A24 | Release Date: March 14, 2014
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 295 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
225
Mixed:
31
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JamesLMar 23, 2014
Pure nonsense and garbage. It made no sense to me and people in the theater turned to me at the end to ask me what the hell it meant. I then turned to someone else who had no clue as well. I did not understand the spiders at all and thePure nonsense and garbage. It made no sense to me and people in the theater turned to me at the end to ask me what the hell it meant. I then turned to someone else who had no clue as well. I did not understand the spiders at all and the filming was dreary. A real waste of film and Jake G must be getting a big head if he thinks we are buying into this type of cheap bs. I didn't walk out because it wasn't long enough to walk out on. Spiders my ass. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
1
BogKidJul 23, 2014
Yes, I've read all of the existential crap about this movie. Non-linear. Chaos not yet organized. Etc. Etc. This was a film full of tiresome people doing illogical things. Accomplishing absolutely nothing. Thought provoking? Yes -- IYes, I've read all of the existential crap about this movie. Non-linear. Chaos not yet organized. Etc. Etc. This was a film full of tiresome people doing illogical things. Accomplishing absolutely nothing. Thought provoking? Yes -- I thought this film was pompous trash. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
fishmanPDXApr 24, 2014
I think this is one of those movies that people praise because they didn't understand it. They're afraid of being perceived as missing some deep artistic statement so they pretend. The movie is a failure.
Here's how it went for me. The
I think this is one of those movies that people praise because they didn't understand it. They're afraid of being perceived as missing some deep artistic statement so they pretend. The movie is a failure.
Here's how it went for me. The fist 30 minutes or so were a complete bore. Then suddenly it started to intrigue me and I though it might turn out to me a good movie. I was wrong. It slowly fizzled away to nothing and then abruptly ended. I was left with the distinct feeling that the film was originally meant to be something other than what was on the reels of film come the end of the shoot. And that rather than eat crow they edited together what they could and tried to pass it off as a third rate David Lynch Film.
The movie is an exercise in pretension where the talent of the writers failed to meet their own vision (if there ever was one)
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
FrequentFlyerMar 14, 2014
Dimly lit, all beiges and browns, makes Toronto look like a dingy slumland. Too much borrowing from Naked Lunch and French art film, with long studies of thoughtful/frustrated/puzzled/sad Jake G, and not enough plot to follow. What person isDimly lit, all beiges and browns, makes Toronto look like a dingy slumland. Too much borrowing from Naked Lunch and French art film, with long studies of thoughtful/frustrated/puzzled/sad Jake G, and not enough plot to follow. What person is not curious to meet their doppelgänger? Seems like Adam Bell got cold feet right away, and many of his reactions were questionable. Some red herrings (watch for a recurring photo) and predictable manipulative behaviour from Anthony Claire as the "evil twin". Or maybe he wasn't... If Denis Villeneuve wanted people to talk about the film, then he will be getting his wish, but not in a good way. I will be advising friends to avoid, avoid, avoid. At least some Canadian film crew got work; that's the only rationale for my score of 2. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
0
saxxyMar 18, 2014
You have to be kidfing!! Never wrote a review about a movie before but had to warn those thinking about seeing this movie. Do not waste your money! I am shocked that the lesd actor associated his name to this piece of junk!
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
3
DrakenJun 18, 2014
Waste of time. The story goes nowhere, I felt nothing. It tries to break the monotony of the very bland and very boring "double personality / look alike / twin" themed scenes by adding some random creepiness (and over acting, and crying, andWaste of time. The story goes nowhere, I felt nothing. It tries to break the monotony of the very bland and very boring "double personality / look alike / twin" themed scenes by adding some random creepiness (and over acting, and crying, and drama in scenes that do not warrant it) that never succeeds, then it tries to be mysterious by waving some spider imagery here and there, but there is no symbolism or depth to any of it. Just a bland, gimmicky movie that goes nowhere. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
1
kabloom100Mar 15, 2014
The whole movie looks like it was shot through smog. There's too many holes in the premise. Yes, there's a twist at the end but getting there is definitely not half the fun. Or any fun at all. Nothing to recommend this film at all.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
0
NikolayGJun 19, 2014
The movie is 3/4 over before you get past what the trailer reveals. The ending is predictable and more the sort of thing you'd see in a farce, one of those Comedy of Errors inspired comedies about twins, with violence tossed in. The very lastThe movie is 3/4 over before you get past what the trailer reveals. The ending is predictable and more the sort of thing you'd see in a farce, one of those Comedy of Errors inspired comedies about twins, with violence tossed in. The very last few seconds, however, where surreality enters the picture, make no sense on any level whatsoever except that it was a reverse Kafka visual pun. Just stupid. A horrendously dull and plodding and unimaginative movie. Expand
0 of 14 users found this helpful014
All this user's reviews
1
matcatMar 17, 2014
Slow as molasses, filmed in a kind of sepia, depressing and with a completely unexplainable, illogical and strange end, leaving people saying "that's it?". Loved Villeneuve's previous films, hated this.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
soshiantJul 11, 2014
Enemy was a boring movie. I watch the movie because of JG but I was disappointed. It was nonsense! Just waiting time. I wonder what did the director want to say by such a presentation? What is the meaning of the spider at the end? About twoEnemy was a boring movie. I watch the movie because of JG but I was disappointed. It was nonsense! Just waiting time. I wonder what did the director want to say by such a presentation? What is the meaning of the spider at the end? About two hours of my life fell into a garbage! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
critic9Jul 20, 2014
Spoiler Alert!!!

The only reason I rated this movie a 1 instead of a 0 is because it had enough allure to trick me into watching the whole thing... although I did fast forward through 50% of it as it was toooooo slow. I kept feeling the
Spoiler Alert!!!

The only reason I rated this movie a 1 instead of a 0 is because it had enough allure to trick me into watching the whole thing... although I did fast forward through 50% of it as it was toooooo slow. I kept feeling the urge to turn up the brightness on my TV because it was so dark. However, I loved the idea of the movie - a guy meets his own doppelganger & interesting things could pursue. However, when you think something interesting or dramatic is going to happen, it just falls flat instead. They have so many opportunities to create a passionate or fascinating scene, but choose to go with watered down drudgery instead. WHY? Then, at the end, it's as if they can't muster up a real ending to this one-way street to Boringville, so they just randomly decide to throw in a gigantic spider to eat the pregnant chic (but you don't even get to SEE IT happen... zzzzz). The End. I thought this was the worst movie ever... until I watched Under the Skin... even worse!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
ydnar4Apr 19, 2015
Enemy just isn't my movie. I liked Jake Gyllenhaal's previous collaboration with Denis Villeneuve which was Prisoners, an excellent movie, but I'm not a fan of this. I just don't get the ending and its just so drawn out and boring. I'm sureEnemy just isn't my movie. I liked Jake Gyllenhaal's previous collaboration with Denis Villeneuve which was Prisoners, an excellent movie, but I'm not a fan of this. I just don't get the ending and its just so drawn out and boring. I'm sure that other people can enjoy it but it just doesn't do anything for me. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
boubadiopFeb 19, 2015
Its a good film if it made sense.

The film is quite short and as you sit there watching with the ending drawing closer and closer you start to wonder when this film is finally going to piece itself together and make sense, but nope the
Its a good film if it made sense.

The film is quite short and as you sit there watching with the ending drawing closer and closer you start to wonder when this film is finally going to piece itself together and make sense, but nope the ending is just freaky and then your sat there wondering why you even bothered watching it.

After the film me and my girlfriend had to watch a 30minute youtube clip explaining what actually happened.

Watch it if you like getting confused
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
Bobcat53Oct 25, 2015
Achingly slow, boring, ponderous are the words to describe this piece of absolute tripe. It vies for the worst movie I had ever seen up till yesterday, and that was The Hours. I sometimes wonder if actors actually sit and watch the movieAchingly slow, boring, ponderous are the words to describe this piece of absolute tripe. It vies for the worst movie I had ever seen up till yesterday, and that was The Hours. I sometimes wonder if actors actually sit and watch the movie after the production, and not think, "what the hell was I thinking"!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews