• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: University lecturer Adam (Jake Gyllenhaal) is nearing the end of a relationship with his girlfriend Mary (Mélanie Laurent). One night, while watching a film, Adam spots a minor actor who looks just like him. Consumed by the desire to meet his double, Adam tracks down Anthony, an actor livingUniversity lecturer Adam (Jake Gyllenhaal) is nearing the end of a relationship with his girlfriend Mary (Mélanie Laurent). One night, while watching a film, Adam spots a minor actor who looks just like him. Consumed by the desire to meet his double, Adam tracks down Anthony, an actor living with his pregnant wife Helen (Sarah Gadon) and engages him in a complex and dangerous struggle. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Sep 15, 2013
    100
    Enemy is a transfixing grand slam that certifies Villeneuve as the real deal and one of the most exciting new voices in cinema today.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Mar 14, 2014
    80
    Enemy may crawl and infuriate, and, boy, does Villeneuve get rid of the grin. But the film sticks with you, like a dreadful dream or a spider in the bedclothes. Shake it off, and it's still there. [17 March 2014, p.78]
  3. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Gyllenhaal is engaged and engaging in Denis Villeneuve’s adventure in psychological surrealism: let’s hope they stay friends.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 21, 2014
    67
    Movies about doubles are, almost by definition, creepy, but Villeneuve, not to be outdone, piles on the weirdness. He’s big on spider imagery, but the web is flimsy.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Mar 10, 2014
    63
    Jake Gyllenhaal embodies the two roles with real presence, establishing Adam's sniveling wimp and Anthony's striding jerk as two believably discrete sides of the same coin.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 13, 2014
    60
    It never comes to much more than an atmospheric head-scratcher.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 13, 2014
    25
    It doesn’t add up to much of anything exciting, even with an appearance by Isabella Rossellini (of Lynch’s “Blue Velvet’’) as the mother of one of the doubles.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 45
  2. Negative: 13 out of 45
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    I wasn´t expecting to like this movie that much, amazing plot and great actingI wasn´t expecting to like this movie that much, amazing plot and great acting . Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    This film is one of a kind. Not only do we get amazing performances from the actors especially Jake Gyllenhaal, but this film requires you toThis film is one of a kind. Not only do we get amazing performances from the actors especially Jake Gyllenhaal, but this film requires you to think. It requires you to do research on this film. It makes you sit there mouth agape by the end of the film. Not many films did that this year. You will be confused by this movie. And part of it is all the fun of watching. Expand
  3. May 4, 2014
    8
    One of the strangest and creepiest movies ive seen. While some people don't like unclear endings that are left up to the viewer toOne of the strangest and creepiest movies ive seen. While some people don't like unclear endings that are left up to the viewer to decide/decipher I absolutely love them. Never have I walked away from a movie in such deep thought and reflection on what ive seen. Gyllenhaal also gives what may be his best ever performance in this years best movie so far. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2014
    7
    his is not your traditional beginning, middle, and end story. The film has a non-linear element of story-telling, making it unique andhis is not your traditional beginning, middle, and end story. The film has a non-linear element of story-telling, making it unique and unpredictable. People will be split on their feelings of "Enemy," those who are willing to sit through a very slow paced and simple story may or may not be rewarded with an abstract puzzle that awaits to be deciphered. I did appreciate the slow paced build-up, yet was a bit disappointed at the amount of plot closure the film gave us. French-Canadian director, Denis Villeneuve's use of intense sounds and music with summer blockbuster-like camera shots contrasted greatly with the slow character driven and psychologically oriented story. It seemed as if the director was unsure of what kind of a movie he was making. The screenplay was very simple, yet very complicated, and that is greatly credited to Jake Gyllenhaal's performance, or should I say performances? The Toronto skyline setting added a suspenseful and ghost-town atmosphere to the movie, which is peculiar as Toronto is a loud and busy metropolis in reality. But perhaps the film is trying to convey that nothing is as it seems. Although Villeneuve chooses to not leave behind answers to creepy crawling questions, he gives you just enough tools to answer them yourself. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2014
    5
    Intriugued til the ending..... Helen leaves the room and turns into a giant spider? Is she supposed to be a black widow? I love Jake G. butIntriugued til the ending..... Helen leaves the room and turns into a giant spider? Is she supposed to be a black widow? I love Jake G. but this pic left me disappointed. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2015
    3
    Enemy just isn't my movie. I liked Jake Gyllenhaal's previous collaboration with Denis Villeneuve which was Prisoners, an excellent movie, butEnemy just isn't my movie. I liked Jake Gyllenhaal's previous collaboration with Denis Villeneuve which was Prisoners, an excellent movie, but I'm not a fan of this. I just don't get the ending and its just so drawn out and boring. I'm sure that other people can enjoy it but it just doesn't do anything for me. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    0
    The movie is 3/4 over before you get past what the trailer reveals. The ending is predictable and more the sort of thing you'd see in a farce,The movie is 3/4 over before you get past what the trailer reveals. The ending is predictable and more the sort of thing you'd see in a farce, one of those Comedy of Errors inspired comedies about twins, with violence tossed in. The very last few seconds, however, where surreality enters the picture, make no sense on any level whatsoever except that it was a reverse Kafka visual pun. Just stupid. A horrendously dull and plodding and unimaginative movie. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews