Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Eva, a divorced single parent, spends her days enjoying work as a masseuse but dreading her daughter's impending departure for college. She meets Albert - a sweet, funny and like-minded man also facing an empty nest. As their romance quickly blossoms, Eva befriends Marianne, her new massageEva, a divorced single parent, spends her days enjoying work as a masseuse but dreading her daughter's impending departure for college. She meets Albert - a sweet, funny and like-minded man also facing an empty nest. As their romance quickly blossoms, Eva befriends Marianne, her new massage client. Marianne is a beautiful poet who seems "almost perfect" except for one prominent quality: she rags on her ex-husband way too much. Suddenly, Eva finds herself doubting her own relationship with Albert when she learns he's Marianne's ex-husband. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    The first date that James Gandolfini and Julia Louis-Dreyfus embark on in Enough Said - has to be one of the great getting-to-know-you encounters in movie history.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 17, 2013
    91
    Gandolfini deserves an Oscar for Enough Said not because it's the culmination of everything that came before it but rather because it goes in a completely different direction. And his least characteristic achievement is also one of his best.
  3. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 18, 2013
    90
    One of the pleasures of Enough Said is watching Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini, two well-known performers only Holofcener would think of putting together, come alive both as individuals and the two halves of a relationship.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A wry and moving look at a time in life that tends to get short shrift in U.S. cinema.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Enough Said confirms filmmaker Nicole Holofcener’s status as one of America’s best stealth satirists.
  6. 75
    Apparently at Holofcener’s urging, Dreyfus just tends to overwhelm the movie with her regular, if charming, bag of tricks, as if that’s enough. And it isn’t.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 18, 2013
    38
    Enough can't be said about how the late James Gandolfini comes so close to saving writer-director Nicole Holofcener's latest articulation of white suburban anxieties.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    " a delight ". So far its just romantic , funny and amusing it just is. thank you director/writer Nicole Holofcener. Grade" a delight ". So far its just romantic , funny and amusing it just is. thank you director/writer Nicole Holofcener. Grade A+...................................................... Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    This story really rang true with me. It felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the bestThis story really rang true with me. It felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the best decisions, but who ultimately just want to be loved. And I, in turn, loved this movie. It had great heart, was thoughtfully done, and portrays candid emotions that we all go through in love and loss. I loved Julia Louis-Dreyfus and adored James Gandolfini in it. It also was a very funny movie, I laughed out loud several times. It was actually that funny. Rave reviews, highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Nicole Holofcener has built a career in films, exploring the relationships of certain microcosms of individuals, where at the center, there'sNicole Holofcener has built a career in films, exploring the relationships of certain microcosms of individuals, where at the center, there's always a heroine who is seemingly displaced or out of contact with the reality that surrounds her. In this case, Eva is the heroine, who is charming and funny, but who hides her heart and feelings behind that sharp wit and humor. Albert is very much like her: a man who suffered through a divorce, and is trying to live his life quietly, hanging on to his only daughter and who embraces this relationship with joy and a possibility of finding happiness. The film allows the actors to flush out these characters, and is filled with humor and a genuine sense of wonder and tenderness between two people who are emotionally bruised. The cast is uniformly fantastic: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, James Gandolfini, Catherine Keener, Toni Collette and Ben Falcone. It's a surprise seeing Gandolfini playing a part that is so grounded and where he's so vulnerable and ultimately real.
    A lovely film worth watching.
    Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I alsoJulia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I also enjoy) and shows a vulnerable side which is touching. Gandolfini is solid and serves his purpose, but it's not his movie. Keener also goes through the motions here and does her standard nice work. I want to call out Ben Falcone, who is hilarious in this film, and the greenlighters need to put him in a starring role. Collapse
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    A well written and engagingly funny film in which a very good performance from Julia Louis-Dreyfus sees her dating James Gandolfini at theA well written and engagingly funny film in which a very good performance from Julia Louis-Dreyfus sees her dating James Gandolfini at the same time as unknowingly befriending his ex-wife. The screenplay brings out the bitter and the sweet and is recognisably true in capturing those small and awkward moments moments that really do happen in real life. Supporting characters add to the fun and the whole thing is a delight. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    6
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus plays a single mom, who ends up in a relationship with James Gandolfini. She's her typical neurotic and he plays nice.Julia Louis-Dreyfus plays a single mom, who ends up in a relationship with James Gandolfini. She's her typical neurotic and he plays nice. Things get complicated when her new friend (Catherine Keener) turns out to be his ex. There's nothing especially original about this story, except that it's told from a middle-aged perspective. The characters are interesting and performances enjoyable, but there's not much comedy…just a bit of mild humor. Overall, it feels like a minor Woody Allen flick (although written/directed by Nicole Holofcener). Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    I must be totally out of sync with what this film is purported to be...although I am almost the exact demographic target for it. I look forI must be totally out of sync with what this film is purported to be...although I am almost the exact demographic target for it. I look for movies about people and where nothing explodes.
    How was this a rom-com? Where were the laughs? And I do not see any thing like tears either...although I admit I nodded off at least 3 times! This was NOT as "Good as it Gets."
    What was this movie about and why should I care? Basically, to me, it's a movie about nothing. You can not compare it to Woody Allen, where at least there are loads of subplots and underplots. Even when his efforts fail there is a lot to look at even if it's just great scenery. There's not even scenery in this dud..
    I do think the interest in this movie has more to do with wanting to see Gandolphini's last work and that is coloring the responses. There was nothing that stood out in Enough Said. I don't even know what that title means. There was no interesting direction, no production values, no quirkiness or revelations. It was almost horrifically blah.
    Finally, I am done with critics who duped me into see the tedious Amour with their rave reviews.
    I am just so grateful I didn't drag my husband to this promising it would be a lot better than he thought. What a bore.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.