Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Nathaniel Brown and Paz de la Huerta star in the visceral journey set against the thumping, neon club scene of Tokyo, which hurls the viewer into an astonishing trip through life, death, and the universally wonderful and horrible moments between. (IFC Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. 100
    French director Gaspar Noe has kept a pretty low profile since his 2002 drama "Irreversible" notorious for its brutal nine-minute anal rape scene. But this epic, psychedelic mindfuck confirms him once again as the cinema's most imaginative nihilist.
  2. With beauty, mild and sharp jolts, and mesmerizing camerawork, he (Gaspar Noe) tries to open the doors of perception.
  3. 80
    A picture that's by turns inventive, tender and boring, and one that uses a variety of novelty point-of-view techniques: If Penisvision isn't your thing, then Vagin-o-rama just might float your boat.
  4. 75
    From the rapid-fire, purposely unreadable opening credits to the final baby POV shot of a birth, this is a dazzling and brutal exercise in cinematic envelope-pushing.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    70
    Confrontational and hyperactive, Enter the Void is a difficult film to experience. That's not because Noe is somehow inept. The Argentina-born French writer-director knows exactly what he's doing and what effect his swirling camera, exuberant colors and strobelike effects will have.
  6. Director Gaspar Noé proved a shock poet in "Irreversible" (2003). In Enter the Void, he's a shockingly tedious show-off.
  7. An unbearable exercise in provocation.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Gaspar Noe's Enter the Void is a fairly groundbreaking follow up to his earlier films I Stand Alone and Irreversible. It is, for all intents and purposes, one of my favorite movies to watch. As a reviewer examining films like this it is both a gift and a curse. I love to be presented with the opportunity to speak openly about a very interesting film, yet I undoubtedly draw from my personal experience and bias towards the film that it can be difficult to clearly see it's drawbacks. Indeed, if you are looking for a perfectly balanced review of Enter the Void, you may as well look elsewhere. To me, this is a penultimate exploration of moodiness in cinema.

    Read more on Hear the Indie: http://heartheindie.com/film-reviews/2013/11/15/gaspar-noe-enter-the-void-album-review
    Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    A tour de force, technically and artistically. I left the theater in a state of bliss, shaken and invigorated. This is the work of a singular auteur, whose vision in the film offers a truly one-of-a-kind experience--one unlikely to be reproduced or even attempted again any time soon. If you're a film buff and understand that any film that inspires such deeply divided opinion probably deserves to be seen, then please give this film a chance and don't be dissuaded by the negative reviews. I saw the long version (containing the seventh reel of nine), and though a case could be made against the pacing during those final reels, every bit felt relevant and engaging. And from my perspective--speaking as one who has traveled with the psychedelics used by the character in this film--it's all very true to experience.

    Though the film is explicitly informed by some of the concepts in the Tibetan Book of the Dead, it is not attempting to be any sort of new-age introduction to that work, to Buddhism, or to other eastern philosophies. It's an exploration of how, after death, we have to untangle and reconcile our prior knowledge, our identities, our duties to ourselves and others, and the choices we made in life. That said, those who are don't see the relevancy of the explicit sexual imagery should know that this can be understood as part of the "sidpa bardo" (bardo of rebirth) per the Tibetan book, and I think it's quite clear that was the director's intention. I'm sure I won't see a better film this year.
    Expand
  3. MkM
    Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Unlike anything I have ever scene. A completely brilliant piece of visual art. The strangest part is that it actually succeeds in drawing a narrative from a largely wordless, largely abstract series of gorgeous camera stunts. The opening credits alone will draw applause in a movie theater (they did when I went). And, even if you find yourself frustrated by certain aspects of the movie, you will still be blown away by the way it looks. This is one of the most beautifully shot films in history. The cinematographer was Marc Caro from Amelie and City of Lost Children fame. This is easily the best looking movie he's ever been a part of, and that's saying A LOT. This is a completely unique experience, though admittedly not for everyone. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2010
    8
    At times delightful, at times mortifying, Enter the Void is a release from logic, a purely emotional thrill ride that makes no sense, but definitely thrums a cord. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    I loved the pre-movie Epileptic seizure warnings - got me ready for what was a unique experience. After seeing Lynch's "Inland Empire" I'm ready for anything. There are some shocking moments in this film - several of which are repeated throughout the film - lest you become too comfortable with the flowing imagery. It's a completely accessible film, though perhaps a bit long. I kept thinking about Evil Dead II because the director uses this first-person (gonzo) traveling spirit convention that reminded me of Sam Raimi - made me laugh at various points. Excellent use of the uroboros. Don't want to spoil any of the key moments - you just have to be ready for anything before seeing this film. If you are, it's a good time. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First movie I've seen (and I've seen a bunch) that shows me an actual abortion, a penis going into a vagina and ejaculating (viewed from inside the woman's body), and a dead guy's spirit inhabiting the bodies of different dudes so he can have sex with his sister, mother, and his best friend's mother. What's with all the shiny crap between all the people getting it on? Looks like bioluminescence..... Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2011
    0
    If "Crank: High Voltage" had dialogue, and an ego. Stiff voice acting, and third person camera angles ironically bring to mind more recent ANTI-drug advertisements; 'EtV' truly seems to want to capitalize on every depravity and debauchery the Tokyo underworld has to offer, in all it's cliched glory : strip clubs; raves; drug-dealing; drug taking; incest; Oedipal complexes; gratuitous violence; car wrecks; AIDS ... Given some attractive imagery, and nifty trickery - most of the film operates as if one were playing a first person shooter on NO CLIP mode... â Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers