Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Epic tells the story of an ongoing battle between the forces of good, who keep the natural world alive, and the forces of evil, who wish to destroy it. When a teenage girl finds herself magically transported into this secret universe, she teams up with an elite band of warriors and a crew of comical, larger-than-life figures, to save their world...and ours. Expand
  • Director: Chris Wedge
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 102 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Stephan Lee
    May 23, 2013
    83
    Epic isn't quite destined for the “Again, again!” re-watchability of some of the Pixar classics, but for a satisfying explosion of color on a lazy summer day, it does the trick.
  2. 70
    While it might not amount to epic animated filmmaking in terms of scope and invention, Epic, a 3D, CG adventure-fantasy from Blue Sky Studios, nevertheless makes for pleasantly engaging viewing.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 23, 2013
    63
    The film's clever use of emerald-colored hummingbirds as transportation is a highlight.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    May 21, 2013
    60
    By no means an epic fail, but lacking the spry wit of more adult-friendly animations, this is big on action and small on originality. Gorgeous visuals aside, Epic is resolutely kiddie fare.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The ratio of humor and action and parent-child bonding is so formulaic, and the character design and molded-figurine-like animation so typical of the genre in the age of Pixar (and Pixar imitators), that Epic evaporates from the mind within minutes of leaving the theater.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 23, 2013
    50
    When the movie should touch the heart, it just misses. When moments should produce gales of laughter, it struggles for a smile. When panic and fear should set the heart racing, it doesn't.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 23, 2013
    20
    Even young would-be botanists will find this charmless animated adventure as exciting as watching grass grow.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    It's cool, it's funny and its sleek. Epic is epic. So. Epic is a children's movie that takes place in a abnormal kingdom- Hidden Kingdom where everyone is afraid of The King except the forces who fight against him. A little girl shrinks accidentally by a potion that her dad made- Honey I Shrunk The Kids there!- who studies forest life. The girl digs deeper and helps the kingdom's peoples. To speaking the truth, this is the best cgi animation so far in 2013. The story is colorful, dark and tense with very very fun. Voice Actors include a huge cast of A list actors and B list ones too. In the end, Epic is funny, smart and innovative. You should not miss this creative movie. It's just not a kids movie. It's a kids movie alright but it does it job well. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    It may not be very original, but Epic is still one of the best animated movies I have seen in recent memory (and the best effort from Blue Sky to date). A whriling, twisted, exciting, and fun moral tale that is visually epic. Its' solidly voiced, it has its' hilarious moments, and it has some nice messages about family reconciliation and the like. Plus the story is much more well-written and emotionally deeper than any of Blue Sky Studios' other offerings. But Epic's stunning animation is truly worth the price of admission alone. There's also a clever reference or two to Disney movies such as The Lion King and Aladdin.

    The movie is also a clean adventure you can take your whole family to see. Sensitive kindergarteners and under may be overwhelmed by the battle sequences.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
    Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    7
    Blue Sky Studios, an animation company most known for the Ice Age series has created in Epic a film of astounding beauty with a story that feels both original and fun despite the fact it is based on a novel by William Joyce. When the queen of the forest (Beyonce Knowles) transfers her powers to a pod about to bloom, lead leafman and sworn protector of it Ronin (Colin Farrell) is tasked with protecting it with M.K (Amanda Seyfried), a human who has been shrunk to help the people of the forest defend the pod against Mandrake (Christoph Waltz, the leader of a group of creatures intent on destroying everything living. Epic is unexpected, exciting and clever and when the script isn't spewing out cliched dialogue about grief and loss, its actually quite funny with a story worth following. Unlike the rest of this years animation crop, Epic is a different animal, a light hearted adventure story just like the rest but displayed in a way that makes it original, especially in terms of the animation which helps establish this hard to believe yet wonderful world. Director Chris Wedge, the director of the original Ice Age has yet again created a world worth revisiting as it is ripe with potential. Filled with an impressive voice cast, Epic is just pure fun for kids and adults as it messes with the viewers sense of scale to create an adventure like none other. Expand
  4. May 30, 2013
    6
    Wasn't as childish as I thought it would be. However, it certainly loses out to other animated films by Pixar, Disney and Dreamworks. I felt that everything seemed too coincidental; the day of the queen transferring her power coinciding with the time when Mary went over to the exact location of the queen. It was as if the producer had made it that way just to cook up this movie. Other than that, not TOO bad. Enjoyable if you don't go noticing all the loopholes. But it lacks emotions and there are some boring parts. If you want to watch it, get ready for something not quite epic. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another eco-friendly film from Blue Sky Studios, Epic (2013) is certainly not something I expected. At first I am not delighted to watch its contemporary elements because I thought this film would set in a medieval times. Never mind that but the first quarter or half horribly failed to captivate and it is too boring to bear so I dropped it and re-watch it a week later in a better mood.

    In the end, it actually has a pretty interesting concept but I strongly dislike the fact that they name this film epic because it is nothing close to that word. Epic means very great or impressive or heroic/grand in scale or character; if you watch this you will understand how I feel. Gorgeous visuals as usual but this is truly misleading; an injustice and this film doesn't live up to its title.

    PS. Love their voice casts though.
    Expand
  6. May 29, 2013
    5
    OK animated movie. Sometimes beautiful, often banal. Visually imaginative and arresting but I am getting really sick of the endless iterations on the "child alienated from his/her father coming together in a joint endeavour" routine they roll out in virtually every kid's movie these days. In this movie, that particular plot-line was completely gratuitous and fairly irritating. The best thing in this was the three legged dog. The worst thing was the smarmy leaf queen. Nevertheless, the movie has its moments of wit and humour, and on balance, this is not a bad show for slightly older kids. Small ones will not be able to follow it, as it it is edited like a Star Wars movie, and there are some sequences that might be a little scary. Collapse
  7. May 27, 2013
    3
    I was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like a character that was shallow, vain and disassociated from the main conflict, and still wanted me to like him at the end where his "emotional change and growth" really wasn't big enough to warrant any change in how I perceived him. All in All this is a very good looking film but that doesn't make up for the massive deficiency in character development. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers