Enduring Love

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. fionaj.
    Feb 17, 2005
    8
    The 2 central performances from Craig and Ifans alone make this worth a watch. I'd waited about 4 months to see it and I wasn't disappointed. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the soundtrack.
  2. ChadS.
    Apr 29, 2006
    8
    It's not Toshiro Mifune-and-Akira Kurosawa-good, but the director of "Notting Hill" seems to know Rhys Ifans better than anyone else. Even when Jed(Ifans) is in full stalker mode, his expressive eyes should neutralize the revulsion of even the most homophobic viewer. In real life, a straight man wouldn't want some hairy gay man serenading a "Pet Sounds" tune to him in a public It's not Toshiro Mifune-and-Akira Kurosawa-good, but the director of "Notting Hill" seems to know Rhys Ifans better than anyone else. Even when Jed(Ifans) is in full stalker mode, his expressive eyes should neutralize the revulsion of even the most homophobic viewer. In real life, a straight man wouldn't want some hairy gay man serenading a "Pet Sounds" tune to him in a public arena, but in film, you can root for Joe(Daniel Craig) to relent, if only for the sake of a more interesting ending. Predictably, what you think happens, happens, but there is a sly indication that a "Cruising" moment could've been averted if Joe was more honest. Expand
  3. FrankP.
    Nov 11, 2004
    8
    Movie that makes you think about your own relationships. A bit like a Tom Stoppard play. Great opening and closing scenes.
  4. MarkB.
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    What was it that Roger Ebert once said about no good movie (except The Wizard of Oz, he later admitted) featuring a hot air balloon sequence? A bit of a generalization, to be sure: the original, non-Jackie Chan Around the World in 80 Days wasn't bad for what it was, but this unbelievably monotonous, pretentious, gussied-up stalker movie, in which director Roger Michell includes all What was it that Roger Ebert once said about no good movie (except The Wizard of Oz, he later admitted) featuring a hot air balloon sequence? A bit of a generalization, to be sure: the original, non-Jackie Chan Around the World in 80 Days wasn't bad for what it was, but this unbelievably monotonous, pretentious, gussied-up stalker movie, in which director Roger Michell includes all the religio-philosophical twaddle (ana a thick slather of homoeroticism) that Adrian Lyne smartly left out of Fatal Attraction, begins with a hot air balloon accident...but as disastrously as everything turns out before and behind the camera, it might just as well have been a train wreck. Rhys Ifans (who was effectively repellent yet oddly endearing as Hugh Grant's flatmate in Michell's Notting Hill) plays a survivor/bystander of the tragedy who incessantly annoys another (Daniel Craig, whose response to this harassment is screaming the F-word so frequently that you'd think South Park's Terrance and Philip had a hand in his dialogue, only T&P would've used the word with imagination, variety and style). The results are offensive without ever being exciting or suspenseful; I'm no Michael Medved and absolutely never will be, but I'm getting really tired of filmmakers endlessly depicting Christians as psychotics. The normally talented Michell works as though he'd used up absolutely everything he ever knew about thriller filmmaking with the brilliant Changing Lanes, that terrific Samuel L. Jackson/Ben Affleck tale of escalating revenge in which he completely succeeded in blending action, characterization and message in ways that completely elude him here. In fact, his direction of Enduring Love's climactic confrontation sequence, and especially his final shot, would seemingly indicate that Michell has never even SEEN a suspense movie much less made one. There are only two possible reasons I can think of why anyone would want to seek out this junk: either to see what Samantha Morton (In America), playing Craig's significant other, looks like with her hair long, or to check out what a hot air balloon casualty looks like. Let me spare you the trouble: a.) Morton has a long career ahead of her, so you'll undoubtedly get plenty of other chances, and b.) like a busted accordion, only with intestines. Expand
  5. DennisL.
    Nov 4, 2004
    8
    That green & sunny opening scene is a great jolt. Unexpectedly creepy but good movie. I couldn't figure out Samantha Morton's character--why was she unsupportive of Joe- Yet she considered herself "normal". I recommend it.
  6. MarkB.
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    What was it that Roger Ebert once said about no good movie (except The Wizard of Oz, he later admitted) featuring a hot air balloon sequence? A bit of a generalization, to be sure: the original, non-Jackie Chan Around the World in 80 Days wasn't bad for what it was, but this unbelievably monotonous, pretentious, gussied-up stalker movie, in which director Roger Michell includes all What was it that Roger Ebert once said about no good movie (except The Wizard of Oz, he later admitted) featuring a hot air balloon sequence? A bit of a generalization, to be sure: the original, non-Jackie Chan Around the World in 80 Days wasn't bad for what it was, but this unbelievably monotonous, pretentious, gussied-up stalker movie, in which director Roger Michell includes all the religio-philosophical twaddle (ana a thick slather of homoeroticism) that Adrian Lyne smartly left out of Fatal Attraction, begins with a hot air balloon accident...but as disastrously as everything turns out before and behind the camera, it might just as well have been a train wreck. Rhys Ifans (who was effectively repellent yet oddly endearing as Hugh Grant's flatmate in Michell's Notting Hill) plays a survivor/bystander of the tragedy who incessantly annoys another (Daniel Craig, whose response to this harassment is screaming the F-word so frequently that you'd think South Park's Terrance and Philip had a hand in his dialogue, only T&P would've used the word with imagination, variety and style). The results are offensive without ever being exciting or suspenseful; I'm no Michael Medved and absolutely never will be, but I'm getting really tired of filmmakers endlessly depicting Christians as psychotics. The normally talented Michell works as though he'd used up absolutely everything he ever knew about thriller filmmaking with the brilliant Changing Lanes, that terrific Samuel L. Jackson/Ben Affleck tale of escalating revenge in which he completely succeeded in blending action, characterization and message in ways that completely elude him here. In fact, his direction of Enduring Love's climactic confrontation sequence, and especially his final shot, would seemingly indicate that Michell has never even SEEN a suspense movie much less made one. There are only two possible reasons I can think of why anyone would want to seek out this junk: either to see what Samantha Morton (In America), playing Craig's significant other, looks like with her hair long, or to check out what a hot air balloon casualty looks like. Let me spare you the trouble: a.) Morton has a long career ahead of her, so you'll undoubtedly get plenty of other chances, and b.) like a busted accordion, only with intestines. Expand
  7. CarolynW.
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    This moving was surprisingly creepy and thought provoking. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire plot, and am truly enamored by the twisted turn of events.
  8. elir.
    Dec 27, 2005
    5
    While it excels in capturing atmosphere, the passionate performances and courageous examination of subtletly is entirely undone by frustratingly illogical characters, half-baked plot development, and a tendency to stray towards cinematographic gimmickry.
  9. mikej.
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    I went into this film with no expectations as my wife wanted to see it and i was keeping her happy- but i was riveted. Craig is an amazing actor.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Luke Sader
    60
    Daniel Craig, in his meatiest film role to date, delivers his usual incisive performance, even if this intimate drama of contemporary Londoners pushes the boundaries of credibility.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    A meditation on love, faith and science in the guise of a thriller, the movie's a tad schematic, but thoroughly gripping.
  3. 50
    The ideas behind Enduring Love may be fascinating, but they don’t play; they sulk.