Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Epic tells the story of an ongoing battle between the forces of good, who keep the natural world alive, and the forces of evil, who wish to destroy it. When a teenage girl finds herself magically transported into this secret universe, she teams up with an elite band of warriors and a crew of comical, larger-than-life figures, to save their world...and ours. Expand
  • Director: Chris Wedge
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 102 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Stephan Lee
    May 23, 2013
    83
    Epic isn't quite destined for the “Again, again!” re-watchability of some of the Pixar classics, but for a satisfying explosion of color on a lazy summer day, it does the trick.
  2. 70
    While it might not amount to epic animated filmmaking in terms of scope and invention, Epic, a 3D, CG adventure-fantasy from Blue Sky Studios, nevertheless makes for pleasantly engaging viewing.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 23, 2013
    63
    The film's clever use of emerald-colored hummingbirds as transportation is a highlight.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    May 21, 2013
    60
    By no means an epic fail, but lacking the spry wit of more adult-friendly animations, this is big on action and small on originality. Gorgeous visuals aside, Epic is resolutely kiddie fare.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The ratio of humor and action and parent-child bonding is so formulaic, and the character design and molded-figurine-like animation so typical of the genre in the age of Pixar (and Pixar imitators), that Epic evaporates from the mind within minutes of leaving the theater.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 23, 2013
    50
    When the movie should touch the heart, it just misses. When moments should produce gales of laughter, it struggles for a smile. When panic and fear should set the heart racing, it doesn't.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 23, 2013
    20
    Even young would-be botanists will find this charmless animated adventure as exciting as watching grass grow.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    It's cool, it's funny and its sleek. Epic is epic. So. Epic is a children's movie that takes place in a abnormal kingdom- Hidden Kingdom where everyone is afraid of The King except the forces who fight against him. A little girl shrinks accidentally by a potion that her dad made- Honey I Shrunk The Kids there!- who studies forest life. The girl digs deeper and helps the kingdom's peoples. To speaking the truth, this is the best cgi animation so far in 2013. The story is colorful, dark and tense with very very fun. Voice Actors include a huge cast of A list actors and B list ones too. In the end, Epic is funny, smart and innovative. You should not miss this creative movie. It's just not a kids movie. It's a kids movie alright but it does it job well. Expand
  2. May 27, 2013
    8
    This movie is great, for an animated movie. It contains a history that is moving, with a great message, a wide array of characters, great sound and visuals, good battle scenes; for a kid movie; and a relation that is most humorous, along with some twists that would make the people who like to guess the end of the movie before it arrives; me; feeling that their money was well spent for the possibility of good endings, is pretty wide.

    Another great feature of this film is the vast amount of messages and interconnected stories that can make a great teaching in the hands of someone who can take a simple phrase or an action and turn it into a teachings. A relation father-daughter with the stress it can give when distance and grieving is involved, or the rebellious soldier who is always shrugging his duty, and many more that would make this movie a great candidate for owning and re watching.

    I would definitely recommend this movie to all of you who want to spend a nice time and take away something beautiful in the process, or even if you don't take away anything, just the beauty of the green combined with the music make it worthwhile.
    Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    A very good diversion for small children, and worthwhile for accompanying adults as long as they are comfortable with fantasy. It is well-filmed and well-executed, and the pacing feels about right for summer fare. It is not highly original (e.g. Ferngully, Arthur and the Invisibles, etc.), but is fine enough update on older concepts to be satisfying. There is decent humor that resulted in both children and adults laughing out loud in the theater, and the action sequences are great for boys in the audience. No doubt, the princess references are fine by the little girls as well.

    In summary not the best, or even a great, animated film ever, but it has something for everyone.
    Collapse
  4. May 24, 2013
    6
    Spectacular quality. Hidden Kingdom is very busy and super colorful and very funny. Also more action and battle scenes are very well done. Now I know why the movie is called Epic. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    I really had high hopes for this movie, it had all the good elements decent characters and catchy story line. I was rather disappointed for the end. Call me sentimental, but the guy didn't get the girl and I found because of that the end was patchy and left me feeling rather displeased and disappointed with the ending. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    "Epic dares to be original, unique and well creative, but its not. It offers very little to most adults while only "truly" entertaining the children. Its Blue Sky animations worst movie to date and on the low end of the animation spectrum, I expected more" C Expand
  7. May 27, 2013
    3
    I was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like a character that was shallow, vain and disassociated from the main conflict, and still wanted me to like him at the end where his "emotional change and growth" really wasn't big enough to warrant any change in how I perceived him. All in All this is a very good looking film but that doesn't make up for the massive deficiency in character development. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers