Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Oct 21, 2013
    60
    Assured, adult filmmaking from a writer/director who knows her way around the ups and downs of relationships.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 27, 2013
    60
    Enough Said isn't without the occasional minor formulaic element or the odd narrative contrivance here and there (starting, it must be said, with its very setup). It is, after all, a romantic comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 18, 2013
    60
    Enough Said doesn’t have the intimacy of Holofcener’s “Walking and Talking” or “Lovely & Amazing,” but it still cuts close the bone. Often so close we have to smile in self-defense.
  4. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Sep 13, 2013
    60
    While there are some okay side stories (stuff with the daughters and daughters’ friends) it kinda feels like attending a dinner party and checking in on the first world problems of a friend you kinda like, but don’t like enough to ask any follow up questions.
  5. Reviewed by: Paul MacInnes
    Sep 13, 2013
    60
    All in all a comedy that starts out like a pudding made of first world problems ends up warming your heart and that is in no small part down to the strength of its two leads. As a final act, it's a touching one.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Sep 26, 2013
    50
    Neither does it help that, despite the wit and literacy of Enough Sad, its form is straight out of a teen romance: A cool kid starts dating someone less cool, and then engages in some elaborate deception that, if found out, will threaten the progress of young love. The funny thing is, if Enough Said were converted wholesale into a high school romance, the characters' behavior might ring more true.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 18, 2013
    50
    Gandolfini delivers a funny, poignant performance befitting a great actor. It’s heartbreaking that the film doesn’t measure up to his exemplary turn.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I alsoJulia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I also enjoy) and shows a vulnerable side which is touching. Gandolfini is solid and serves his purpose, but it's not his movie. Keener also goes through the motions here and does her standard nice work. I want to call out Ben Falcone, who is hilarious in this film, and the greenlighters need to put him in a starring role. Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2015
    8
    "You all knew James Gandolfini the actor. I was lucky enough to know Jim the man for 10 years as his close colleague and his pretend life"You all knew James Gandolfini the actor. I was lucky enough to know Jim the man for 10 years as his close colleague and his pretend life partner, and for many more years as his friend. And it’s Jim the man, the very dear man, that I will miss most of all." - Edie Falco at the Emmy's for James tribute.

    The story is about a divorced woman thinks she has finally found a new man she can share her life with... the only problem is he turns out to be the ex-husband of her new friend.

    Enough Said is a lot different then I expected it to be before seeing the film. I was expecting the same romance cliche movie with the long fallout and the women or man start to feel bad and towards the end they both realize that they idiots so they get back together, riding off into the sunset. Enough Said has some of those cliches but took a much different turn and for the best, because Enough Said is both a great comedy, good romance movie and realistic movie viewing relationships and people's chemistry today.

    Now I already did a tribute to the late great James Gandolfini in my The Drop review but in that movie he pretty much played a nasty mob type of guy that's a little bit like Tony Soprano without the angry problem, but in this his a big heart guy that's so sweet and lovable it makes me sad that James is really gone because James Gandolfini pretty much plays himself, a big lovable human being. James Gandolfini did a magnificent performance in this movie and a performance worth remembering for.

    Julia Louis-Dreyfus was also great in the movie as she plays the funny, always smiling wife that screw's up a couple of times in the movie, basically real life. It's not like she's the bad guy here (or women if you must) as every time she tries to do something right when it comes to problems she somehow makes it ten times worse and every time this happens I can see the look of destroyed failure in her eyes and that's due to the brilliant acting from Julia Louis-Dreyfus, she really fitted the character so well that she gives her character ark that worked brilliantly.

    The chemistry between James and Julia was both cute, charming, interesting and straight up adorable. I think the writing and the directing is the real reason why the chemistry worked because every time these two talked they will always have something to make me and probably everyone else to smile at are adorable together.

    Now for the problems: I don't have problems with the movie to be honest, but I'm not going to give it a best rating I got because I don't really think this movie is on the level of amazing or groundbreaking, but it's still a sweet little movie.

    Overall Enough Said is a great movie with great performance from everyone and brilliant directing and writing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    This story really rang true with me. It felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the bestThis story really rang true with me. It felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the best decisions, but who ultimately just want to be loved. And I, in turn, loved this movie. It had great heart, was thoughtfully done, and portrays candid emotions that we all go through in love and loss. I loved Julia Louis-Dreyfus and adored James Gandolfini in it. It also was a very funny movie, I laughed out loud several times. It was actually that funny. Rave reviews, highly recommend it. Full Review »