User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 145
  2. Negative: 12 out of 145
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2013
    6
    I wasn't really quite sure about this movie. After watching the tesar trailer I thought it was going to be really awesome. Then once I saw some of the commercials, I wasn't quite sure. But after watching this, for what it's worth, it's an enjoyable movie. It does have it's awesome moments like from the tesar trailer, then it has its moments like from the commercials. But lets get to theI wasn't really quite sure about this movie. After watching the tesar trailer I thought it was going to be really awesome. Then once I saw some of the commercials, I wasn't quite sure. But after watching this, for what it's worth, it's an enjoyable movie. It does have it's awesome moments like from the tesar trailer, then it has its moments like from the commercials. But lets get to the positive things about this movie. First off, the battle sequences in this movie were amazing. And when they really try to show you the world of the forest, it feels like your watching "Avatar." But when you have characters like the slugs, that's when the movie starts to loose that good quality feel. I honestly thought the slugs would actually be somewhat funny, but honestly, they weaken the movie with there quirkiness. It's really hard to give this movie a rating when you have really good action and animation and really bad characters and quirky moments. But overall, it's still (somewhat) of an amazing movie. But I will not say it was Epic. Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    5
    It's just was not that good a movie overall. I felt that the movie's plot was not that good; no shocking twists or turns. Just a predictable flow of events. I heard that the CGI was going to be awesome, but I just did not get blown away. and it barely made up for the bad script. I still don't get the name of the movie. I don't see the theme being reflected in the movie itself. Or maybeIt's just was not that good a movie overall. I felt that the movie's plot was not that good; no shocking twists or turns. Just a predictable flow of events. I heard that the CGI was going to be awesome, but I just did not get blown away. and it barely made up for the bad script. I still don't get the name of the movie. I don't see the theme being reflected in the movie itself. Or maybe what the producers meant was that the movie was going to be epic. If it was, then it didn't show. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    3
    A case of gross mis titling as Epic is anything but. It is in fact just a below par toon full of cutesy characters, predictable plot points, good vs evil, boy meets girl, blah, blah. There is no faulting the imagination in the animation as is generally the case in these types of film, but this one feels particularly adult resistant. There are a couple of good scenes( the meeting with theA case of gross mis titling as Epic is anything but. It is in fact just a below par toon full of cutesy characters, predictable plot points, good vs evil, boy meets girl, blah, blah. There is no faulting the imagination in the animation as is generally the case in these types of film, but this one feels particularly adult resistant. There are a couple of good scenes( the meeting with the deer, and the dog chasing the lead characters round the laboratory) or moments one in particular is very funny), but mainly it's an exercise in irritating tedium. I particularly disliked the father, and the snail and slug should have been trodden under foot. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    A good looking, but boring animation. I'd say about twenty minutes in to this film I started to just not care about The Leaf men or those things they were fighting and yes the story with the girl and her father somewhat matters overall whatever.
  5. May 25, 2013
    7
    EPIC

    Epic is a 3D computer-animated feature from the makers of Ice Age. It is based on William Joyce's childrens book The Leaf and the Brave Good Bugs. It stars Amanda Seyfried (Les Miserables), Josh Hutcherson (Hunger Games) and Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained). It's about a teenage girl who is magically transformed into the size of a bug upon encountering a hidden world of
    EPIC

    Epic is a 3D computer-animated feature from the makers of Ice Age. It is based on William Joyce's childrens book The Leaf and the Brave Good Bugs. It stars Amanda Seyfried (Les Miserables), Josh Hutcherson (Hunger Games) and Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained). It's about a teenage girl who is magically transformed into the size of a bug upon encountering a hidden world of creatures living deep within the forest. She finds herself thrust into a battle with a race of tiny warriors and must help them stop a heinous force of evil from killing all of the life around them.

    The world in which this movie was set was very imaginative and creative. While I found it to be visually stunning and the 3D animation to be quite amazing, the story itself just didn't quite hit the mark. It was more dark and dramatic than most other animated films I've seen. It was somewhat morbid for a movie geared towards children and any moments of comic relief were few and far between. Mostly, I felt it was lacking in the depth of the characters and therefore left me a bit uninterested at times.

    I liked most of the action sequences and it was fun to watch in 3D. While some of the attempts at humor fail to cause laughter, there were some funny moments with a duo made up of a slug and a snail played by Aziz Ansari (30 Rock) and Chris O'Dowd (Bridesmaids). Aside from the visuals, they were the highlight of the movie.

    On the upside, when walking out of the theater, I did hear a lot of the children saying they enjoyed the movie.

    In my opinion, Epic is a little disappointing and doesn't quite live up to its title.

    This movie also features the voices of Colin Farrell, Jason Sudeikis, Steven Tyler, Beyonce Knowles, Pitbull, Judah Freelander, and Blake Anderson.

    My Grade for this film: B-
    Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    It's "epic" all right... "Epic"-ally boring. I had Fern Gully swimming around in my head the entire movie. Although it took on an environmental theme, the storyline did not convince me that it was fighting the "green fight" the way it had intended. The voicing was OK. The animation was average. If you find yourself nodding off during the show, you are not alone.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    "Epic dares to be original, unique and well creative, but its not. It offers very little to most adults while only "truly" entertaining the children. Its Blue Sky animations worst movie to date and on the low end of the animation spectrum, I expected more" C
  8. May 27, 2013
    5
    This is basically the "Brave" of 2013. Thinly plotted, cramped with too many characters, and ends all too quickly. The plot is also very predictable. There are better animated films you could watch, but this is alright entertainment.
  9. May 25, 2013
    10
    It's cool, it's funny and its sleek. Epic is epic. So. Epic is a children's movie that takes place in a abnormal kingdom- Hidden Kingdom where everyone is afraid of The King except the forces who fight against him. A little girl shrinks accidentally by a potion that her dad made- Honey I Shrunk The Kids there!- who studies forest life. The girl digs deeper and helps the kingdom's peoples.It's cool, it's funny and its sleek. Epic is epic. So. Epic is a children's movie that takes place in a abnormal kingdom- Hidden Kingdom where everyone is afraid of The King except the forces who fight against him. A little girl shrinks accidentally by a potion that her dad made- Honey I Shrunk The Kids there!- who studies forest life. The girl digs deeper and helps the kingdom's peoples. To speaking the truth, this is the best cgi animation so far in 2013. The story is colorful, dark and tense with very very fun. Voice Actors include a huge cast of A list actors and B list ones too. In the end, Epic is funny, smart and innovative. You should not miss this creative movie. It's just not a kids movie. It's a kids movie alright but it does it job well. Expand
  10. Jun 22, 2013
    4
    Epic is anything but epic in almost everyway. The movie so unaspiring that about 30 minutes into the film you just don't care about anything that is going on. A film to see with your kids once and then never again.
  11. Oct 12, 2013
    6
    So "Epic" isn't exactly epic, but it is a perfectly fun little animated movie that will enchant younger watchers. Thanks to its all star voice cast all performances are excellent. The animation is fantastic, bright, and colorful. Truly a treat for the eyes. The plot is decent and there are some pretty humorous moments, but overall it doesn't live up to some of the better animated moviesSo "Epic" isn't exactly epic, but it is a perfectly fun little animated movie that will enchant younger watchers. Thanks to its all star voice cast all performances are excellent. The animation is fantastic, bright, and colorful. Truly a treat for the eyes. The plot is decent and there are some pretty humorous moments, but overall it doesn't live up to some of the better animated movies out there. Just like most animated movie of this variety kids will love it. Adults will be able to appreciate it for the overall quality of the movie, I don't think they'll find it as great as some of Pixar and DreamWorks animated movies, but it wont bore them when they watch it with their kids. Overall it's a decent little film that kids will love and adults wont find miserable to watch. Heck a lot of adults might like it just as much as their kids do. Expand
  12. May 27, 2013
    3
    I was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like aI was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like a character that was shallow, vain and disassociated from the main conflict, and still wanted me to like him at the end where his "emotional change and growth" really wasn't big enough to warrant any change in how I perceived him. All in All this is a very good looking film but that doesn't make up for the massive deficiency in character development. Expand
  13. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    Epic is both a step forward for Blue Sky Studios and a step backward. On one end this film is epic with a cool mini-war, interesting animation, and an adult story (sometimes). However, what holds the film back are the generic kids movie elements that pervade all Blue Sky films some dumb kids humor, generic characters, and a cliché and predictable story. I’m glad I saw it and it didEpic is both a step forward for Blue Sky Studios and a step backward. On one end this film is epic with a cool mini-war, interesting animation, and an adult story (sometimes). However, what holds the film back are the generic kids movie elements that pervade all Blue Sky films some dumb kids humor, generic characters, and a cliché and predictable story. I’m glad I saw it and it did entertain me but at the same time it is nothing spectacular. I thought this world and the conflict was cool and it is what kept me engaged throughout the film. Its worth checking out if you are interested. Kids may or may not like this film. They could be frightened by the dark and adult moments or they could get through that ok and love all the dumb jokes and writing geared at them. Again not a bad film it does have some entertainment value but at the same time this is not like a Pixar film or the better Disney movies where you need to go see it. So if you have some time on your hands give it a watch and prepare to be mildly entertained. Expand
  14. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    The animators who did the "Ice Age" series and "Rio" have tried to go classy with this fantasy about a miniature kingdom of plants, animals and creatures in a battle for the beauty of nature. A young human woman gets involved in their world. The plot drags it down. It's too complicated & too talky. The art direction is sometimes attractive, but some of it is weird. The snappy humor andThe animators who did the "Ice Age" series and "Rio" have tried to go classy with this fantasy about a miniature kingdom of plants, animals and creatures in a battle for the beauty of nature. A young human woman gets involved in their world. The plot drags it down. It's too complicated & too talky. The art direction is sometimes attractive, but some of it is weird. The snappy humor and wacky characters that make their other movies such fun is almost non-existent (only Chris O'Dowd and Aziz Ansari provide any laffs). The whole thing is adequaate, but not much more. Expand
  15. May 28, 2013
    6
    I have to give this movie a pass (barely) because the animation is spectacular. The 3D is excellent as well. As far as the plot goes, we have yet another bumbling father figure obsessed more with his work than his daughter, and the daughter is whiney and naggy. The story is a composite of Star Wars, Avatar, The Littles, and several Hayao Miyasaki movies. Nothing original. The filmI have to give this movie a pass (barely) because the animation is spectacular. The 3D is excellent as well. As far as the plot goes, we have yet another bumbling father figure obsessed more with his work than his daughter, and the daughter is whiney and naggy. The story is a composite of Star Wars, Avatar, The Littles, and several Hayao Miyasaki movies. Nothing original. The film desperately needs more humor. The snail and the slug are the best part of the film but don't have enough screen time. With a little more time spent on the script this movie could have been great, as the art direction department definitely did their job. Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    A very good diversion for small children, and worthwhile for accompanying adults as long as they are comfortable with fantasy. It is well-filmed and well-executed, and the pacing feels about right for summer fare. It is not highly original (e.g. Ferngully, Arthur and the Invisibles, etc.), but is fine enough update on older concepts to be satisfying. There is decent humor that resultedA very good diversion for small children, and worthwhile for accompanying adults as long as they are comfortable with fantasy. It is well-filmed and well-executed, and the pacing feels about right for summer fare. It is not highly original (e.g. Ferngully, Arthur and the Invisibles, etc.), but is fine enough update on older concepts to be satisfying. There is decent humor that resulted in both children and adults laughing out loud in the theater, and the action sequences are great for boys in the audience. No doubt, the princess references are fine by the little girls as well.

    In summary not the best, or even a great, animated film ever, but it has something for everyone.
    Expand
  17. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    I vacillated between giving an epic a 5 or a 6 and whilst I realise this is metacritic most people knee jerk to 0 or 10 I've finally come down on the side of 5.

    It's pretty but empty; horribly stereotyped with (some) poor voice acting. There is a lot to say about it's generic a cliched story and characters but. But... At this point of typing I've realised I just don't care enough
    I vacillated between giving an epic a 5 or a 6 and whilst I realise this is metacritic most people knee jerk to 0 or 10 I've finally come down on the side of 5.

    It's pretty but empty; horribly stereotyped with (some) poor voice acting. There is a lot to say about it's generic a cliched story and characters but. But...

    At this point of typing I've realised I just don't care enough finish this. And yes, I really do appreciate the irony in this 'review'.
    Expand
  18. May 11, 2014
    10
    One of the best animated movies I have ever seen. Not only was it action packed but it was a visual masterpiece. The story was engaging and heart warming. Visually it was stunning and incredibly beautiful. By far this was an incredible film and epic stunning journey.
  19. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    I don't know why they called this film "Epic." It's more like a simply titled "A Movie of Epic Proportions." That's not the case. Here's the good news: "Epic" is a family-friendly adventure filled with incredible CGI animation, fantastic 3-D graphics, and a mixed bag of "Rio" meets "Ferngully" style. The Bad News is that "Epic" is going to be nowhere near of great family films this yearI don't know why they called this film "Epic." It's more like a simply titled "A Movie of Epic Proportions." That's not the case. Here's the good news: "Epic" is a family-friendly adventure filled with incredible CGI animation, fantastic 3-D graphics, and a mixed bag of "Rio" meets "Ferngully" style. The Bad News is that "Epic" is going to be nowhere near of great family films this year like "Escape From Planet Earth," "Despicable Me 2," "Monster's University," and now "The Smurfs 2." The film itself has taking too much pressure to release the film early for the summer movies to begin. The story in "Epic" is less entertaining (although some were that can't outmatch 2011's Rio), the voice acting is okay but I find it a bit too cheesey for a movie that got shut out thanks to Fast & Furious 6. Beyonce's a great singer and actress on her behalf, but "Epic" just feels a little short and that might've cost her a little, Amanda Seyfried very good actress but not good enough, and Josh Hutcherson (I really can't wait any longer for Catching Fire to come out this Thanksgiving) pretty much the same but very underrated. I think I'm gonna rent "Epic" because I'm not saying it's a bad or a so-so movie, it's very decent but a good family movie to watch or rent instead. Wait a minute! Didn't Fox just released another Epic movie called... Epic Movie? (starring two douchbags who don't know when to quit doing spoof movies over and over again.) Expand
  20. Sep 3, 2013
    7
    Blue Sky Studios, an animation company most known for the Ice Age series has created in Epic a film of astounding beauty with a story that feels both original and fun despite the fact it is based on a novel by William Joyce. When the queen of the forest (Beyonce Knowles) transfers her powers to a pod about to bloom, lead leafman and sworn protector of it Ronin (Colin Farrell) is taskedBlue Sky Studios, an animation company most known for the Ice Age series has created in Epic a film of astounding beauty with a story that feels both original and fun despite the fact it is based on a novel by William Joyce. When the queen of the forest (Beyonce Knowles) transfers her powers to a pod about to bloom, lead leafman and sworn protector of it Ronin (Colin Farrell) is tasked with protecting it with M.K (Amanda Seyfried), a human who has been shrunk to help the people of the forest defend the pod against Mandrake (Christoph Waltz, the leader of a group of creatures intent on destroying everything living. Epic is unexpected, exciting and clever and when the script isn't spewing out cliched dialogue about grief and loss, its actually quite funny with a story worth following. Unlike the rest of this years animation crop, Epic is a different animal, a light hearted adventure story just like the rest but displayed in a way that makes it original, especially in terms of the animation which helps establish this hard to believe yet wonderful world. Director Chris Wedge, the director of the original Ice Age has yet again created a world worth revisiting as it is ripe with potential. Filled with an impressive voice cast, Epic is just pure fun for kids and adults as it messes with the viewers sense of scale to create an adventure like none other. Expand
  21. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    This was a pretty entertaining movie most of the time. I like the animated movies but for some reason I found this movie kind of boring... What it was I can not say story line, animation, voicing?). Over all above average but not exceptional.
  22. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    Not a good movie. Lacks on story and characters. And did I mention story is not that good?? Took my 6 year old daughter to see this as she loves going to the movies. First and only movie (so far) she asked to leave before it was over. Very boring. Skip it
  23. May 24, 2013
    6
    Spectacular quality. Hidden Kingdom is very busy and super colorful and very funny. Also more action and battle scenes are very well done. Now I know why the movie is called Epic.
  24. May 29, 2013
    5
    OK animated movie. Sometimes beautiful, often banal. Visually imaginative and arresting but I am getting really sick of the endless iterations on the "child alienated from his/her father coming together in a joint endeavour" routine they roll out in virtually every kid's movie these days. In this movie, that particular plot-line was completely gratuitous and fairly irritating. The bestOK animated movie. Sometimes beautiful, often banal. Visually imaginative and arresting but I am getting really sick of the endless iterations on the "child alienated from his/her father coming together in a joint endeavour" routine they roll out in virtually every kid's movie these days. In this movie, that particular plot-line was completely gratuitous and fairly irritating. The best thing in this was the three legged dog. The worst thing was the smarmy leaf queen. Nevertheless, the movie has its moments of wit and humour, and on balance, this is not a bad show for slightly older kids. Small ones will not be able to follow it, as it it is edited like a Star Wars movie, and there are some sequences that might be a little scary. Expand
  25. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    Epic was ok, but nothing Epic about it. When you have a name like Epic you should bring something more special.The movie does have it`s moments, and I thought it was fun to watch, but failed to have that it moment.
  26. Mar 10, 2014
    5
    Basically this is Ferngully meets Lord of the Rings, kinda. There really is nothing that special in this movie. Animation is OK, Voice acting is OK (Collin Farrel kinda sticking out.) Script and plot are nothing we haven't seen before.

    Overall: Really nothing special. The movie is OK and does have a few good moment, but on the whole it really isn't anything special or even memorable. I
    Basically this is Ferngully meets Lord of the Rings, kinda. There really is nothing that special in this movie. Animation is OK, Voice acting is OK (Collin Farrel kinda sticking out.) Script and plot are nothing we haven't seen before.

    Overall:
    Really nothing special. The movie is OK and does have a few good moment, but on the whole it really isn't anything special or even memorable. I wouldn't say give it a miss, but I also wouldn't say go out of your way to watch it. Basically, this a decent movie to watch, when there is nothing else available.
    Expand
  27. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    It may not be very original, but Epic is still one of the best animated movies I have seen in recent memory (and the best effort from Blue Sky to date). A whriling, twisted, exciting, and fun moral tale that is visually epic. Its' solidly voiced, it has its' hilarious moments, and it has some nice messages about family reconciliation and the like. Plus the story is much moreIt may not be very original, but Epic is still one of the best animated movies I have seen in recent memory (and the best effort from Blue Sky to date). A whriling, twisted, exciting, and fun moral tale that is visually epic. Its' solidly voiced, it has its' hilarious moments, and it has some nice messages about family reconciliation and the like. Plus the story is much more well-written and emotionally deeper than any of Blue Sky Studios' other offerings. But Epic's stunning animation is truly worth the price of admission alone. There's also a clever reference or two to Disney movies such as The Lion King and Aladdin.

    The movie is also a clean adventure you can take your whole family to see. Sensitive kindergarteners and under may be overwhelmed by the battle sequences.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
    Expand
  28. GFC
    Jun 23, 2013
    3
    Alright so I saw the trailer for this movie and I got excited. Epic looked like it was going to be an above average film. But when I went there it was just a complete bore. Its has the typical characters that you would expect and an unoriginal Idea. Remember ant story or whatever it was called? Also this movie got to repetitive with its action scenes. They were the exact same every time.Alright so I saw the trailer for this movie and I got excited. Epic looked like it was going to be an above average film. But when I went there it was just a complete bore. Its has the typical characters that you would expect and an unoriginal Idea. Remember ant story or whatever it was called? Also this movie got to repetitive with its action scenes. They were the exact same every time. This is a movie I think you should all avoid unless you are very curios. Expand
  29. May 26, 2013
    8
    Epic is a fun movie with a great message about the environment. the movie works for kids and adult as well. This is away for kids to learn about the importance of the world around them and that everything is connected. This movie does a great job in giving this message even to adults. I say grown take your children and well have a great abd fun time rooting for the good guys.
  30. May 30, 2013
    6
    Wasn't as childish as I thought it would be. However, it certainly loses out to other animated films by Pixar, Disney and Dreamworks. I felt that everything seemed too coincidental; the day of the queen transferring her power coinciding with the time when Mary went over to the exact location of the queen. It was as if the producer had made it that way just to cook up this movie. Other thanWasn't as childish as I thought it would be. However, it certainly loses out to other animated films by Pixar, Disney and Dreamworks. I felt that everything seemed too coincidental; the day of the queen transferring her power coinciding with the time when Mary went over to the exact location of the queen. It was as if the producer had made it that way just to cook up this movie. Other than that, not TOO bad. Enjoyable if you don't go noticing all the loopholes. But it lacks emotions and there are some boring parts. If you want to watch it, get ready for something not quite epic. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The ratio of humor and action and parent-child bonding is so formulaic, and the character design and molded-figurine-like animation so typical of the genre in the age of Pixar (and Pixar imitators), that Epic evaporates from the mind within minutes of leaving the theater.
  2. Reviewed by: Jenny McCartney
    May 27, 2013
    60
    The diminution works its appeal once again in Epic – the latest film from the creators of "Ice Age" and "Rio" – which is just as well, because the rest of the narrative follows a rather predictable route.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Rose
    May 27, 2013
    60
    What stands out is the animation. The microcosmic woodland world is luminous and detailed, and there's a nice disconnect of scale whereby humans appear as lumbering, slow-motion giants.