his snarly temper tantrums several times in this film. BenNever read the book, but I liked the movie. Not a classic by any means but I found it very watchable. Harrison Ford tries to dominate the screen time and almost breaks out into one of his snarly temper tantrums several times in this film. Ben Kingsley shows a melodramatic side in his zen master real guy routine. In a movie about military training it seemed like some of the reveals in this movie should of been led by captain obvious. I like the parallels to today's society issues though well hidden in this story at just the right level where it is not pounding them down on you like some other recent sci dramas in recent years. I could certainly see this being a launch pad for some of the youngsters careers just don't expect any Oscar nominations for this one. Overall good cinema and its great to see old Han Solo get even older. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
santiagodracoNov 2, 2013
This was a brilliant film, very true to the material, well acted and very humble, just like the book.

Don't let the critics fool you. Critics nowadays are more interested in their pre-conceived "checklists" against which movies should be
This was a brilliant film, very true to the material, well acted and very humble, just like the book.

Don't let the critics fool you. Critics nowadays are more interested in their pre-conceived "checklists" against which movies should be measured and have no interest in whether the movie was actually GOOD or not. Did you grow up with Ender's Game as one of your favorite novels? If yes you will love the movie. If not I think you'll love it too but you might have different expectations that could possibly cloud your impressions of the movie.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
JllyGrnGiantNov 3, 2013
Love love loved it.

I was concerned about what portions of the book were going to be kept and what parts were going to be thrown out. My fears were alleviated, as the movie trimmed the right portions of the story to keep the plot moving
Love love loved it.

I was concerned about what portions of the book were going to be kept and what parts were going to be thrown out. My fears were alleviated, as the movie trimmed the right portions of the story to keep the plot moving without being confusing.

No one can deny the visuals are fantastic. The film is simply gorgeous and was filmed without "shaky camera syndrome" as I like to call it that frequents movies with action these days.

The end of the film had me in tears. Just as moving as I remember in the book.

I think you can divide people's reactions into two camps. If you enjoyed the book, you'll like the movie. If you haven't read the book or didn't particularly care for the book, you might think it's... meh. But my hopes are that those of you who haven't read Ender's Game will fall in love with the plot of this film and develop a desire to read the book it's based upon.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
7
DarkCriticNov 17, 2013
According to Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game," the story is about a young boy enters a big tournament in outer space. In this version, Gavin Hood (Tsotsi and X-Men Origins: Wolverine) have created his latest film about a brave young boy whoAccording to Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game," the story is about a young boy enters a big tournament in outer space. In this version, Gavin Hood (Tsotsi and X-Men Origins: Wolverine) have created his latest film about a brave young boy who enters a space military academy to defeat the alien colony in the galaxy. Ender Wiggin (Asa Butterfield) is the chosen one who uses his game techniques to defeat the aliens known as "The Buggers" and he was lead by Colonel Graff (Harrison Ford) who wants Ender to join the space military, so he can defeat the alien warship. In the space military, Ender is training at the huge battle room with his young crew and I would say that how spectacular where the boy was learned in space military in the 3D experience. Ender uses his skills to face those aliens in a big arena of space war and the movie takes a journey where we can see a boy can fight those aliens with his brave ability with emotions, flashbacks, and strong story. Ender's Game is a decent science fiction movie with big entertainment for young teens and children who have read by Mr. Scott Card's novel. The movie has some good acting including Butterfield and Ford, it has some spectacular effects where you can see on 3D, and clever story about a gifted boy can defeat those space invaders in outer space. It reminds me of playing a video game of Wing Commander III by 3DO in 90's. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
HwoDragonNov 17, 2013
I really enjoyed this movie. Considering how badly a novelization of this great book could have gone, this was a spectacular job well done. There was a lot of plot and a lot of character and a TON of heart packed into two hours, and it wasI really enjoyed this movie. Considering how badly a novelization of this great book could have gone, this was a spectacular job well done. There was a lot of plot and a lot of character and a TON of heart packed into two hours, and it was pulled off surprisingly well. Considering the train wrecks that movie adaptations of bestsellers often turn out to be, Ender's Game was very true to the book. My only criticism is that they dropped the Peter and Valentine subplot. It makes sense if they're not going to do any of the sequel movies, but I felt like Ender's siblings weren't really characters so much as objects to drive the plot.

Overall, my suggestion is, watch this KNOWING that you'll like the book better, and just enjoy it for what it is.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
102WOLFPACKNov 4, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Even if it's not perfect, it's still pretty damn good. I do, however, did not like how emotionless the characters were. With a solid plot, great visuals, and a fun movie to boot, it's great. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
kipkeurekaNov 12, 2013
Maybe because of some have read the book. But I have not read it. I love this movie.
It's quite hard to bring or represent everything which is in the book into film.
At this moment, I give 10/10 in the view of person which hasn't read the
Maybe because of some have read the book. But I have not read it. I love this movie.
It's quite hard to bring or represent everything which is in the book into film.

At this moment, I give 10/10 in the view of person which hasn't read the book.
But I will read them all, and hope it fulfills my management skills lol.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
David21043Nov 13, 2013
Great science fiction movie. Great plot, great acting, terrific screenplay, great special effects. This is a science fiction movie for adults with a brain and a heart. I hope they make a sequel. It is much better than the star wars movies.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
DevilatworkNov 1, 2013
I first read the book that this movie was based on. I have to say that the movie stayed true for majority of the book while I watched it. Its true that the movie was going a little quick for viewers to keep pace but I believe that the entireI first read the book that this movie was based on. I have to say that the movie stayed true for majority of the book while I watched it. Its true that the movie was going a little quick for viewers to keep pace but I believe that the entire movie was great and I had a lot of fun with watching it. It was definitely worth the ticket price and I don't usually say that. All in all, if you are a fan of the series, then you will most certainly enjoy this movie but if you are not, then you will still enjoy it well enough to understand what is happening. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
10
graw136Nov 9, 2013
As a disclaimer, I have not read any of the books. I loved this movie, stunning visuals, great story, It was everything that movies have been missing recently for me. I would recommend you see it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 3, 2013
"Ender's Game" may have some strange characterization issues sprinkled throughout, but thanks to some effective special effects and some morally complex ideas planted within its core, the film succeeds as a worthy piece of science-fiction"Ender's Game" may have some strange characterization issues sprinkled throughout, but thanks to some effective special effects and some morally complex ideas planted within its core, the film succeeds as a worthy piece of science-fiction entertainment. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
Jake_Nov 5, 2013
Ender's Game is a fantastic Sci-Fi movie, one of the best this year in fact. Having never read the books I can only go on what I saw at the Cinema. The movie had a strong central cast, was paced well, was compelling and had a truly unexpectedEnder's Game is a fantastic Sci-Fi movie, one of the best this year in fact. Having never read the books I can only go on what I saw at the Cinema. The movie had a strong central cast, was paced well, was compelling and had a truly unexpected twist (providing you never read the books). All around a fantastic movie! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
ToffenuffNov 3, 2013
Swa this in IMAX. Good, but not great. Character development and more time/opportunity for audience investment as well as overall pacing could have been better. Visual effects were great, though most major films are nowadays. Acting wasSwa this in IMAX. Good, but not great. Character development and more time/opportunity for audience investment as well as overall pacing could have been better. Visual effects were great, though most major films are nowadays. Acting was fairly good and for the most part convincing. Stays mostly true to the book. I wouldn't see it again but if you haven't seen it then I'd say go ahead and do so. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
joevsyouNov 6, 2013
Don't believe this movie has such a low score. I guess it's hit or miss. Movie was GREAT IMO. My friends all was happy and people around me at the movies seemed happy too
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
dhimasNov 8, 2013
I don't care how is the book, but it's already based on the true storyline, all the effects and it's characters with those actors and actresses, there's nothing i can say but AMAZING. It just done very well.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
StrongHarmNov 3, 2013
This movie's (and book's) concept is staggeringly brilliant. The fact that some of these same critics rated Jackass:Grandpa higher than Ender's Game displays their stupidity and makes me wonder how these people got their jobs.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
8
OlyYaYaNov 1, 2013
I really enjoyed the movie. Casting was very good, as was the acting. Special effects were great. Pretty true to the book Directing and editing were good. I think this is a good movie for age 10+. The little ones might not catch on to theI really enjoyed the movie. Casting was very good, as was the acting. Special effects were great. Pretty true to the book Directing and editing were good. I think this is a good movie for age 10+. The little ones might not catch on to the deeper philosophical meaning, but might still be entertained. It's not gory, and there's no sex or profanity. Most fight scenes are in the context of games, albeit war games, and they do get intense. That said, my husband thought the movie was just OK, but he doesn't like science fiction much. Too bad. I still recommend it. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Nov 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I will start by saying that Ender's Game was a really good movie, maybe even great. The acting, especially by Asa Butterfield and Harrison Ford, was flawless and the supporting cast, however underutilized, were phenomenal as well. The special effects were incredible and the story, supported by a fantastic score, was very well told. Honestly, this is truly one of those rare stories that both children and adults alike could really appreciate. There were some things I thought could've been improved on. There were some areas where time passed very quickly and if I hadn't read the book, I think I wouldn't been a bit confused. I think using some cinematic tricks for time lapsing quickly could've been used to create a better flow and make certain elements seem more genuine. To be honest though, as a stand alone film, that's all I really feel was flawed. Obviously it wasn't exactly like the book, nor did I expect it to be. It's just about impossible to condense an 8+ hour novel into a 2 hour movie. However, there were also some things that they altered from the source material that I didn't care for, I'll explain here:

***SPOILERS*** As I said, they had to cut some things out and most of it was fine. They eliminated some of the minor characters (like Shen and Crazy Tom and a few others) and also some of the development of the Battle School dynamic. Those cuts came across perfectly fine. They also skipped some of his progress in said school and to do so they altered the way he developed the Dragon Army. Again, this was done really well and stayed true to the spirit of the source material. This trend continued throughout the story arc. However, there were a few changes that I didn't like. The biggest thing (in terms of creating a void from the book) was the entire Valentine and Peter dynamic with Demosthenes and Locke. While I didn't expect that to have been included in detail, I would've liked some sort of mention of the goings on. Maybe she could've mentioned it briefly during their conversation at the lake. It didn't have to be explained much but it was a very critical element, not to the book necessarily but to the story later on. I think they could've found a way to touch on it. While on Valentine, the most glaring of the changes was the ending (again, this is a SPOILER). In the end, Ender sends Val a message saying he's left to explore the universe. There are a few issues with this. For one, Val is supposed to be with him. She is an integral part in the entire saga so if they plan on making this into a franchise, which supposedly they do, how are they going to get them back together? Also, his abrupt departure creates somewhat of a plot hole. Where is Ender going? In the book, he doesn't leave for over a decade, which allows for other colonies to begin on other planets. In the movie, however, no other planet is colonized, so again, where is he going? What they should've done was develop his relationship with Petra a bit less in order to include more development of his love for his sister, Val. Then he could've written her a letter stating that he planned on leaving at some point but still had some things to take care of where he was at, you know, politics. This would give time for her to write back telling him she's going to meet him there and they could then leave together whenever he was ready. It wouldn't have taken almost any additional time and it would've fixed two glaring issues. The others problems I had weren't as major but still bugged me a bit. The second to last battle at Command School was a failed mission in the movie, however, Ender NEVER loses in the book. He comes close during that mission but he does NOT lose. His genius feels somewhat affected by them making him lose that mission. Lastly, they changed Graff's character quite a bit. In the book, he is stern with Ender and at times a jerk but he truly loves the kid and would do anything for him. In the movie, they almost made Anderson the kind one and Graff a horrible person. I didn't care for that change at all.

Nonetheless, the movie was still great and I highly suggest anyone who enjoys science fiction, or just great movies in general, to check it out. In my opinion, it's definitely worth the price of entry.
Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
darthtoddNov 2, 2013
Saw it last night and loved it! From what I remember it follows the book rather closely. I really enjoyed the acting. Asa and Harrison do a great job. Special effects were fantastic as well. Go see it!
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
8
colesslawNov 3, 2013
W.C. Fields quote "“Never work with children or animals" is on point in this movie, though it did not ruin the entertainment value. The story of alien vs humanity is revisited somewhat reborn, this movie may interest you enough to pick up aW.C. Fields quote "“Never work with children or animals" is on point in this movie, though it did not ruin the entertainment value. The story of alien vs humanity is revisited somewhat reborn, this movie may interest you enough to pick up a book and read the series. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
seymore23Nov 3, 2013
Great movie. Very action-packed. Nice effects. Keeps moving forward without boring you. Nice twist at the end which saves the movie and makes what otherwise would be one of the worst movies...into one of the best.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
NakortbrNov 2, 2013
Although the movie cuts quite a bit from what's in the book, what's left is a great movie. I would have liked it split up like they're doing with the hobbit to allow for more story, but that might be difficult as the book mostly takes placesAlthough the movie cuts quite a bit from what's in the book, what's left is a great movie. I would have liked it split up like they're doing with the hobbit to allow for more story, but that might be difficult as the book mostly takes places in Enders head. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
danielscotthDec 10, 2013
In being an avid fan of the Enderverse series and having been looking forward to the possibility of this movie for years, I must say, this was well worth the wait. Obviously, no movie adaptation can encompass the depth and volume of a novel,In being an avid fan of the Enderverse series and having been looking forward to the possibility of this movie for years, I must say, this was well worth the wait. Obviously, no movie adaptation can encompass the depth and volume of a novel, but Hood's media conversion does so elegantly and faithfully. The movie stays true to the narrative and storyline of the novel and does so in such a way that chooses all of the right moments and dialogue that add up to make a very entertaining experience.

Overall, the acting, character portrayals, cinematography, CGI, score, and pace of the movie was high quality. This movie is worth seeing, especially if you are a fan of Sci-Fi, whether you've read the books or not. As a last note, I also got a good deal of Tron: Legacy vibes from the film, which to me, is a great thing!
Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockNov 15, 2013
Enders Game offers quite a bit within the confines of its runtime. What really sells it is the performances given and the level of quality from the CGI team involved with the film, who create believable settings of the future. I hadn't readEnders Game offers quite a bit within the confines of its runtime. What really sells it is the performances given and the level of quality from the CGI team involved with the film, who create believable settings of the future. I hadn't read the book beforehand, so my enjoyment may be more than other experiences. So, on its own merits, Enders Game ends up being one of the best Sci-Fi action films of the year and is worthy of more praise than some critics would care to offer. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
rebaNov 18, 2013
Written during the peak anti-Soviet hysteria of the mid '80s, this book and movie still raise important questions for society to discuss. I hadn't read the book in 15 years but I remembered, while watching the movie, why I liked it (and IWritten during the peak anti-Soviet hysteria of the mid '80s, this book and movie still raise important questions for society to discuss. I hadn't read the book in 15 years but I remembered, while watching the movie, why I liked it (and I generally don't read Sci Fi). It's not just a good story about a boy's handling bullying, growing up, finding what makes a good leader, etc. It also asks us to think about how quick we are to make enemies out of those perceived as different, and to fight rather than do the hard work of trying to understand and communicate, and whether or not it is right to take lives to theoretically deter a future war. For Card to raise those questions in the Reagan anti-Communist era was courageous. Also, the Battle Room was cool! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
DeathmongerNov 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First to the critic, Joe Neumaier from New York Daily News, seriously? What are you a disgruntled CoD: Ghosts player reviewing BF4? A zero as in the movie has no redeeming qualities whatsoever? I hope you don't get paid for your reviews, because reading yours was as much of a waste of time as your score was based off your own review even. Back to the movie. A very good adaptation of the book, got it about 90% right. There were some major changes, there was no second invasion where Mazer is in space fighting them with a small reserve fleet--they went with him piloting a F-22 Raptor which makes no real sense, but still defeating the Formics in the same manner. In 50 years we went from F-22's to interstellar travel? They went way further out of the solar system than they should have (should have been on the asteroid Eros) for command school and compressed how he got the queen egg as well. They also only had one "little doctor" device, but plenty of other capable firepower. Not enough at all to say "they ruined it", but enough to go, why did they change it? Technical limitations are not the answer, I mean they cranked the CGI to MAXIMUM. It is a beautiful movie with amazing effects. So that is an unknown, why the changes that is. Regardless the movie still works and in some ways even better so with the emotional aspects of the story. I felt bad for Ender, really bad, and I have read the book once as a kid and a couple times as an adult. It plants the moral dilemma right in your lap. How do you deal with a bully? You beat them so bad they never even think about trying to hurt you again. How do you deal with an alien invasion fleet that you can't reason with, just as you can't a bully? You wipe them from existence. But at what cost? The complete wrecking of a child's mind? And as a person or a child defending against a bully by beating them so bad they never fight you again, what do you cost yourself? Is the permanent change in your personality worth it? Just as in the book, the film answers with a resounding yes. The enemy's gate is down, and he must be destroyed, because in the end it is your or them. Yet you are left with sympathy and pain for having to do it. "‘In the moment when I truly understand my enemy, understand him well enough to defeat him, then in that very moment I also love him." You love him yet you destroy them anyways. Having read the book, once the credits started me and my wife got up to leave. The crowd was not huge (3rd weekend playing, matinee, only about 25 of us) yet they seemed shell-shocked. No one besides us was moving, at all. Did they expect an extra scene? Well there weren't any to see and I don't think so. I think their brains were still trying to grasp the total destruction xenocide they witnessed and trying to process the moral dilemmas that Orson Scott Card masterfully presented in 1985. Which is also why this movie is not a "zero" as that idiotic critic rated it, but a very solid 9/10. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 30, 2014
Much better than I was expecting. With it's story being focused on brains over brawn, and it being able to actually use it's brain, this manages to be a serious science-fiction movie that doesn't come off as pretentious. Which is something IMuch better than I was expecting. With it's story being focused on brains over brawn, and it being able to actually use it's brain, this manages to be a serious science-fiction movie that doesn't come off as pretentious. Which is something I believe the genre has struggled with in it's more recent movie ventures. It all succeeds thanks to it's likable lead and supporting cast. Obviously though there are some pretty big issues. As almost always with movies that are based off books, there are some pretty important details missing. Details that would have otherwise made it easier to get fully invested in the movie. For instance what's up with the issue of a third child in the movies universe? It's mentioned that "a third" could be considered an embarrassment and you need permission to have one, but we are never told why. Also the obvious complexities with Ender's relationship with his various family members are never explored, which left me feeling like I was missing something throughout the entire movie. I imagine the book touches on these things, I do not know as I have not read it, but just keep in mind not everything is as well explained as it should be. This leaves the movie feeling flawed, but I still found it enjoyable. It's one I recommend that you give a shot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
taygorNov 8, 2013
Movie seemed a little rushed, trying to cram the whole story in under 2hrs, could have spent more time creating some character development. That being said it was a good movie and worth the price of admission.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
Rex_richardsNov 11, 2013
I don't understand the people slagging this off. It's a really good film. Not quite as good as the book but when are they ever? If you haven't read the book, stay away from any annoying trailers that give it all away and go and see itI don't understand the people slagging this off. It's a really good film. Not quite as good as the book but when are they ever? If you haven't read the book, stay away from any annoying trailers that give it all away and go and see it expecting a powerful story that will slowly unfold into one of the great plot finales of any sci fi story. If you have read the book, be pleasantly surprised how this film might twist and turn with some of the elements but under all that, the basic feeling remains the same.

If you can't leave your mobile phone alone for more than two minutes and drink red bull all day and never read a book, this movie isn't for you. But... for those of us who relish quiet time to reflect on life and are secretly a bit nerdy, this film is really worth it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
dayman75Feb 8, 2014
Ender's Game is quite a decent movie. I had some expectations towards this one and after the ending I was quite happy for seeing it.
The acting is decent. I feel like i should highlight Harrison Ford and Asa Butterfield's acting, it's very
Ender's Game is quite a decent movie. I had some expectations towards this one and after the ending I was quite happy for seeing it.
The acting is decent. I feel like i should highlight Harrison Ford and Asa Butterfield's acting, it's very good. They really achieved the goal to make me care about their characters, and for that I can thank both the actors and the producers.
The CGI effects are great, providing amazing battle scenes.
I understand that this is basel on a novel, and many plot elements have been excluded in the movie, but if you didn't read the book or don't know anything about the story (like myself) think it's a very enjoyable experience.
9/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Gamed2longDec 21, 2013
Is this film as good as the book? Well no. Does it stick to the exact details of the book or choose the more compelling moments to build a good story. The second one. But despite these things, it keeps true to the spirit of the source text,Is this film as good as the book? Well no. Does it stick to the exact details of the book or choose the more compelling moments to build a good story. The second one. But despite these things, it keeps true to the spirit of the source text, successfully compressing it down without cheapening it or pulling punches. Harrison Ford gets a somewhat expanded part, but he is terrific to watch.
Overall in my opinion its the best Sci-Fi film of this year and probably last year too.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JoyTheWizardNov 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AWESOME MOVIE, if you've never read the book. If you want to know the movie/book differences, keep reading.

They had to make a lot of changes since it's a two hour movie. There's only two or three major changes I didn't like, but some are understandable, as Ender's Game takes place over years and years, a movie just can't do that. So, the movie takes place over a month or so. The age differences were known for a long time, I wish it would be possible to have younger actors, but it's just not realistic.

Another change is that Bean and Ender are the same age. I heard that they were combining Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow, and that's really NOT TRUE. In the movie, Ender and Bean are introduced right away. If you read Ender's Shadow, Bean is younger and he keeps getting compared to Ender. In fact, Bean thinks he's smarter than Ender. So I feel as if the relationship between Bean and Ender was not developed enough, In general, the character and relationship development isn't that good. There are tons and tons of battles in the book, and maybe 2 or 3 in the movie. A couple minor things here and there that weren't 100% true, but those can be ignored. For example, Ender was never told if Bonzo died, he never waited by his bedside, he only was told that Bonzo was iced in the book. Another one is that they had headsets and communicated by that instead of all sitting in the same room talking to each other when they were at command school.

If you haven't read the book, you'll see Bean as a minor character. But in reality, he's a more important character, and a strange one too. They didn't show it, but Bean was the one who actually made the Dragon Army roster. The practice sessions Ender holds for launchies and other struggling people aren't shown in the movie, which is a shame because I really liked those.

Overall, most of the stuff they missed is not important. I only wished for the characters and relationships to be developed more. Those being Ender and Alai, Ender and Bean, Ender and Bernard and maybe a couple more I'm missing. They might be making more movies, if they do, I would love to see a movie on Bean's past; it's extremely interesting.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
bm2759Jan 15, 2014
Knowing nothing about this book I was lead to believe this film was going to be action orientated. It is not but that's not a bad thing because it's a character and story focused film. It doesn't go for too long, you aren't bored, and want toKnowing nothing about this book I was lead to believe this film was going to be action orientated. It is not but that's not a bad thing because it's a character and story focused film. It doesn't go for too long, you aren't bored, and want to see how it ends. I was satisfied.

The visuals of this film are great. I particularly enjoyed the zero G room used for the launchies' training exercises. In the future I suggest this be made available for recreation as it looks like a lot of fun. Also worth praising is how battles are shown from the holographic screens which zoom, tilt and pan to give ender the best view possible. It's almost like a video game except I asked 'how can he view battles like this'. Because surely in the heat of battle any drone cameras would be destroyed. But this is a minor grievance of how realistic viewing battles this way would be.

All the cast suited their roles except for Ben Kingsley. The could've chosen Temuera Morrison who is a Maori and looks like a soldier for example. But he was in the new star wars trilogy which is why I think he was overlooked. Furthermore his character claims to be ender's enemy during training however he is actually another mentor of Ender's. A mismatch in dialogue and execution I think.

At the end I had questions and got locked into discussion all the way home. I thought about events and occurrences not making sense or weren't explained properly. I thought about what I would do in Ender's situation. I thought about what was real and what wasn't. I lastly thought about the last scene and saying 'that isn't believable'. I thought and talking about a lot, but my friends and I agreed; this is a good but not great film yet entertaining nonetheless.

I went we read the book and the second book Speaker for the Dead. If Ender's Game was not filmable then Speaker of the Dead is as likely as pigs flying. I also read the author does not want it made into a film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Nov 4, 2013
From the director of "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" comes a movie that's actually really good. Look, I've never read the book, so I went into this movie completely blank. In the end, while some of the story seems a little goofy, the solid actingFrom the director of "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" comes a movie that's actually really good. Look, I've never read the book, so I went into this movie completely blank. In the end, while some of the story seems a little goofy, the solid acting and surprisingly interesting script really helps set the tone of a cool sci-fi. I really dug into this world director Gavin Hood has created and I got to say, it was really good. I give the movie a B+. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
timeknightNov 1, 2013
This movie is a great adaptation of the book. The scenes were well directed, the effects were wonderful and the emotions of the characters are felt. It doesn't receive a 10/10 due to some casting issues. Harrison Ford was excellent in hisThis movie is a great adaptation of the book. The scenes were well directed, the effects were wonderful and the emotions of the characters are felt. It doesn't receive a 10/10 due to some casting issues. Harrison Ford was excellent in his role, but some of the children roles came lacking. Overall I would recommend it. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
7
shpostalNov 3, 2013
Not being a huge sci-fi fan of books or movies, which is quite contradictory when one considers I love astronomy and the wonders of the universe, although it's a strict layman's understanding, with no real math capabilities to study in depthNot being a huge sci-fi fan of books or movies, which is quite contradictory when one considers I love astronomy and the wonders of the universe, although it's a strict layman's understanding, with no real math capabilities to study in depth the cosmos like real astronomers do. I just love to wonder about the infinite space and universe, or universes, and revel in its beauty and mystery. That said, "Ender's Game" is one of the better sci-fi movies I've seen in a while. Not a mind blower, but much better than "Gravity", which isn't saying a whole lot.
I had begun to read this book years ago and lost interest because I found Orson Scott Card's prose boring. The movie is not of that. Capably acted by all the cast, including Harrison Ford and Ben Kingsley, while this is not exactly Star Wars material, I found the story line interesting and the special effects were very impressive.
Special effects doth not a great movie make for most of us, but they do spark the imagination when done properly, allowing us to overlook the currently scientifically and physically impossible tasks of traveling at light or warp speed, much less barely tolerate the speed it takes to escape Earth's gravitational pull at over 17,000 mph, which is a snail's pace cosmically speaking.
However, they laughed at Jules Verne, who predicted men on the moon and correctly calculated the speed needed to leave Earth, and H.G. Wells and Ray Bradbury imagined fictional worlds and situations that are closer than ever to realization. I am a firm believer that if we can imagine it, one day we'll do it.
But getting down to brass tacks, "Ender's Game" is a movie that allows a certain amount of humanity in, some good, some terrible. The end is somewhat similar to "District 12", and we are reminded once again of our tendency to attack rather than understand or tolerate. It is that lesson I left the theater with. Fans of the book and genre will be more impressed, but a 7 from myself is quite the compliment.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
Joshthomas2014Nov 3, 2013
As a huge fan of the novel, I have to give justice to both perspectives (a person who has read it, a person who has not). As a person that has read it, is pretty disappointed. However, the movies does capture some visuals that give justice toAs a huge fan of the novel, I have to give justice to both perspectives (a person who has read it, a person who has not). As a person that has read it, is pretty disappointed. However, the movies does capture some visuals that give justice to the novel, along with select characters. As a person who has not compare the movie to the book, the movie is very enjoyable and entertaining. The book is better in every way imaginable, but the movie is still fun, intense, and exciting at times. I advise everyone to read the book, but the movie is still something to have fun with. Just do not think the movie and the book are the same, because they are completely different. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranJan 5, 2014
Ender's Game holds a impressive unique universe, with stunning visuals and interesting story, but falls flat by the main protagonist's acting which at points is un-parable. The whole movie feels like it fell abit short of what I wasEnder's Game holds a impressive unique universe, with stunning visuals and interesting story, but falls flat by the main protagonist's acting which at points is un-parable. The whole movie feels like it fell abit short of what I was originally anticipating, although the set of characters are truly some of the best personality whiles of 2013. Book fans or Si-Fi geeks will get their fix, but if your not at least one of the two I would wait for a DVD renal. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
ChocoboMasterNov 10, 2013
The book was better, but you can't make a film with a book that is 4 years long. I can't complain about that, this is how every adaptation are made, they cut "useless" parts. Visual effects were really great.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Stargazer222Nov 3, 2013
Ender's Game transforms from the book to the screen in a very incitive way. Deals with bullying, unit cohesion and boot camp for youth. We all have to grow up sometime. Ender learns fast to compete out of the box and lead his team to finalEnder's Game transforms from the book to the screen in a very incitive way. Deals with bullying, unit cohesion and boot camp for youth. We all have to grow up sometime. Ender learns fast to compete out of the box and lead his team to final victory regardless of the cost. Two reviewers gave this movie a zero. Seriously! IMO they are hacks who are irrelevant and completely outside the curve. Zero, are you serious! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
SkarestNov 1, 2013
Over all, a very enjoyable movie. Having read the book many times, I was on the watch for pointless changes in the story. While there were, of course, some things that did not fit, the story followed the book very closely.

I thought the
Over all, a very enjoyable movie. Having read the book many times, I was on the watch for pointless changes in the story. While there were, of course, some things that did not fit, the story followed the book very closely.

I thought the actors did a very good job with their rolls. Even the changes to the characters (Major Anderson) from the book were actually enjoyable.

If you love the book, as I do, I think you will still enjoy the movie.

I believe a lot of the terrible reviews from the critics you see will be because of them making a statement about Orson Scott Card and not so much a statement on the movie. While the movie is not perfect by any means, it is a solid sci fi movie and a good book adaptation.
Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
Chaossaber314Nov 2, 2013
A lot of the negative reviews seem so unsubtly over the top that they are probably tied to the recent Orson Scott Card controversial Gay Rights comments, and likely have nothing to do with the terrific adaptation of a classic novel.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
FuzzicallogicNov 2, 2013
For those who have never read the book:
So, we won a war with an extremely desperate, hostile race that we could not communicate with or understand. We kind of did it in a stroke of luck, but our losses were devastating. The world has united
For those who have never read the book:
So, we won a war with an extremely desperate, hostile race that we could not communicate with or understand. We kind of did it in a stroke of luck, but our losses were devastating. The world has united under a militaristic power in an effort to prevent a future invasion that we are sure is coming, but don't know when. We are breeding and cultivating super children for the purposes of creating the ultimate commander who will win the war when the enemy comes back to destroy us. This movie is about that training and the culmination of that war. Its a pretty difficult pill to swallow for a lot of people, and even harder for actors to portray in a believable way.

The powers that be believe that Ender is that commander. And if he isn't, they are going to engineer him to gain what he is lacking. They've been watching him for his whole life, and he's paid for it in spades: with an abusive brother, and classmate bullies. Then they further separate him from everything he loves and knows to pit him against the only other people in the world who could actually enrich his life.

Despite the incredible nature of the characters, and catastrophic consequences, the staff rises to the challenge. The staff does a great job of allowing you to empathize with characters that could only exist given very restrictive, catastrophic circumstances. The adult actors are phenomenal, while the child actors do quite well, but have very limited amount of time to establish the relationships that would take quite a few more scenes to develop. Asa, in particular, does a great job of allowing the audience to identify with a child genius (because, let's face it, we're not all child geniuses) that is incredibly aware of the consequences of every single one of his actions. He sells this movie as best he can.

While it is a well done movie, it is not a happy movie. It is entertaining, but is also there to make you think and feel. It is not a sci-fi action movie, though there is a lot of sci-fi and a little bit of action. It also is not a movie for kids unless you are willing to take the time to explain the concepts that the film touches on. There's stuff very serious stuff in here. The writers do a great job of trying to minimize the impact upon a younger audience, but if you do take your kids, there will still be some work to be done.

For fans of the book:
There were some minor changes to the story. While those who appreciate the level of depth of the book may miss those specific details, they are more central to our perception of the characters than they are to the story. The movie does an amazing job of incorporating nearly every pivotal scene in almost the complete way that it was written. The only solution would have been to make the movie 1/2 hr 1 hr longer. Given the special effects, that probably would have created an unrealistic budget for a film with a more limited audience.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
katmandoNov 2, 2013
A spectacular and true to the book rendition of Orson Scott Card's masterwork of the same name. Asa Butterfield delivers a masterful performance as the eponymous Ender, capturing the intensity and moral complexity of a boy genius who isA spectacular and true to the book rendition of Orson Scott Card's masterwork of the same name. Asa Butterfield delivers a masterful performance as the eponymous Ender, capturing the intensity and moral complexity of a boy genius who is called upon to save his world despite his reluctance and uncertainty in what he is being asked to do. CGI enables Director Gavin to replicate Card's universe it is only in the depiction of the Battle Room that the strategy and tactics of Ender's genius are not fully realized. In addition, one could have hoped that Bean could have been a more fully realized character and a little less made of Petra in a foredoomed effort to interest and placate the distaff members of moviedom. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
FlexGunshipNov 2, 2013
Think of the movie as an homage to the book. Truthfully, if you were to watch the movie without having read the book, I don't think you could appreciate what's happening. Gavin Hood's interpretation is very "on the surface" while Orson ScottThink of the movie as an homage to the book. Truthfully, if you were to watch the movie without having read the book, I don't think you could appreciate what's happening. Gavin Hood's interpretation is very "on the surface" while Orson Scott Card has commented that Ender's Game is told almost entirely from inside Ender's head.

Traditionally there is a "see the movie before you read the book" mentality when it comes to film adaptions of classic novels (e.g. you can't appreciate the movie once you've read the book; the movie changed too much). I think Ender's Game is different. Read the book first and then go see the movie. Watch the movie as though it were simply trying to remind you of what you loved about the book; yes, some of the details are different, but you'll recognize Card's masterpiece hidden inside of it.
Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
10
Kennedy86Nov 2, 2013
Outstanding! As a fan of the classic novel I was skeptical a film could adequately capture all the intensity, thrill and layers of nuanced psychological twists- But Director Gavin Hood was able to deliver. This movie has plenty to offerOutstanding! As a fan of the classic novel I was skeptical a film could adequately capture all the intensity, thrill and layers of nuanced psychological twists- But Director Gavin Hood was able to deliver. This movie has plenty to offer adults, kids, families and the tried and true sci-fi nerds who fell in love with the book. Loved it so much I saw it twice! Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
Anselma_WidhaNov 3, 2013
I went into the theater feeling very nervous and afraid that it would be bad, since I'd been reading a lot of reviews and quite a lot of them only gave it an average score (or even bad). But I forgot my fear even after only a few minutes intoI went into the theater feeling very nervous and afraid that it would be bad, since I'd been reading a lot of reviews and quite a lot of them only gave it an average score (or even bad). But I forgot my fear even after only a few minutes into it. It was so good, almost as great as I expected it would be, and it certainly deserves better than the so-so rating people are giving it. Yes, the pacing is probably too fast, and some moments felt cheesy, but apart from that, I really couldn't find any other flaw. More time would certainly help the character development and build up our emotions for the big climax, but I think Asa Butterfield performed so well that it really didn't matter that much. He was the perfect Ender--both vulnerable and violent, sympathetic and scary. He was so good in the climax, and so were the movie makers--the climax and the twist were handled VERY, VERY WELL I couldn't stop crying at that part. But then again, maybe that's because I've read the book, so I knew exactly what Ender was feeling--I had already had the "empathy link" that allowed me to enjoy the movie emotionally, and I had also understood all the logic behind the story, while non-book readers might need that extra screen time and exposition to develop those. Maybe due to the break-neck pacing some non-book readers (and even some book readers) wouldn't really get the morality, the theme about empathy and humanity, and Ender's fear in all those, but really, it was all there in the movie for you to discover and digest. All in all, it was excellent movie, and more than that, it was an excellent adaptation. It was truly satisfying and definitely worth the wait. Tell everyone to watch it! Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
8
MrAwesome091Nov 5, 2013
Decent movie for those Science fiction fanatics. but this is a good retelling of the novel. which i really like. But this movie has some flaws. and the special effects are a bit outdated
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
Ace902902Nov 11, 2013
It is a good movie that was simply a bit rushed. While it is a bit sad that there aren't more scenes from batle school, or a deeper explanation about the ansible, Enders battle school strategy, or the things happening on earth with hisIt is a good movie that was simply a bit rushed. While it is a bit sad that there aren't more scenes from batle school, or a deeper explanation about the ansible, Enders battle school strategy, or the things happening on earth with his siblings, Enders game works well to skim through these parts, and bring the viewer into the more exiting parts of the story, working whith great CGI to bring the movie to life and creating all of the epic scenes in the book that those who have read it could only dream of. I hilt recommend reading the original book, not the movie licenced one to get a better understanding of it. It's not a masterpiece, but it's not trash eather so done give it pointless zeros and don't hate it just because some other people are screaming that it sucks on the internet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Pistolz4PandazNov 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I will start this off with saying that I have not read the book...yet. I found the story compelling, but there was a lack of the perception on time. That did not take away from the movie though. Ender is put through various trials and is forced to make some decisions. Even though the book was written in the 80s (iirc) there is still plenty about the movie that can be applied to modern day society. Some of the issues include bullying and dealing with authority. The ending was almost abrupt, but it makes sense in the end as not even Ender knew that it was going to be the final battle. The movie also brings up the concept of morality, and how one persons victory, could be the shame of another. Now here is the spoiler: Ender is tricked into the final battle with the alien race. After the battle has been won, the higher ups praise Ender for his victory, they call him a hero. Ender on the other hand, once he has realized what has happened, thinks of himself as a killer, and that the shame of the genocide will be on him forever. In the end Ender shows both the ability for compassion and violence, and he knows when to use both.

OVERALL: Great movie that might not have stayed overly true to the book, but I have yet to find that out. I would recommend!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JermsNov 22, 2013
I have not read the book but I did enjoy the movie quite a bit. Great story, special effects, and visions of our possible future. I will buy this movie when it is available and plan on reading the book when I can.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Mar 11, 2014
The Ender franchise has turned into such a global phenomena that now, most kids are required to read it in High School. I was one of those kids and I absolutely loved the story. In fact I continued on with the books and they became unbearablyThe Ender franchise has turned into such a global phenomena that now, most kids are required to read it in High School. I was one of those kids and I absolutely loved the story. In fact I continued on with the books and they became unbearably strange. How they got almost 20 novels out of it is beyond me. While I was really excited to finally see Ender's Game on the big screen, I knew the chances of it continuing past one film would be slim at best. It all has to do with the ending, which is bizarre and really shouldn't have been continued. For those who don't know the story, in the future, Earth is at war with an alien species known as the Formics. The Humans have taken heavy losses and in desperation have started a recruitment program, that focuses on children. Knowing that kids think in a different way than adults do, they are hoping to find that one genius who has the key to defeating the Formics. That child turns out to be Ender Wiggin, a child who under Earth's new Government, shouldn't have even been born. Seeing the story I read so many years ago, come to life on the big screen, was magical for me. Finally I was able to understand the parts that were just too confusing to see in my head and get the complete picture. Ender is played by Asa Butterfield, who somewhat miraculously, at the age of 15, has had the starring role in every film he's been in. After watching Ender's game it's not hard to see why, he was to this film, what Ender was to the Human's in the story. The producers surrounded him and his young crew with a cast of Academy Award winners including Harrison Ford, Ben Kingsley, and Viola Davis, which ultimately strengthen the movie and must of really inspired this kid to give the performance he gave. While the film simply broken even at the box office, (killing any chance of a franchise developing out of it) it was very well done and closely mirrored the book. They did a near perfect job of deciding what parts should stay and what should be eliminated, giving us a film that was just as good as the book, if not better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
If you enjoy sci-fi's, you are bound to enjoy this film. For me, the ultimate disappointment was probably some of the emotional scenes. Not to spoil anything, the funny thing about this film is that you're actually watching the cliffhangerIf you enjoy sci-fi's, you are bound to enjoy this film. For me, the ultimate disappointment was probably some of the emotional scenes. Not to spoil anything, the funny thing about this film is that you're actually watching the cliffhanger but not knowing you're watching the cliffhanger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IamthejuanMar 1, 2014
I didn't read the book but the movie is really good. Here we have this fantastical future where children are treated like they have brains (and hormones), and prepared for adulthood from a young age. The main character is a bit hard toI didn't read the book but the movie is really good. Here we have this fantastical future where children are treated like they have brains (and hormones), and prepared for adulthood from a young age. The main character is a bit hard to believe, as he is a 13-year-old genius, hacker, laser marksman, master of space-battle tactics, who learned judo in about 5 days. I would discuss the parallels with American nationalistic imperialism, but it obviously went over most people's heads anyways.

Great acting all around. Harrison Ford should retire now and end on a good note before he does something stupid like another movie with Shaih Bluff. 
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeFeb 17, 2014
Ender's Game is a strange and weird movie, but in the end is it okay, because the story is great and I really enjoyed it.

This movie got an interesting beginning, and it's a very mighty and cool. The actors are okay, but not more, and
Ender's Game is a strange and weird movie, but in the end is it okay, because the story is great and I really enjoyed it.

This movie got an interesting beginning, and it's a very mighty and cool. The actors are okay, but not more, and overall is this movie well made and it's unique at one way. The music and the story is also good, but the story is a little weird. Ender's Game is a movie that contains strange things, but also slowness and it didn't contain many unique things, because some of the scenes I've already seen other movies. The tempo is also slow, which made it a little boring. It was also too much simulations in this movie, and it didn't feel real.

Ender's Game gets a 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
smartyaritraFeb 15, 2014
just terrific..I honestly started watching without expectations and voila..it turned out to be quite interesting..watching a bright boy as Ender and his intellectual capabilities. Director Gavin Hood has delivered a fantastic movie. Too badjust terrific..I honestly started watching without expectations and voila..it turned out to be quite interesting..watching a bright boy as Ender and his intellectual capabilities. Director Gavin Hood has delivered a fantastic movie. Too bad it's not getting the praise it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
emanb29Dec 7, 2013
Sticks to the book rather well, and is brilliantly filmed. The sets/special effects are beautiful, though the acting could use some work. The way the movie ends is an excellent visualization of the rather abstract ending of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SalMtzDec 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AWESOME movie!! A SEQUEL should come out! The Book was GREAT ,but it was even better seeing the ACTION in front of you! It was just Outstanding! Can't wait for what come next! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
feetjaiMar 11, 2015
This movie is enjoying to watch. The action scenes are great. The plot is not as straight and transparant, which is a good thing, because it will give you a few suprises. The ending and the Science fiction parts are good too. A movie with notThis movie is enjoying to watch. The action scenes are great. The plot is not as straight and transparant, which is a good thing, because it will give you a few suprises. The ending and the Science fiction parts are good too. A movie with not only action but a deeper layer that could make you think about yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Ender's Game es una película que contiene unos muy impactantes efectos visuales y que logra convencer.

Equipada además con varios actores que ganaron o estuvieron nominados al Óscar, el film nos muestra una trama con un muy buen desarrollo
Ender's Game es una película que contiene unos muy impactantes efectos visuales y que logra convencer.

Equipada además con varios actores que ganaron o estuvieron nominados al Óscar, el film nos muestra una trama con un muy buen desarrollo que va aumentando y volviéndose más interesante a medida del avance del largometraje.

Además logra dar al público un gran espectáculo en el espacio de una forma muy constituyente y alucinante.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Voodoo123Jan 6, 2017
Sci-fi fans should find this film engaging. The story maintains a sense of philosophy without losing action film levels of entertainment value. A solid cast of characters help sell the emotional drama. Have yet to read the book, although ISci-fi fans should find this film engaging. The story maintains a sense of philosophy without losing action film levels of entertainment value. A solid cast of characters help sell the emotional drama. Have yet to read the book, although I felt story came across well considering its a book adaption. I especially enjoyed the ambiguity of the military here. As a side note I somehow felt like I was watching command & conquer the movie at times :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sebsi2Jul 20, 2014
this is a fine movie btw, but im getting a little tired of ender as a person. and i hate that the movie tries to be funny sometimes, but its not. its ok
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tom-AndersonSep 27, 2014
Excellent movie. Hope to see sequels. Do not understand the negative reviews. It's an adventure movie, not a philosophical treatise. What's not to like?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenNov 20, 2015
It's an interesting sci-fi with original ideas and I can't say I don't like it, but I think it's very unrealistic that they chose kids to fight a war. They start to train them as kids, sure, but promotions don't actually work this way. TheyIt's an interesting sci-fi with original ideas and I can't say I don't like it, but I think it's very unrealistic that they chose kids to fight a war. They start to train them as kids, sure, but promotions don't actually work this way. They would get promoted after years and finally get to command an army when they are in their late-twenties or thirties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews