User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 88
  2. Negative: 5 out of 88

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    I'm a psychologist in my day job (when I'm not reviewing movies, ha!) and have to say that the story really rang true with me. It just felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the best decisions, but who ultimately just want to be loved. And I, in turn, loved this movie. It had great heart, was thoughtfully done, and portrays candid emotions that we all go through in love and loss. I loved Julia Louis-Dreyfus and adored James Gandolfini in it. It also was a very funny movie, I laughed out loud several times. Like, it was actually that funny. Rave reviews, highly recommend it. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    This is a charming film with great performances by James Gandolfini and Julia Louis-Dreyfus. The chemistry between the two is what most romantic comedies wish they could have. A
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This movie made my laugh, cry, and remember that life is short. Mr. Gandolfini will be missed.
    But this is a fantastic last movie, and Julia Louise Dreyfuss puts in an excellent performance that is worthy of an Oscar. Great little movie. Moved my heart like "Beginners." We need more magic movies.
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus and James Gandolflini are excellent in this movie. Ben Falcone is great too. The movie is touching, comical and romantic. I loved it. Both main characters are gentle souls and really seem made for each other; their on-screen chemistry is amazing.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    LTIH keeps me coming back, for sure. I enjoy all the characters and story lines and each episode is better than the last. This is an interesting set of characters, and well acted, even though they may find themselves in rather contrived situations, such as a car theft and ensuing chase by elderly drivers, or locked in a creepy mansion. The one-on-one conversations are superb. I can't wait for the next episode and season. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    It’s at this fine-grained observation of human folly that Holofcener excels, without ever abandoning her compassion for her wayward, fumbling characters. A subplot about Eva’s best friend’s inability to fire her housekeeper gestures, a bit too obliquely, at social satire (Holofcener’s last two films, Friends With Money and Please Give, dealt more explicitly with matters of class and social mobility). But I appreciate that this movie doesn’t make us choose between context-based character humor and snappy romantic banter—instead, it provides both in great bounty. Elaine Benes and Tony Soprano may seem an unlikely pairing, but Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini make strangely persuasive bedfellows—in fact, they’re one of the most impossible-not-to-root-for on-screen couples in recent memory. Gandolfini, by all accounts, was a gentle, modest, and sensitive man who felt emotionally depleted by the violent, dark roles he was generally called on to play in the wake of The Sopranos. Here, we get a glimpse of the second career he could have had as a light comedic heartthrob. That it won’t ever come to be is only one of countless reasons to wish Gandolfini were still around. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Oct 21, 2013
    60
    Assured, adult filmmaking from a writer/director who knows her way around the ups and downs of relationships.
  2. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    Oct 15, 2013
    80
    Nicole Holofcener has a reputation for making Woody Allen-ish chick-flicks. Which sounds like a snidey compliment. Enough Said is her best yet.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    It's a movie that approaches novelistic richness. [7 Oct. 2013, p. 89]