Epic

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 153
  2. Negative: 14 out of 153

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 24, 2013
    6
    I wasn't really quite sure about this movie. After watching the tesar trailer I thought it was going to be really awesome. Then once I saw some of the commercials, I wasn't quite sure. But after watching this, for what it's worth, it's an enjoyable movie. It does have it's awesome moments like from the tesar trailer, then it has its moments like from the commercials. But lets get to theI wasn't really quite sure about this movie. After watching the tesar trailer I thought it was going to be really awesome. Then once I saw some of the commercials, I wasn't quite sure. But after watching this, for what it's worth, it's an enjoyable movie. It does have it's awesome moments like from the tesar trailer, then it has its moments like from the commercials. But lets get to the positive things about this movie. First off, the battle sequences in this movie were amazing. And when they really try to show you the world of the forest, it feels like your watching "Avatar." But when you have characters like the slugs, that's when the movie starts to loose that good quality feel. I honestly thought the slugs would actually be somewhat funny, but honestly, they weaken the movie with there quirkiness. It's really hard to give this movie a rating when you have really good action and animation and really bad characters and quirky moments. But overall, it's still (somewhat) of an amazing movie. But I will not say it was Epic. Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    5
    It's just was not that good a movie overall. I felt that the movie's plot was not that good; no shocking twists or turns. Just a predictable flow of events. I heard that the CGI was going to be awesome, but I just did not get blown away. and it barely made up for the bad script. I still don't get the name of the movie. I don't see the theme being reflected in the movie itself. Or maybeIt's just was not that good a movie overall. I felt that the movie's plot was not that good; no shocking twists or turns. Just a predictable flow of events. I heard that the CGI was going to be awesome, but I just did not get blown away. and it barely made up for the bad script. I still don't get the name of the movie. I don't see the theme being reflected in the movie itself. Or maybe what the producers meant was that the movie was going to be epic. If it was, then it didn't show. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    A good looking, but boring animation. I'd say about twenty minutes in to this film I started to just not care about The Leaf men or those things they were fighting and yes the story with the girl and her father somewhat matters overall whatever.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    It's "epic" all right... "Epic"-ally boring. I had Fern Gully swimming around in my head the entire movie. Although it took on an environmental theme, the storyline did not convince me that it was fighting the "green fight" the way it had intended. The voicing was OK. The animation was average. If you find yourself nodding off during the show, you are not alone.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    "Epic dares to be original, unique and well creative, but its not. It offers very little to most adults while only "truly" entertaining the children. Its Blue Sky animations worst movie to date and on the low end of the animation spectrum, I expected more" C
  6. May 27, 2013
    5
    This is basically the "Brave" of 2013. Thinly plotted, cramped with too many characters, and ends all too quickly. The plot is also very predictable. There are better animated films you could watch, but this is alright entertainment.
  7. Jun 22, 2013
    4
    Epic is anything but epic in almost everyway. The movie so unaspiring that about 30 minutes into the film you just don't care about anything that is going on. A film to see with your kids once and then never again.
  8. Oct 12, 2013
    6
    So "Epic" isn't exactly epic, but it is a perfectly fun little animated movie that will enchant younger watchers. Thanks to its all star voice cast all performances are excellent. The animation is fantastic, bright, and colorful. Truly a treat for the eyes. The plot is decent and there are some pretty humorous moments, but overall it doesn't live up to some of the better animated moviesSo "Epic" isn't exactly epic, but it is a perfectly fun little animated movie that will enchant younger watchers. Thanks to its all star voice cast all performances are excellent. The animation is fantastic, bright, and colorful. Truly a treat for the eyes. The plot is decent and there are some pretty humorous moments, but overall it doesn't live up to some of the better animated movies out there. Just like most animated movie of this variety kids will love it. Adults will be able to appreciate it for the overall quality of the movie, I don't think they'll find it as great as some of Pixar and DreamWorks animated movies, but it wont bore them when they watch it with their kids. Overall it's a decent little film that kids will love and adults wont find miserable to watch. Heck a lot of adults might like it just as much as their kids do. Expand
  9. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    Epic is both a step forward for Blue Sky Studios and a step backward. On one end this film is epic with a cool mini-war, interesting animation, and an adult story (sometimes). However, what holds the film back are the generic kids movie elements that pervade all Blue Sky films some dumb kids humor, generic characters, and a cliché and predictable story. I’m glad I saw it and it didEpic is both a step forward for Blue Sky Studios and a step backward. On one end this film is epic with a cool mini-war, interesting animation, and an adult story (sometimes). However, what holds the film back are the generic kids movie elements that pervade all Blue Sky films some dumb kids humor, generic characters, and a cliché and predictable story. I’m glad I saw it and it did entertain me but at the same time it is nothing spectacular. I thought this world and the conflict was cool and it is what kept me engaged throughout the film. Its worth checking out if you are interested. Kids may or may not like this film. They could be frightened by the dark and adult moments or they could get through that ok and love all the dumb jokes and writing geared at them. Again not a bad film it does have some entertainment value but at the same time this is not like a Pixar film or the better Disney movies where you need to go see it. So if you have some time on your hands give it a watch and prepare to be mildly entertained. Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    The animators who did the "Ice Age" series and "Rio" have tried to go classy with this fantasy about a miniature kingdom of plants, animals and creatures in a battle for the beauty of nature. A young human woman gets involved in their world. The plot drags it down. It's too complicated & too talky. The art direction is sometimes attractive, but some of it is weird. The snappy humor andThe animators who did the "Ice Age" series and "Rio" have tried to go classy with this fantasy about a miniature kingdom of plants, animals and creatures in a battle for the beauty of nature. A young human woman gets involved in their world. The plot drags it down. It's too complicated & too talky. The art direction is sometimes attractive, but some of it is weird. The snappy humor and wacky characters that make their other movies such fun is almost non-existent (only Chris O'Dowd and Aziz Ansari provide any laffs). The whole thing is adequaate, but not much more. Expand
  11. May 28, 2013
    6
    I have to give this movie a pass (barely) because the animation is spectacular. The 3D is excellent as well. As far as the plot goes, we have yet another bumbling father figure obsessed more with his work than his daughter, and the daughter is whiney and naggy. The story is a composite of Star Wars, Avatar, The Littles, and several Hayao Miyasaki movies. Nothing original. The filmI have to give this movie a pass (barely) because the animation is spectacular. The 3D is excellent as well. As far as the plot goes, we have yet another bumbling father figure obsessed more with his work than his daughter, and the daughter is whiney and naggy. The story is a composite of Star Wars, Avatar, The Littles, and several Hayao Miyasaki movies. Nothing original. The film desperately needs more humor. The snail and the slug are the best part of the film but don't have enough screen time. With a little more time spent on the script this movie could have been great, as the art direction department definitely did their job. Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    I vacillated between giving an epic a 5 or a 6 and whilst I realise this is metacritic most people knee jerk to 0 or 10 I've finally come down on the side of 5.

    It's pretty but empty; horribly stereotyped with (some) poor voice acting. There is a lot to say about it's generic a cliched story and characters but. But... At this point of typing I've realised I just don't care enough
    I vacillated between giving an epic a 5 or a 6 and whilst I realise this is metacritic most people knee jerk to 0 or 10 I've finally come down on the side of 5.

    It's pretty but empty; horribly stereotyped with (some) poor voice acting. There is a lot to say about it's generic a cliched story and characters but. But...

    At this point of typing I've realised I just don't care enough finish this. And yes, I really do appreciate the irony in this 'review'.
    Expand
  13. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    I don't know why they called this film "Epic." It's more like a simply titled "A Movie of Epic Proportions." That's not the case. Here's the good news: "Epic" is a family-friendly adventure filled with incredible CGI animation, fantastic 3-D graphics, and a mixed bag of "Rio" meets "Ferngully" style. The Bad News is that "Epic" is going to be nowhere near of great family films this yearI don't know why they called this film "Epic." It's more like a simply titled "A Movie of Epic Proportions." That's not the case. Here's the good news: "Epic" is a family-friendly adventure filled with incredible CGI animation, fantastic 3-D graphics, and a mixed bag of "Rio" meets "Ferngully" style. The Bad News is that "Epic" is going to be nowhere near of great family films this year like "Escape From Planet Earth," "Despicable Me 2," "Monster's University," and now "The Smurfs 2." The film itself has taking too much pressure to release the film early for the summer movies to begin. The story in "Epic" is less entertaining (although some were that can't outmatch 2011's Rio), the voice acting is okay but I find it a bit too cheesey for a movie that got shut out thanks to Fast & Furious 6. Beyonce's a great singer and actress on her behalf, but "Epic" just feels a little short and that might've cost her a little, Amanda Seyfried very good actress but not good enough, and Josh Hutcherson (I really can't wait any longer for Catching Fire to come out this Thanksgiving) pretty much the same but very underrated. I think I'm gonna rent "Epic" because I'm not saying it's a bad or a so-so movie, it's very decent but a good family movie to watch or rent instead. Wait a minute! Didn't Fox just released another Epic movie called... Epic Movie? (starring two douchbags who don't know when to quit doing spoof movies over and over again.) Collapse
  14. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    This was a pretty entertaining movie most of the time. I like the animated movies but for some reason I found this movie kind of boring... What it was I can not say story line, animation, voicing?). Over all above average but not exceptional.
  15. May 24, 2013
    6
    Spectacular quality. Hidden Kingdom is very busy and super colorful and very funny. Also more action and battle scenes are very well done. Now I know why the movie is called Epic.
  16. Oct 30, 2015
    5
    Scenes that remembered me movies like "Honey, I shrunk the kids (1989)" try to help me to understand the fail in this story. Something we can't complain is the animation that in technical aspects is good but the story lacks of emotion.

    A cold story that takes our heroine MK into a undiscovered world that is missing the "Epic" meaning during the whole movie. She is taken there just for
    Scenes that remembered me movies like "Honey, I shrunk the kids (1989)" try to help me to understand the fail in this story. Something we can't complain is the animation that in technical aspects is good but the story lacks of emotion.

    A cold story that takes our heroine MK into a undiscovered world that is missing the "Epic" meaning during the whole movie. She is taken there just for the typical reason that you need to see to believe. The creatures are just that creatures that appears during the movie but doesn't express a story or do not fulfill what we really want or have in our mind. Perhaps you can have fun during the movie but I bet that you won't repeat it anymore. The story is unexpected, unpolished, lacks of that emotion from all the characters in the movie and at the end you will think, is that all, really??
    Expand
  17. May 29, 2013
    5
    OK animated movie. Sometimes beautiful, often banal. Visually imaginative and arresting but I am getting really sick of the endless iterations on the "child alienated from his/her father coming together in a joint endeavour" routine they roll out in virtually every kid's movie these days. In this movie, that particular plot-line was completely gratuitous and fairly irritating. The bestOK animated movie. Sometimes beautiful, often banal. Visually imaginative and arresting but I am getting really sick of the endless iterations on the "child alienated from his/her father coming together in a joint endeavour" routine they roll out in virtually every kid's movie these days. In this movie, that particular plot-line was completely gratuitous and fairly irritating. The best thing in this was the three legged dog. The worst thing was the smarmy leaf queen. Nevertheless, the movie has its moments of wit and humour, and on balance, this is not a bad show for slightly older kids. Small ones will not be able to follow it, as it it is edited like a Star Wars movie, and there are some sequences that might be a little scary. Expand
  18. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    Epic was ok, but nothing Epic about it. When you have a name like Epic you should bring something more special.The movie does have it`s moments, and I thought it was fun to watch, but failed to have that it moment.
  19. Mar 10, 2014
    5
    Basically this is Ferngully meets Lord of the Rings, kinda. There really is nothing that special in this movie. Animation is OK, Voice acting is OK (Collin Farrel kinda sticking out.) Script and plot are nothing we haven't seen before.

    Overall: Really nothing special. The movie is OK and does have a few good moment, but on the whole it really isn't anything special or even memorable. I
    Basically this is Ferngully meets Lord of the Rings, kinda. There really is nothing that special in this movie. Animation is OK, Voice acting is OK (Collin Farrel kinda sticking out.) Script and plot are nothing we haven't seen before.

    Overall:
    Really nothing special. The movie is OK and does have a few good moment, but on the whole it really isn't anything special or even memorable. I wouldn't say give it a miss, but I also wouldn't say go out of your way to watch it. Basically, this a decent movie to watch, when there is nothing else available.
    Expand
  20. May 30, 2013
    6
    Wasn't as childish as I thought it would be. However, it certainly loses out to other animated films by Pixar, Disney and Dreamworks. I felt that everything seemed too coincidental; the day of the queen transferring her power coinciding with the time when Mary went over to the exact location of the queen. It was as if the producer had made it that way just to cook up this movie. Other thanWasn't as childish as I thought it would be. However, it certainly loses out to other animated films by Pixar, Disney and Dreamworks. I felt that everything seemed too coincidental; the day of the queen transferring her power coinciding with the time when Mary went over to the exact location of the queen. It was as if the producer had made it that way just to cook up this movie. Other than that, not TOO bad. Enjoyable if you don't go noticing all the loopholes. But it lacks emotions and there are some boring parts. If you want to watch it, get ready for something not quite epic. Expand
  21. May 28, 2013
    5
    The cast of voice actors and actresses for this movie are pretty impressive, but to no avail. This movie falls flat on it's face with every line and action being nothing but cliche. Yes, it's hard to really create something new with so many ideas already thought, but I believe this movie hardly tries to be anything but a friendly movie for adults and children to watch together. SomethingThe cast of voice actors and actresses for this movie are pretty impressive, but to no avail. This movie falls flat on it's face with every line and action being nothing but cliche. Yes, it's hard to really create something new with so many ideas already thought, but I believe this movie hardly tries to be anything but a friendly movie for adults and children to watch together. Something to put on while so your kids take a nap. Expand
  22. Jun 7, 2013
    4
    I won't lie when I say there was no real reason for me to see epic. I don't have children and I'm not necessarily an animation junkie, but I don't mind trying out the latest computer animated films as more times than not they have a certain high degree of quality to them despite their markets current over-saturation. Besides epic, which has the distinction and the advantage of opening theI won't lie when I say there was no real reason for me to see epic. I don't have children and I'm not necessarily an animation junkie, but I don't mind trying out the latest computer animated films as more times than not they have a certain high degree of quality to them despite their markets current over-saturation. Besides epic, which has the distinction and the advantage of opening the summer movie season for the kiddos, we have the annual Disney Pixar offering which this year is a prequel to one of my favorites of theirs, Monsters Inc. as well as the sequel to 2009's surprise animated hit from Illumination Entertainment Despicable Me which could end up wiping the floor with Dreamworks Turbo that opens a few weeks after Gru and his minions no doubt dominate the fourth of July weekend. And while epic will seemingly only be on the same quality level as that forgotten before it gets here Ryan Reynolds vehicle it still has some good qualities going for it. With epic, Blue Sky studios (the Ice Age films, Rio) has delivered a completely creative and imaginative world of characters that suffer only from the lack of originality that is delivered through its story. This may be due to the fact that five different writers collaborated on the screenplay or simply because when you break it down to its simplest form it is as classic a tale of good vs. evil as there ever could be. I don't mind this because it has a few other layers that make the story a little more engaging if not being a little too subtle for the target audience. Still, despite the fact that epic is sometimes unintentionally funny when at its most serious and often can feel like a direct to video feature, it looks like a big studio film and has enough creative juices flowing in its character and production designs that we can forgive it's laziness in terms of story, for the most part.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  23. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    "Epic" shows promise for at least the first twenty minutes, until it reaches the average and ordinary cliche's that many kid movies have attained, with nothing more to impress. While the first twenty minutes proves to show a generally convincing personality from the protagonist, MK, the storyline for her falls a little flat afterwords. The film then follows a generic good-versus-evil"Epic" shows promise for at least the first twenty minutes, until it reaches the average and ordinary cliche's that many kid movies have attained, with nothing more to impress. While the first twenty minutes proves to show a generally convincing personality from the protagonist, MK, the storyline for her falls a little flat afterwords. The film then follows a generic good-versus-evil story MK falls in love with a misfit, the good guys win, bad guy loses; with the saddening issue to how it never takes deep twists and turns. Despite this, the character relationships are done fine; the relationship with MK and her father work out well, while relationships between MK and her love interest Nod, or Nod and his mentor Ronin, feel a bit too familiar. Along with this, the humor gets a bit tedious after the well done first twenty minutes occurred, similar to "Despicable Me 2", and drags out a bit. Though the story is awfully predictable and generic, the emotional connections and plot elements are well done at times, and the ending result adds to a little (very little) bit higher than average. But overall, Epic really doesn't add up to its name. Expand
  24. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    While the animation is decent, "Epic" suffers from the fact it just looks like it was phoned-in. The story is boring, the characters are lifeless and I found I just couldn't find myself caring a single shred over what happens to the characters in this movie. Finally, the cast brought in to bring life to the animated characters could not have been more wrong for the film as they eitherWhile the animation is decent, "Epic" suffers from the fact it just looks like it was phoned-in. The story is boring, the characters are lifeless and I found I just couldn't find myself caring a single shred over what happens to the characters in this movie. Finally, the cast brought in to bring life to the animated characters could not have been more wrong for the film as they either are just bad voice actors or they just don't look like the voice that should belong to the character design. Expand
  25. Aug 9, 2013
    4
    If I had to judge the film based on the amount of effort put into the animation, color and smoothness of textures I'd give a 10. Though I was constantly distracted by the plot which left much to be desired. It's understandable that this is a film for kids but it only appeals to those of a short attention span and I would even see some kids eventually get bored of the humor projected mainlyIf I had to judge the film based on the amount of effort put into the animation, color and smoothness of textures I'd give a 10. Though I was constantly distracted by the plot which left much to be desired. It's understandable that this is a film for kids but it only appeals to those of a short attention span and I would even see some kids eventually get bored of the humor projected mainly from the slugs. Characters who had very little involvement in the plot managed to achieve undeserved roles near the ending when all they did was say a few lines and disappear for half of the movie compared to other characters who did all the work and all they get is a pat on the back and sent away when they were no longer needed. Don't get me wrong, the film would've been amazing if they worked a little more on plot development than just throwing in random occurrences to get the story to move along. Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    I really had high hopes for this movie, it had all the good elements decent characters and catchy story line. I was rather disappointed for the end. Call me sentimental, but the guy didn't get the girl and I found because of that the end was patchy and left me feeling rather displeased and disappointed with the ending.
  27. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    What I did not like that almost any child who was with me in the room laughed at times dianvulaban few giggles around the room from time to time and that there are many scenes that try to be funny (do not make mission), the final and as you know from the 20 minute course. The good thing is that it leaves a clear environmental message: take care of nature, if you do not care we're doingWhat I did not like that almost any child who was with me in the room laughed at times dianvulaban few giggles around the room from time to time and that there are many scenes that try to be funny (do not make mission), the final and as you know from the 20 minute course. The good thing is that it leaves a clear environmental message: take care of nature, if you do not care we're doing wrong, the plot and some characters (because some people are a bit copied from the saga of Tinkerbell) That if you try to copy to. many respects to the Tinkerbell movies. Expand
  28. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    I don't know what else to say except it's unoriginal and somewhat boring. It's just everything but epic. I wouldn't really recommend watching this movie.
  29. Mar 1, 2014
    6
    I can not give more than 6, because it was a bit boring and predictable, this beautiful and realistic animation, but the plot no. Honestly, the characters were not good, ie, their performance was greatly exaggerated, so this rating remains with Blue Sky and hopefully a little bit more esfuerze next time, you know, with Rio 2.
  30. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another eco-friendly film from Blue Sky Studios, Epic (2013) is certainly not something I expected. At first I am not delighted to watch its contemporary elements because I thought this film would set in a medieval times. Never mind that but the first quarter or half horribly failed to captivate and it is too boring to bear so I dropped it and re-watch it a week later in a better mood.

    In the end, it actually has a pretty interesting concept but I strongly dislike the fact that they name this film epic because it is nothing close to that word. Epic means very great or impressive or heroic/grand in scale or character; if you watch this you will understand how I feel. Gorgeous visuals as usual but this is truly misleading; an injustice and this film doesn't live up to its title.

    PS. Love their voice casts though.
    Expand
  31. WJS
    Nov 20, 2015
    6
    Beautifully rendered and well voiced, "Epic" unfortunately labours under a somewhat distracted narrative that really proves to be not much more that a bunch of spectacular set pieces woven together in to a fairly basic fairy tale.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The ratio of humor and action and parent-child bonding is so formulaic, and the character design and molded-figurine-like animation so typical of the genre in the age of Pixar (and Pixar imitators), that Epic evaporates from the mind within minutes of leaving the theater.
  2. Reviewed by: Jenny McCartney
    May 27, 2013
    60
    The diminution works its appeal once again in Epic – the latest film from the creators of "Ice Age" and "Rio" – which is just as well, because the rest of the narrative follows a rather predictable route.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Rose
    May 27, 2013
    60
    What stands out is the animation. The microcosmic woodland world is luminous and detailed, and there's a nice disconnect of scale whereby humans appear as lumbering, slow-motion giants.