Enemy

  • Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2014
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Sep 15, 2013
    100
    Enemy is a transfixing grand slam that certifies Villeneuve as the real deal and one of the most exciting new voices in cinema today.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Mar 11, 2014
    90
    Denis Villeneuve's shared dream of a film takes the simple premise of a man glimpsing his doppelganger while watching a movie and mines every bit of tension and oddity from it — there's hardly a scene that doesn't exude menace.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 15, 2013
    82
    Denis Villeneuve’s Enemy might have the scariest ending of any film ever made.
  4. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Gyllenhaal is engaged and engaging in Denis Villeneuve’s adventure in psychological surrealism: let’s hope they stay friends.
  5. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Dec 30, 2014
    80
    The doppelgänger trope may sound well worn but Enemy finds fresh, deeply unnerving ground. And Jake Gyllenhaal gives two spellbinding performances.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Not just dark but dank, Denis Villeneuve's Enemy is a surpassingly creepy film about identity.
  7. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Mar 14, 2014
    80
    Enemy may crawl and infuriate, and, boy, does Villeneuve get rid of the grin. But the film sticks with you, like a dreadful dream or a spider in the bedclothes. Shake it off, and it's still there. [17 March 2014, p.78]
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    Enemy is what might happen if someone let Terrence Malick make a "Twilight Zone" episode, with a quick rewrite by David Cronenberg.
  9. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    This is a weird, psychological sexual thriller clearly designed to get a rise out of audiences. It’s also pretty damn engrossing.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    It's not a frenzied head-trip, the way Roman Polanski's "The Tenant" was, nor does the movie have half the energy and nightmarish allure of David Lynch's "Mulholland Drive." It's best taken, I think, as a jape and a wry male-centric fable on transgression and desire.
  11. 75
    Shot before the Canadian director made the major-studio, suburban-vigilante drama "Prisoners," Enemy operates on a level of carefully calibrated unease, where the very elusiveness of motivation and logic is exploited for purposes of sustained cinematic disorientation.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 20, 2014
    70
    Enemy may be built more on questions than answers, but in the probing it generates a satisfyingly arch hum of weirdness.
  13. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 13, 2014
    70
    Much of the fun in Enemy, which is tightly constructed and expertly shot, lies in Mr. Gyllenhaal’s playful and subtle performances.
  14. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 11, 2014
    70
    For a tone poem on loneliness, fluid identity, and photogenic apartments, Enemy is the best entry in the genre since Roman Polanski’s The Tenant. And the last five minutes are just as unpredictable.
  15. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, the enigmatic surface conflict — in which a man must contend with his own carbon copy as rival — proves to be the film’s own worst enemy, for its dark, David Lynchian allure proves almost too compelling, obscuring the material’s deeper themes.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 21, 2014
    67
    Movies about doubles are, almost by definition, creepy, but Villeneuve, not to be outdone, piles on the weirdness. He’s big on spider imagery, but the web is flimsy.
  17. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 20, 2014
    63
    Gyllenhaal is excellent in the dual roles, though Laurent (Inglourious Basterds) is given too little to do to make much of an impression. Isabella Rossellini has a brief, thankless role as the mother of at least one of the two look-alikes.
  18. Reviewed by: Godfrey Cheshire
    Mar 14, 2014
    63
    Enemy, Villeneuve's latest, differs from the earlier works not only in being set in Canada, but also in offering a story that's ostensibly less concerned with painful real-life struggles than with dream-like subjective perplexities.
  19. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Mar 10, 2014
    63
    Jake Gyllenhaal embodies the two roles with real presence, establishing Adam's sniveling wimp and Anthony's striding jerk as two believably discrete sides of the same coin.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 49
  2. Negative: 14 out of 49
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    I wasn´t expecting to like this movie that much, amazing plot and great actingI wasn´t expecting to like this movie that much, amazing plot and great acting . Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2014
    8
    One of the strangest and creepiest movies ive seen. While some people don't like unclear endings that are left up to the viewer toOne of the strangest and creepiest movies ive seen. While some people don't like unclear endings that are left up to the viewer to decide/decipher I absolutely love them. Never have I walked away from a movie in such deep thought and reflection on what ive seen. Gyllenhaal also gives what may be his best ever performance in this years best movie so far. Full Review »
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    3
    Pure nonsense and garbage. It made no sense to me and people in the theater turned to me at the end to ask me what the hell it meant. I thenPure nonsense and garbage. It made no sense to me and people in the theater turned to me at the end to ask me what the hell it meant. I then turned to someone else who had no clue as well. I did not understand the spiders at all and the filming was dreary. A real waste of film and Jake G must be getting a big head if he thinks we are buying into this type of cheap bs. I didn't walk out because it wasn't long enough to walk out on. Spiders my ass. Full Review »